Jan 2019 week one fuel prices – petrol, diesel down

The government has announced the planned fuel price revision for the first week of January 2019, in line with the planned move back to a weekly float system. Originally slated to begin from January 1, the mechanism will now start from midnight tonight, and as anticipated, prices are down.

From tomorrow, January 5, the retail price of RON 95 will be RM1.93 per litre (down 27 sen from the RM2.20 that has been fixed in place since May 30, 2018). Euro 2M diesel, meanwhile, now retails for RM2.04 per litre (down 14 sen from the RM2.18 that has also been in place since May last year). Thus, Euro 5 diesel, always 10 sen more than standard diesel, is now priced at RM2.14 per litre.

As for RON 97, the fuel, which has been priced on a market float basis since June 7 last year, sees its retail price drop to RM2.23 per litre (down 27 sen from the RM2.50 it was for the whole month of December 2018).

These prices will be in effect until January 11, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced. According to finance minister Lim Guan Eng, the retail price of petroleum products will be re-adjusted on a weekly basis according to the controlled float method under the formula of the Automatic Pricing Mechanism (APM), in line with the current downward trend in oil prices in the world market. Fuel prices are set to be announced every Friday, and will be effective from Saturday until the next Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Terima kasih PH… I can feed my car with RON97 again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 48
    • Toyota Corrolla on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Civic 1.5 turbo FC has oil dilution problem..the engine wouldn’t last over 200000km. It’s not as reliable as the older models. Get rid of it while you still can.

• Amran on Jan 04, 2019 at 7:12 pm

Terima kasih PH… Petrol station owners crying again

• Sohai on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:46 am

Diesel commercial use for rich business purposes, why not immediately stop and still subsidy it now? B20 only use Ron95, from Jan-Mar should only subsidy ron95, and ron97 & diesel should float market price immediately today.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:28 am

What a good and honest Government. Now I safe about RM18 per full tank. I fill up twice a week, so now I save about RM36 per week. A month I save RM150

What a good Government. No GST also I save hundreds per month. My Internet also now 300Mbps for RM130.

This is what you call a caring Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Kunta Kote on Jan 07, 2019 at 9:34 am

how much did PH pays u for these funny comments? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Jan 07, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Excuse me, this is Malaysia Baru and we have a new, clean government.

This is not the previous corrupted government that is known for giving dedak to people to gain their votes during Pililhanraya

• John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:48 am

This is the best news for 2019. Now I know not to trust all the fake news perpetrators here. They are always lying and dishonest.

• Arshad on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:13 pm

I am so happy I voted for change. Kerajaan dulu banyak curi duit rakyat.

Kerajaan sekarang jujur dan amanah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:39 pm

Thank you also DS Najib… if he hadn’t brought up the issue of low oil prices a week back… the current Govt perhaps wouldn’t make any move.

Thank you also previous Govt for graciously letting current Govt use the same mechanism for its pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Nothing to do with PH. Global prices of petrol have been going down. In fact, PH had been robbing us since petrol was below RM 2.00 since few months ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Syukurlah on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Very good news for 2019

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • JOACHIM on Jan 05, 2019 at 8:57 am

Good news because Phakatan is robbing us 43 sen per liter! BUT we will syukur like above and keep subsidising our shekeling overlords.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:30 am

I am so happy Petrol is now RM1.93. If the previous Government was here, I think now petrol will be RM2.90 by now.

OMG, I don’t know how to survive with such high cost of living following previous Government style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Chandra on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:18 pm

If the previous Government was here, RON 95 would be at RM1.60 as it was before. PH is robbing us in broad daylight and only those who benefit from this heist (ie crony) are the ones praising PH.

• John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:50 am

60 years of corruption has made little money available to the rakyat.

All the money meant for the rakyat goes to just a few pockets.

Now, all the money Malaysia makes goes to all 30 million people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • toyotafan on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:15 pm

So, the only big change is Wed to Fri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:16 pm

RM1.93 ≠ RM1.50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 32
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:31 am

Don’t worry. And don’t spread fake news. Tun Mahathir already announced that PH never promised RM1.50 petrol in their manifesto. He said this was FAKE NEWS.

I rather believe a Tun and our own PM for over 20 years than a keyboard warrior insisting PH made the promise of RM1.50 petrol in their manifesto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:49 am

Enough John. We are all sick and fed up with fake news. Please keep PT clean.

• Sigh. Next you will dream that ur father is oso me. Such drunken bollocks again. I say again, u want to remain stupid in lalaland its up to u and ur dupes. Dun involve me in ur stupidity.

If u cant reply other readers properly, that means u dun even know what u talking about. All that comes out is just stupid drunken bollocks.

Go home, kid. The internet is not for u. Stay in school until u learn how to behave.

• John Bodo on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Hey, at least they reduced it kan? Plus, RM1.50/L petrol price is not part of PH manifesto.

We rakyat malaysia know the new clean government needs time to deliver their promises. They have to eradicate 60 years of corruption and the huge debt caused by the previous corrupted government.

We 30 million rakyat are satisfied with the new lowered price of fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Arshad on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Saya rela bayar apa sahaja kerana kerajaan sekarang JUJUR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Please show me where it’s written RM1.50 https://kempen.s3.amazonaws.com/pdf/Buku_Harapan.pdf

• Chandra on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Google Youtube Khalid Samad videos. I agree with the poster above. Rm 1.93 is not the price that was promised. We are effectively subsidising PH by 43sen.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Ada yg dah turun.

• Zuchie on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:24 pm

And our life still same as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Bus Rapid on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:31 pm

angkut awam tak tukar pon

• S.Ibrahim on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:36 pm

The other things dropping is our currency and way of life. Everything else have became so much more expensive. Even kangkung prices have been raised 2x.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • tiadaid (Member) on Jan 04, 2019 at 7:23 pm

And who’s to blame for that – early 2018 it was RM 3.88 to the Dollar, the World Bank was expecting an increase in GDP growth. Now?

• kangkong on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:37 pm

jangan bimbang ajib boleh blanja u makan kangkong

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:37 am

Every since New Government came in, I find

car prices have gone down.
        Food prices also gone down
        Internet prices also gone down
        Petrol prices also gone down

and etc etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Gabriel on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Same like BN. Where is the change or improvement?

• Another capati again. This is Capati Gahmen. Where is the fuel reduction to Rm1.50? What happened to that pledge?

• Crony on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:56 pm

I will tell you all the truth. The truth is, they can reduce petrol down to Rm1.50per liter but because someone’s son who owns a petrol company make noise, so now they lower slightly so that he can still make an extra 40sen profit margin per liter. I know because I am one of the inner circle but I see now how people are getting conned so here I tell the whole truth.

• Heskey on Jan 04, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Esok harga roti canai turun 20 sen

• papaya on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Please define what is “market float” for RON97? Why onhold RON97’s price decrement till now since it supposed to be “market float”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Logical Deduction on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:24 pm

Cannot persoal PH logic. They are always right one.

• John Crying Like a Baby on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:51 am

Most people just interested in Ron 95. I think Ron 97 should be RM3.00 becaue as our regular troll here says, tax the rich….no problemo.

• U turn lagi! Still cannot see the RM1.50 petrol anywhere like they said will happen once elected. Totally given up on this untrustworthy administration. Heck, even Trump seem to be more trustful than any pakatan ministers.

• Since the election win, this is the only good news so far .

• Logical Deduction on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:19 pm

Our currency has dropped so much, according to PH logical deduction, RM1.93 is the new Rm1.50! Hurray! We now have RM1.50 petrol but now priced at RM1.93!

• Aero (Member) on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Fuel price increase ? Complain.

Fuel price decrease ? Also complain.

Fuel price stays the same ? Still complain.

Everything also complain.

Welcome to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
    • Top reason why Malaysians complain about this is because Rm1.50 petrol as per promised is still unfulfilled.

• aerogol on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:13 am

thanks to our ministers now, they taught us really well over the years. welcome to malaysia!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2019 at 11:33 am

Very true. The current opposition is very frustrated because there is no more freebies and dedak in the current clean Government.

So, they complain complain complain.

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 05, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Actually, I only see a particular cybertrooper and his dupe accounts complaining here in PT.

On Facebook, Youtube etc, I see lots of satisfied Malaysians with the new government and their policies.

Thank you Pakatan Harapan for reducing the petrol prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Chandra on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:23 pm

Thank you Pakatan Harapan for reducing our currency as well. Now everything is so much more expensive! Too bad election is not this year or you will certainly be voted out every one of you lot!

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 06, 2019 at 1:19 pm

It’s not that everything also complain. It’s WHO is complaining that’s key.

During BN’s time, Pakatan supporters are the one complaining about fuel price increase, then fuel price decrease, then fuel price stay the same. Now it’s BN supporters’ time to do the same, if only to remind the Pakatan people of their hypocrisy.

• Dulu complain halal, sekarang complain haram ke?
      Siapa yg tentukan? PH troopers? Eh eh eh..

• Vader on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:25 pm

Today lunch, Chinese tea is now at 70sen, up 10sen. I asked why, they said because diesel still above 2 ringgit. So now it’s official, cost of living are shooting up in PH rule.

• Chandra on Jan 06, 2019 at 7:25 pm

So right! And yet we have PH fanboys and dedakers giving false statements to support their blardy Government.

• Ben yap on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:29 pm

So will there be max cap for Ron95 at rm2.20?

• M.Shamsul on Jan 04, 2019 at 6:45 pm

already gotten 17k savings , bought Volvo S90 during tax holiday in Aug. yet where is my Rm1.50 petrol as promised?!! Pfffftt

• Alhamdulillah. Bersyukur dengan segala nikmat.

• Melaka Ng on Jan 04, 2019 at 7:02 pm

Dear Mr Finance minister please explain why petrol is cheaper then diesel by 9 cents?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 04, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Here’s hoping for reduced prices for food and groceries. Urmmm well, one can hope.

• Pyraxle on Jan 04, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Stop complaining la my dear fellow Malaysians. Naik or turun pun your life will be the same as before. Doesn’t make lots of impact pun to your wallet, bukannya boleh save thousands of Ringgit every month. People who doesn’t know how to save your money will always complain this and that. Tak mampu pakai kereta please think to change your car to kapchai.

• Lolwhut? on Jan 07, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Is that sarcasm, or wasn’t that the same excuse by BN propaganda which caused PH people to rant on the internet? So should we be consistent and rant as well? Or since this is said by PH propaganda, it is now acceptable and we should just suffer for their sake?

• Electrified on Jan 04, 2019 at 10:42 pm

Week after will rise. USD57 per barrel now.

• Rakyat tertipu on Jan 05, 2019 at 9:00 am

PH – Petrol Harapan

• So we see n know that all trying to play dumb? Till the citizens roar then react? Better b proactive then reactive.. don’t try ur luck

• john doe on Jan 05, 2019 at 2:50 pm

ya, and we subsidizing the mat rampit on the road..

• Pauline on Jan 05, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Harga petrol and Diesel naik you complain, harga turun pun you complain… Ada pakai otak ka?

• ButuXxx ko. Patut lg rendah la! Penipu!

• Admin.. please update the table on the right hand section of main page regarding fuel price… it is still with old price