Gov’t needs to pay RM400 billion to abolish tolls in one go, operation model still under review – works minister

The government is currently reviewing the operation model for tolls in Malaysia and expects to reveal its findings by the end of the year. This is according to works minister Baru Bian, who added that the study will also cover the topic of toll prices, as reported by The Edge.

“As it is a big concern to many people, we will try to expedite it. The toll issue is very clear, I think we have made our stand that we are going to review, look at the whole aspect of it, (including) the impact of it, to all the stakeholders,” Baru said at Parliament lobby recently.

Of course, the more buzzing issue is on the abolishment of tolls, which Baru considered a “very sensitive” matter and that a final decision can only be made when the implications are made clear. “We also come to understand that the implication (of the toll abolishment) is huge. If we abolish it all at one go, as the previous government said, it could even cost us about RM400 billion,” he said.

The government is responsible for all quarters involved in the issue, including the Malaysian Highway Authority, toll concessionaires as well as employees. Stakeholders such as the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) which has a stake in PLUS Malaysia Bhd, also need to be taken into consideration, making the process rather complicated with the various parties involved.

In its GE14 manifesto, Pakatan Harapan stated it would abolish highway tolls in stages. However, Baru noted that the Works Ministry will not rush the issue, as mentioned previously. “In the first place, the manifesto committee has a very good intention. It is not the bible, it’s not the Quran, but it’s a guide for the new government,” Baru said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• “It is not the bible, it’s not the Quran, but it’s a guide for the new government”

Manifesto bukan janji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 18
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Next time dont promise anything that is impossible to fulfill…promises are meant to be delvered…pakatan won because of all these promises…dont make a mockery of ypurself

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 21
      • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:36 pm

It could have been fulfilled if the previous Government did not leave a mess of corruption.

When Pakatan took over, they did not know there was hundreds of billions to be paid to undo so many other corrupted practices.

So, how to blame PH? Before that, we the rakyat also did not know the extent of corruption the past 60 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 88
        • ignorasmus on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:46 pm

You are so deep in propaganda. Everything is published by BNM in their report. To claim PH did know the extent of our is just plain stupid and ignorant. Maybe they should do fact checking first before dishing out promises.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 16
        • Who says PH dunno? Ur politicians have long been telling us that MY is verging on bankruptcy long b4 making such promises. R ur politicians telling us the lie now, or telling us the lie back then? Enuff with the lies lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
        • kaison on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Kerajaan Persekutuan sudah bayar RM7 Bilion hutang 1MDB… Tahu tak tahu? Yes or no ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
          • Bayaran hutang 1MDB comes from 1MDB assets. Tahu tak tahu? Yes or no ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
        • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:33 pm

too much of corruption. Dedak everywhere. We need to clean up dedak first. It is everywhere.

When you move into a new house, you need to clean the dirt and grime from the floor first before you put your new furniture on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
      • Sorry … I dont vote PH for their menofestos but only to get rid of BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 23
        • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:34 pm

good one…lolz. Whole Malaysia wanted a clean Government and not manifestos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
        • Dr Strange on Aug 03, 2018 at 8:08 pm

So to remove evil, you chose a bigger evil. Thanos would agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
          • Ironman on Aug 03, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Thanos have a team of lawyers guarding his @$$, not easy to contain him

• Avenger on Aug 04, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Not to mention Thanos now got the full might of the government backing him. He is now utterly invincible. One snap of finger and anyone will be magically gone to Kamunting.

• So u sure ur bible that u read will fulfil all the promises?

• fraz006 on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:57 pm

bongok apa. aku taktau lgsg pun tol nak free dlm manifesto PH masa mngundi.

nampak tak org undi PH bukan psl manifesto bang. psl BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
    • fraz006 on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:59 pm

i dont even know about free toll is in manifesto before PH won.

nampak tak orang memang undi PH bukan sebab manifesto. sebab getting rid of BN aja ,bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
      • Kereta Murah on Aug 03, 2018 at 10:55 pm

Sembang atas angin je lah. Kalau rakyat nak undi keluar BN, dah ada chance 13 kali sebelum ni. Rakyat undi PH hanya kerana janji2 dlm manifesto mereka tu. Itu saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • Baru noted rightly the manifesto, “It is not the bible, it’s not the Quran, but it’s a guide for the new government”. Still an uphill battle.

the RM1.08 Trillion debt burden gifted by past administration of RM686.8b govt debt; RM199b PFI & DanaInfra guarantees & RM201b PPP obligations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
    • “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP).”
      – By LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Fordist on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:33 pm

The more they speak, the more ridiculous they sound. Ridiculous government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • John is otak batu on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:40 pm

john will never understand this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Fordist on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:13 pm

So as any self-respected economist & finance experts, financial bodies & authorities, and ratings agencies, much less the man on the streets will have trouble grasping the mathematics magic trick show done by the new administration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • azrai on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Oppos will have trouble accepting the debt reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Which debt reality? Certainly not by the standards of World Bank or IMF. If they want to play fantasy government, they can stay in their hole and not just simply promise to the voters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Yup. I cant understand how they can up prices and call it a cost down. Their logic and laws of physics tarak ngam.

• sendiri cakap on Aug 04, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Where they call it cost down?

• https://paultan.org/2018/07/13/lrt3-project-goes-ahead-but-costs-reduced-by-47-6-stations-axed-smaller-buildings-less-shorter-trains/

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:40 pm

The rakyat has the obligation & the right to demand the PH Gov make good on their promises. Enough nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
      • I Makan Dia Bayar IMDB on Aug 03, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Amik la koolaid, janji high
        Love is free, why wori.
        Hutang payoff by themself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 03, 2018 at 10:58 pm

Koolaid high, tapi janji2 kosong manifesto lagi le hgih.

• Grease monkey on Aug 03, 2018 at 9:39 pm

But still mati mati mau perotiga, wtf

• FireAce on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:08 pm

Don’t do it at all at one go. Maybe can pay less if do the below.
    1. Find the toll that have mid traffic volume and abolish that.
    2. Drivers will naturally use the now FOC highway.
    3. Volume in other highways drops, use the new lower volume to calculate compensation for the next targeted toll.
    4. Repeat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Najib Razak (ex-PM) on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:44 pm

or simply reduce to RM1 per car, for operation costs. even from melaka to shah alam trip. so govt can still maintain the PLUS workers (clerical staff, toll operators, towing) and also other maintenance like piping, electrical, road re-surface and landscape/grass cut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • lilytan on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:42 pm

If they really wanna help, they can. Too bad we see only excuses now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • Spin Too Much on Aug 03, 2018 at 8:07 pm

A govt of excuses, a govt of blame game, a govt of pointing fingers while perpetrating the deed, such a dysfunctional govt. But thats what Malaysians has chosen, so we have to live with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • As the USA has to suffer the imbecility of their voters, so too must MY as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Mikey on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Don’t abolish toll, Rakyat will pay for it when “we use” the toll.
    If abolish toll, the Gomen will have to pay 1st which indirectly is Rakyat $$$.

Either way, we are screwed & a handful prosper. john, please do your part after me bcoz U love to hentam Bapak. Take your best shot. He he he. Cheers…to being screwed ROYALLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • “If cant fulfill their promise, then GET OUT!”
      How about that ah ahboy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
  • Notoll on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Instead of making roads toll free, why don’t they show their commitment by reducing the prices within 1 year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Dedak in the house on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:19 pm

I tot they promised to make it free.. not to reduce the fee.. really janji dicapati.. dicanai and ditoseikan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Oppotunist on Aug 03, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Once they have have given a promise, it has to be fulfilled. If not, next GE people will punush them for making people a bunch of fools to promise and that but nothing done.

• History Bender on Aug 04, 2018 at 12:32 pm

That next time is 5 years later. Meanwhile Malaysia mudah lupa mar!

• KelvinT on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:17 pm

I waited many adult years to see a change of BN govt & thought will never see it in my life time. So I am willing to wait a while for them to fulfill the election pledge. They have done well so far. They didn’t know that there is RM One trillion debt before taking over from BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 48
  • Ben Yap on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:44 pm

tolls should not and never be abolished. drivers need to pay for what they have used. there is no free lunch. there are public transportation like train and buses which the people can take if they refuse to pay tolls.

the government gave us nice roads and it’s not free. the concessionaires will have to make a profit and also there are stakeholders involved. the market shares of the concessionaires are also at stake.

there is no way to abolish tolls and the concessionaires contract with the government on how much they would’ve earn during their tenure will need to be fulfilled.

those in paultan calling for the abolishing of tolls are short-sighted people. each of you want to save a few hundred dollars a month but put the nation debt higher. this makes no sense at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
    • John Guan Eng on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:51 pm

correct, but remove all the top management in PLUS with big pay and fat bonuses. then only we can reduce the toll to a more reasonable figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Korean Fan on Aug 04, 2018 at 11:13 am

Well, it is the PH that called for abolishment of toll. You can see it in their manifesto.

• Very Sensible approach … There is no need to rush and make things worse. They will need to think through whats best for the future of the next generation. At least we get reasonable and responsible answers from the current ministry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Mr. Octopus on Aug 03, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Don’t have to abolish all tolls at once. For a start, reduce the costs, especially for those who use them to go and return from work.

Worst case at least reduce the charges during those periods of rush hour. Other times can go back to normal as most using it those time are for business, which they can claim or add to company expenses….

I’m sure the are many other ways to do it. Don’t need a genius to figure it out.

Though a manifesto is not a legal guarantee, it is still a promise made and breaking that promise means breaking the trust the people put in you.

Yes you can argue that it is only 3 months since you took over the governent but your response on some of the manifested issues sounds like a car salesman from the 90s.

Those in the government now who says that they are shocked to discover that our debt is RM1 trillion, please resign and let the next person through.

For years and years you have been preaching that the BN govt is a corrupt bunch thru and thru so what made you think the debts as declared then was the truth?

You should have known very well what you were getting yourselves into before preaching the manifesto to the whole country….

Now I feel like I’ve just hired someone who seemed credible on paper & did very well in the interview but during probation starting to show signs of “Ini budak pon tak boleh pakai la”….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • Stapler on Aug 03, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Yep.. we still find the previous office boy is better although he loves snitching chocolates from pantry fridge.

• tabogen on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:01 pm

tudia janji dicapati now all saying no need to abolished toll.. “cakap tak serupa bikin”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • reyust on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:04 pm

I thought it will only cot RM50 biilions.

• carazy on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:15 pm

If it can’t abolish, at least lower toll rate, it will ease rakyat burden. Festive season is coming, 1/2 rate toll pon ok..

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 03, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Make LDP a free road. I don’t know wtf am I paying for a highway that is jam 99% of the time. We pay tolls to skip jams, not to sit in it plus it’s a dual carriageway which cannot cope with the volume of traffic. Try looking at Phillipines Skyway which is a highway above the roads connecting between cities.

• Gojeng on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:00 pm

A big F-U to the rakyats who were gullible enough to believe what they promised earlier. The same people who scream “we can do better!” “people’s voices are sacred! (suara rakyat itu keramat!)”. In the end, same-same.

I still stand with my demand that if you cannot abolish, at least reduce the tolls. Janji tinggal janji, harapan tinggal harapan. In less that 100 days, lots have been shown to the non-partisan rakyat. Only its blind supporters who will swallow kaw-kaw whatever PH did, no matter it is good or bad.

Oh well, another 4 years and 9 months to go before the next election. Interesting to see how far they will go to con the voters, and whether blind supporters will finally realize that all politicians are the same crook with different colors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Microorganism on Aug 03, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Then don’t promise lah if you cannot do!

#amsickandtiredofthis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Sopian on Aug 03, 2018 at 8:18 pm

If it is so costly to abolish, why not reduce the toll rates by 50%. At least there is money coming for maintenance work. The rakyat’s burden will be lessen & the government does not have to pay much.

• I dont mind if toll is not going to be abolished but atleast consider lowered toll price wildo me good…:)

• Penangnite on Aug 04, 2018 at 11:06 am

Don’t talk about abolish all tolls…just for a beginning, please abolish penang bridge motorcycles toll

• Sitizen. on Aug 04, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Abolish gst good but another burden is comming up sst.It doesn’t benefit the people.

• Abdul ghani on Aug 04, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Cut down the north south bound toll rate to 50% at least for now .That can help lower rakyats burden.

• KorekKorekHidung on Aug 04, 2018 at 8:53 pm

Ini masalah semua hasil kerja Dr m dulu elok elok arwah Tun Razak hasil kerjasama JKR bina PLUS secara PERCUMA tapi tetiba meninggal. Dr M naik jadi pm sambung siapkan the rest 30% terus chop mohor bina tol plaza. Ikut agenda Tun Razak tak akan ada tiang kutip tol pun. Ini kerja jahat Dr M. Lepas 1980an nampak senang chop duit terus swastakan kerja bina semua lebuhraya dan jalan raya di Malaysia pada proksi kronies.

UEM, Renong etc semua agen iblis tu tukang kutip chop duit rakyat via toll gates semua ni lah. Bila temberang cakap nak hapuskan toll gates ni maka semua rakyat marhaen pun terpedaya percaya. Dr M punya angkara dulu dia pun tak ada niat nak betulkan semula pun. JKR pun dah tiada fungsi sekarang ni. Semua kerja repair jalan pun kasik kroni proksi. Sebab tu kualiti jalan serupa celaka hari ini repair esok kompom berlubang balik.

Mimpi sahaja lah impian hapuskan toll ni. LRT pun Dr M bina separuh hati je 90an dulu. Sekarang inipun dia pikir nak bukak satu lagi kilang buat kereta. 30 tahun dan Rm30 billion burned coverup Proton pun belum terbayar balik. Poodah!

• Dawamani on Aug 05, 2018 at 9:06 am

Interstate highways (PLUS) can be maintained, albeit with reduced toll charges. For heaven’s sake remove the intra-state highways like KESAS, SPRINT, DUKE ans so forth. Its a rip off! Anyway, Tun was the father of tolls .. may be he knows how to overcome this. Let’s wait!

• Yau Yat Hoong on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:43 pm

A simple and cost effective solution is to create competition for the highway concessionaires. Identify high impact/high traffic/congestion zones and build an alternative road that not just rival the size and quality of the highways, but better and free. Cheaper and no compensation need to be paid.