Government won’t increase toll on 21 highways for 2019, will have to pay RM994.43 mil in compensation

The government will need to pay RM994.43 million in compensation to highway toll concessionaires for 2019, according to reports by The Star and NST. This is due to the government’s decision to freeze toll hikes and abolish motorcycle tolls on certain highways.

Finance minister Lim Guan Eng stated that out of the total sum, RM972.75 million will be paid to the relevant highway toll concessionaries operating 21 highways, all of which are eligible for an increase in 2019. Among the highways that will have their toll hikes frozen include the Shah Alam Expressway (KESAS), Duta-Ulu Klang Expressway (DUKE) and the Damansara-Puchong Expressway (LDP), among others.

Lim also noted the amount is an addition to the toll freeze hike on inter-city highways announced during the tabling of Budget 2019, an exercise that would cost the government around RM700 million.

Meanwhile, the abolishment of toll collection for motorcycles on both Penang bridges as well as the Second Link to Singapore from January 1, will cost approximately RM20 million. As for the remaining RM1.68 million, it will be allocated to freeze toll hikes on eight separate highways next year.

“The comprehensive toll hike freeze is an ongoing effort by the Pakatan Harapan-led federal government to alleviate the burden of rising living costs borne by all Malaysians,” Lim said in a statement.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Abolish toll, not freeze toll hike lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 6
    • pengomel on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:29 pm

1 billion pun dah semput, nak abolish kena top up 39 billion lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:39 pm

All these is because of the previous corrupted Government. Any highway, triple the cost. 80% of the cost masuk poket. So now, the rakyat suffer.

You see, Malaysia makes the most expensive highways in the world. Per 1 KM it cost RM100 million. And this RM100 million does not even include land or house acquisition.

To make matters worse, we use super cheap Bangladeshi labour and super cheap road tar (this is why always potholes within few months)

Yet, the kroni toll concessionaire will charge the Government a big fat bill. And those days, the Government will JUST PAY with no quations asked.

This is why for example today, you see LRT3 from RM32 billion can come down in cost to RM16 billion.

So now, we rakyat suffer because kronies made money the past 60 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 80
        • Syabas. TQ Kerajaan Prihatin

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:27 pm

poor john and his dupes, today crying so much

• Keep that stupidity to urself and ur dupes. Dun involve me in ur stupidity.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 9:24 pm

Talk cock.

All the toll concession agreement was signed during the reign of PM4. So you can’t escape the responsibility for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • songlup on Dec 29, 2018 at 9:11 pm

RM55 Bil 1Mdb debts will giv us free tol.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 9:43 pm

Most if not all toll originated from 4th PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • lol always give excuse..u still believe gov want abolish toll..already basah pon still believe ah?..they will do that a month before pru 15

• His Friend on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:12 pm

Bro, he is paid to belip. Im his friend so i know.

• Chandra on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:06 am

best komen ever. Same like how LHDN also hilang RM16 bil

• basherlogic on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:20 am

too many abang abangs have lined their pockets the past 60 years

• Amy Surge on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:00 am

Those days are over. This new govt and new PM got no toll cronies or corruption. Thank goodness.

• woowww…. u got so many likes & supports! so proud of u ;)

• Turn M on Dec 28, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Saya yang sign semua itu toll? Maaf, saya dah lupa. Wang dah kaburkan otak saya.

• Ulam King on Dec 29, 2018 at 9:04 pm

Lupa nasib sebuah merpati yang sudah tiada selepas 60 tahun berkuasa disebabkan sikap pemimpin mereka.

Mereka tidak berusaha untuk orang sendri supaya setaraf dengan orang lain. Sebaliknya, pemimpin dapat peluang memperkayakan diri mereka sahaja. Rakyat tolak bulat-bulat.

Kita jenis yang sama. Kalau kita terperangkap dengan sifat mereka, akhirnya kita tersungkur, tersingkir , terlupa

• Aziz Mahmood on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Actually, even if they increase the toll prices, I don’t mind.

We rakyat Malaysia know the new clean government needs to settle the huge debt to save the country. At least they will eventually grant their promises.

The previous corrupted regime never gave us our 30% reduced car prices. How come people never make noise?

In Malaysia Lama, the old government always songlap our duit and gave dedak to people to gain votes during Pilihanraya.

Luckily we voted for a new clean government and dedak, corruption and fake news from cybertroopers is over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 97
      • U-Tun on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Only Aziz didn’t mind. All Alis, Ah Peks and Maniams making noise. Maybe Aziz already swallowed the new BSH aka dedak baru

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:41 pm

I also don’t mind paying toll to save our clean Government now. Pity the Clean Government, they have to settle so much of corruption in the past. 60 years of corruption to be exact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
          • Gurdev on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:04 pm

Go back 2015.
            https://paultan.org/2015/10/12/12-highways-get-toll-rate-hike-highest-at-rm1-10/

• Tolol on Dec 27, 2018 at 10:19 pm

Lopsided agreement from ’bapak toll’ era and his cronies are laughing all the way. No price hike no problem money still bank in

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:31 am

But we mind paying the tolls. The promise was to abolish tolls, not to freeze it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • The Truth About PH, BN and Malaysia on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Political parties may change but it is still the same lazy dedak taking people running the show.

The same 1.6 million Government servants are still the same. Lazy and want easy life.

Cuma Cabinet sahaja yang tukar. So…..expect to see the same Malaysia back again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 27
          • Lan lanun on Dec 27, 2018 at 8:23 pm

Previous gov bandits stole Rakyat free tol.

• Copy Paste on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:38 am

Copy pasting “Without these 1.6million Government servants, who will keep you safe at home, put out the fires you inadvertently started, ensure your security, keep you healthy, and enable you to travel?

You might as well stay in a cave and never come out.”

• Tun Pirate King on Dec 28, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Previous gov bandits are now in the gov.

• Yet another janji have been turn into CAPATI.

• azrai on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:24 pm

Where’s Tony Pua today? Ex PM is proud of BSH news and this toll freeze since yesterday. He want a credit for that. Plus KFC price no freeze also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Before PH Government took over, they did not know the extent of corruption involved. They thought it was about few billion.

After they took over, and after going through the books and red files, they got a shock that it is over RM100 billion in corruption. For example, LHDN alone got RM16 billion HILANG

So, PH Government can no way honour their promises because before they took over, they did not have a magic crystal ball to see the extent of corruption involved.

Analogy- you get married to your husband. He drives a BMW and Mercedes. Everyday he bring you to hotel to makan during dating. You thought he was rich and can look after you. Then after you marry him you see he got RM10 million in debt and all the Ah Longs are after him

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 61
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 9:47 pm

That kinda understatement don u think.. big gun PM party is former member of previous govt. Now they get even more member of the previous govt.

• Yazid on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:09 am

pefectly said. I am glad I voted wisely on May 9th to change filth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • The Truth About PH, BN and Malaysia on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:49 pm

We need more people like Li Chunrong to come and run our country. Li Chunrong in 6 months could identify all the corruption going on in Proton and that suppliers and vendors were overcharging Proton big time.

Our local CEOs could not see this in 20 years.

We need more Li Chunrongs to run our country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
      • Amy Surge on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:07 am

Yes we should get Chinese to run the country. Any Chinese. Look at China. No corruption. Heaven on earth.

• Copy Paste on Dec 28, 2018 at 11:39 am

You mean like this: https://paultan.org/2018/11/19/carlos-ghosn-to-be-arrested-in-japan-on-suspected-financial-law-breach/

• none toll user on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:25 pm

its very unfair for government to used national fund to pay the compensation as this fund are also contributed by those non toll users, mean we are actually paid for those toll users…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • jake lee on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:46 pm

rich people are paying for poor people everyday. don’t think so selfishly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • lithium on Dec 27, 2018 at 5:14 pm

the money is fr tax collected from both poor and rich. i am not rich but i pay taxes and takes public transport to work, so i am subsidising…

• none toll user on Dec 27, 2018 at 5:48 pm

Ok, no problem, next time i will park my yamaha capchai right before toll and wait to tumpang your car to drive me through the toll and go to city, same for return trip, sure your will help, right ? rich ppl to help poor ppl,and dont think so selfishly..

• loluser on Dec 28, 2018 at 7:04 am

Since when kaphcai need to pay the toll? btw, I agree poor ppl are being pampered. they got all the benefits while more financially stable ppl, they worked hard and pay a lot of taxes for not much in return.

• When toll price increase, transportation cost increase and all things prices increase, is a chain reaction. Please don’t be lazy to think.

• Michale on Dec 28, 2018 at 10:52 am

That’s how communism works. It’s a failed system that takes power from the people and gives it to the people in government.

• Pakatan Kuat Tidur on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Dear government, abolish the tolls please! Do not forget, we the rakyat voted you in for your promises

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
  • Same tune… Played by different musicians this time. Humpphh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
  • Same tune, different musicians….. Hummph.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
  • jake lee on Dec 27, 2018 at 4:49 pm

rich people are paying for poor people everyday. don’t think so selfishly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • The way a person deliver his promises shows everything. I would say Trump is better than everyone we have in the cabinet. People vote him because of his promises and he delivers them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • komarad on Dec 28, 2018 at 9:23 am

Their promises to crack down on wide spread corruption and able to deliver those promises. Super commendable, salute! Tabik spring!!!

• pengayuhbasikal on Dec 27, 2018 at 5:39 pm

do not freeze the increase.. just allow minimal increase only..

• TUNI PUAN on Dec 27, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Tony Pua! Where is Tony Pua? This BN strategy. We vote for abbolish toll! We rakyat dont want freeze increase toll.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
    • EveryDayImFkedUpByMyOldGovernment on Dec 27, 2018 at 10:46 pm

You vote PH, you get freeze toll, you still complain. Last time you vote BN, you get increased toll every year and fled up by government each days yet you don’t make any noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Rakyat B40 on Dec 27, 2018 at 6:32 pm

My PH friend campaigned to me before the election that you won’t need to pay toll anymore after the election. I didn’t expect he was joking last time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 3
  • No GST, no toll, no ptptn and no need pay tax

• kzm (Member) on Dec 27, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Same thing as previous govt do, pay the compensation.. I’m pretty sure last time some pipu barking over this

• Rakyat B40juga on Dec 28, 2018 at 8:03 am

I do remember that for the last 60 years ago, our govt was lead by our current pm for the last 30 years. Maybe know he realize that he made the mess and need to cover his ass now and pretend that he is innocent bcoz last time he in the head of corrupt party, and now he is in the new clean party. Person do change but i do feel sick with people who pretend to forget this facts. Anyway, Happy New Year and enjoy to be conned by the same person. :)

• Henry on Dec 28, 2018 at 10:17 am

Toll increase = highway users pay.
    Toll freeze = taxpayers pay.

• Logical Deduction on Dec 28, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Toll abolish = nobody need to pay, according to PH logic.

• carazy on Dec 28, 2018 at 10:30 am

Janji di-CAPATI lagi..

• PHancing on Dec 28, 2018 at 10:57 am

HAHAHHA. Same old story. Mr Tony Pua said can abolished toll b4 election. Now with 1B also cannot abolished. Same corrupt.

• I m trying to imagine how it will be our highway without toll at all…..ermmmmm…..

• ~wan~ on Dec 29, 2018 at 10:54 am

janji dicapati = hari ini mng esoh mansuh tol

• The govt should not make garbage excuses to protect these private companies that run these highways. Just do what you did to MAS. Make laws to prevent them from suing, then just remove all the owners and staff. Reset the highways and seize them.