Touch ‘n Go RFID public pilot programme kicks off

An update on the radio-frequency identification (RFID) system that will be implemented for paying road toll fares. Ahead of the system’s launch in January next year, Touch ‘n Go has kicked off the public pilot programme, as scheduled.

Starting from today, the first registrants for the pilot programme will be getting their RFID tags installed. Participating users will need to set up an appointment to have the RFID sticker installed on the car’s windscreen or headlamp at an authorised centre, a process that should take around 15 minutes.

The trial, open to Klang Valley highway users who drive Class 1 vehicles (passenger cars, vans, 4x4s and pick-up trucks) with private registration, will see an enlargement of operation scope for the system, and the expanded field evaluation period – which runs until December 31 – will allow fine-tuning aspects and troubleshooting to be carried out. At present, RFID lanes are present on 16 highways.

Pilot programme users won’t need to pay for the RFID fee during the trial period, but will still be required to pay toll charges. Payment – and reloads – will be made via the Touch ‘n Go eWallet app on iOS and Android.

The RFID system is a new electronic toll payment system that uses a RFID tag, in the form of a sticker. Embedded with a radio frequency chip, it’s unique to each vehicle. As the vehicle passes through a toll gate, an overhead scanner reads the radio-frequency from the RFID sticker and charges the toll fare. The toll fare will be deducted from the Touch ‘n Go eWallet which is linked to the sticker.

Radio-frequency identification works in a manner similar to barcode scanning. The tag is ‘read’ by an overhead scanner through electromagnetic waves, with a frequency of between 850 and 950 MHz, depending on the operating system. Scanning range can reach ranges of over 27 metres, with a 10 millisecond response time, though in the case of a passive system (like the one used here) the range should be set much shorter.

Operation-wise, the RFID tag will be superior in both amplitude and consistency compared to the current SmartTag system, and there will be no batteries or lost/misplaced TnG cards to contend with. We’ll be installing the RFID system and trialling it, and will report on it very soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• All tolls will be abolished soon.
    Please stop spend money on these nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 13
    • I wish! Hahaha! https://paultan.org/2018/08/21/unwise-to-drop-tolls-in-current-financial-climate-daim/

• Sohai on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Mr. Anthony, is RFID unique for each car? can it install to another car as user wish? how about vehicle transfer of owner?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 03, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Our system will use a passive RFID tag. Each tag is unique, and tied to a particular car since it is affixed in place. I think if you sell the car, it should be a simple case of deactivation and transferring the account to the new car (fixed with a new tag).

• Paramasivam on Sep 05, 2018 at 1:20 pm

How if someone tampered the RFID tag since it’s been stick out side of the car?
            2. How if you have more than one car?

• Daniel Lee on Sep 05, 2018 at 1:31 pm

What happens if someone decides to sabotage you and rips off that RFID car sticker?

• NewMalaysia on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:01 pm

Dream on! LOL

• SmartTag User on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:11 am

Expecting host of problems with RFID usage, me think it is not superior to smart tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Average Joyah on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:58 am

Any new implementation will have problems, that’s why there are test/trial periods. Also, RFID is far far more superior in every aspect compared to Smart Tag.

• NewMalaysia on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:03 pm

Do some research before commenting bro. ;)

• eeeriz on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Sorry, i beg to differ. If you’ve been to Dubai, this kind of RFID tag have been long successfully implemented with less traffic jam as compared to our current system. Unless the system we used are much inferior to other countries than you may have a point there.

• lilytan on Sep 03, 2018 at 2:08 pm

The Salik system in dubai uses overhead gates similar to ERP in singapore. No need to slow down as they are no booth and boom gates. But msia apparently still use booth and boom gate for RFID so not much different and still pointless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Trial basis. Probably they dun wan any other cars or Smarttag use RFID lane if no barrier.

• Where are the stickers placed in Dubai?

• the problem is, smarttag or touch n go lanes are always stuck with ppl who didnt have enought credits, or flat smart tag batteries.

• Sleed on Sep 03, 2018 at 9:23 pm

So far i use there is no problem at all. I can go thru the RFID tag at 50km/h without any problem. The real problem with the smart tag, you can only go 20-30km/h with braking. The RFID tag stick on the headlamp or windscreen. I find smart tag is a lot troublesome than the newer RFID.

• Uz1310 on Sep 04, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Which particular lane did you use for that kind of speed? Just curious…

• Hanim on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:57 pm

wow…just breeze through? Barrier will lift from afar? Looking forward for my rfid fitment.

• Sumail on Sep 04, 2018 at 7:23 am

Lol.. US already using rfid system before year 2000 la bro.. And I always impressed by rfid system 18 years ago.. YES 18 YEARS AGO!

• Dominic Chan on Sep 05, 2018 at 9:04 am

I can’t remember exactly when did Hong Kong highways system implement this RFID technology, I am very sure that Hong Kong have this system in late 90’s as public buses could pass through tolls with high speed. Also highway 407 in Ontario Canada use this technology (even more advance with license plate recognition) when it’s first phase opened in 1997. We are VERY lagged behind!

• Blame the cronies and monopolized of BN! Rm100 for the damn smartag?? How much profit were they made from the stupid old fashion device? BN only know ways to stripped of the Rakyat!! These morons not just bring the Rakyat down but the country! Old toll system!! It’s not worth to change the tolls system yet as the country is damn broke now! let’s give newbies sometimes to improve!

• Ben Yap on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:22 am

can i pass the toll gantry at speeds exceeding 60kmph?

• Lim Chong Peng, Patrick on Sep 03, 2018 at 11:50 am

After RFID is in used, how and where can we check the balanced in our Touch N Go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • NewMalaysia on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Did you even read the article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • frankC on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:18 pm

using Touch nGo eWallet apps in iOS and Android OS phone..
      my concern is durability of the RFID in our weather condition. I think they should have camera backup to capture car plate number if reading fails… hmm otherwise how to handle read failure ?

• Stupid RFID on Sep 03, 2018 at 8:09 pm

During read failure have to use touch n go card. Or reverse like the old days…. with the boom gate there u can’t pass anyway

• Veyron Owner on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:24 pm

Check thru app.s

• Zharif on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Check balance in apps

• Not a Geely Fan on Sep 03, 2018 at 12:06 pm

The beginning of gantry system for KL and you know what? The future of traffic control.management system similar to London’s congestion charge. But good anyway. Less cars is better for the environment. The air we inhale is healthier.

• Protiga will make sure congestion remains same or worse. Dun worry.

• Sadly, those using auto reload TNG cards, it’s not supported…

As the ewallet doesn’t support auto reload cards.

Sigh.

• Please note that auto reload cards are not accepted by the eWallet and as such, can’t be registered for RFID use…

Pity. Was so looking forward to this.

• Azri Fuad on Sep 03, 2018 at 1:17 pm

No FRID fee for pilot programme but its not reported that RM35 will be charged for RFID sticker installation? Thats a rip off

• Alina on Sep 03, 2018 at 2:03 pm

I am one of the pilot user. I have used it just now. Easy to check balance/topup/toll transaction history in the app itself.

• The rfid sticker in on your headlamp on windscreen?

• Aaron on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:36 pm

Mine rfid just stick on the headlamp,5min to stick on and testing. Easy and simple

• fireant on Sep 03, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Initially thought it would be using a new RFID based transmitter thingy where we still can use our T&G cards thereby giving us the flexibility to use the cards for other access like MRT rides..but this stupid RFID system negates that advantage..needs to apply a RFID sticker which cost only a few sens if manufactured in bulk..but T&G will charge us tens of ringgit to fit..and may damage our tinted windscreen if wrongly applied…also we used to be able to swap T&G cards to any of our cars..but now with RFID. Stupid system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Really? U ever tried using SG ERP system to ride on SMRT or SBS bus?

• Matchy on Sep 03, 2018 at 2:09 pm

What is RFID fee?

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 03, 2018 at 6:13 pm

Yah lah. Installation fee already kena. Device fee (One off payment)? Monthly (usage) fee?

• Aaron on Sep 03, 2018 at 7:38 pm

NO INSTALLATION FEES(for pilot user), No Device Fees or any hidden monthly fees. May check through their official website.

• huh!! on Sep 03, 2018 at 5:06 pm

i don’t even put smart tag on my window what makes this worth the time on my screen ?
    don’t damage my window and dont you dare enforce this piece of crap later in the future !!
    I rather a card anytime than anything that sticks to my window/screen. if possible i will remove the damn road tax too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Nobody forcing u to take it lor. This is for those pilot users, not selowpokes.

• Sleed on Sep 03, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Just installed and tested the RFID tag. Easily can go 50km/h without any braking. They placed my RFID tag on my headlamp. You can add multiple RFID at one account in multiple cars with one single e-wallet. Only drawback is that the toll display wont show the balance when you go thru. Just shows “1 RM1.00 SELAMAT JALAN”. Need to use the e-wallet to check the balance. Transactions are in real time and only need to reload all at one place.

• I think this a step back. The present touch and go cards allow usage of the same card at multiple channels(highway, car parks, Lrt and etc). It has mobility. This new concept creates a concessions to installers and a back channel to someone ‘s pocket. I don’t know what efficiency they are talking about.

• By using Smart Tag n TnG card, you don’t get discounts but get extra charged whenever u use it. This already is totally ridiculousooking at how other countries encourage u to use card payment, n give u discount when u use it. And now, the RFID they wanna charge in for installation? Rubbish…

• I think this technology is rubbish. Why can’t they just implement a better Etc system without the barrier. Just like other developed country.

• Arteu32 on Sep 04, 2018 at 7:50 pm

So can’t be on windshield as it’s too close to metal parts but headlamp has the hood like inches away…having it external sounds hilarious, hopefully once pilot ends they would have a smaller sticker that would fit in the “sharkfin” area missed by wipers

• Ever think of using RFID on one toll and exit on the other toll which is non RFID ? Testing this while waiting for Gov to dismolish the toll?

• TEH KOK TEONG on Sep 05, 2018 at 10:55 am

GOOD

• Mohammad Azizi on Sep 05, 2018 at 11:34 am

Passive RFID? Better use active RFID to match the SMARTAG

• Brian on Sep 05, 2018 at 11:37 am

This ia stupid. Go check how many cars manufact with glass headlight nowadays. Mostly cheap ass plastics lah.

• Nora Talib on Sep 05, 2018 at 2:37 pm

Great initiative, this will save a lot of time. It will make our life hassle free with automatic pay as you go through tolls. I’m using Touch ‘n Go mobile ewallet and they’re really improving a lot, their new interface for iOS is pleasing. I wish great success to them.