Loke: 90,000 AES summons issued since Sept 1, 2018, only 10,000 paid – no more discount for summons

Since the transport ministry took over operation of the AES speed camera system on Malaysian highways in 2018, a total of approximately 90,000 summons were issued for speeding offences recorded by the cameras. However, out of this total, only 10,000 summons have been paid to date, for a monetary total of RM3 million.

This represents a revenue shortfall of RM24 million, based on a rate of RM300 per summons issued, said transport minister Anthony Loke. Loke was speaking at the launching of the launch of the Ops Bersepadu and Chinese New Year road safety campaign in Dengkil, Selangor.

“Since we did not renew the private contract for operation of the AES, JPJ issued 90,000 summons since September but only 10,000 were paid. You do the math,” said Loke. “The road safety campaign in 2018 recorded 21,041 accidents, compared to 20,572 for the same period in 2017,” he said.

During the Chinese New Year festive period in 2018, 226 road deaths were recorded, against 257 for 2017. Loke said, “In my view, 226 deaths for a two week period during the festive season is still too high and I hope all parties concerned, including road users, will strive to reduce this number.”

From police statistics, for the time period of January to September of 2018, 410,926 accidents were reported on Malaysian roads, while the same period in 2017 had 533,875 accidents, a drop of 23%. A similar decrease was seen in road fatalities during the same period, with 4,823 in 2018 against 6,740 in 2017.

“From now on, there will be no more discounts for summons issued by JPJ for any offences,” said Loke. Listing seven offences – failing to obey traffic lights, overtaking on double line, using mobile phone, cutting queue, failure to wear seat belt, hogging the right-most lane and driving in the emergency lane – where 27,013 summons were issued, Loke asked for all road users to obey the law.

“For this year, I urge police and JPJ to focus their operations on federal and state roads, since this is where the majority of road accidents happen based on previous statistics,” Loke said. For this year’s Ops Bersepadu, which will take place from 29 January to 12 February, 10,000 personnel consisting of 6,140 from police, 1,800 from JPJ, 150 from the road safety department and other supporting agencies, have been mobilised.

Additionally, PLUS will be mobilising more than 5,000 personnel during the festive season to provide highway users with a smooth journey. During the launch of the campaign, Shell Malaysia provided oil changes for 40 motorcyclists and demonstrated their blind spot elimination system for heavy vehicles.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Dylan Chng on Jan 29, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Speed doesn’t kill. Having no ESC does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Everest on Jan 29, 2019 at 5:40 pm

No ESC doesn’t kill. Speed does.

• Pakcik on Jan 29, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Those drivers with outstanding saman must be blacklisted by Imigresen from travelling overseas. Auto debit of saman payment from salary , Lhdn or Kwsp. Permaban in CCRIs too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • John Cinta Dedak on Jan 29, 2019 at 5:43 pm

Enforcement officers all asking duit kopi. When you go to Balai to pay, they call you to go to the back room to settle for RM50 with no receipt.

Clean up JPJ and the Balais first. Now they so brave, they call you to the back room to settle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Darren on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Duit kopi didn’t kill that guy in Penang. Stupidity and a sense of superiority to enforcement agencies did.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:10 am

In Singapore, 25 years ago this was implemented. If you don’t pay your car saman, you cannot leave the country at all.

This was done 25 years ago. Malaysia still cannot think about this idea despite 25 years later.

So simple. Singapore did it. Just blacklist the passport and the person cannot even leave the country at all. Just link JPJ to PDRM and Immigresyen.

Very simple

• JOACHIM on Jan 30, 2019 at 2:59 pm

25 years ago, PTPTN and Immigresen have linked up and barred PTPTN defaulters from leaving the country. Did it help to solve the backlog in loan repayments? None at all.

So how is this simple but stupidly irrelevant idea helps? Think before you write.

• #wapalewheels on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:30 am

Did u accept the offer to setel with duit kopi? I did sure you know duit kopi is bribery and either u give bribe or accept bribe, you will have same punishment. if no demand the think will never happen.

• That CX-5 in Penang incident has ESC though….. didn’t save the person.

• Roswell Crasher on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Always remembers human is fragile, not immortal

• Add A Comment on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:16 am

Try take every Genting Highland corners with a Ferrari at 250kmh and see you die or not. Just so you know, Ferrari has all the ESC/VSC/TCS/HDF/AVR/YWF/KED/VSF/FRJ/DVR/GHB/JKQ/ARF/VNJ/KUS/PUV

Please Report back no matter you die or not die. We would be very interested to talk to a spirit.

• So, YB, how are you gonna make them pay up the remaining 80,000 AES summonses?

• Wait, why need to pay summons? (https://paultan.org/2018/08/17/all-existing-aes-summonses-to-be-written-off-loke/)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Kelab Anti-John on Jan 29, 2019 at 6:13 pm

Under a new, clean and caring government, we can see the menteri cares about the safety of the rakyat. The menteri works hard to make our roads safe.

This has never occurred under the erstwhile government. They only care about duit rakyat and provide dedak to gain support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Abesla on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:23 pm

I only see Loke is interested in making money compared to the erstwhile government. Previously they were more concern in educating the road users and not just punishing them. New government is cruel to the bone. Abesla the rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • Abesia, you said….”Previously they were more concern in educating the road users and not just punishing them”.

Educated the road users? Yeah, well that worked, right?

Just go for a drive on any day and count the number of traffic infringements you see in a 5 or 10 minute period.The driving culture in this country is a bloody disgrace, in fact, in many cases, no better than peasant mentality.

I am ashamed to say that but it is a fact!

There is no fear of getting caught because there are not anywhere near enough traffic police on the roads, so the muppets who don’t give a damn about themselves or anyone else can do whatever they want on the roads.

Get out there and fine them, make them pay and for those who keep breaking the road rules, they lose their license.

Get on with it, Mr. Loke.

• Abesla on Jan 30, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Yes, education. Do you think AES and summons can stop that Penang bridge accident from happening? If simple minds like this runs the govt then abesla!

You can equip the car with all kinds of hightech gadgets and put AES cameras every 100 meter on the bridge but without correct education, more jokers will still play drunken Need for Speed on the bridge and cause accidents! Next what, more simple minds will blame not enough cameras and summons, barrier not high enough, road not wide enough, bridge too straight, are these the real cause of such accidents? What next, some joke solution like putting road humps every 100 meters on all roads? Abesla like this!

• Well said, bro!

• Abisla, thanks for your reply.

To say that you have to educate a driver is a lot like saying, educate them after they have been given a license. That concept is pointless, in my opinion.

The driver’s “education” should come a LONG time before they receive a driving license. They should be educated and know all the road rules while they are learning to drive, and only once they can pass a test are they issued their license.

The problem here is that people are well aware of the road rules but CHOOSE to break those rules in the hope they will not be caught.

I see it every day. I’m sure, if you drive, that you also see it each and every day.

No wonder there are around 7,000 people killed on the roads each year in Malaysia.

With the CNY coming up, watch for the next number of lives that will be slaughtered over the next few weeks. I sincerely hope it’s none from yours or my family!! Feeling lucky?

It’s a bloody disgrace.

• JOACHIM on Jan 30, 2019 at 3:30 pm

Abesla has a point. You can put everything including the kitchen sink into the car and place a police officer every meter but it won’t solve the problem, just like Sinkees that crossover to our roads all become maniacs because their road education failed only fear controls their actions. With better education, road users won’t simply drive dangerously and drive under influence. Look at Germany with their unlimited autobahns. Where got AES on them?

• Abesla on Jan 30, 2019 at 3:35 pm

If they CHOOSE to break the law then they fully know the consequences and likely prepared to pay for it. You think if summons will deter them, then think again. And yes, I have seen plenty of these cases, they nonchalantly break rules and nonplussed in paying. As I said, simple minds think simplistic solutions will work but in reality it does not. Abesla!

• Gapodios on Jan 29, 2019 at 10:06 pm

yes they are care by increasing spying camera

• Vader on Jan 29, 2019 at 10:50 pm

New, clean, caring, but untrustworthy government. You never know when they will UTurn on a decision or policy and then later UTurn on that again, slapping themselves on the faces but that’s okay because we still have many pentaksubs that continues to heap praises and bodek them.

• stastasta on Jan 31, 2019 at 10:45 am

nothing wrong with changing a decision if it turns out to be a mistake, or if the people voice out opposition against that decision . this is called improvement. i much rather prefer a “u turn” government than the previous “incompetent and corrupted” gov.

• Vader on Jan 31, 2019 at 11:46 am

So are you referring to the current government when you talked about “incompetent and corrupted”? Because from where I see, too many UTurns indicate an indecisive and incompetent government. Adding salt to wound, all this talk about money tells me this government is only money minded and not really looking at the problems. Corrupted much?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:12 am

spot on. You are right. Too much of corruption in the past made people blind to offenses and paying fines. Now, cleaner Government, we will see more law and order.

• Heskey on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:00 pm

I thought we are suppose to abolish AES altogether?

• Jason on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:06 pm

I was young and now i regret my vote. Lol

• Everest on Jan 30, 2019 at 9:33 am

You can always vote against them the next election. What’s the big deal?

• Ben Yap on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:27 pm

Last AES summon you write off. New one ask people to pay. U think they care?

• EDITOR on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Edited comment with postscript for clarity sake.
    New, meaning older.
    Clean, meaning cleaning the coffers with unnecessary projects like NNCP.
    Caring, meaning caring for lawbreakers by legalising their bad acts when they just need to pay money.

• azhar on Jan 29, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Hope the authority will hunt them down and brought to court

• Later they threatened to change vote to BN next round, the authorities quietly back down and cancel the summons.

• This represents a revenue shortfall of…
    why the new gov always care about how to siphon money from people that they champion before they were elected?

• Ahmadjr on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:54 am

More myvi more problem

• Saladin on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:54 am

There is few co allowed their staff to langgar all this aes. Co pay no problemo. Just dont be late at meeting. Also meet one this super rich guy says he pay hundreds of saman already. He says so what i can pay maaa. For those who dont have money to pay they just keep breaking the law. Never pay a single cent. Bring to court take long process. After drag to court they just pay. Later same again breaking the law. At the no one go to jail. Speeding saja ma why need to go to jail.You see loke your summon dosent work. As a new minister u must think outside box not like old minister. You should know that the root cause of it is attitude. They think they better than anyone else on the road. The way to treat this pleaque is community service. 1 saman 1hour community service or jail 1 month. See these guy feel champion or not after cuci public longkang jamban. Dont just think about money only. It wont solve problem

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:08 am

Those ppl owed govt RM billion from their PTPTN loan so never bothered to repay. Do you think the mere 90k saman ppl make pay??

Pay for holiday, joli-joli, ciggy, starbucks and new iphone, of course can have money to pay….

• Ji Kao on Jan 30, 2019 at 11:42 am

That’s roughly worth about 90,000 votes dear Mr. Loke.

• Guest on Jan 30, 2019 at 4:55 pm

I thought AES tauted as evil to Malaysian before last GE? Not so evil now?