Shell Malaysia launches Made For Malaysia label for Helix lube range – QR code for product authentication

Shell Malaysia has launched its Made for Malaysia range of engine lubricants today with a new label denoting ‘Untuk Pasaran Malaysia‘ (for the Malaysian market), which applies to five of its best-selling Shell Helix products and which will reveal a QR code for product authentication.

These are Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 fully synthetic (4L), Shell Helix HX7 10W-40 semi-synthetic (4L), Shell Helix HX7 5W-30 semi-synthetic (4L), Shell Helix HX5 10W-30 semi-synthetic (3L) and Shell Helix HX5 15W-40 semi-synthetic (4L). The five Shell Helix products here are blended and packed at Shell’s Lubricant Oil Blending Plant in Port Dickson, Negeri Sembilan.

The challenge faced by oil companies is the proliferation of unofficial lubricant products meant for other markets – in a way similar to grey import vehicles – which may be sold in supermarkets and some workshops, as well as outright counterfeit products; Shell’s latest product move aims to mitigate the situation.

Formulation of the Made for Malaysia range of Shell Helix engine lubricants is unchanged, says Shell Malaysia, and the ongoing transition for all Shell Helix products in the country to adopt the ‘Made for Malaysia’ labels is expected to be complete by January 2019, the company says. Official genuine products with old labels will still be on sale, and the can be authenticated through the product code on the label.

Official, genuine Shell Helix products for the Malaysian market can be purchased from Shell Helix-branded workshops, workshops served by authorised Shell distributors and Shell retail stations, as well as Lazada Malaysia, 11street and Shopee via Shell Malaysia’s offical online stores.

The new form of genuine product identification is located behind the oil pack’s front label, which can be peeled back to reveal a QR code which customers can scan on their mobile devices for authentication, as well as registration for the Shell Advantage Rewards (SHARE) programme which includes a sign-up bonus, the Shell Helix Engine Warranty (SHEW) and free Shell Helix products. The label at the back of the pack includes information in English and Bahasa Malaysia.

To do so, scanning the QR code will lead the customer to the SHARE product verification page. Upon submission of one’s mobile number, vehicle ID, product code and shop code, the authentication result will be shown on the page and sent to the customer via SMS.

“The presence of counterfeit and unauthorised products in the market is affecting customer confidence and negatively impacting our trade partners’ businesses. The decision to commence local production of official genuine Shell Helix products meant exclusively for the Malaysian market and clearly identify them with the new ‘Made for Malaysia’ labels is a key step to address this issue,” said Shell Malaysia managing director Shairan Huzani Husain.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express relief and support for Shell Malaysia’s "Made For Malaysia" label and QR code initiative, emphasizing the importance of authentic products for engine safety and performance. Many users highlight the risks of fake or recycled engine oils sold online or at supermarkets, stressing the need to buy from authorized dealers or petrol stations for genuine quality. Concerns about counterfeit products, especially from supermarkets like Giant and Tesco, are common, and some question the pricing and supply chain integrity. Several comments praise Shell’s move as a positive step to protect consumers and ensure product authenticity, while others suggest that purchasing from authorized outlets provides peace of mind. Overall, there's a strong consensus advocating for verifying product authenticity to avoid damage to vehicle engines.

• Well Faiyah on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Its cheaper to buy at Giant Tesco besides its Made for Europe summore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Still can find bro? It seems they have stop selling grey import in Tesco and Jusco.

• Isobel Chin on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Complains from Shell Malaysia. But how are they going to stop Lazada, 11street, Shopee, etc?

• Titin on Oct 04, 2018 at 5:12 pm

if complains it works? I don’t think so
          online purchase also got their official store right, that 1 should be okey

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 26, 2018 at 8:23 am

Stupid of me to buy this for RM250 at Shell stations when I have bought so many for RM105 from Lazada during their sales.

Why be silly and buy this from Shell Malaysia?

• LMAO BRO on Sep 27, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Why be silly and buy from online even its cheap? You don’t know about the quality since they aren’t the authorized dealer. Like iPhone, people would prefer to buy MYSET than LL/US set right. Its because they can claim warranty here. Why is this any different? If something were to happen to your car, where are you gonna claim or from whom you’re gonna claim?

• edwin on Sep 27, 2018 at 5:07 pm

I don’t dare buy at shopping mall..my friends told me after he use his car feel like heavier..

• Check properly, I saw some of the EO they sell at Giant there r leaking oil…that’s y their sell cheaper?

• willie on Sep 25, 2018 at 1:45 pm

Good Move…. there are too many fake engine oil out in the market.

• Boiler Wating on Sep 27, 2018 at 2:45 pm

True, its either fake or recycled. Either it only means one thing > BAD. People should pay attention on these things from now on

• OMG recycle oil! Recycle oil still can use 1 meh? but so many people are prefer cheaper..for me quality which is important than price

• Grey impot is the same ori oil, but cheaper due to no funny marketing pricing by the local reps. As long its not fake, its no loss to Shell except for the extra profits from official retailers. Why lor they wanna stop free trade?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • james on Sep 27, 2018 at 4:55 pm

the more expensive oil is probably better because there’s less maintenance involved and the engine is protected. if your engine damage, the cost is higher than that oil price.

• Keep Price Low pls on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Genuine imported from HK still can use what. Can verify using also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • lucky man on Oct 01, 2018 at 9:49 am

still authorized from Malaysia is trusted one la. china got many fake goods looks like original. why want to take the risk. even price slightly differently, must avoid damage caused in the future too

• Kapalkorek on Nov 17, 2019 at 10:25 pm

Bro can help me how to verify

• sepul on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Wise move, will consider to use shell to overcome counterfeit product dilemma..

• panjang on Sep 25, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Wont affect much really.
    Market has smarten up and know where and how to source for cheaper oil but stil genuine.

• Boiler Wating on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:31 am

Don’t know about “smarten up” though. At least if we buy from authorized shop, we’re confident about the product. Whereas, If from online or elsewhere, there will still be some doubt there somewhere

• BoilingWater on Sep 26, 2018 at 3:39 pm

Don’t know about smarten up though, at least if we buy from authorized shop, we’re confident about the product. Whereas, if we buy from online or elsewhere there will be some doubt there somewhere

• carson on Oct 04, 2018 at 11:20 am

How many time you service ur car in a year?For safe, buy with authorized shop, if not you need to spent extra for repair ur car

• kaizen on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:26 pm

what are the mangkuks @ KPDNKK doing? it has been too long and too much already.

• azrai on Sep 25, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Stretch your money. Made in (PD) Malaysia Helix 10W-40 SM at Shell @ RM132, Giant Offer Original Helix Made in Germany @ RM79.90. So which will you buy then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Azman on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:29 pm

79? I seen 99 only

• Leonardo on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:38 am

Can Shell Malaysia confirm if the Engine oil sold at Giant Supermarkets for RM99.00 is original or fake?
      How did Giant Supermarket and others get the Engine oil stock if it is original but sold cheaper than Shell stations?

• Ilmi md on Sep 27, 2018 at 9:53 am

if not sure, better don’t buy at Giant even it is cheaper..for me I rather go my friend’s workshop or petrol station.

• Cannot judge their price or packaging only, my friend kena 1 time then ‘jia lat’, so you better check properly

• wacko on Sep 25, 2018 at 4:51 pm

another marketing strategy to milk out monies of local consumers by so called authorised local distributors. You don’t have such thing like Helix Made for Thailand market. What a lame!

• mansaid on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:19 am

now many workshops or seller takes advantage by using used oil that recycled and repackage as new ones from well-known brands. some of it usually be sold at a discounted price or cheaper than ore. I think it’s a good move from shell. still the price is not a big deal as long as the quality is trusted.

• mansaid on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:20 am

now many workshops or seller takes advantage by using used oil that recycled and repackage as new ones from well-known brands. some of it usually be sold at a discounted price or cheaper than ore. I think it’s a good move from shell. still the price is not a big deal as long as the quality is trusted.

• Mijan on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:25 am

Now many workshops or seller takes advantages by using used oil that recycled and repackage as new ones from well known brands. Some of it usually be sold at a discounted price or cheaper than ori. I think it’s a good move from shell.still the price is not a big deal as long as the quality is trusted

• bottle will have ‘for malaysia market’ only, shell formulates helix for asian markets in HK but he GTL plants are located in Bintulu and Qatar.Shell just profiteering ..

• calcutta on Sep 26, 2018 at 12:19 am

shhh…..they just want to protect their fat profit margin selling same oil in petrol station…don’t spoil their party, just pretend to be stupid and buy from supermarket

• ghandislyfe on Sep 27, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Better don’t buy la from unauthorized shop. These things if got side effect for sure gonna be worse. We’re talking about car engine here. You know how much it cost to overhaul the entire engine over some untrustworthy EO you bought online

• I don’t think so..
      If you purchase at others place you not sure it is genuine or not..but mostly I just purchase at petrol station, so won’t be wrong

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:16 am

can use same bottle but itu minyak tukar neptune

• ayamgogo! on Oct 08, 2018 at 9:53 am

That’s why must buy from petrol station or authorized shop. Because usually the fake one they will use a branded bottle, but they put low quality oil inside.

• chong on Sep 27, 2018 at 4:57 pm

I prefer good quality oil as it does meet the industry standards. as long as it is authorized and needed for an engine to run smoothly and efficiently. y la just simply2 buy. got fake oil padan muka

• Ollie on Sep 28, 2018 at 3:49 pm

I have bought Helix Ultra online at around 110-120 RM with official Shell Malaysia seal and SMS checking to verify authenticity. Its incredible that Shell Malaysia really wants to milk people dry by selling it at RM 246.

In the UK, SHU 5W40 5 l is 22-30GBP. That’s RM 120-180, for 5 litres. Here, 4 litres for ~45GBP. Almost double the price.

Shell Malaysia should answer customers or take their oil and get lost.

• Shafi on Oct 01, 2018 at 10:12 am

QR code which is good tho
    since currently many fake oil in the market, I think better buy on their authorized shop or official website, it is more safety.

• sazlee on Oct 01, 2018 at 2:55 pm

banyak workshop buat mcm ni.botol elok.isi dalam lain. ramai yg pergi bcos of cheaper price. then bila rosak or problem comeback to that workshop to repair.the untung 1 is that worksop lah.

• fendi on Oct 08, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Bagusnya ada benda, jagi tak payah risau lagi tentang minyak enjin yang palsu.

• Sykes on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:43 am

That day I saw a picture somewhere in lowyat, the SHU bottle damn leaking weh. Plus it’s Giant or Tesco selling it. I’m not sure which but its a supermarket. Quality control I guess, you pay cheap, you get chipped.

• SoulRidah on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:47 am

A good approach to curb the excessive selling of
    counterfeit products. People should realize that this movement is for their car’s safety too.

• Hanna on Oct 10, 2018 at 4:55 am

Ramai jugak yg beli fake engine oil sekarang ni sebabnye lgi murah drpd yg original tpi kena beringat jgk fake engine oil bahaya utk enjin kereta.

• Suhaimi20 on Oct 13, 2018 at 9:55 pm

Biasa laa tu ramai je nak beli engine oil yg murah je. X fikir dah safety ke apa. Better elakkan beli engine oil yg online. Ada yg made from germany tu x sure ori ke x.

• Aman Zaid on Oct 13, 2018 at 9:59 pm

Haritu beli kt giant shell engine oil tpi packaging dia leaking, seram weii. Beli yg original laa selamat sikit even price dia mahal sikit.

• Athirah on Oct 13, 2018 at 11:49 pm

Aku ada guna shell helix ultra tu quality dia bagus sbb jimat petrol aku. Lagipun sekarang tengah promosi beli 3 dpt free 1 jimat sikit.

• Ahmad Imran on Oct 13, 2018 at 11:52 pm

Loyalty shell vs castrol mana lgi ok sbb hritu kwn aku ad join shell loyalty mcm best je dpt bnyk free stuff. X pasal nnti aku g join jugak.

• Eugene lee on Oct 13, 2018 at 11:55 pm

Dulu ada beli fake engine oil shell kt tesco tpi lepas beli yg original kt station rasa engine lgi okay sbb yg dulu punya enjin jdi berat. Mechanic selalu recommend engine oil shell tpi make sure beli yg original je.

• Baifern Wong on Oct 14, 2018 at 11:18 am

Shell engine oil beli yg original kt workshop tapi kena make sure authorized workshop sbb ada je workshop yg jual fake engine oil ni.

• Mugesh Avinash on Oct 14, 2018 at 11:22 am

Engine oil yg shell helix boleh kurangkan oil comsuption and at the same time kereta rasa lgi ok sbb dulu guna engine oil yg lain kereta jdi a bit heavier.

• Asfaq Lee on Oct 14, 2018 at 11:25 am

Aku duk survey nak join loyalty yg mana sbb kwn aku join loyalty shell dpt bnyk free stuff tpi castrol and petronas pun ok jgk collect point.

• Din Ahmad on Oct 14, 2018 at 11:30 am

Aku join shell loyalty sbb hritu ada promotion yg buy 3 free 1. 1 more oil change pastu boleh dpt the next bottle for free. Berbaloi jgk drpd beli yg fake kt online

• Just be realistic on Nov 25, 2018 at 1:05 am

Hmm….why all the response is like the same copy paste …edit a bit with just different name ….cybertrooper shell ka? To counter giant/Tesco offer ? If they are selling fake…long time ago shell Malaysia have taken action to sue them.

• Steven on Aug 14, 2019 at 1:48 am

I just buy shell helix ultra 5w-40 at Shell Station . But I check with the for Malaysia market label can register. But the oil is made in Hong Kong. Is this oil is original or fake?