Budget 2019: Toll hike freeze on inter-city highways

One of the big salient points of Budget 2019 was the freezing of toll price hikes on all inter-city highways across the whole of next year. According to finance minister Lim Guan Eng, who tabled the budget in the Dewan Rakyat last week, this exercise would cost the government around RM700 million.

This pretty much puts paid to the proposed abolishment of all tolls, part of the Pakatan Harapan coalition’s manifesto for the 14th general elections. Both prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and works minister Baru Bian said that this was not feasible with respect to the country’s financial health, although Bian added that the government was looking at other ways to ease the burden on people’s wallets.

Malaysia will also abolish toll collection for motorcycles on both Penang bridges as well as the Second Link to Singapore from January 1, at an estimated price of RM20 million. Another RM10 million will be allocated to upgrade the Malaysia Automated Clearance System (MACS) and the Malaysia Biometric Identification of Motorbikers (MBIKE) at both the Johor causeway and the Second Link to ease congestion issues.

Meanwhile, construction will continue on the Pan Borneo Highway, although the project will be subjected to a cost rationalisation exercise. Bian had already announced last month that the Sabah portion of the highway has been given the green light by the federal government to continue, amid concerns of the latter’s stand regarding the project, so this news effectively puts those concerns to bed.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lilytan on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:01 pm

The promised to abolish toll until now is still very much remains a hope.

• Norlia on Nov 06, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Abolish. Toll collection for motorcycles abolished for Penang bridge and 2nd Link to jb.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:15 pm

We made the right choice!! Welldone gahmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:36 pm

I don’t know why everybody is upset with this budget. What do you expect?

We allowed 60 years of massive stealing and corruption to take place. Each person stole up to billions each. In total, we lost about trillions in corruption alone.

And we allowed all this to take place. It is our fault. If trillions were not stolen through corruption and stealing, today, we can have toll free roads, cheap cars and even heavily subsidised petrol for life.

So why blame LGE and PH? Blame ourselves. Blame you and me. We allowed the country to be raped so much that until now, the country also got no money to give Budget goodies to you and me.

Don’t point the finger and blame people. Look at the mirror and blame ourselves. We allowed 60 years of corruption and stealing to take place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Sick & Tired on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:38 pm

Why freeze when promise was to abolish it? Freeze not equals abolish.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Hell, yet another capati. Can we force another election next year to boot out this capati Gomen?

• Mohd. Adnan on Nov 05, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Dulu janji manis, bau mesti baik,
    Sekarang realiti pahit, bau taik.
    Rakyat Mesia disana sini,
    Dah sedarkah belum penipu scammer ni?

• No Toll, Abolish Toll, this is what Rakyat want, if cant make it, just step down, this is what you promised us before election, Tony Pua, where are you? why just suddenly keep quiet?

• damond on Nov 05, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Open all the hidden contract for public review between previous government & toll collectors.

• 60 years of corruption cannot be repaired in 6 months. I don’t expect miracles.

How to give toll free when our Government coffers are empty? Infact, Government main revenue is from LHDN. And LHDN alone got RM16 billion hilang.

So, how to gip free this and that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Malaysia baru on Nov 05, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Super glad that new government making sensible decisions

• Exactly the same excuses being given by BN GOVT!!. Pakatan harapan promises to drop the toll instead holding the same price after a huge steep increase in early 2018

• haha, the toll rate now is extremely high increased by previous government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Isobel Chin on Nov 06, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Toll rate extremely high because was negotiated by PH top leader then. Later he claimed he don’t know anything.
      So siapa salah? PH lor! For bringing him back! And easily fooled Malaysians that voted for them!