Toll-free roads not possible without fuel price hike: PM

The issue of toll-free highways has been brought up time and time again but it looks like motorists might not be able to enjoy such pleasures. In a report by Bernama, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has said that it’s not possible to have highways without the collection of toll.

He added that he was personally against the idea of toll-free highways, which was one of the pledges made in the Pakatan Harapan (PH) election manifesto. “We made the manifesto thinking we would not be the government. Now we are the government, and this manifesto is a big burden,” said Mahathir.

“But, at that time, I was against it. I know to have a freeway… you cannot. The only way to have freeways and no toll is to raise the price of petrol,” he added.

The premier also questioned who would maintain the roads or build new ones should the government abolish toll collection. “You tell the private sector to do the roads. They want to make money, but if you don’t have toll, how can you make money?” he said.

Citing the situation in England, Mahathir said the country imposed a heavy tax on petroleum in lieu of toll-free roads, which is hiked whenever the price of petroleum increased.

“So, they use that money. But if you get the money out of the sale of petroleum, people who do not use the highway also have to pay. But here, [highway] users pay. This is our belief. The users pay; those people who are not using [the roads], why should they pay?” he explained, adding that a review of PH’s pledges is needed as some of them would impose great losses if implemented.

It was previously reported that the government would not rush the abolishment of toll collection due to its impact on stakeholders as well as the current financial climate. On the latter, the government recently denied claims that it would cost an estimated RM400 billion to pay off concessionaires in the country.

The price of RON 95 petrol has remained at a constant RM2.20 per litre since May 30, along with Euro 2M diesel at RM2.18 per litre and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.28 per litre. Only the price of RON 97 has fluctuated over the past few months, with the current price set at RM2.79 per litre.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Aik. Then why back then promised to abolish all tolls AND much reduced fuel prices? Were you taking us for fools just to win at all cost?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 10
    • shimmy shaman on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Cuz they can
      N majority of Malaysians are gullible and uneducated

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
      • Spin Too Much on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:03 pm

So no problem.
        We voted you to clamp down 1MDB corrupt and uphold the rule of law as promised

Keep it up Tun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 119
        • Keep Tolling on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:06 pm

Just revert to pre Oct 2015 toll rates. Malaysians will be happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Happy on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:18 pm

abolish tol orso abolish 1.6M public servant

• Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Happy- good ah so no cops around to catch me if kick your ass, no ambulance to take you to ICU, and no bomba to put out the fire when I burn your house down.

• Azmin on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:56 pm

Abolish only lazy public servant and useless bodies like Jakim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • so now who will clamp down the 1990s forex scandal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 46
          • Kakaka on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:00 am

Why promised? Because before election, the they thought to the country has got money. You dun read kah?

• what scandal? u dumb people only talk about 30 billion paper loss but what about the gain of RM50-55 billion. Thats business decision governor & fm have to make sometimes u loss some sometimes u gain.

• Zahid on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Shadow cabinet?

• Post GE14 on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:39 pm

I will be happy already if Pakatan can tighten on corruption and crime execution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 73
      • awang013 on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Gip chance beb … Pipu oso mau bayar hutang kad kredit wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:51 pm

This post sure get a lot of comments condemning Tun M. But I want to ask one question.

5 years ago we were promised car prices would reduce by 30%. Why nobody made noise then? Now can bising so much but when rakyat was played out 5 yrs ago, all quiet like tikus

Remember average Malaysian just pay just few ringgit in toll. Does not make you so poor. But your car loan takes a huge chunk of your salary.

Our car prices are 3X global car prices. If we are paying Rm1000 per month on car loan, by right, it should be RM330 per month if we had global car prices

So don’t make so much of noise when 5 years we waited and all kept quiet then about the promise to reduce car prices by 30% that became capati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 105
      • New Malaysia menu on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Why bother dredging up old history? The previous government didn’t honour their promise so they got booted out. Is that a reason dor Pakatan must dishonour their promises as well? So would it do us justice to boot them out the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 58
        • Azman on Oct 12, 2018 at 5:41 pm

I voted not for manifesto but I voted to kick a Corrupted Government out. I think most Malaysians voted to kick a corrupted Government out.

So, PH can take their time in fulfilling their manifestos. 63 years of corruption cannot be repaired in 5 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
          • Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2018 at 1:26 pm

Keep telling that to yourself. There are voters out there that voted them in because they were gullible to believe that their cost of living went up becoz of GST, 1MDB and (a lot of) handbags.
            If TM can admit they just tabur janji coz they thot they wouldn’t win, who’s to deny the possibility of the so called RM1T debt was just conjured to cover their non-delivering asses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • John minum todi on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:14 pm

What’s in ur drink, bro? Who do u think bring these people back to power? It’s the rakyat la not by military coup. So, when rakyat not making noise on the street doesn’t mean we agreed on everything coz we people voice it out on ballot papers. Ur argumenton toll spending n car prices is a joke. Now u talk exactly like john but devoid of facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Red herring, or in local terms speak pusing-pusing from main topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • Red jacket on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:03 pm

If you can’t afford the loan, why buy expensive car. The choice is yours. Why let the car loan burden you so much. Toll on the other hand is not negotiable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • SaoPei on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:56 pm

You don’t like you Keluar la so much complain for what . If no toll money how you gonna maintain those highway roads use ur moms money ah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
      • Dr Strange on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Why does this sound so strangely familiar? Ahh, the same sht different smell analogy, I see….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • Loler on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:13 am

Normal thing for bashers they practise biar papa asal bergaya, lol

• Rightwinger on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:19 pm

They just tabur janji….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • UTurn M on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:25 pm

He did just that. Now he’s saying “So what? Har har har”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Mohd. Adnan on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:01 pm

Only ONE (I repeat ONE!) PM had ever worked to remove the tolls and we HAD (I repeat HAD!) to remove him from office, all because of a lie against him. I really regret my decision that fateful day. I pray to my Maker I will get a chance to do it right this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 18
      • Contrary from u, i did not regret. Just becoz cannot abolish toll charge, no big deal for me compared to the lies and arrogance of previous gov personnel. My vote was about teaching every politicians to be humble to rakyat and dont treat my tax money like their harta pusaka from their own ancesstors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
        • Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2018 at 1:30 pm

Like what current ones doing now right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Ur vote only teaches politicians that voter memories r short and often nostalgic for the past esp when the top leader showered so much attention, beatings, gassing, and incarceration onto the rakyat. Yes, saya rindu zaman itu when politics was so much more interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • U made the right choice.

• HE Teo on Oct 13, 2018 at 12:27 am

Add some more….talk like roti making roti canai, flip here and twist there.

• Parang red on Oct 15, 2018 at 11:31 am

you must know ,he tried to sabotaj DSAI in PD election in silence. that time is not suitable to talk about this. Please wake up Malaysian !

• Janji Ditepati on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:29 pm

The menefesto is cars cheaper by 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Daniel on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:31 pm

I agree….. its like GST, you use, you pay. However, tolled roads should be limited to elevated highways and the NSE…. roads in the city such as Sprint (excluding Kerinchi Link and Penchala Link), having toll does not elevate traffic congestion because its still congested at the toll and alternative roads are narrow and definitely cannot accommodate the traffic volume. Sprint should return back to the Govt sector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Old dog on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:23 pm

The whole LDP, Kesas, Damansara tol is ripping people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:41 pm

This I got to agree. Blardy hell it’s not a highway at all. Always jam and certain sections have only 2 lanes which is no different than a main road in other areas.

• newme on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Isn’t both abolishment of toll and lowering petrol price were presented on the same page of screen and paper? So much about accusing Donald Trump for being fickle minded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Let be honest,It take times for the new G to fulfilled what rakyat want.
    The damage done by the previous G is so bad will take time to recover. We’ve been tolerate for years already. ROME WAS’nT built in a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 68
    • Lets See on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Let’s see. If they are dishonest & flippant when making promises, how can we trust them with our future?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
      • Lets Think on Oct 15, 2018 at 6:01 pm

At least he is honest to admit he can’t fulfill his promise, can Najib do the same? You rather trust our future with some guy who hides hundreds of handbags and jewelries in his home?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:49 pm

LOL another gullible idiot spotted!! “The damage done by the previous G is so bad” HaHAHAH you still haven’t caught on that it’s one big lie so that the manifesto doesn’t need to be fulfilled??

If the “damage done is so bad”, then why do you think that projects where D & M got their fingers in the pie like LRT3, MRT2, etc. are secretly having price hikes behind the scene? And our FM’s proxy company is doing the PTMP with almost 100% price hike while telling detractors to shut up.

Damage is so bad, huh? Seriously, all political parties must tap on these ignorant voters to win GE15..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Damn Shallow thinking, is more complex than you think. To demolished u need to spend the money…where is the money come from? Yes agree with about the LRT and and our FM. This monkey stand to close to the tree and cannot see the forest. Next time please use a human brain to think. You’ll not understand if you keep using your monkey brain!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Uneducated guy who can’t write proper sentences detected..

• Barnum wrote, theres a fool born every minute in the world. Too bad most of them were concentrated in MY and they reached voting age so ngam to bring him back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Motown Blues on Oct 12, 2018 at 7:35 pm

Wow – with an argument like that, there’s no need to argue!

/sarcasm

• In PHland, only they r right everyone else who has a diff opinion r either wrong or a BN sapoter. There is no democracy except what is defined by them. There is no freedom except what is defined by them. There os no justice except what is defined by them. They r Right and u r Wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Which a typical hallmark of leftwing nut cases like third wave feminists, ultra liberals and SJW a.k.a. NPCs are like.

• Disappointed on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Bye lah PH. Seriously. Bye.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
  • lut you on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:55 pm

U-turn again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Janji dicapati lagi on Oct 12, 2018 at 12:57 pm

“We made the manifesto thinking we would not be the government. Now we are the government, and this manifesto is a big burden” – Tun M.

1 term govt only la..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • ujinboi on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:03 pm

I think I would 100% support to abolish the tolls within Klang Valley as we need to travel almost daily and sometimes more than 2 times through the same toll station in a day.
    However, the tolls within national highways should not be abolished totally but instead reduction of toll prices would be preferred.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Haidi on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Wow! Politician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • no need abolish all toll, just abolish the toll for those Open system toll like LDP, NPE or Duke.

Closed system charges by the distance and people cannot simply enter & exit without paying.

Open system charge a fixed rate at certain places but people can enter & exit where ever.

For Open system, people can enter after the toll booth but exit before the next one. So they are using the highway but not paying for it, yet the highway still need to be maintained due to their usage. Who will pay for that?

Others have to pay for those free-riders and thus the toll rate for these Open system toll is rather expensive and keep on increasing.

Those Open system toll in KL should be abolish or transfer to Govt control.

• v-tec fan on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:35 pm

how about reduce the charges on toll for the start, and some area which have low volume = abolish it.

• Capati on Oct 12, 2018 at 1:45 pm

I feel like a fool. A naive fool who was used just for my vote. Wish I could go back and change. It was my first time voting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Vincent Cheng on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Pre and Post GE14, all YB sound different already! We rakyat is smarter now. We know it is a need of change, we still have chance to change again in GE15! No change, GE14 will be end of democratic system. We hear you clear.. cut all cost, build 3rd national car, via private investor who is the investment arm of GLC. We continue see racist topics been touch and touch again! No worry, we rakyat will hand this topic well in GE15!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Mickey on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Motorcycles that use the highway should pay toll too. Then reduce toll for other classes of vehicles. Don’t tell me the super bikers can’t pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • I’ve always known that they’ll not be able to fulfill their manifestos.

I chuckled when Lim Guan Eng one-upped Najib on abolishing Penang Bridge toll.

What surprises me is how creative these politicians justify their moves. From 1 trillion debt, tabung harapan gimmick, to asking us men on the street to tighten our belts because the the national coffer is in dire state (at the same time putting in much-needed resources into 3rd national car project, and over in Sabah, CM Shafie Afdal just appointed 19 political secretaries to do what only god knows).

Their peculiar behavior never ceases to amaze!!

Oh well… Malaysia have chosen #MalaysiaBaharu

I love Malaysia!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • Agreed on difficult to abolish toll but at least reduce the rate..

• xoxox on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:37 pm

pay toll use highway is ok…just the matter of toll rate…it shouldn’t burden the people

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:52 pm

Believing in a politicians promises is like believing that unicorns exists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Our KWSP dependency on Oct 12, 2018 at 2:58 pm

dont forget KWSP is quite a big shareholders to most of the paid highways. abolishing them without proper plan and replacement are just shooting every rakyat own coffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Optimus on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:21 pm

Then why make such promises? Because it wasn’t THEIR money back then? So now they’re in Govmnt, they found that it wasn’t so easy to keep those promises? Wasn’t that the same explanation given by BN for their underwhelming manifesto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Our KWSP dependency on Oct 12, 2018 at 5:15 pm

well, that was before they took up the government and then found most of us are actually in near bankrupt situation right? anyhow Malaysian voted for better Malaysia or manifesto candies? the one thing we are looking forward are the once big corrupted persons being drag to justice. if Malaysia need to be financially and economically strong again, takes times. not just a flick of a switch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:24 pm

Hahaha another gullible fool spotted! You seriously think our country is going bankrupt??? Man, you guys really deserve the incompetent government that you chose..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Bapak was right about 1 thing. MY pipu education level is going down and this really reflected on the Gov that they have chosen. There is no Hope in this country anymore, unless it corrects its course in 4 years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Halo brader, you don’t know ah ? Mahathir calculates that 1 trillion debt to include your housing and car loan also, company loan also he count in. What has that got to do with government’s credit position?

You must read more, don’t just sit between his legs whenever he takes a piss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • The stupid rakyat wanted Malaysia Baru, but instead they get Malaysia Lama, even older than Malaysia under Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • u chase away a wolf but here come the tiger.

• Catch 22. Either way the Rakyat lose.
    So much for the election ‘moneyfiasco’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • dragonslayermonsterhunter on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Hey old man, i know its hard to abolish tolls, there is pros n cons,but even if you cannot abolish toll atleast atleast please please reduce the rate by 50%, if you cant abolish it!, help the rakyat, we dont want to hear something like ‘we cant’ ‘its impossible’ we are the ‘boss’ here , we vote you guys, it you cant do it then its nothing better than previous gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Ghani on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:45 pm

No it’s worse than the previous gomen. The previous gomen was on track to fulfill their dour and boringly realistic manifestos but got abruptly stopped by GE14. This gomen simply main janji saja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • kzm (Member) on Oct 12, 2018 at 3:44 pm

LoL

• ng see eng on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:08 pm

It is okay to privatize the highway – Build, Operate then Transfer. The problem is that there is no transparency in the concessioner agreement. Is the cost just and fair? Are we paying too much? Why collection period be extended?

• Hasif on Oct 12, 2018 at 4:17 pm

Sarawak dont have toll but we hv to pay the toll in semenanjung? Produce petroleum some more. Car also more expensive here.haha…what a joke.

• Jchan on Oct 12, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Most of us ubderstand d country financial problem created by d old govt.It’s time d govt.take a faster step by recovering all those money lost thro corruption.Charge those cases that can recover lost money n confiscate it without mercy.Use d money first instead waitibg to tax d rakyat .Those corrupted r diverting d money ,spending n enjoying it.So, no more political talk.Go n try to recover as much as possible to deal with d problems.No more unnecesssry delay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • yes, also reduce redundant government servants as promised!

• DonkeyKong on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:27 pm

HAHAHAH this is another example of a stupid gullible voter!!!

Malaysia’s GDP is over RM1.2 trillion. That’s *TRILLION*.

The “corruption” and money that will be confiscated? Currently the charge is RM42 million. RM2.6 billion is an allegation that is not backed by paper trail yet.

If you think the theft of RM42 million or RM2.6 billion can jeopardize an economy of RM1.2 trillion and make the country bankrupt, you’re really a special kind of stupid.

• IGP Mom on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:53 pm

U think this is the only charge? Then u must be a gullible fool. This is only the beginning and more charges are coming for him. I would like to see how he can be innocent of all the charges. Yeah, 42M or 2.6B can’t do much damage but see how many years this guy has been in power as FM & PM? U still think he can’t suck the country dry?

• before win, everything possible, after win, everything impossible. Rule of useless government.

• Ben Yap on Oct 12, 2018 at 9:09 pm

So this is empty promises? Another empty promise is to turn around the country? I told ya, politicians cannot be trusted. After all the leaders of PH are ex-UMNO. What do u expect?

• Truthsayer on Oct 13, 2018 at 6:42 am

The price you pay to be a motorist in Malaysia.

• Go ahead to hike petrol on Oct 13, 2018 at 9:23 am

Go ahead to hike petrol and abolish toll, becuz tolls only in klang valley, petrol is nationwide included the singaporean and thailand. You get more income with petrol hike

• Toll collection goes on forever, never ending, Billions go into crony pockets. Car duties sooo high, some more add SST.

Where all the money coollected go, 30 years aredy!!!!!!

Ptuiiii

• Okay, do not abolish the tolls.
    Should instead reduce them to reduce the users burden and to continue highway maintenance.

• Most of you are too stupid to believe whatever the current government said. The original problem was created by Atuk’s government before (Anwar included), while Paklah and Najib were basically fixing whatever problem left by Atuk. If it’s not because of Paklah, we would have “jambatan bengkok” today, and If it’s not because of Najib, there won’t be any toll-free Pan Borneo and Central Spine Road at all

• Alwi zakar on Oct 15, 2018 at 5:39 am

I agreed 100% with Tun, yes I’m a macai.

• Considering that there are many parties on Harapan, its possible that this toll abolishment manifesto was agreed by majorities but an item which TunM disagreed. Considering TunM style of addressing question promptly, i could understand his answer as these situation is normal when you present a group proposal.

For example, when brainstorming for manifesto, everyone is eager to include their ideals no matter how illogical even forcing others at the rate that you can’t move forward without including those ideals. I think this is what happening to the manifesto. TunM as the lead just want to move forwards as the PRU is the main priority and not the manifesto.

At the end of the day, when we actually need to implement it, sensible decision need to be made and ideals thinking need to be compromised. There are still people in Harapan that is pushing for toll abolishment so with time, it might be implemented. It won’t be now with the strict financial focus we have for year 2018 and 2019. Some people really should chill a bit!

• Since he already clarified that it is not possible to have highway without collection of tolls, I’m sure Pan-Borneo Highway will have tolls too once completed.