Unwise to drop tolls in current financial climate: Daim

While members of the government continue to debate the proposed abolishment of highway toll collection, the Council of Eminent Persons (CEP) has advised against doing so as part of its recommendations to the government, according to The Star.

The council’s chairman Tun Daim Zainuddin said that removing all tolls would be unwise given the country’s current financial climate. “We had submitted our proposal, and while the idea is to remove toll completely, at the current financial position it’s not wise to do it at this stage. I think the rakyat will be able to understand,” he told reporters.

Daim added that the CEP has also received numerous proposals from highway concessionaires on how to abolish tolls, although he noted that those proposals require more scrutiny. “Some of the proposals are not complete and everyone seems to have their own ideas,” he said.

A gradual abolishment of toll collection over five years was one of the promises made by Pakatan Harapan in its manifesto for the 14th general election, but the plan has been hit with a few speed bumps since the party claimed its shock victory in May. In July, works minister Baru Bian said that while the government is working hard to fulfil its promises, it “cannot rush into things” and that the people should be patient.

The following month, Baru claimed that the government may need to fork out up to RM400 billion to buyout concessionaires, later saying that the plan had been postponed indefinitely. This earned a rebuke from Damansara MP Tony Pua, who said that the final figure would not reach RM400 billion.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments express skepticism about the government's delay or failure to fulfill promises of toll abolition and price reductions, highlighting unmet commitments made during election campaigns. Many are frustrated that tolls remain in place, and petrol prices haven't been decreased as promised, leading to feelings of betrayal among voters. Several criticisms focus on perceived mismanagement, unfulfilled promises, and political blame-shifting, especially towards the previous government. Some supporters argue that tolls are necessary for national development and financial recovery. Overall, the sentiment is one of disappointment and distrust toward the current administration's commitment to its electoral promises, with numerous calls for immediate action, such as reducing toll rates or honoring campaign pledges.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Then why you never said anything before GE14? No habuan then is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 9
    • Razlan on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:11 pm

We had rightly kicked him out of Umno before GE14.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:32 pm

Rakyat are so happy that we have a clean Government running the country. We need tolls now to build the country from theft and corruption the past 60 yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:35 pm

You don’t speak for us. The rakyat is seething mad with anger at their broken promises. They said they can get it done as soon as getting into power, but it wasn’t done. FINE!

They said they needed 100 days to fulfill their promises, so they ask for some time. FINE!

But now they come back with all these sorry excuses and said that all their promises will never be done. NOT FINE!!!!

Party of Hacks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
          • Malaysian on Aug 22, 2018 at 11:03 pm

You dont speak for us either..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • sabahan on Aug 22, 2018 at 11:52 pm

True that. BN had been Hacking off our Sabah timber forests for 60years bah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Darren on Aug 23, 2018 at 11:16 am

That person doing the hacking and profiteering from it is now in PH. You want to complain, go see PH.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 23, 2018 at 12:38 pm

They never said they were going to abolish tolls immediately, or even within the first 100 days. There was always a five-year timeline for a complete abolishment of tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Jonathan, when I look at this (paultan.org/2018/08/13/plans-to-abolish-toll-collection-put-on-hold-indefinitely/), it tells me that they do NOT and will NOT be removing tolls as promised even after 5 years. Untrustworthy from the get go.

• Ghani on Aug 22, 2018 at 4:26 pm

Can’t believe this Co-Bapak Piratisation of Malaysia.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2018 at 5:58 pm

Too rightly so. Should have done that much sooner back then.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 21, 2018 at 6:57 pm

It is true what Daim says. Unwise to drop this. Because we need every sen we can get to compensate and pay back all the damage and corruption the previous corrupted regime did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
      • U needed every sen becoz of 100days missmanagement & non fulfillment of ur promises. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • 12yrsold on Aug 23, 2018 at 11:03 am

100days missmanagement & non fulfillment of promises is totally different john. If U say the previous Gomen has mismanaged, U are 100% right. If U say PH Gomen did not fulfill their promises, that is correct & acceptable.

• They missmanaged their priorities & resource allocation, hence causing the unfulfillment of their promises. Therefore its correct & acceptable to say that New Gov had missmanaged and did not fulfill their promises, Right!!!

• 12yrsold john on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:38 pm

Uncle john pandai pusing pusing sampai tak tahu apa yg dia kelentong

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:34 pm

got rfid. can drop toll. new ERP style gantry system.

• Leafable on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:34 pm

You don’t slaughter your cash cow just to get some vote LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • YB Ogos on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Well done TDZ. Irregardless of all detractor noises & with full support of all M’sians, Pakatan must stay focused on the path to curb corruption.

Our nation to go more pragmatic, prudent, forward-looking, fair, meritocratic and caring society for the old, the less fortunate and the vulnerable rakyat.

Especially providing affordable housing, medical, education & jobs. Sayangi Malaysiaku!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 51
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 21, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Tepati Janjimu Dulu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
      • Dedakman on Aug 21, 2018 at 7:29 pm

In that case, tepati janji najib dulu…. Where is the promise to reduce car price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
        • https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/

• Malaysian on Aug 22, 2018 at 11:05 pm

Go and read najib’s manisfesto first. see if everything already di tepati or not..

• Isobel Chin on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:33 am

Najib abolished Federal Highway tolls and for thank Im already thankful to him even though it wasnt in his Manifesto. He did more that what he promised. What did PH do about their janji?

• Azrene on Aug 23, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Now all Msians saved 6% freaking Gst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • So what?! Just to pay 10% in 2 more weeks! I didn’t remember voting them to pay more and becoming poorer.

• Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:43 pm

5 years we Malaysians waited for the janji of 30% car price reduction…oh wai!

• Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:29 pm

Tak payah tepati. PH supporters are just happy we threw out a corrupted regime.

Take your time to tepati your janji. We give you 5 years, not 100 days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Only PH supporters are as mindless to support no matter how terrible they are. Just because the rakyat voted for you people, doesn’t mean we are PH supporters. Our votes can change!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • tokmoh. on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:10 pm

He just said unwise to drop toll, but not to buy the concessionaires.

It’s known to be super profitable, so buying out the concessionaires would be a good way to improve govt’s cashflow.

Reduce/remove toll can wait until then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:59 pm

If they cannot fulfill their promises, then they lack the credibility to be in Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
      • Muhd Latiff Ibrahim on Aug 21, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Majority of Rakyat voted PH not for their manifestos but to kick out a corrupted Government.

I don’t care whether they fulfill their manifestos and so do millions of PH supporters.

So long as we kicked out a korup gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
      • Khalid on Aug 22, 2018 at 3:09 am

As long as the corrupted and spend thrift and furthermore useless SATAN CHIEF is KICKED OUT.

Every Rakyat now is very HAPPY even they continue to pay tolls for a short time before making any next decision or conclusion on PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
        • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:39 pm

Every Rakyat? No. Maybe only you. I am not happy at all to still be paying tolls when the promise was total abolishment. And I am not happy either to be paying above Rm2 for petrol when the promise was to fix it at Rm1.50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Masa zaman najib okay pulak nak bayar above RM2??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 23, 2018 at 4:05 pm

Who says? I certainly didn’t vote for him, but now I’m certainly regret voting for you guys!

• Albert Yong on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Previous supporter forgot that 30% car price reduction promise also we kena tipu….oh wai!

• DonkeyKong on Aug 22, 2018 at 5:10 pm

LOLLL with people like Muhd Latiff and Khalid, no wonder BN could stay in power for 60 years and now, PH will be able to stay in power for another 60 years..

The mistake BN did was to start throwing about facts and hard data, campaigning based on economic data and growth indicators. BN’s strategic communication team came out with graph after graph, and threw about numbers and percentages day-in and day-out. All that didn’t mean anything to the voters, who couldn’t make sense of it.

Meanwhile, PH appealed to the lowest common denominator in society by playing with propaganda, emotions and empty promises. In contrast to BN, PH was talking about how much suffering and hardship BN has caused, and that PH can turn it around 180 degrees. This strategy worked. As Dr M himself said, they made those promises without expecting to win the elections, and they got caught with their pants down.

The lesson here is – Malaysia is full of uneducated people. You just need to talk about corruption, theft etc. and make 1001 empty promises that you have no intention to fulfill, and you’ll be sure to get their votes. BN, please take note.. please go back to the old tried-and-tested formula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Trump played to the lowest denominator and played emotions, and won. So did Bapak as well. Congrats. MY has achieved USA levels… of uneducated pipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Jojmbul on Aug 21, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Dasar penipu bosa. Sebolom monang langit bumi bulan bintang dijanjikan. Dah monang macam2 alasan. Unwise my bum la weh. 3rd national car wise pulak ye. We need RCI to investigate the CEP & bapak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 12
  • From one of the guys who set up TOLLS during his time…..ptui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • taboogen on Aug 21, 2018 at 8:38 pm

aes no need to pay is it wise then.. why nothing said about nation financial .. prtffff

• 12yrsold on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:49 am

The $$$ paid to AES goes into crony account & not into Gomen account.

• Tz1234 on Aug 21, 2018 at 9:06 pm

Why opposes the abolishment?
    It’s pay as you use. I am willingly to pay if I use an expressway, esp. NSE. It’s really need a lot of money to maintain it, sustainability. Of course, abolishment of those ‘must use’ highway such as LDP should be considered.
    I’m happy if they lower or maintain the charge rate for the coming 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • thebigbangtheory on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:26 am

Let’s not drop toll, instead… reduce it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Michael on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:50 am

They know 1MDB had make our country nearly bankrupt country + they say they can buy back the tol when they become government..are we nearly bankrupt? If we nearly bankrupt can buy back the tol but why now cannot? give time for new government, ok let wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 22, 2018 at 1:40 pm

The wait and see is OVER! The 100 days is OVER!
      Where’s the results? What happened to the promises unfulfilled?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • please give me evident in their manifesto saying the will reduce petrol to rm1.50?

• and did you not read the newspaper? there is a lot of 100 promises fullfilled and some are on their way. the only wrong they did is misscalculated the damaged done by the previous gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Isobel Chin on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:35 am

Arent you the same folks that told us not to trust mainstream media as it is the mouthpiece of the government? So you telling us to trust it now because it is the mouthpiece of YOUR government? Is that it?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Mikey on Aug 23, 2018 at 10:45 am

Yah, I agree with U to vote back the previous Gomen that took $$$ from us without batting an eye that is causing us billions in interest alone.
        We also must “blame” DAP too bcoz they cannot sweep the billions under the carpet Right!!!

• Petoron Sagu on Aug 22, 2018 at 12:48 pm

At least….if cant abolish the toll, please reduce the rate… 5% initially to prove that u dont urinate we Malaysian.

• Selamatkan negara tercinta on Aug 22, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Ishh…ishhh
    Janji kata bole buat…
    Last..last tak blehh
    Ni apa punya citer…..
    Next election jangan pangkah dah ….kaki2 pusing yg ada
    Rakyat menderita lagiiii

• jngan risau bang. ni cuma cadangan CEP. kalau kabinet tak nak pakai cadangan diorg ni pon tak salah. menteri pon ada sebut nak mansuhkan. dan akan mulakan dgn highway yg tiada jln alternatif. cuma akan makan masa dan akan dilaksanakan dlm 5 thun.

• Abah kau on Aug 22, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Atleast show some effort la. Just pick 1 toll and just reduce it by 10 sen oso ok la.. don’t have to abolish it straight away..

• Amran on Aug 22, 2018 at 10:23 pm

Ini betul2 janji dicapati.

• Masa zaman najib okay pulak nak bayar above RM2??

• Acceptable with extended dateline. It must be fulfilled. Find more efficient way to run as new government. GLCs must leverage on new technology that brings revolution to the country, not just gaining the miantenace and services without innovation.

• Amran on Aug 23, 2018 at 7:42 am

Masa kempen cakap negara nak bankrap, tapi janji nak hapus semua tol. Dah berkuasa cakap negara tidak akan bangkrap walaupun xda GST, tapi tak boleh nak hapus tol..
    Apa ini? Next election kita pangkah PAS. Kita tfk lebai pas pulak jd PM & menteri kewangan.

• J reader on Aug 23, 2018 at 8:22 am

hi to all ministers that are sitting up there.. as a rakyat, i understand the state of financial problem that you are facing now. so you cannot abolish the tolls yet. but from a rakyat perspective, sekurang-kurangnya, drop price lah sikit. sikit-sikit lama2 hapus lah terus. now already pass 100 days and not even 10 cents drop? people are starting to get angry. at least drop 25% ke so people akan rasa KURANG terbeban. if no drop, then the beban is still the same as previous.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 23, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Pakatan Harapan never promised to abolish tolls within 100 days. The manifesto specifically mentioned a five-year timeframe for a gradual removal of toll collection.

• Rakyatsuara on Aug 23, 2018 at 1:26 pm

PH must abolish 100% in coming 4 years plus, this is what PH promise, I and other people don’t want to hear any nonsense excuses, PLUS is totally hold by government directly or indirectly 100%, if you choose to continue to lier to your rakyat, then go ahead, rakyat vote will give you a good lesson next election.

• Sila Turun Sikit on Aug 24, 2018 at 9:16 am

PH said the tolls can’t be drop a the moment. Then how about at least REDUCE THE FARE. Same go to fuel.. please LOWER THE FUEL PRICE. This will show the how PH is dedicate and sincerely to help Rakyat, Peduli rakyat…

• Why should it be present rate toll or no toll at all? Why cant reduce toll rates by at least 30%? Reduce also cannot?