Govt proposes to acquire highways and gradually abolish toll collection, introduce congestion charge

There was a big announcement by the government over the weekend, and it concerns most of us living and commuting in the Klang Valley.

The PM’s office’s statement on Saturday noted that Pakatan Harapan has promised in its election manifesto to take steps to acquire highway concessions and abolish toll collection in stages, in accordance to the terms of the concession agreement. This is to alleviate the high cost of living for city commuters.

As a first step, the government has commenced talks with Gamuda Berhad to negotiate the acquisition of highway concessions in which the company has a majority stake. The highways are the Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong (LDP), Sistem Penyuraian Trafik KL Barat (SPRINT), Lebuhraya Shah Alam (KESAS) and the SMART Tunnel. Upon successful takeover of the highways, the government intends to abolish the existing toll mechanism, the statement said.

There’s a catch though. At the same time the government is also proposing a ‘congestion charge’ system where commuters will pay what’s equivalent to the existing toll charges for six hours of ‘peak period’ a day. In this proposal, during the ‘off-peak’ period between 11pm and 5am, commuters can travel on the highways for free, while rates for ‘normal’ hours will be discounted by up to 30% compared to today’s fares.

The revenue collected from the congestion charge will go towards the operations and maintenance of the highways and repayment of borrowings, and any surplus collected will be channeled into a public transportation fund to improve the quality of public transport, the statement said. Further details on the proposed exercise will be announced by finance minister Lim Guan Eng at the appropriate time.

Transport minister Anthony Loke explained that the congestion charge is to spread out traffic. “The congestion charge is imposed during the morning, during peak hours – at the same rate. What we are trying to encourage is for people to spread out traffic,” he said, adding that congestion charges was already practised in other countries.

Sweets for the upcoming by-elections? “None of the highways are actually in Semenyih,” Loke said, reported by The Star.

In November last year, works minister Baru Bian said that his ministry has been given six months to hold discussions and settle the “toll issue”. This was followed by the works ministry saying that it will appoint an independent auditor in January 2019 to study the issue of toll collection. This move’s aim was to assist the government in obtaining data and recommendations, plus analysis on the reduction of toll rates in the short, medium and long term.

“The analysis results are expected to be submitted to the cabinet for consideration and consent in May next year,” he told parliament then. But with pressure being ramped up by opposition figures such as ex-PM Datuk Seri Najib Razak and cost of living being a hot button topic, the PH government has decided to speed things up with the latest announcement.

Fulfilling this particular election promise won’t be cheap though. In December, Lim revealed that the government will have to fork out RM972.75 million in compensation to 21 highway concessionaires for them to not raise toll rates in 2019. And that’s just for them not raising toll rates.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No toll but in the end there is still tolls, another pusing-pusing cerita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
    • Sohai on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Where plaza toll to be abolished??? Very good proposal car slow down payment still cause congestion… Sohai…

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:59 pm

The whole country could have had free roads with no tolls if there was no stealing and corruption the past 60 years.

Malaysia is a very rich country. We are the richest resources country in the world. Unfortunately, because of heavy duty corruption in the past, we cannot enjoy complete FREE tolls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
        • b0ssKU on Feb 25, 2019 at 8:53 pm

I second to this proposal.

High toll rate during peak can (1) dispense unnecessary traffic to travel different time; (2) make people who can leave before or after peak hours to schedule better; (3) maybe people who don’t need to drive can seek alternative i.e. car pooling/ MRT/ bus

And free toll during weekends good for public and economy in these neaeby areas too

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:29 pm

Manifesto Ditepati. Syukurr Malaysia…

• John Bin Palat on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:54 pm

I hope our regular troll does not come here with his 20 dupe names and try to create an impression that PH Government is incompetent.

We readers do not believe him anymore

• Sohai on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:36 pm

When no toll, no charge ?

• Copy Paste on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Copy paste: “commuters will pay what’s equivalent to the existing toll charges for six hours of ‘peak period’ a day.”

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:59 pm

Now we can save on tolls using this method.

Because now we don’t need to buy Birkin handbags. Each Birkin handbag cost RM300k to RM1.6 million ringgit.

Some got 254 Birkin handbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • EDITOR on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:22 pm

This is a automotive blogsite. It is not a Birkin handbag site. You want to talk about Birkin handbag, please leave and go to that site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • When no toll then the operators will come running to the Gahmen seeking subsidies to cover the cost. In the end, our taxpayer’s monies are still used to make Pakatan look good. Pthui!!!

• Digidigi on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Will the congestion rate even higher than current rate?

• EDITOR on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:34 am

“None of the highways are actually in Semenyih,”

Loke forgot to mention that Semenyih folks would still use North South Highway and bypass to SMART Tunnel (heading to KL) or bypass to KESAS (heading to Shah Alam). Not sweets for the upcoming by election? Do you think we’re stupid, Loke? Do think again! We aren’t so easily fooled by sweet promises anymore! Just immediately abolish the tolls like your cohorts had promised!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:04 pm

PH promised to abolish tolls when they thought corruption was just few hundred million problem.

After they took over the Government, and after opening the secret files and books, they found out corruption was few hundred billion ringgit

Few hundred million VS few hundred billion. Beza banyak

So how to give FREE tolls now?

We have to tanggung previous corrupt practices and now we pay the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • “corruption was just few hundred million”
        Wait, hold on a sec there….

“I rather believe a distinguished statesman like Tun”
        Didn’t Tun told us that 1MDB has a Rm100 Billion debt?

Something is wrong with either your story above or your believe below. I find it hard to trust someone with an inconsistent story or believe.

• And 1/3 of the time is led by your beloved Atuk94 and supported by ur forever PM in waiting..

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:41 am

“…the government has commenced talks with Gamuda Berhad to negotiate the acquisition of highway concessions…”
    In another words, still using our money to buyout the highways to offer toll free? How is that different from the previous Government’s efforts? Why still use our taxpayer money to buyout other highways when they can start with the highway in their possession: North-South Highway? This is clearly yet another promise that won’t be fulfilled, just like many of their other promises. Sigh… why did we vote for them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Brother you think all the government money belongs to the taxpayers? You are so wrong on that. Taxpayers are just one of the sources. Got tolls you make noise now they removing tolls you also make noise. Apa lagi lu mau?

• Crony on Feb 25, 2019 at 10:02 pm

What do we want? How about following Pizi’s calculation to abolish all tolls WITHOUT ANY COMPENSATION SINCE THEY HAVE MADE THEIR PROFITS???? Why? No balls to do it? Or need to take care of cronies interest first?

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Promises not kept is better than buying RM5 billion ringgit yacht

• Aziz Mahmood on Feb 26, 2019 at 10:24 am

Yes, BN also never kept to ANY of their promises. At least Pakatan is trying to fulfill them

• redpilled on Feb 26, 2019 at 2:06 pm

lolz!!! replying to own comment. how sad…t(‘.’)t

• Aziz Mahmood on Feb 26, 2019 at 3:14 pm

John Menangis Kuat Kuat is not me though. Nice try ha ha ha ha

• Any government can simply ignore the previously signed agreements, who and which country will want to deal with in future?

Where have you been all this while?

• Lowyat k/tard User on Feb 25, 2019 at 6:32 pm

you prefer to vote for a racist kleptocratic govt?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:20 pm

Why not? At least they fulfilled most of their janjis even though they are more down to earth instead of bombastic ones. Really regret switching to PH.

• Add A Comment on Feb 26, 2019 at 7:29 am

Bro…you tell me. You use city toll more of North-South Highway more? Looking at the current financial situation we inherited from the ex-gov, things need to be prioritized. Abolish which one is more beneficial to u?

Apa lagi lu mau?

• Avenger on Feb 26, 2019 at 9:41 am

I’m doing sales so I use NS Highway most often. All these city highways I can bypass, no need pay toll. This proposal by Loki is not beneficial for me unless he abolish tolls on NS Highway.

• Waktu puncak should be free, that how gov help rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • BanyakMasyukWang on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:10 pm

Go find any govt on this planet that not charging during peak hours, while charging during off-peak time. This ain’t a Prius, guys.

• RAKYAT on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:55 am

Double Triple Multiple Facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Amran on Feb 25, 2019 at 11:56 am

Gud one Pakatan! Should be abolished long ago by previous Najib 1MDB gov, but better than never

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
    • Anonymous on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:06 pm

WAKE UP lah bro…! Its just a proposal… its still not a done deal.

Previous BN Govt did abolish a few tol highways… like Batu Tiga, Sg Rasau, Bukit Kayu Hitam and EDL in Johor as most recent. Know your facts before u make any foolish statements.

• JOACHIM on Feb 25, 2019 at 5:26 pm

During Najib’s time, he abolished Cheras-Connaught highway tolls, Cheras Batu 11 toll, both Federal Highway tolls, EDL highway tolls, made Pan Borneo toll-free, and he frozen toll hikes on PLUS owned highways in the many years he was in charge.

He never promised to abolished highway tolls yet he did all that. OTOH, Pakatan had ridiculously promised to immediately abolish all tolls, yet 8 months down the line we are still paying tolls. One earnestly seek to reduce tolls without making such promises, the other still failed in keeping to their promise to abolish tolls. See the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Spin Too Much on Feb 26, 2019 at 9:45 am

True dat! The one who did the work got shafted, and the one that stole the credit got elected.

• Lolz! PH so desperado to bury Najib gud efforts. Too bad theres still conscious MY pipu who discredit their propaganda.

• Why only city highways where the richer city folks can pay? Why not NS hiway, or LPT hiways, or Penang bridges, or Tuas 2nd link where poorer pipu need to crisscross to go to work? Becoz poor pipu din vote for u isit? Selective much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • digidigi on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Obviously for political reason

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • VoidDance on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:53 pm

Sabar. Satu-satu la. You think gomen so rich nowadays ke?

• Rich enuff to gip rich pipu free hiways while continue to charge the poor lowly workmen. The Q is not whether rich or not rich but getting priorities right. PH Gov is screwing their priorities with flipped logic.

• lut you on Feb 25, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Because election in Selangor

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:53 pm

The main problem lies with the tolls located in congested cities and it’s bloody congested comparing to other parts of the country. Three to four hours in a jam every day reduces productive time for everyone. The rest can still wait. How about Tuas? Unless Singapore stops charging us we won’t stop either.

• How about Tuas? Well have you used Tuas 2nd link during peak period? Believe me, your LDP jam complaints are peanuts compared to what these guys endured to use it for work into and out of Singapore.

• Fully agree bro joe. Those who never use Tuas dunno how jam it is during peak periods.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:02 pm

yes john, we bilip you. Now can save money also, no need to pay cybertroopers to say good things about ex government

• Aura89 on Feb 25, 2019 at 9:36 pm

John is just speaking up for the poor, the lowly workmen who uses those said highways. The M40 folks certainly can afford to pay the tolls you used so why so anti about what john pointed out? It seems PH have an agenda against the poor and the lower classes.

• I will continue to speak for those who have no voices, those who r downtrodden becoz they need to spend every waking hours working to earn honest income unlike paid basher PH sapoter.

• Ahmad on Feb 25, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Diam lah john. kite dah muak dengan fake news kau. berambus lah

• Anonymous on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Its just a proposal. A mere proposal such that it needed to be typed on official letterhead of PMO… a mere proposal distributed officially to the media… a mere proposal that it needed a teaser reminding from Muhyiddin of a ‘good news’ for the people… a mere proposal that its annoucement coincides with the Semenyih by-election.

Works Minister Baru Bian still has not come out with anything concrete as of yet. Just a mere proposal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • malayan comedy amateurs on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Typical sub-urban dwellers will rant on the purpose of this toll discounts, uncontrollable timing for daily commute on the roads ferrying child to school, going to office work or going shop/shopping centre during peak hours?!

• Amran on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Hebat! Tol dah mansuh. Cuma bayar caj kesesakan. PH terbaik lah.. Boleh la kita racing mlm2 test power enjin turbo dan supercharge! Yahoo.. Vote for PH next GE15

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:02 pm

PH is a clean Government. Always care for the rakyat. Hidup sekarang pun lagi murah. Tak ada GST

• Copy Paste on Feb 26, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Copy paste: “Naw, be PH politicians better. They can untung kaw-kaw together-gether with the petrol operators and shift the blame for high prices to the previous Gohmen. Everything cleanly done, since they are very clean.”

• Crony on Feb 26, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Yup. Everything is cleanly done. Which is why my kin and I called PH a money laundering government. They liked to scratch our backs.

• pengomel on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:54 pm

yeahh and got caught with AWAS..yeah profit for jpj again

• panjang on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:43 pm

Next up…only luxury vehicle & non national vehicle are required to pay toll…this will be fun..hahahah.
    Too much aid with too much ways of implementing it.

• IGP mom on Feb 25, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Well, instead of acquiring these highways are such a high cost, total costing close to $400 bil, why not plan a 10 year development to build new highways? The new highways will not cost that much amount, and free, and at the same time will render the blood sucking current highway useless. Why give them a windfall while holding the people at ransom.

• If implement congestion charge. Following which method?
    https://tfl.gov.uk/modes/driving/congestion-charge

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 25, 2019 at 1:07 pm

Some of those highways mentioned, like LDP, on a weekday morning, you pay toll just to get stuck in traffic. Kinda pointless. Now you can get stuck in traffic for free. Hahaha. No seriously, if they want to reduce toll charges, they will need to increase taxes on parking in high traffic area like centre of KL. This way, Gomen can collect money for maintenance of highways AND reduce congestion in central KL. I remember some time ago, when they increased parking charges in KL, the traffic volume into KL reduced quite a bit, and it was so much easier to get parking in areas like Tmn Tun.

• ss427 on Feb 25, 2019 at 1:41 pm

Actually if your gov is truely clever, they can force all cars to install GPS toll reader. And they can do dynamic congestion charge along ANY STRETCH of the highway so long the GPS detects average car speed lower than x km/h.
    This is much better than using fixed timings where people simply wait till the toll charge period is over and then drive on the highways. You are just pushing the congestion from peak hrs to off peak hrs thats all.

SG transport ministry is doing just that and the 1st phrase will come alive next year.

If you guys want to control traffic, you need to come up with ways to really control it and not merely pushing the load to other part of the day.

Imposing high surcharge fee is a good way. It will filter out poor folks with marginal means to drive from using the highways. The highways cannot possibly be built for everyone. There must be some sort of users selections to make the roads work as they are designed for

• anakbochek... on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:15 pm

In 500 metres, make a U-Turn. Oppss… make a V-Turn.
    Just fulfill what you promise la dey.

• Mr. Octopus on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Those who wants Toll abolished, are you prepared for an income tax hike?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 26, 2019 at 9:53 am

We are prepared to vote them out if those promises does not materialise.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Congestion charge is the way to go and kudos for taking out Kesas and LDP which are the main culprits.

• FireAce on Feb 25, 2019 at 2:54 pm

So, to enjoy the toll free road, I will need to find a night shift job? Well Done!!

Mr. Anthony Loke, your Transport Department office open 24 hours? I need to send you my resume applying for night shift. Thanks in advance ya.

• Or can find keybod warrior work like our resident basher com PH sapoter.

• Gabriel on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Facepalm!!!
    At least previous gov actually ABOLISHed tolls (Tol batu tiga, sungai rasau, bukit kayuh hitam and edl).
    This malaysia baru is still pusing here and there. Change “toll” to “congestion charges”. Where is this country heading with this?
    Sigh…

• sparcov on Feb 25, 2019 at 3:36 pm

This is a good move to reduce traffic which also practice by many country in the world. No point the country build a 10 lanes highway but the amount of car going in to the highway keep on increasing. They have to find a way to split up the traffic. I have seen many people start using MRT or LRT to KL for work which is a good sign.

• John Doe on Feb 25, 2019 at 4:03 pm

without tol, what kind of condition of the road we will got?
    look at all the roads now without tol!
    gov need to improve their maintenance work first.

they should just work on reducing the rate, but giving a good condition.

same like abolish GST and with SST, our price goes up. Please PREPARE properly before rush to implement!

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 25, 2019 at 7:48 pm

….later will u-turn….

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 26, 2019 at 10:55 am

A poop by any other name would smell as foul

(My apologies to William Shakespeare)

• Unknown on Feb 26, 2019 at 4:16 pm

But going by PH trooper logic, poop from their leaders would smell sweeter than honey.

• In order to save some money and “force” Malaysian to drive at odd hours and directly affect the next day working performance and later cause the health problems.
    Just direct forward 50% discount for first three years and 60% discount for year 4 to 6 ( second three years). And additional 10% reduction every 3 years until 100% free.