JPJ to install another 50 AES cameras by year end

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) says that another 50 Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras will be installed at strategic locations nationwide by the end of this year, Bernama reports. These will join the 21 cameras in operation currently.

According to JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Nadzri Siron, the enforcement cameras are part of the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) programme, which is aimed at reducing the number of fatal accidents in the country.

“We are confident that the initiative can reduce the number of accidents, especially fatal accidents and improve awareness among the people to follow traffic rules when on the road,” he said.

In related news, Nadzri said the JPJ will be putting more focus on nabbing errant motorcyclists who run traffic lights. He said that those riding motorcycles accounted for the highest number of traffic offences.

“Though operations are being carried out on a regular basis to nab traffic offenders who beat traffic lights, special focus will be channeled toward Ops Lampu Merah, which started on July 12. This month alone, 300 motorcyclists have died in accidents because they beat traffic lights while 299 had suffered minor or serious injuries,” he stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Periasamy on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:30 am

This will cost RM50 million or more cause last time, the crony company installed, they charged RM1 mil per camera.

High powered SLR Camera which is more advanced is RM2500. But our AES camera is RM1 million

Same standard as Hubble Telescope, can see stars, moon and planets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • Sama L00 on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Installation – sapu, after install, start to issue saman – sapu! In bolehland, you get sapu everywhere.

• Ur general lack of understanding on tech reflects on the lack of info available to cavemen. So heres some free education.

AES camera has even higher perf than even Rm20k Canon 1DX. It has to capture crystal clear full HD high speed photos in anytime and in any weather. Think u can escape AES by travelling 200kmh during stormy nights? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
      • Ais Kacang on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:26 pm

You can already beat the AES on a clear day if you go over 200km/h now. You work for AES company izzit, roti john?

• Syukur Azmi on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:01 pm

AES can take capture even in bad weather because it use powerfull flash. This principle same with SLR, 1/200-1/500s is the limit for the stutter when u turn on the flash, and any object that been hit the flash will be freezes.

• Robinhood on Jul 25, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Someone is getting very rich after this.

• Good JPJ on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:31 am

Good one… But i really wish that AES can also capture cars that use HID light. That is just so annoying. They think that the road is theirs. It is also ours!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Ais Kacang on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Many cars have legal HID lamps these days. So why you need to catch them? You small boy izzit, dunno all these things?

• Good JPJ on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:17 am

and how many percentage is using legal HID lamps? illegal HID lamps are just too much on the road. so you are a big boy with small mind izzit? this one also need to explain?

• JPJ prihatin terhadap Rakyat. Cukurlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • Bog Std on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:37 am

Datuk Siron cannot even control his own staff selling original blank road tax from his own office to sindicate. Want to do AES?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Junction10 on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:10 pm

Cloned cars all kawtim.

• Syihab on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:55 am

Jangan tipu la. JPJ sekarang sedang buru kereta clone. Siap ada kamera detect nombor plat dan trus dapat info kenderaan. Kalau kantoi, balik jalan kaki atau tidur lokap

• Do u have any news source for this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Another way of revenue raising method from our dear government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Henry on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:56 am

Why only fifty? Install two hundred lah. It is a money spinner, yes?

• Mahadi on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:11 am

JPJ bagus. Around JPJ KL office, many errant motorcyclists who run traffic lights, Hulu Klang, Wangsa Maju, Gombak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Heres ur enforcement pipu. So stop complaining and pay up them samans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • drMpower on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:18 am

Nadzri, where is the study that justify placement of the cameras? Last time these people said cameras are placed at high risk places. So must be theres study to determine which and where the places are
    Or is this another 1million acre land give away thing?

• Even jpj top gun used emergency lane. When taken to court, only his staff represented him. The fine was minimal. How to expect the public respect jpj??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Public respect that even jpj topgun can be taken to court and kena saman.
      The fine value was as maximum as law allows. Want higher? Ask ur MP stop blocking gov when they intro bill to raise fines!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Loler on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Why charge him? Own ppl must cover up laa.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Still not gonna stop moto breaking the law. Only targeted at cars.

• Bravo….

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:44 pm

at the end the one who will suffer is your own people la (civil servant) :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • gigi kuning macho on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Time to swap plates…..hihihii

• Andrekua on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:37 pm

I don’t hate AES. In fact I drove slowly on highway. But please catch the offenders and charge them when they don’t pay. All these high tech camera are for nothing when the enforcement is poor.

Especially hate it when you give them discount versus those that gets nothing when paying within the time frame.

• Johnknow on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:56 am

They sapu duit, we all pay! good tactic