Gov’t approves commission increase for petrol dealers

The government says that the new weekly retail price mechanism for petroleum products will not only benefit the consumer but also petrol station operators. In a statement announcing the retail prices of fuel for the first week of January, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said that the new pricing structure takes into account the additional commission or gas station operator margin for dealers, which was approved by the cabinet earlier this week.

“The readjustment of the retail price of petroleum products has taken into account the views of all parties involved, including that of the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM), which applied for a review of the petrol station operator margin rate components under the Automatic Pricing Mechanism (APM) formula that is used to set retail prices for petroleum products,” he said in the statement.

Lim said the government has agreed that the petrol station operator margin rate be adjusted by an additional 2.81 sen to 15 sen per litre for petrol products and an additional three sen to 10 sen per litre for diesel products over the current rates. He said the last time the margin was revised was in 2008.

Consumers, meanwhile, will benefit from the weekly price format by enjoying any price changes faster in line with any downturn in petroleum prices in the world market.

However, the government reiterated that it will protect consumers from the effects of potential price increases by capping the price of RON 95 petrol at RM2.20 per litre and Euro 2M diesel at RM2.18 per litre even if crude market prices rise and push the pump price up beyond that level. This will remain until the implementation of targeted fuel subsidies announced during the tabling of Budget 2019.

The retail price of petroleum products will be readjusted on a weekly basis according to the controlled float method under the Automatic Pricing Mechanism (APM) formula. Fuel prices are set to be announced every Friday, and will be effective from Saturday until the next Friday.

For the period from January 5 to January 11, the retail price for RON 95 petrol will be lowered to RM1.93 per litre (down 27 sen from RM2.20 previously), while RON 97 petrol will be priced at RM2.23 per litre (down 27 sen from RM2.50). Euro 2M diesel will be priced at RM2.04 per litre (down 14 sen from RM2.18).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• toyotafan on Jan 04, 2019 at 7:30 pm

The new subsidy scheme will be based off the BSH (or BR1M) database.

Only those people will get. Put in a BSH card into machine before pumping to get special price.

And the card is renewed every year at LHDN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • In another words, petrol prices could have been much lower, down to RM1.50 even, but the cronies has gotten their rewards. Once again; cronies didahului, rakyat dichapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
    • Agree bro! Capati again!

• kelantan darul pedo on Jan 06, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Kelantan state government so grateful to the federal government for it oil royalty. Past federal govt gave nothing, took everything it;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Hafiz Hisham on Jan 07, 2019 at 5:00 pm

I’m from Kelantan and I heard the oil royalty is no longer given to my state government but held in a Kelantan Pakatan fund. So please, your gratefulness is not representative of my state government. Go back and announce it in your capacity as a Pakatan trooper but not as my state government. We have nothing to do with your government, and many of us remain bitter with your treatment onto our state, especially from your Atuk.

• Crony on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:05 pm

Hehehehe… we have won again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Sohai (not ori) on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Why always target Rn97 users? Many new cars require Ron97 (even 25 years old Proton Wira stated Ron97 in the fuel cap)..we pay taxes too u knw and often contribute more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Chingu on Jan 07, 2019 at 11:33 pm

Hye bodoh, RON95 was introduce in 2009. Back then lower quality was RON92 and next in RON97. Last Wira to rollout from Proton was around 2008.

• azhar on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:20 pm

This should be the way..taken all views from interested parties then decide whats the best solution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Ismee on Jan 06, 2019 at 8:35 pm

Fully agreed bro!
      If previous govt decided, then jangan persoal !!

• PJ fella on Jan 06, 2019 at 8:45 pm

How is giving in to their cronies the best solution? Sorry but the PH logic is no longer sound nor reasonable.

• Views of fair wind cronies should be taken? Are you serious or are you just one of them?

• Sick & Tired on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Under Najib era, they would not be given any such chance. Any reduction will have gone to the people. This is a Government of Cronyism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
    • Yang benar on Jan 07, 2019 at 10:06 am

Nope. Under Najib era, many PDAM dealers went bankrupt, many employees lost their earnings, and many more families became victims to the government under Najib, who did not fix what he should have.

PDAM was grateful to PH government for taking all stakeholders into consideration –. This is a brave step and respect it. Rakyat deserved to know the component of fuel pricing mechanism

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Mohd. Adnan on Jan 07, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Are you really serious or are you just trolling? Throughout Najib’s time when he implemented weekly float, I have never ever seen any petrol stations close down, not even those rural stations at my kampung. This sounds more like a PDAM apologist statement, do you work for them or for PH? Cause, I think you are.

• demak on Jan 07, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Petrol station operators those license holders at kampung, most likely longtime veteran umno member aka kronee.

• Petronas Diamond Dealer on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:38 pm

Terima kasih PH… Kerajaan Prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
  • contender on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:42 pm

wow … this means Petronas profit will be less. Now everyone wants to be petrol station operator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • LatukBandar on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:08 pm

So, we’re supposed to get 30cent cheaper RON95 instead of 27 cent because they raise the profit for Petrol Station owners?

I wonder who is the owner of Petron? Anyway, I remember how DAP said this weekly float is not fair blah blah blah…. now, they are doing the same thing.

We might as well merge all the political parties in Malaysia into 1 big party, no difference. At least BN manifesto is not so bombastic like PH’s. Also, BN manifesto got more public transport related promises and no 3rd national car…

So, when is Mahathir going to introduce Carbon Tax to force us to buy his new National Electric Car? LGE is pure BS king.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 12
    • PJ fella on Jan 06, 2019 at 8:47 pm

Not just LGE but the whole PH is pure BS. Only their supporters can take this stench and claim it smells of roses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Greasemonkey on Jan 07, 2019 at 5:34 pm

BS & Balls carrier,useless,wont listen to the pipu,head by ex unmo kuku besi what you expect?

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:24 pm

“Tolak kerejaan uturn”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • U-Tun on Jan 04, 2019 at 9:54 pm

No wonder it doesn’t drop by 30 sen. Another 3 sen goes to PDAM and Bumipeda. Baguslah this gomen so prihatin. Next week can come out with similar threats otherwise no supply

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Bapak kawans comes Ka Ching! Ka Ching! Ka Ching!

• Logical Deduction on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:37 am

Pakatan politicians wins.
    Cronies wins.
    Rakyat loses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on Jan 05, 2019 at 1:40 am

Told you, PDAM is lying when they say the petrol dealers’ commission is 10 cents. I knew they were lying from the start. This looks very bad on PDAM and whatever they say loses credibility.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • Logical Deduction on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:13 am

10 sen during najib era
      15 sen during PH era

Cronies untung 50% thanks to PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:15 am

PDAM is always lying at the expense of the rakyat.

To much of Bantuan given. The PDAM are a pampered lot. When petrol prices go up everytime, each of the PDAM members make untung millions

And we all know, petrol prices went up more times than it went down. I think petrol prices went up about 40X but gone down only 10 times

But the few times petrol prices go down, the PDAM members ask the Government to bayar ganti rugi.

Where got logic? Like that, when you untung lebih, you should bayar ganti rugi also to the Government.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:16 am

PDAM always like to complain because they are used to being pampered. I suggest open petrol station license to everybody in Malaysia and not just given to a selected group. I am sure many in Malaysia are more competent to run the stations more efficiently.

It is time we open the Petrol Station license to everybody in Malaysia. Also please open AP permits to everybody in Malaysia also and not just a selected group

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:17 am

There is a strict law that only 1 person can get one lesen. But during the previous corrupted regime, many Bumipeda cronies each got about 10 stations. Yes, you read that right. There are many kronies from the previous corrupted regime who have about 10 stations each.

And these guys made tens of millions of ringgit each whenever price of petrol went up. At that time, they never gave Government back a single sen for the UNTUNG they made when petrol went up

So shameful, now just one time price going down, they threaten the country and complain so much.

High time the new Government investigate this and ensure 1 person has only 1 lesen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Really? on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:20 am

The average commission for petrol and diesel before this increase is 9.595 sen/liter. After increase, is 12.25 sen/liter.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:40 am

PDAM is like our teksi gangsters. All just want to goyang kaki and get easy money. Just so sickening to see such people

• Arshad on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:05 pm

PDAM same type as john – all want everything free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 05, 2019 at 1:31 pm

Datuk Seri Ben,
      Credibility ? Omg…these dudes have none in the first place.
      All they care is “GOMEN HUTANG BANTUAN DAN EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN”.
      Only PONZI scheme guarantee voluptuous profits all the time.
      They spew out threats to shorten working hrs n let pumps run dry.Hello,dont they behave like your kids when they throw tantrums when they dont get their ice cream?
      So,PH kesian them…give them extra commission as bantuan.SO IT IS BANTUAN,,BANTUAN…

• Kevin Wong on Jan 06, 2019 at 12:20 am

Now laughing all the way to the bank at the expense of Rakyat. When fuel prices drop, they threatened this & that. When fuel prices go up, they keep quiet. Even Jibby is now claiming that he didn’t entertain their request for commission hike. With 15sen commission for every litre of petrol, I also want a license to operate a petrol station. Regret voting for a u-turn govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Will Wheelie on Jan 06, 2019 at 12:28 am

In free enterprise, businessmen/women do lie from time to time in order to sell their products/services, and of course, they do so for profit, which also helps to pay the salaries to their employees, who are very likely people like us who frequent websites like this…

• Yes. Just like the resident PH troll in PT thats trying to sell his PH paymasters agenda and lying bollocks. Too bad the pipu dun buy what he says anymore.

• Christopher Lee on Jan 07, 2019 at 6:56 pm

I don’t see any Pakatan cybertrooper in this forum john.

But I do see a particular BN cybertrooper with so many dupe accounts. This cybertrooper has posted unbelievable fake news such as “Malaysia has the cheapest petrol and car prices in the world”.

This cybertrooper also likes his comments 100000 times

• Will Wheelie on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:56 am

Since when PH or BN politics & politicians control the world’s crude oil prices? The truth now is that fuel prices in the country did drop. And so happy motoring to you all.. at least until crude oil prices rise again..

• Darren on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:02 am

Petron owner wins again!

• John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:53 am

So many qualified Malaysians want to apply petrol station lesen but are told NO because……

It is time we change. Malaysia Baru is for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Jeremy on Jan 07, 2019 at 11:03 am

Day by day, I see Malaysia Baru is only for those connected with PH, their politicians and their cronies. Malaysia is hopeless now, we changed it but for the worse.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:56 am

Government should make sure all the PDAM members employ local people. All Petrol stations employ foreigners. Cheap labour. If you calculate the number of petrol stations in Malaysia- this deprives Malaysians of few hundred thousand jobs.

PDAM cry they are patriotic and always ask Government for help but they themselves never employ Malaysians.

Why don’t PDAM start giving back to Malaysia by employing locals? So many locals got no job

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Meaning that we’re paying extra 15 cents for every litre of petrol to these middle men? What benefit do we have all these petrol dealers who are essentially just middle men? Why are we still having this crony mentality? Petronas might as well just set up their own petrol station and cut out the middle men. What a rip off!!!!!!!!

• transformer on Jan 05, 2019 at 3:24 pm

WHY PDAM interest are more important than RAKYAT!!!

PH Gov should not follow previous Gov practice!!! Wake up and remove PDAM! Open tender petrol station license whenever PDAM member wind-up!

• Petoron Sagu on Jan 05, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Atok cover anak sikit…. Nnti anak marah….

• Amran on Jan 05, 2019 at 8:04 pm

Bestnya Petron..

• Azahar on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:49 pm

Petrol price in Philippines change everyday, but non of petrol dealers go bankrupt

• This is things that suddenly i feel like i want the old gov back – without d previous leader and d wife of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • We need not know who the govt commissions these petrol dealers. We just want a fair treatment from the govt we voted for and a changed for our future generations to come. Govt said to float these prices and when crude price sinks. Announced deferment is not creditability. And when the people vented their frust..then govt reverted to the people.. oh pls..

• Amran on Jan 07, 2019 at 10:19 am

Petron win

• stastasta on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:54 am

petron stations number less than 10% of total stations in malaysia. majority is petronas followed by shell.

• No eye see

• I lost hope

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 07, 2019 at 6:10 pm

the current govt sikit sikit kecut oredi……Aiya

• Stupid voters “begets” stupid government. Thats all i can say.

• pengomel on Jan 08, 2019 at 4:46 pm

alahai…when read all the comments i wonder what kind of people giving that comments. i mean, this people stay at flat ke kampung ke gua..it’s ok “not actually” to be low educated or uneducated, but please have some common sense guys. i need to clarify that :

1. somebody told he “heard” that royalty given to kelantan is under kelantan pakatan fund. i dont know from whom he heard. nowadays, u just can saying anything what u heard eventhough u don’t know it’s true or not. can anyone clarify this matter, is it a fact or just “rasa2 je”?. sampai bila nak hidup dgn sangkaan?

2. why pdam get commission increment? is gov really not care about rakyat? let me tell u, gov get no any profit from oil solely. gov get profit when industry player, syarikat2 minyak like petronas made huge profit from their business. if pengusaha stesen minyak got increase commission sekalipun, anyhow the profit from them will go into gov pocket, adalah percent2nya. u call it robbery? not, it’s a business nature. tell me, how gov want to help b40 people who not pay tax, if gov can not make profit from this? gov must care all these people because they make money for us “industry player/business people”. klu dah org2 pdam smua mogok nnti, kreta kau nak isi minyak kt mana bro?

3. kalau negeri tak ada duit, boleh minta dgn federal. kalau federal tak ada duit nk minta dgn sape?

4. u can go through life being completely ignorant about most fields (chemistry, engineering, medicine, botany, etc) and be fine. personal finance is not one of those fields. failure to understand the basics will negatively impact u. dah dapat duit tu pandai2lah urus.