Proton Exora facelift rendered – new look for 2020?

With the Iriz, Persona and even the Saga getting facelift updates soon, it appears Proton is working hard to keep its range up to date, or at least relevant to customers. The Preve, Suprima S and Ertiga are unlikely to be replaced, at least anytime soon, so let’s look at Proton’s ageing MPV, the Exora.

Having been on sale since 2009, it’s well due for a replacement. As a fresh, all-new model seems far-fetched at this juncture, we have commissioned our famed digital manipulator Theophilus Chin to render a possible major update for the local MPV instead.

This isn’t a full model change, but rather an extensive rework of the existing car – a complete re-body, keeping the base model’s wheelbase, pillars, windows and windscreen. We feel this approach is more realistic than the previous set of renders, which was based on the then-new Perdana styling.

Keeping the same basic shape and proportions gives this “new Proton Exora” a familiar, instantly recognisable appearance, while a fresh interpretation of Proton design – complete with an Infinite Weave grille that’s framed by a full-width Ethereal Bow – leads to a much more modern look.

The sides have sharp crease lines – you can take these as a continuation of the Iriz and Persona’s Side Blades – while the rear end continues to feature the Exora’s vertical taillamps and a well-defined rear bumper. A large Proton script, fast becoming a brand staple, completes the rear door.

But wait, isn’t the Geely Jiaji (VF11) destined to be Proton’s new MPV? Yes, that should still be in the plans for late 2020 or 2021 (the SX11 compact SUV is due first), but that will be a much larger MPV, likely to be priced above the RM100k mark. A renewed Exora would fit well in the sub-RM100k MPV market.

This is all speculation, of course. We know that Proton is in fact working on an update for the Exora, though that will likely only involve minor changes (inclusion of a Hi Proton head unit seems a given). So if a major refresh is indeed in the plans, don’t expect it to happen within the year or so. Still, what do you think of these renders? Comment below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:24 pm

No point Proton bother doing update or Theo doing a rendering. You know very well Geely, parent company is going to kill every single Proton model to allow them to market their entire range of Geely cars from China in Malaysia and ASEAN region.

We have to admit the fact that all Proton models will be wiped out soon. This is the result of having a China boss and the consequence of it.

Geely bought Proton up for a reason. That reason is to penetrate their entire range of cars in Malaysia and ASEAN

They will want to market their Jiaji here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 55
    • babihutan on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:57 pm

yeah2..i’ve seen same comment like this on few post before..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Congrats. You have just found our resident troll.

• Anana on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:59 pm

And you the resident supporter.

• Shariman on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:36 pm

ha ha, good one. Chief troll today hiding because Aruz sales figures are out

• Lets See on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:34 pm

And you’re no better as the ever revolving dupe personas of our resident troll.

• YB Albert on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Dear YB Hafriz
      As a senior Victorian,tq for your latest updates and videos .
      I wonder who this Theophilus Chin is.Is he a staff of paultan ?
      Hello,his designs can easily put the Protong Design chief to shame.Protong wasted years of phenomenal good designs by ignoring this Theophilus.
      Anyway,2 yrs down the road,the current Campro powered cars will be obsolete with Geely right hand drive vehicles flooding SE Asia.
      Perhaps ,when our cucus asked us” Grandpa,what happened to proton?” We have to admit, ” PROTON is a failed experiment…a white elephant..according to YB Nazri”.
      Then cucu asked somemore,” Where can I view a few? ”
      ” Oh,dear..they r on display..the last production batch at Muzium negara”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Anana on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Well, hopefully he doesn’t regret buying X70 which he so proudly placed his deposit on record last time.

• Copy Paste on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Copy paste:
          “How many “how cool is that?”?

“Haf: This is the best car period”. “Harv: Would u still buy the P1 without the price advantage? Haf: Definitely, without a doubt”.

“Haf: Would u still buy the P1? Matt: Yeah, I would still buy the P1. Harv: Yeah, no brainer, P1!”

Loud and clear, my dear PT team. LOUD AND CLEAR!!!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all”

• Tenkiu for the complement bro!

• Anana on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:14 am

He should do a long term review with his X70, provided he really buys one.

Car reviews should come from people who actually own the car, not some blogger who had only hours in one. And I would only consider it a good review if after say 7-9 years of owning it, you would buy another car from the same brand.

• Mitsu Xpander Where R U on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:37 pm

This render looks good. Hope tht proton really consider this for exora. Has been thinking to get a mpv/suv either brv, aruz or exora turbo..i think aruz is too tall which will affect body roll and handling..and century sprint 15+ secs is just too much….sigh..when will the Mitsu Xpander arrive??

• Anana on Mar 06, 2019 at 12:05 am

It’s supposed to be an MPV with an elevated platform. This design suits Malaysian roads with its constant potholes and uneven roads.

Century sprint? It’s a family car for the masses. Adding a turbo would increase car price and maintenance cost. Increasing CC would make the car uneligible for the upcoming targeted subsidies. Back to you.

• Riqriq on Mar 07, 2019 at 1:00 am

Alhamdulillah i pon dah punya kat Indo sini, memang build quality & kenyamanan dia terbaik la bila dibandingkan ngan LMPV sekelasnya macam Avanza, Ertiga and even Wuling. Bahkan Mitsubishi dan Nissan dah bekerja sama disini mengeluarkan Livina based on Xpander

• Copy Paste on Mar 05, 2019 at 11:45 pm

Copy paste: “Enough of your lies. We the readers of PT are fed up with your lies about P1.

Enough is enough. Learn to play fair. You wish others well, your brand also will do well.

Learn to be honest and fair”

• Childish person speak on stage

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Finally. An article that finally realised that the geely MPV is not a replacement for the Exora

• Boneka Puppet on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:45 pm

China will decide on that. Proton and management are just puppets. Li and Geely decides everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Yucks!! Seriously get a new renderer, no taste and the new design still looks from 9 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • needs to be lighter and more fuel efficient

• johnnas on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Nice effort and indeed more realistic but I can’t help but to ask, are just renderings for the sole viewing pleasure of PT readers or have Teo submitted to Proton for their consideration?

Remember to tell Proton to improve on their interior quality and styling if possible. I thought Exora was a chance for Proton to redeem itself but when I sat in one, let’s just say, other than the space volume, I never regretted on my Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Nah I rather they build a new one with a new platform. Exora needs to hit the history books.

• benzs on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:44 pm

No need FL for this Exora. Aging Product. Get entirely new.

• Vader on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:48 pm

Nice Theo! That left the Perdana to be facelifted

• Roti john Sendirian Berhad on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:54 pm

The real Chinese game changing replacement for Exora. Proton game over cars will be a history and will be displayed in Proton’s game over cars museum.

Habislaaaaaa!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Anonymous on Mar 05, 2019 at 3:58 pm

MEH…

• Susukotak on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Azlan got more distinctive local flavor design,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Useless!

• The front looks absolutely stunning althou dunno where did Theo get the headlights from. The rear is no no, looks too much like that failed Alza. Better they maintain the current shape but change the lights to tube type LEDs and follows Volvo pattern.

For the rear paneling, the current blacked out top half and center strip shud remain cuz it shares same concept with Iriz FL. But the logo shud go and the PROTON wordings at the center strip shud follow as above.

The interior shud replace those silver plastic bits with faux brush aluminum like X70 and replace the HU with GKUI. The improved NVH of Iriz FL shud be carried over.

• Khalid on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:38 pm

Alza did not fail. I see it everywhere. Pls stop posting fake news ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • English Teacher on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:50 pm

Saga, Iriz, Persona, Exora, even Perdana are also seen everywhere yet we have trolls proclaiming them as failures. So tit-for-tat? Why not? Or are you just ashamed that Alza is being facelifted once again after so long being on sale and lagging Exora’s presence on the road? Et tu troll?

• Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:24 pm

New saga very hard to find wei! same for new iriz, new persona, and even new perdana. worse still, new perdana – can only find one at penang!!

Exora is the only one that is common, but toyota-perodua alza is just as common!

p2 and toyota cars got high RV and quality one. deswai people all buy our cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • New saga hardly to see? I can even see it everywhere. For New perdana yes it hard. FYI I using new saga and I never regretted to choose as my car

• Anana on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:05 pm

@English Teacher

Perodua outsold Proton 3:1. So yeah I would call cars from Proton a failure. Maybe you should stick to teaching english, maths is definitely not your thing.

• Brian on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:37 pm

Your understanding of English fails you. Your only definition of success is sales figure but does that equate Ferrari which sold less a failure compared to Perodua? I think you need go back and relearn English comprehension.

• yawnz on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:22 pm

Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• English Teacher on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Oh? Saga, Iriz, Persona, Exora, Preve sold by the tens of thousands. That’s not a failure by any margin.
            All these models are profitable to Proton after recouping the development cost. That’s not a failure by any margin.
            All these models had segment leading safety standards and kit when they were introduced respectively. That’s not a failure by any margin.
            There are many satisfied owners who loved their cars to bits. That’s not a failure by any margin.
            They helped brought up the technical knowledge and advancement of Malaysia. That’s not a failure by any margin.
            The only issue is that they didn’t sell more but that’s not a failure by any margin neither.
            So what is your definition of failure because in all categories, it is no failure.

• Anana on Mar 06, 2019 at 1:50 am

Let’s go one by one shall we?

@Brian
            Let me enlighten you, Proton and Perodua both target the low to middle income Malaysians. Therefore yes, their sales figure would be a good gauge for success. Ferrari does not target these segment, it would not be relevant to even mention it. But of course, perhaps you should just stick to teaching English like English teacher.

@yawnz

Thanks Captain Obvious! I didn’t know that until you mentioned it!

@English Teacher

Hahaha, tens of thousands… Did you know that Toyota can make 4x Proton’s total monthly sales in a month just in the US with just one model? That’s not even accounting for total sales globally!
            Profitable??? Are you sure about that? If they’re so profitable, why did the Government decide to sell Proton to Geely? At a loss too!
            In all of 30+ years of Proton’s history, what did we achieve so far which is considered a “success”? The “didn’t sell more” is a failure by itself! Why? Because people do not have faith in your products. Perodua is not a huge success either by your definition, but they still manage to outsell Proton 3:1.

• Aura89 on Mar 06, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Guys. Anana here is just a flame troll looking for attention. He cannot be reasoned with because he cannot accept logic. Just leave him to rant.

• newme on Mar 05, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Stunning? … Excellent, Amazing, Wonderful…. sudahlah … How many Exora sold last month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous_C on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:15 pm

facelift the Ertiga is cheaper than this Exora in terms of consumer ownership and fuel consumption

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Ertiga is a done and gone deal

• Ertiga is oso smaller and from diff segment of Exora. Somemore ori Ertiga alredi got model change so no point to update the old gen.

• Aiman san on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:16 pm

yes i will consider exora with TOTALLY NEW DASHBOARD & INTERIOR…improve 3rd row seat too for better long journey drive

• sardin on Mar 05, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Theo’s work is a great. But what I would really want is a new gearbox for Exora. After 280k km of running it, I still find the get go from standstill is the most irritating bug by Punch CVT. Other than that its my most precious Proton thus far.

• Ben Yap on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:33 pm

the one of the few notable proton cars with turbo engine. the rest with NA are trash.

• funkyMonkey on Mar 05, 2019 at 6:39 pm

forget facelift. Just buy a toyota MPV. Barang cantek, baik, good RV. No problem with “”krek-krok”” sound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Obviously bigger and better than Alza.

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Theo is creative, that’s a given but most people don’t realise that paper designs can be extravagant to the point of being silly, because the only cost is really the paper and the ink, apart from the designer’s salary. But once it gets to moulding and eventually production, it gets tricky.

Here’s where cost will be a reality. Its quite simple, really. The more complicated the surface is, the more expensive it will be to make the mould and to produce it.

A mould then needs to be economically viable. It lasts about 100,000 stamps per mould so unless a carmaker is likely to sell 60% of that with the balance for spares, it’s not going to be viable. Sensibly, PROTON knows their realistic volumes. With an engine no one writes home about, volume was never going to be a done deal. So the safe design is the safe route.

In essence the Exora isn’t ugly, but its no Porsche for sure. It gets its buyers and fans from cost conscious people, those who want space vis-a-vis the competition and of course, price. And beauty anyway is so subjective; I hate the looks of the Exora when it came out, but liked it better after the facelifts.

To each his own I guess.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 05, 2019 at 7:19 pm

No fault to Theo, but Proton should stop flogging a dead horse and retire it already.

Who wants to buy a family MPV that is thirsty, underpowered, and lacking safety gear like full complement of airbags? It’s even lacking isofix points!!

• binrui on Mar 05, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Underpowered? Century sprint exora turbo is more or less same as estima 2.4

• Replace new engine or tuning more fuel efficient and more power will do. Any problem?

• I bought an exora turbo last year. It is fastest mpv below 100k. It has VSC, all diskbrakes, 138 horsepower, 16 inch alloy, leather seats, 6 speed gears, air cont vent all 3 rows, if 2 nd and 3 rd rows flattened, can let children sleep on long night journeys and shop at ikea, lots of space. Has LCD to keep children adults occupy on long boring jams. Body made of ultra high tensile steel for safety. What can you ask for. It is still the best under 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Nice Well done Proton

• Very nice

• Ex proton owner on Mar 05, 2019 at 10:59 pm

This car is already too old for any facelift.Design & features are too outdated.Better scrap & replace with a completely new model.Don’t waste time on this car.

• Carlos on Mar 06, 2019 at 3:53 am

Drove my colleague Exora Bold yesterday, despite newer (2014) I’d rather satisfied with a Grand Livina instead of Exora.

CVT transmission not smooth compared to my 11 year old LIVINA 1.8.

• roland emmerich on Mar 06, 2019 at 8:06 am

just wipe out proton from malaysia lah…. so this people who comment on paul tan had other thing to do lah….sick and tired of this.

• Lets See on Mar 06, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Many of them are bored Toyota salesmen with nothing to do in their empty showrooms other than to post rubbish after rubbish. So why not ban Toyota from selling here, that’s a better option.

• zainal abidin on Mar 06, 2019 at 8:52 am

Whatever it is, new cvt gearbox please, no more punch cvt.

• Wilson on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:25 pm

Redering = Day Dreaming

• It has auto cruise too. Can relax and mantain speed as well as safe fuel on long motoway journeys.