No change to January 2020 intro for RON 95 Euro 4M

The government has reiterated that there is no change to the planned introduction date for RON 95 Euro 4M petrol, which was originally set for late last year but has since been postponed to January 1, 2020.

“However, the postponement on the use of Euro 4M RON 95 will not be delayed longer because the country is bound by the international agreement commitment that requires us to contribute to a more healthy environment,” said domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail.

He said the matter was brought to the cabinet’s knowledge last year and consent was given for the postponement, Bernama reports. He added that discussions were held with oil companies to extend Euro 2M use in Malaysia to next year.

He said the government was still unprepared to implement RON 95 Euro 4M as the new Pakatan Harapan government was focusing on national development and people’s well-being. It was also previously stated that the deployment of the new fuel standard was being pushed back to ensure adequate supply of it to meet the needs of the Malaysian market without (heavily) affecting the retail price that consumers will pay.

The new fuel standard is part of the ministry’s roadmap introduced in 2006 to increase the quality of fuels, which is part of efforts to achieve its Green Technology Policy 2009. On August 18, 2014, the government agreed to implement the following fuel standards: RON 97 Euro 4M petrol on September 1, 2015; RON 95 Euro 4M on October 1, 2018; Euro 5 diesel on September 1, 2020; and Euro 5 petrol on September 1, 2025.

As of now, consumers already have access to RON 97 Euro 4M petrol (introduced in September 2015) and Euro 5 diesel, with the latter being introduced ahead of its gazetted date.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It’s good because even some countries in this region already have policy to encourage (although not to enforce) Euro 5 standard. So, Malaysia to Euro 4 is already quite late. Using Euro 2 standard already here since 1996. Now less than a year to 2020! Of course, to preserve environment doesn’t mean to take some economics progress and prosperity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:43 am

Sixty years of lackadaisical govt. This the effect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • Crony on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:58 am

Sixty years of caring govt has set the change date at 2018. Six months of lackadaisical govt pushed that date 2 years behind. This the effect of PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Crony Salah on Feb 03, 2019 at 3:17 pm

60 years of dedak and corruption has not made Malaysia maju. The former kerajaan was not caring. They only wanted votes

• John Bin Palat on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:12 am

60 years of mundane and lazy attitude. Look at Singapore, Merdeka same time somemore.

• Engineer on Jan 31, 2019 at 10:24 am

Euro5 standards didn’t exist 60 years ago. Enough with the pakatan BS. If pakatan really cared about us and the environment, they would have pushed for implementation even earlier, not postponed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • borneo darul seram on Jan 31, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Why is the Euro4M refinery plant construction so slow?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:20 pm

Our current Euro 2M was banned in Europe in 1994 because it was proven to be poison, toxic and cancer causing.

That was 24 years ago.

I don’t know why we waited so long. Our previous inefficient Government was just too lembap. Singapore had clean petrol about 10 years ago and is now planning for Euro 6

• Raymond on Feb 03, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Not planning, but they ALREADY made it mandatory for new vehicles sold to be Euro 6 compliant! Since 2018 in fact.

Because of our former government, we fall behind.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:23 pm

The world is moving towards Euro 6 now and our lembap Government is now talking about Euro 4M. That is like Euro 3.5, not even fully Euro 4

We need to learn from Singapore how to work hard. Thailand, Singapore and Indonesia got clean petrol long ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • Diam lah pundek on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:27 am

Don’t make noise as you want cheap petrol.

• Calm down on Feb 03, 2019 at 3:20 pm

No need to get personal. This is a car site, not a keyboard warrior site

• Sick& Tired on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:52 am

Euro4M or Euro2M, janji minyak masih murah.
      Syukur Malaysia masih aman

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 31, 2019 at 8:55 am

1st thing is we must reduce keyboard warriors to have less than Singapore.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:33 am

All oil companies want to upgrade their refinement factories to give us Euro 6 because they are ready

But Petronas is too lembap and too slow. Still tido and relax. So, gomen have to tell others to hold on.

All others were ready to do it 10 years ago!

• How do u know petronas is so lembab. If u want to comply anything new, u shud say lembap to government. Not Petronas

• lut you on Feb 02, 2019 at 8:55 am

We want EV Protiga, we want fresh air

• Vader on Jan 30, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Terima kasih Pakatan for giving us 2 more years of cancer-causing Euro2M carcinogenic emissions. I’m sure my coughing lungs will really syukur for their premature failure.
    (https://paultan.org/2018/02/02/petron-malaysia-ready-for-ron-95-euro-4m-roll-out/)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • John Bin Palat on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:14 am

For over 20 years we have been given cancer causing fuel by the irresponsible Government

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2019 at 11:48 am

So what is Pakatan doing then? Add another 2 years. You people are no better. Really regret voting for you.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2019 at 9:35 am

Malaysians had to suffer with dirty high sulphur petrol because Petronas was too lembap to upgrade their factory.

This is why everybody fills up BHP. This is Euro 5 petrol already from Singapore. This has been the case for so many years already

• paratha cap sang neela oothama on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:08 pm

LoL Enjoy the sulphuric acid rains and high dose of pm2.5 air for your lungs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • John Cinta Dedak on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Where is our troll john who for years came here and told us we have the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world??

Pulak we get dirty petrol all these years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Enough trolling lah! John never said such things. OTOH, you kept repeating that Malaysia has the highest petrol prices in the world which is debunked every time you roll out that lie in every petrol related article.

• Unknown on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:17 pm

We are still waiting for your gahmen to give us the cheap fuel that you promised 9 months ago.

• Lowyat k/tard User on Feb 03, 2019 at 3:24 pm

If you want Euro 6 fuel so much, then don’t complain if the prices go up..

• Leafable on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:17 pm

Euro 6 already introduce since 2014 in Europe. We still not even in euro 4 yet LOL…

A bunch of politician clowns try to kill 30 mil citizens.

• Euro 0m petrol RM1.50 per litre on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Rulers looking after the welfare and sentiment of their people who only cares on getting cheapest petrol and diesel even if it’s Euro Zero M cost only RM1.50 per litre as long as its cheap its ok.

• Previous gohmen set change date to 2018, current gohmen set change date to 2020. What welfare and sentiment of the people? If they have to honour the promise of cheap fuel, it’s immaterial what Euro it should be.

• Datsun Blue Bird on Jan 31, 2019 at 1:37 pm

99.9 percent citizens demand for super cheap fuel!
        They don’t want to know whether they are pumping Euro2M or Euro4M
        They just want super cheap fuel!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Correct! It’s the government’s role to give super cheap because they had made that promise and it’s the government’s role to ensure that super cheap fuel is not detrimental to the people.

• John Cinta Dedak on Jan 30, 2019 at 8:19 pm

95% of all diesel vehicles still use Euro 2M despite having Euro 5 diesel.

Our gomen too malas to ban the Euro 2M diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Anglo smuggled oil palm from Congo land on Jan 30, 2019 at 10:48 pm

Is B10 Diesel Euro2M ? If it is then cannot ban later palm oil no sale…

• Ban 2T engine as well. That one not only pollute air, also sound pollution

• calcutta on Feb 01, 2019 at 11:33 am

whatever the Euro standards is, don’t complaint when your petrol prices going up again

• intermilan on Feb 03, 2019 at 2:07 am

Hahaha .. yes… yet another postponement. The third time if not mistaken. I lost count of it. When it’s 2020 then they will postpone again to 2025. Great job gomen. Really great la all of you. To the ministry managing this, give yourselves a big fat bonus and promotion as well.