AEB systems halve rear-end accidents, study shows

We know that autonomous emergency braking (AEB) systems are capable of preventing accidents, but what we don’t know is if they actually do so in real life. Now, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) in the United States has published results of a study on the effectiveness of these systems in the real world, and the results are eye-opening to say the least.

The organisation looked at the accident rates of General Motors vehicles with and without optional AEB and forward collision warning systems and found that those equipped with the driver assistance features were involved in 43% fewer police-reported front-to-rear crashes of all severities. That figure jumped to an astounding 64% when looking solely at crashes that resulted in injuries.

Even vehicles that only warn of an impending crash (i.e. no auto braking) reduced all rear-end collisions by 17%, and injury-inducing ones by 30%. The results echoed an earlier study conducted on Acura, Fiat Chrysler, Honda, Mercedes-Benz, Subaru and Volvo vehicles, which saw a 50% reduction in crashes (56% for crashes with injuries) for cars fitted with AEB, and 27% and 20% respectively for cars with warning only.

“The evidence has been mounting that front crash prevention works, and it works even better when it doesn’t solely rely on a response from the driver,” said IIHS vice president for research Jessica Cicchino, who authored both these studies.

The study involved 2013 to 2015 Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet and GMC models, with GM providing the vehicle identification numbers (VINs) for vehicles with and without AEB and forward collision warning. These were cross-referenced with information on police-reported crashes from 23 states, with a focus on front-to-rear crashes that these systems are designed to help prevent or mitigate.

Autonomous emergency braking has yet to become a standard feature in the US, but 20 carmakers – representing over 99% of the automotive market there – have agreed to make AEB standard on virtually all new passenger vehicles by September 2022. What do you think? Has your car’s AEB system prevented or mitigated a crash? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton X70 got AEB & adaptive cruise control (ACC)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • I hope Lexus Malaysia is reading this. The folks in their product planning dept seem to be sleeping on the job.

• Mr. Octopus on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:19 pm

My Volvo with Intellisafe saved me countless times from collisions with the car ahead and also once protected me from an impending rear end collision by pulling my seatbelts tight and engaging the parking brakes so the car doesn’t roll away.

Hard to drive any other make now. Damn you Volvo why must you be so good to me!

• AEB equipped on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:53 pm

I agree. My Volvo with AEB brakes abruptly sometimes when driving in traffic jam situations. However, the problem is with those motorcyclist who loves to weave in between cars. They have triggered autonomous brake more than once and it can become annoying. If all cars in Malaysia have AEB, motorcyclist will be more brave to cut in between cars knowing the cars will automatically brake for them. I guess this is the only downside

• JERRY on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:26 pm

Problem is not what system installed, is driver attitude follow too close with car in front. When AEB kick in, rear driver unable to stop on time.

• rizal on Nov 15, 2018 at 5:05 pm

that the reason AEB invented…to assist drive when the drive reflex slow or not effective enough…if AEB put as standard in every car, it can reduce rear end collision…

• lazir on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Tailgating front car is a special privileges culture here.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 16, 2018 at 4:45 pm

You drive too fast, and follow too near, AEB not going to save your ass also.

• MY driver on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:35 pm

I have two cars with AEB. One gives no warning and one does. One over eager in giving warning but I don’t mind it. Never rear end any cars before but can’t say the same for my cars. Definitely will buy a car with AEB in the future.

• chiakc on Nov 18, 2018 at 8:21 am

care to share which model is least sentisitve one, for comparison sake

• chasedown on Nov 15, 2018 at 2:45 pm

There could be more cases of cracked phone screens/ spilled drinks/food and/or bruises as the car comes to a sudden halt unexpected by the ignorant driver…but all good though…

• benzs on Nov 15, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Such tech should be implemented as MUST in Malaysia. JPJ, Puspakom and MoT. Pls compulsory for each new car in Malaysia. SUre fatal rate will reduce and Malaysian will be safer on the road. Oh yeah, heavy truck is also a must.

• MusangKing 2 on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Ayo…Everything oso need electronic nanny ka?…..

If the electronic nanny malfunction how??? Blame everyone else but the driver behind the wheel, izit??

• stastasta on Nov 19, 2018 at 10:51 am

i trust the reliability of electronics more than i trust the idiot malaysian drivers.