Six roads to be closed on Dec 8, bus routes changed

There will be an anti-ICERD rally in Kuala Lumpur tomorrow (December 8) and six main roads around Dataran Merdeka will be closed to traffic. This was announced by KL police chief Datuk Seri Mazlan Lazim.

The roads are Jalan Hishamuddin (before the tunnel), Leboh Pasar, Jalan Tun Perak (from the Masjid Jamek LRT station onwards), Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman (near Sogo), Jalan Raja Laut (near Summit Hotel) and Bulatan Dato Onn.

“The roads will be closed from 6am onwards on Saturday. The rally participants are only allowed to converge at Jalan Raja in front of Dataran Merdeka,” Mazlan said.

Meanwhile, Rapid KL has announced changes to bus routes to avoid the blocked areas. The public transport operator says that buses number 170, 171, 173, 190, 191, 200, 202, 220 and 250 (from Jalan Ipoh and Jalan Pahang corridors) heading to KL will go as far as Sogo. As for now, there will be no route changes for buses from Cheras and Sungai Besi corridors entering KL, but routes may be subject to change under instruction from the authorities.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Safety First on Dec 07, 2018 at 4:15 pm

I am selling yellow safety vest there. See you there!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
    • Msian pipu life here so contented, so free. Lolz!

• Truckers on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:54 am

French truckers also contented but they still do their citizen duties. Now French Gahmen cancelled plans to raise fuel prices. Yes, power to the people!

• When you are lazy and always asking for bantuan kerajaan all the time, you will not want to let go of your easy life and work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Tongkat Sakti on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:44 am

500,000 people so free. Better to put that energy and work hard to improve your lives.

60 years of tongkat is already enough. Time to change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • redpilled on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Using your logic, the bersih participants also got too much free time la last time?

• Viva la liberty for those yellow vesters!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 07, 2018 at 7:47 pm

We will be there.

• Sick & Tired on Dec 07, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Up up up up!

• Yellow colour is last time, now green.

• Hafiz Hisham on Dec 08, 2018 at 9:17 am

Power to the people!!!

• Husin Yahya on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:33 am

Too many lazy people in Malaysia. Cannot compete or work hard like everybody else.

Time to make everyone equal like Thailand and Indonesia. All rakyat same same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Wong Ti Kui on Dec 08, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Ya. One school system. One language. One king.

• JOACHIM on Dec 08, 2018 at 10:56 pm

Yeah, it’s time to appropriate the wealth and properties of the rich and middle classes, then redistribute them same same to the poor. Marx 101. Make everyone equal, right?

• apamau on Dec 07, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Gomen dah reject , still…? Kecik2 takmau , dah besar susah olang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • ajai kg pisang on Dec 07, 2018 at 4:58 pm

How much admission per person?

• Latuk Bandar on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Those traders in city centre at losing end again. We can organize them in stadium, which cater to a large crowd. In KL, any road block creates massive jams, and this turn customers away from the city.

That’s why we prefer organizer hold at stadium, in order to minimize disruption and nuisance to businesses, and community at large. The rally participants encouraged to take our efficient and reliable public transportation Komuter MRT LRT. Certainly will cause terrible disruption to traffic in the city KLCC area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Max292 on Dec 07, 2018 at 8:32 pm

Traders can sell food & drinks instead. Reap what ever opportunity we can have. Hopefully no idiot well bound for any violence.

• Mohd Darus Ibrahim on Dec 07, 2018 at 5:55 pm

What a waste of time. Time we Malaysians all work hard together and not expect to be pampered and wanting things free in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Alson on Dec 07, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Not about pampered, but their believed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Chock on Dec 08, 2018 at 11:37 am

I always tell them want everything free, can. The you also go and work for free. Same law have to apply to all parties…

• Alson on Dec 07, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Not tongkat, but fact

• Alson on Dec 07, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Not 95%, just around 59% and lower… Check in out

• Rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Premnathan on Dec 07, 2018 at 10:39 pm

My neighbors and me braved the drizzle as we sat outside local mamak to watch Malaysia take on Thailand. We waved Jalur Gemilang and stood up to sing Negaraku before start of the game and many were heard cheering Malaysia Boleh repeatedly. The whole country stood united behind our team. I can say they made us very proud. Even the mamak boss joined in as he went around urging us to cheer the team on. Now to the finals! Sayangi Malaysiaku!! Cmon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Sick&tired on Dec 08, 2018 at 1:36 am

While I do not agree with their cause, I think it’s their right to have a rally if they want, as long as there is no violence or threat of violence. However I doubt that will happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • stastasta on Dec 12, 2018 at 4:19 pm

these protestors are fighting for continued tongkat and racism