RON 95 Euro 4M rollout postponed to January 1, 2020

The rollout of RON 95 Euro 4M will be postponed to January 1, 2020, according to a statement issued by the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP). It was previously reported that the implementation of the RON 95 Euro 4M standard would come into effect in October 2018.

According to the statement, the decision to delay the move was because petroleum companies required more time to make the necessary preparations. The ministry said this is to ensure adequate supply of RON 95 Euro 4M to meet the needs of the Malaysian market without (heavily) affecting the retail price that consumers will pay. However, some companies like Petron have previously stated it was already prepared to sell RON 95 Euro 4M petrol when needed.

On a related matter, the ministry also stated that it would begin aligning the price of RON 95 Euro 4M, with the work of transitioning to the new fuel standard to be carried in stages at fuel depots and stations over a six-month period, from July 2019.

The Euro 4M standard has a sulphur content of just 50 parts per million (ppm), which is substantially less than the 500 ppm associated with the current Euro 2M standard for RON 95 petrol. A lower sulphur fuel is essentially cleaner for the environment and better for engines.

The new fuel standard is part of the ministry’s roadmap introduced in 2006 to increase the quality of fuels, which is part of efforts to achieve its Green Technology Policy 2009. On August 18, 2014, the government agreed to implement the following fuel standards: RON 97 Euro 4M petrol on September 1, 2015; RON 95 Euro 4M on October 1, 2018; Euro 5 diesel on September 1, 2020; and Euro 5 petrol on September 1, 2025.

As of now, consumers already have access to RON 97 Euro 4M petrol (introduced in September 2015) and Euro 5 diesel, with the latter being introduced ahead of its gazetted date.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Go to BHP guys.. U get euro 5 ron95 same as Singapore. Good for your fuel lines and injector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Akoolm on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Nah , Petronas foreva..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • petronas ron 95 is really bad, my engine knocks and feels lethargic..

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Hope my engine can tahan Euro2 RON95 until 2020 la

• Same experience here! Pumped Caltex for the second time and I noticed the difference. The engine is smoother and quieter. Never look back again.
          Still have yet to try BHP. My friend said that one is also quite good.

• I asked them yesterday regarding to this.
      From BHP’s reply, they stated that they comply with the standard set by the government,which is Euro 2 for Ron 95 and Euro 4 for Ron 97.
      I am still waiting for the reply from Caltex, but the answer may still be the same upsetting reply, “It was Euro 2, not Euro 4”.
      Sob sob…

• Sean Liew on Dec 11, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Who gave you that idea!? Substantiate your claim first before you utter rubbish.

• xoxox on Oct 08, 2018 at 11:31 am

biggest joke ever….by the time they implement this…other country already gone for 6 or 7….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • “…with companies like Petron already prepared to do so.” & “…decision to delay the move was because petroleum companies required more time to make the necessary preparations”

Their excuse like dun jive wei! Yet another environmental commitment from previous Gov got capatied by PH just cuz of private sector profits.

It wud be easier to quietly run down Euro2 stocks in stations by replenishing with more and more Euro5 RON95 for 3-4 cycles, b4 they announce the change in effect. There r no special handling and storage compared to Euro2 so why the delay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Lee Leng Keng on Oct 08, 2018 at 3:18 pm

All petroleum companies in malaysia (except BHP) buy petroleum from petronas. That’s the agreement and understanding for many decades.

And as you may not aware petronas sells our crude oil to international market because, as they say it.. Our oil is sweet. Then buy low grade crude oil at cheaper price from other countries.

After refinery process then petronas sells the petrol to other companies before they start to add other ingredients like Ron, colour and aroma.

This is where the problem lies – petronas faculty is not capable to produce petrol with euro 3 spec, let alone euro 6. Hence the 1.5 grade we get here so-called as euro 2M.

Petronas cannot upgrade the facility like changing 10 parts and so on but it has to built a totally new one and the cost is not cheap. Otherwise we can get euro 5 from 10 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Not really. Some like BHP and Petron source their Euro5 stocks from SG. Petronas RAPID is coming online to produce Euro4 RON95 (currently limited to RON97). Sure there will be some delays but until 2020? Really?

Theres no excuse other than the higher prices of refine for Euro4 stocks compared to Euro2. If Gov dun increase the petrol price or absorb it, then it will be them who will. The petrol lobby has won. Deswai PH Manifesto to reduce fuel prices was bollocks, when they shud have let market forces push for Euro4 implementation and then free float later on.

Shortsighted decision by Gov and the rakyat that elected them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • akule on Oct 10, 2018 at 3:08 pm

are you sure all petroleum company in Malaysia get from the same source? from where you get this fact.

• Chua-CD on Oct 08, 2018 at 11:39 am

Very disappointed. RIP our lungs for 2 years more.

• johnnas on Oct 08, 2018 at 11:49 am

Been yearning for Euro4M 95 for so long and now ur telling me I gotta wait even longer? wadahel man…
    Its not about being kiasu or overthinking it but seriously, my car’s been on 97 since I took delivery of it in the year 2015 and there was 1 time, just ONCE it was accidentally filled with the now 95. It took just 1 tank to crap the inner walls of my brand new exhaust piping with carbon. Honestly, I ran on 97 initially cos it gave that ‘good feel’ but it was that 1 tank of 95 that really opened my eyes with regard to the harmful effects of it, hence pollution. Let’s say I only cared for my care, hell with pollution, just think of the amount of crap that this crap gas leaves in our internal combustion engines.
    Let the prices of gas float, in the meantime, stop medling car prices, namely AP, just let the customs and JPJ do their actual jobs and let it run. The money that the government saved from subsidy should be used to improve public transportation throughout the whole country! End of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Are u sure with all your fact. All crude from malaysia are selling to out. From what i know, not all crude from malaysia are selling to out. They use the crude for produce final product.

From what i know we already produce euro 4 for RON97 and will use euro 4 for RON95 this coming january 2020.

• What, 15 months delay?
    I hope some petrol company will introduce ahead of time. If that happen, I will use it immediately.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Once again Malaysian motorist ripped off..this will anger every ah beng on the road

• Abesla on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Abesla the environment! There goes our hope to breath in cleaner air. Environment has lost hope on Hope.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:15 pm

If postpone like that, than by 2025 should be euro 6

• markgoh on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:28 pm

clear old stock..??

• Juliette on Oct 08, 2018 at 12:45 pm

That’s it. I’m changing my vote. We didn’t vote for this. Now with what’s-his-name gone, I’m going to support passing back the country to people who know how to run it – and I won’t be shy about it either!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
  • No cancer and freak storm for future generation on Oct 08, 2018 at 1:22 pm

Petroleum cartels are holding Malaysian health at ransom.

• EV Mode on Oct 08, 2018 at 1:55 pm

By that time most ppl already driving EV or hybrid car! They might as well forget the whole thing and promote EV driving.

• PlainBS on Oct 08, 2018 at 2:15 pm

What a incompetent piece of garbage, I’m expecting government to intervene and expedite this. Oh wait, they are busy on 3rd national car lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 08, 2018 at 2:25 pm

” because petroleum companies need more time” …. seriously??????

Roadmap introduced 2006, policy came out 2014 & still need more time? You do realise that Euro2 standard is obsolete & been obsolete since year 2000.

We all better balik kampung tanam jagung lah like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • because of subsidies are back in place..wish they are more transparent..

• ss427 on Oct 08, 2018 at 2:58 pm

Here in SG, all our gasoline are Euro 6 rated.

Our gov doesn’t need to give any grace period to the gasoline companies. Just tell them the dateline and the companies will comply accordingly. Those who doesn’t will get their licence to sell suspended. Simple as that. So far no such things has happened here.

Mind you, all these Euro 6, 6 standards, they cannot happen if the fuel companies can’t keep up with the refinery process. EPA needs to work with these companies to make sure whatever standards they lay down can be put into practical use.

And we have Cowtech, see harm, *sshole brands just like u guys do also. Why these companies have no issues dispensing Euro 6 fuel in SG?

Mind you dollar for dollar SG fuel prices the same as bolehland.

• Ben Yap on Oct 08, 2018 at 4:13 pm

i always run Blaze 100 for my civic turbo. it feels so good and can feel the power.

• lut you on Oct 08, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Say “YES” to EV PROTON 2.0

• Yamani Arabia on Oct 08, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Don’t cry baby when battery low and stuck at places with no charging station around!
      Gawt blast u mai pren.

• It’s fine.
    A little carcinogenic benzene will not hurt anyone.