Plans to abolish toll collection put on hold indefinitely

The government says that toll collection is set to continue for the foreseeable future because it does not have the means to absorb the financial impact if collection is abolished, The Sun reports.

In its GE14 election manifesto, Pakatan Harapan (PH) stated it would abolish highway tolls in stages. Because it would cost the government RM400 billion to abolish tolls in one go, works minster Baru Bian says that PH has decided to put the matter on hold indefinitely until the country’s financial situation improves.

“After taking into account this factor (of having to fork out RM400 billion), the government has agreed to postpone the proposal to abolish tolls until our economy really stabilises and allows for it. The government will, however, study other options that we may deem to be more practical in order to reduce the cost of living for the rakyat,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat.

Last month, Employees Provident Fund (EPF) CEO Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan had said that highway tolls could not be abolished within 100 days as the government had other monetary priorities to address at this time. He added that the abolishment process is a rather complicated one involving several parties.

“Ultimately, any toll restructuring is indeed a zero-sum game where one needs to make a payment whether or not it provides a balance between the users and the concessionaires. I think the government also wants to be fair because toll removal and compensation to the concessionaires will transfer the burden to taxpayers, and I think that [being fair] is the priority of the government,” he had then said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jojmbul on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:26 pm

Don’t abolish. Raise tolls, build more tolls to pay nation debt la, to make protiga too. Meh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 12
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:24 pm

sensible Pakatan Harapan gomen not to turn Malaysia into another Venezuela or Turki. Sayangi Malaysiaku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:26 pm

Ha ha ha ha. Now everybody knows how it feels janji di capati.

Remember in GE 13, we were told that car prices would come down by 30%? Then Government promised that if we voted for them, our car prices 100% confirmed to reduce 30%. So, we all voted for BN hoping that we all can buy our Honda Civic for RM80k

5 years passed, we kena kelentong. And yet, we still keep quiet about it and don’t demand why the Government did not honour their promise to reduce car prices by 30%

So, before we make noise about tolls, don’t forget, we should make noise about where our promise to reduce car prices by 30% went?

This is more pressing. Tolls just come to one or two hundred per month. But car prices, you save like RM30k at one go. Plus the heavy interest we pay to the bank for our 9 year loans.

High car prices is far far far worse than tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • Match on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:19 am

GST abolished. Janji ditepati.

Sapoters or pembangkang oso enjoy ‘Tax holiday’ yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 14, 2018 at 12:22 pm

3 months out of 5 years!!! Then what about the rest of the 4 years and 3 months, with SST coming in and estimated to increase prices??? Do you think we live for 3 months only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Sohai on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:33 pm

The more you talk, the more impossible. Protiga 2020 is too late to capture technology & market share. If want to do it, then do it fast, make this project to kickoff this year Q4’18.

• Digidigi on Aug 13, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Ya, don’t abolish, coz old man want protiga by 2020

• I lolz at those who will come protek later. Lolz!

• Iskandar on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:03 am

Common sense. How to give no tolls now? Before take over PH did not know got RM1 trillion debt. Did not know RM18 billion duit GST kena songlap

Now everyday got new scandal…..so how to gip free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 51
        • Carazy on Aug 14, 2018 at 7:47 am

I want to eat CAPATI today.. can PH give me that?

• Chandran on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:14 am

Gov to fork out RM400B abolish tolls. Better buy 400 Equanimity superyachts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • “The official Federal Government debt is RM686.8bil (50.8% of GDP). Every other things we just invented” – By LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • christophe on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:41 am

Come on la. Common sense for a MALAYSIAN government is to….

U turn then u turn then u turn

As usual with janji manis dan cakap tak serupa bikin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • maslan on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:43 am

Alredi said many times, GST better..

Kenot abolishh tol? Saman PLUS..

• U no common sense? on Aug 14, 2018 at 2:02 pm

B4 GE14, PH said Malaysia fail state and bankrupt. Then promise petrol rm1.50/l and remove toll.

This makes sense to you? Where is the common sense?

• “Ini hari kami menang, besok tol free ” – sound familiar ?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • DriveNewWays on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Don’t worry, we will promise to abolish the tolls again when GE15 comes around… =)

Trust us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 5
    • Abdul Ghani on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:32 pm

what happened to the promise in GE12 and GE13 by BN that IPP contracts will be reviewed? We all know the IPP contracts are lopsided and TNB is getting screwed big time.

Cause most of us pay TNB bills like RM500 per month each household

RM500 is more heavy than few ringgit tolls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • kingslayer on Aug 14, 2018 at 12:28 pm

and where were you all this while? if you missed out, 1MBD being used to purchase IPPs and then selling them back with better terms to TNB..

this one for free: IPPs majority belonging to cronies of PM4. that’s why the fuss when PM6 wanted to remove to ‘privilege’ of IPPs for TNB to get better deal..

rm500 on electricity? i bet this a big bluff for b40 also to M40 groups (to certain extend).. approx. rm300 (or below) most likely the case.. not that I’m happy paying that amount but don’t exaggerate and spread hate

• I’m working in power generation sector and what you said is just rubbish. Not true at all. Talk without true fact.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 14, 2018 at 12:26 am

PH = Promises? Ha ha ha ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Suhaimi on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:08 am

I voted not for manifestos. I voted to kick a corrupted regime out.

I think most Malaysians voted the same. We are not interested in manifestos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 58
      • same for me too…I voted only to change the corrupted former government…I did not care or even know what the PH manifesto was, not until the PH won and becomes the government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Spin Too Much on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:22 am

Yeah, right. If Malaysians wanted to vote them out, they would have done so in the past 13 GEs. The only reason PH won was on the back of those promises but looks like a promise too far that broke it’s back! Don’t make promises if you don’t intend to fulfill it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:56 am

That is your opinion. You don’t speak for the rest of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Pakatan should RESIGN on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Haih JANJI DICAPATI lagi. Petrol RM 1.50 mana?? Harga kereta turun 30% mana?? If once UMNO (Tun M), forever UMNGOK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 14
    • Siapa janji RM1.50 minyak? Saya tak pernah nampak manisfesto ini.

Tolong bagi bukti ya bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Tekong sampan on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Taknak JANJI DICAPATI! Bring back abang Najib puhleez!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • Ghani on Aug 13, 2018 at 9:59 pm

UMNO1.0 is not involved in this, its UMNO baru-er 2.0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Leafable on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:37 pm

After they find out its their cash cow LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Trust ye not of politicians, for they speak with forked tongue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • Grease monkey on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:47 pm

No cash, but still wanna go ahead with perotiga got logic ah? Reduce the toll amount la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
  • johnissohai on Aug 13, 2018 at 5:59 pm

john will say PH government tipu,,cannot fulfill promise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:27 pm

1 promise not fullfilled compared to hundreds of promises not fullfilled in 63 years.

• YAB Alberto on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Is that not one of the fact? That Pakatan lied?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • Not just me say lor, so many others oso say this. Now how u wanna defense ur bosses? Alredi kantoi until cannot kantoi anymore.

• Are you sure?

• Rm1.50 petrol, tarak cuz capatied.
      Toll abolish, tarak cuz capatied
      Cheaper prices w/o GST, tarak cuz SST.

• So you expect PH govt to just abolish the toll and let the country go down? Come on guys, between having a cleaner government and having the toll abolished right away, which one is more important?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Ghani on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:22 am

Because that’s what they promised. So if they can’t be trusted to honour their promises, what clean government are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • KontiKinte on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:11 pm

Okay we rakyat ok jer
    Whatever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
  • David Gan on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:14 pm

If cannot do it, then don’t make it as promise. Otherwise it would be called empty promise.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
    • Susukotak on Aug 13, 2018 at 7:04 pm

looks like PAS promise on toll more realistic

• Anonymous on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:40 pm

They’re just proving what they really were… empty promises. People are so gulible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Dedakman on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Right now u said restructuring is a zero sum game. Before PRU u claimed can do everything even painting the sky. Walaweiii!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
  • Petoron Sagu on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:35 pm

At least reduce the price…. If u cant abolish the toll. Itu pun nak ajar ke…. PH also not a Bible that we need to follow… Penipu

• Scanning for cyber troopers in defensive mode…

100 Found!!!

• Red jacket on Aug 13, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Well. This is disappointing. Politicians will promise anything beyond their means to get votes. Janji 100 hari= garbage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • kenneth Fook on Aug 13, 2018 at 7:05 pm

Jeng Jeng Jenggg… Another national car project is a go. This one which lessen the rakyat burden a no go.

• rightwinger on Aug 13, 2018 at 8:41 pm

HA HA HA HA HA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Lolololololz!

• PH voters dah kena game!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • PH executors thought the things very easy to accomplish but truth is they never handle before. Previously they just know to raise issues and abuse ex-executors inability.

• I don’t really care about abolish the toll,I know it won’t be happened ,otherwise the highway won’t be maintained well,but if maintained a good price for toll we all will be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Previous Gov Debts Trap on Aug 13, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Thanks to previous gov administration, a lot of improvements for the rakyat cannot be delivered. more and more hidden debts are uncovered. just imagine if previous gov administrator continue to handle our country economy and finance with their low level knowledge and greedy lust, we might end up like Venezuela, every rakyat is broke to the ground but the cronies run off as super wealthy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
    • Spin Too Much on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:12 pm

Lame excuses. PH repeatedly told us, the country was going bankrupt when they made those promises. Are you saying they didn’t factor that in when they made all those promises?

Enough excuses and start governing, honour the promises or we will boot you all out.

• Diss-illusions on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Keep telling yourself that.. Hope you live happily under the new gomen for another 60 yrs..

• The Educated One on Aug 14, 2018 at 1:10 am

The shit from the previous government came from the 22 years reign of PM4. Thanks to him, we got the nefarious cronies operated toll concessionaires and IPPs. If you don’t believe, read what LKS wrote about PM4.

But since Malaysian pipu are uneducated, they think PM4 is a messiah and elected him again as PM7. Now pipu fret about unfulfilled manifesto. Ironic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • yeah..sure u r that educated? on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:52 am

he is not a messiah or what. just the most logical person to be elected then. not anyone in this forum can fix our country problems much either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Engineer on Aug 14, 2018 at 7:01 pm

Even people with lousy Math skills (hint: a certain person whom incapable with Excel) can tell you that you don’t use a problem to solve another problem. You only just create a bigger problem, which is what Malaysians just did. Congrats.

• rightwinger on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:16 am

bullseye!

• Previous Gov Debts Trap on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:54 am

can change after 5 years but what options do you have? Bee End or P-A-S? someone need to stop the massive leaks. one way or another, u can only choose the lesser evil

• capati.jpg

• Arman on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:27 pm

If it’s too good to be true, its not true.. keep that in mind next pru.. ph=empty promise party

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Najib number 1 on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:48 pm

This gov is full of shit. Don’t make promise you can’t keep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • ph dan kencing rakyat berpisah tiada….

• Qalam on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:40 pm

If abolish, who gonna pay the maintenance? Don’t expect people live in sub urban area to pay the maintenance through income tax for highway users who live in the city. If abbolish, govt need to introduce new tax scheme for those who work in the city that require toll especially in klang valley. Or paid by the company that located in the city. If the company did not want to pay the new tax scheme, ask them to relocate to sub urban area. Then no more traffic jam in the city and no toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Susukotak on Aug 15, 2018 at 5:56 am

berapa banyak pilihan jalan tanpa tol dari kl ke serdang?

• Jvijayakumar on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:55 pm

No need to take toll just wave the toll prize

• Or enter and exit toll charge RM 1.00, exclude PLUS.
      PLUS charges will be RM 1.00 per 100km. Abolish those straight line got 2 tolls station.
      Like that Perfect!!!

• macampondan on Aug 14, 2018 at 7:06 am

wah… so many BN supporter. Prefer the country in deeper debt, having najis to live in luxury and the wife with super high end hang bags , pay gst, have a corruption culture, continue to be blacklist by defaulting on ptptn,l and pay even higher petrol price, just because of current PH gov can’t abolish toll..

Typical short sighted mind set. No wonder Malaysia is so backward. Macam Udang, no spine, the head is full of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
    • The only reason pakatan won was because BN was worse. Not because PH is some sort of Lord and savior for Malaysia. People have the right to fight for their rights. Not for a political party. And if said political party chooses to ignore the people? I say vote for a new political party.

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 14, 2018 at 7:54 am

You’re probably the one who wants tolls to be abolished before Pakatan took over so the najis in this case is you, you hypocritical buffoon.

Now UMNO folks don’t really want the tolls to be abolished. They just want to rub the shit in the faces of people like you.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:40 am

So those who are fruss & angry & dissatisfied & disillusioned voters would automatically be labeled as BN supporters? Okaysss.

Follow that logic, BN would win the next time easily. Continue this name calling, downplaying our grievance with unkept promises, and we will make your wish come true.

• some Rakyat still in fake "comfort zone" on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:57 am

true, that was how bad BN has washed their minds. short-sighted, corrupted, always wanting “sweets” and many more treats. but not knowing to them, they lost even more because of that. every ringgit they are getting, they lost 1000x indirectly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Kenapa mungkir janji? on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:43 am

cakap tidak serupa bikin – ini bukan cerita politik, saya pangkah sebab janji inilah. Sekali kena tipu, no more lah.

• Kenneth on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:11 am

All tolls company sure under gov. And collect reasonable toll fees. And some area give no toll.

We no need PROTIGA

• Spin Too Much on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:30 am

Hmm, the self-aggrandizement and self-illusion sets in already? And it’s not even 100 days yet.

Looks, like somebody here likes being lied to, being made a fool, having promises broken again & again, being fed with lies upon lies, and perhaps just maybe, profiteering from the misery of their unfulfilled promises.

The rakyat is watching you and so far the results have been an utter disappointment.

• azhar on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:36 am

tolls is not on 100 days promise..if they want to abolish it on the 5th year also no problem..its still within the manifesto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • PJ fella on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:31 am

What does ‘indefinitely’ tells you?
      It means no deadline,
      which means nothing firmed,
      which means nothing planned for it,
      which means there is no desire in the first place to carry out this promise,
      which means they are a bunch of untrustworthy hacks!

• Ben Yap on Aug 14, 2018 at 9:43 am

Najib and his gang must be laughing over there when they read how people in PT bash PH.

• nikop on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:25 am

You know who to vote for next election… rakyat sudah kena tipu

• Gti owner on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:26 am

Is fine if you can’t abolish now but at least you can reduce all the toll fees to half, I believe most of us will happy to see that

• Sopian on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:58 am

If the government cannot abolish toll, at least reduce toll charges by 50%. The government does not lose revenue from toll and the rakyat burden lessen. A win win situation.

• thepolygonal on Aug 14, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Should come out with a way to calculate the reduction of tol against the increased of number of cars using that highway. Yearly review loh… jangan setiap minggu.

• Must survive on Aug 14, 2018 at 2:19 pm

Of course tolls cannot be abolished. Common sense. Who to maintain the roads? Whoever believed that tolls can be abolished is dreaming in Xanadu Land.
    Wake up! This is reality. (aka cheated).

• Punya la byk tol, satu dua tol pun ko x leh nk tutup. Nampak sgt x mau tutup tol sbnr nya. Lg pun tun memang sblm manifesto PH lulus dah x agree nk tutup tol. Lps Lim anak beranak jumpa dia tetiba jer agree nk tutup tol. Alih2 kena tipu….