Malaysia EV road tax to switch to kW-based rate?

It’s looking quite likely that owners of full-electric vehicles will be paying more for their vehicle’s road tax in the coming future, if what is apparently emerging is right. Word from the grapevine is that the road transport department (JPJ) will be moving to calculating the road tax rates for electric vehicles based on their motor kilowatt output instead of the traditional engine cc displacement as previously utilised.

This will effectively alter the payable road tax rate for EVs, which was initially drafted for calculation based on a kilowatt rate, and for which the table has been in place since 2011. According to JPJ sources, the rates for EVs were previously keyed in by clerks under the cc category during the vehicle registration, as a matter of familiarity. This is set to change.

A hint of the possible revision started last week, when a guideline on the calculation of the road tax for pure electric vehicles began to circulate around social media circles, with some thinking that this was a new, incoming rate. It turns out that it isn’t, and the document pages actually list the existing road tax rates for electric cars and motorbikes from before. But from what is being communicated, it seems that the switch will come about, although how soon remains to be seen.

Click to enlarge.

Let’s take a look at how the switch to kW-based input would pan out, price-wise. For electric motorbikes (code AA), the road tax for such two-wheelers with an output rating of 7.5 kW and below will be set at a fixed rate of RM2.

For e-motorcycles with a motor output rated above 7.5 kW, the rate is calculated as:

• Above 7.5 kW to 10 kW – RM9
  • Above 10 kW to 12.5 kW – RM12
  • Above 12.5 kW to 25 kW – RM30
  • Above 25 kW to 40 kW – RM40
  • For e-motorbikes with an output of above 40 kW – RM42
  • Malaysia EV road tax to switch to kW-based rate?

For private saloon motorcars – individual (code AB) and company registration (AC) – with a rated output of 80 kW and below, the rates are as such:

• 50 kW and below – RM20
  • Above 50 kW to 60 kW – RM44
  • Above 60 kW to 70 kW – RM56
  • Above 70 kW to 80 kW – RM72
  • Vehicles with a rated motor output of above 80 kW will have a base road tax applied as well as a progressive rate calculated into the final sum. The road tax rate is calculated as follows, starting with a base rate and an additional rate for each kW increase:

• Above 80 kW to 90 kW – RM160, and RM0.32 sen for every 0.05 kW (50 watt) increase from 80 kW
  • Above 90 kW to 100 kW – RM224, and RM0.25 sen for every 0.05 kW (50 watt) increase from 90 kW
  • Above 100 kW to 125 kW – RM274, and RM0.50 sen for every 0.05 kW (50 watt) increase from 100 kW
  • Above 125 kW to 150 kW – RM524, and RM1.00 for every 0.05 kW (50 watt) increase from 125 kW
  • Above 150 kW – RM1,024, and RM1.35 for every 0.05 kW (50 watt) increase from 150 kW
  • Malaysia EV road tax to switch to kW-based rate?

Given the dearth of fully-electric vehicles on the local scene presently, there won’t be much impact as yet, and even for existing EVs like the Nissan Leaf and Renault Zoe) there’s really not that much for owners to swallow. The Tesla Model S gets the biggest jump, although users won’t feel the pinch at all, since their cars are leased and the road tax is covered under the terms of the leasing agreement.

Some calculations to get an idea of what the going rates will be with the supposed new scheme, whenever that comes fully into play. The Zoe has a 65 kW (87 hp) output, so its ‘new’ EV road tax will be RM56. It currently pays RM28 in road tax based on the existing rate, according to a Zoe user.

The first-gen Leaf, which was introduced by Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) back in 2013, has an 80 kW motor, and will pay RM72 in road tax under the EV rate. The second-generation Leaf that is set to come to Malaysia later this year has a 110 kW motor, which means it would pay RM374 (RM274 base rate plus RM100 on the calculated increase from 100 kW) in road tax.

The cost jumps significantly with high output motors, with every kilowatt above 150 kW being charged RM27. The road tax for a facelifted Tesla Model P90D presently is a rather insane RM10, based on a 7.75 kW output (we have no idea how that figure came about).

Based on the new rate, the road tax for the S 90D, which has a 345 kW (463 hp) working output, will be RM6,289 (RM1,024 base rate plus RM5,265), while the S 70 RWD variant, which has a 235 kW (315 hp) output, will pay RM3,319 (RM1,024 base rate plus RM2,295). Meanwhile, the road tax for the base 270 kW (362 hp) version of the S 85 will be RM4,264 (RM1,024 base rate plus RM3,240).

Incoming cars like the Porsche Taycan, which has been confirmed for a 2020 arrival here, will also be paying a fair bit in road tax. With an output of 440 kW, the road tax for a base Taycan will be RM8,854 (RM1,024 base rate plus RM7,830 as scaled on the 290 kW difference from 150 kW), and likely higher for the Taycan 4S and Turbo variants. Of course, the sum doesn’t look like it will impact or affect any potential Taycan owners.

As it goes along, a trend may emerge with the electrification route in which most of the activity will involve offerings up to the 150 kW region. Hybrids and plug-in hybrids (PHEV) will continue to pay road tax based on regular cc displacement for combustion engines, meaning there is no change no matter what kind of output their motors offer. What do you think of the eventual switch to the road tax for EVs? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Roti john Pte Ltd on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:26 pm

This game changing EV technology is the future while Proton already game over. Habisla Projohn!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
      • Vader on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:54 pm

And then have you complain and complain and complain about the high EV battery replacement cost? Yeah right.

• Rich Eat Free Lunch on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:56 am

This make perfect sense… Some shopping malls currently offer “free” charging and the car can park there whole day for “free”

• Andrew Ong on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:34 am

Previous corrupted Government had their hands in TNB, a GLC. They ketuk the rakyat maximum.

Each house now pay RM500 electric bill

• riziqin on Mar 12, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Correct bro. Looking at my electric bill,
              TNB surcharge 1.6% from KWTBB. More burden imposed to us rakyat since 2011, leader xleh pakai makan duit rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
            • Avenger on Mar 12, 2019 at 5:19 pm

If you use aircon 24/7 of course you are liable to pay for it. When you tamper with the meter, of course you will be penalised to pay more. When you tried to cheat the previous govenment, of course they will ketuk you. Only in this new government, they have allowed your corrupted practices to go unpunished.

• Sohai on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:16 pm

Incorrect direction, this is sohai betui… high technology car will have higher watt, lower tech low watt where everyone can do… There should be encouraging incentive for high technology for industry continue break thru instead of low watt that everyone can do.

Do you give incentive for solar cell can produce higher watt, or solar cell can produce low watt low tech ????????????

Sohai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
      • Sohai on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Hybrid pay 2 charge … Sohai … Pay more for go green new direction…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Malayan Comedy Amateur on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:57 pm

Hybrid cars really game over, must pay road tax for fossil fuel engine plus road tax for electric motor kilowatts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:27 pm

kudos! what the previous gov should have done, but left MY in a huge mess. ICE car roadtax switch to CO2 emission-based rate ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • borneo darul seram on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:13 am

LOL last time heard some servant of nation mentioned that only developed country capable to collect road tax based on carbon tax therefore Malaysia not yet developed cannot switch to co2 emission based road tax.
        Meanwhile Thailand already started CO2 NOx based road tax…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:56 pm

EV won’t work in Malaysia because TNB rates is one of the highest in the world.

In other countries, their electricity is cheap. In Malaysia, electricity is very expensive. All the more when houses have changed to the Digital meter which runs 2X fast.

So, no point double whammy rakyat with high EV road tax becaus ewe are paying exorbitant TNB rates.

Last time TNB raised prices saying Oil went to US100. But when oil went down in price, TNB “Forgot” to reduce electricity rates to the rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
      • DS Heidi R Vanke on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:54 pm

Then open up the market as soon as possible and stop electricity monopoly by one organization. Don’t you know your southern neighbor lion city has many electricity providers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Can’t you provide any concrete data instead of general statement? I had stayed many years in countries like China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Jamaica, Mauritius. All these countries had electricity rate that’s higher than Malaysia. I also knew that electricity rate in US and Singapore are significantly higher than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Rakesh on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:09 pm

See how much Singaporean earn. See how much the electric bill. I also stay in Singapore before. My electric bill only SGD100. My Gaji SGD5000

In MAlaysia my Gaji also RM5000. My electric bill RM400

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • Logical Deduction on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:02 pm

If you really earn in Sing money then what are you still doing here? it sounds like a fraud.

• Shivaji on Mar 13, 2019 at 10:47 am

Everyday hardworking thumb bee crossings the causeway from JB to SG to earn 5k monthly wages. Which part is wild claimed as fraud?

• Civicskunk2 on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:58 am

Dont worry one day gov will encourage people to buy electric cars at that time sure have incentives… Believe me…at that moment when fossil fuel is no more sure gov want us to buy electric cars am i right? At this moment dont gatal2 buy electric cars because why gov dont encourage us to buy it… Also our country is not ready for it… We dont have the facilities

• Surix on Mar 12, 2019 at 1:19 pm

wat u crapping about highest electricity price , pls do some research about electricity price in the nearby regions. Dont simply blabber to get more likes.

• Lets See on Mar 12, 2019 at 5:22 pm

You must be new here. This dude here self-replies his own comments and self-likes it too. We read his comments for the laughs.

• Lolz!

• topkek on Mar 13, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Resident troll is very good, last time asked about P1 EV, where is P1 ev? Where is P1 ev? Now asked pipu dun use EV pulak. Very topkek.

Topkek

• digidigi on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:16 pm

wise decision, those driving Volvo XC90 and x5 should pay more, we should subsidy the poor not the rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • Sjahs on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:21 pm

For hybrids the road tax follows the combustion engine

• DPCraft on Mar 11, 2019 at 10:57 pm

Please Read ^!
        Imho taxing output is dumb why not tax base on weight? like heavier vehicle actually damage the road more.
        Well kudos for the government to tax electric like Crazy we belong to the stone age…Companies can keep dumping old thirsty engine in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Akira on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:37 am

Well then, Proton X70 (17xxkg) and other cars will be charged higher than a Lamborghini Galardo (14xxkg).

Please think before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • S.Ibrahim on Mar 12, 2019 at 11:44 am

Tax based on weightage within the same segment. ICE SUV vs EV SUV, Supercars vs supercars. Do it sensibly like in Norway and you will see EV take up will normalise because the EV advantage becomes a disadvantage.

• Lotusenthusiast on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:30 pm

What would you categorize a lotus Elise then? Or an Alfa Romeo 4c? Or that new alpine a110 car? They’re like 1.6 and some generations of the lotus even weigh less than 1 ton, I bet the emissions is pretty good even in today’s standards

• Bro, in case you didn’t notice, we are talking about EVs here, not ICEs.

• Paparadzi on Mar 11, 2019 at 11:15 pm

As usual, Malaysians will have to come up with sourgrape comments such as this.

• Ratu Sari Wangi Melati Kemboja Cantek on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:16 am

LOL All PHEV owners going to pay dearer road tax soon.

• My personal view is road tax should be based on the weight of the car instead of engine/motor capacity. Because the weight of the car is the key factor that causing the damage to the road surface. Current road tax that is based on engine capacity is not fair, especially many big luxury cars are using turbocharged engine with small engine capacity.

While it’s not practical to charge the road tax based on exact car weight, JPJ can always establish the road tax rate based on a range of standard car weight when the car company register the car model for approval. This will also solve the problem regardless whether the car is ICE, hybrid, PHEV or EV. One system fits all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • BMW Genius on Mar 12, 2019 at 3:36 pm

LOL Your proposal of car road tax based on gross weight or nett weight? Obese driver and passenger has to pay more on road tax?

• Lamborghinienthusiast on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:33 pm

How much will you charge my road legal converted Sesto elemento? It weighs less than a ton

• Vader on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:58 pm

Wasn’t Perotiga supposed to be EV based car? With this outcome, it will certainly kill Mahathir’s baby on the spot before it even born! Will he accept it? Or is this another sign that a power struggle is taking place behind the Pakatan curtain? Man, I really screwed up picking these guys as government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Ban on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:06 am

So, when to update for ICE? Still using outdated cc base for ICE?

• this could applies to ICE motors also since they are rated at kW too since the trends now is engine downsizing and forced induction.

plus, there’s also hybrid that boost power.

moves like this doesn’t help malaysia transition to EV since EV are just getting more and more powerful.

• benzs on Mar 12, 2019 at 8:40 am

Malaysia moving backward. Strange… Many country encourage the usage of EV so that pollution is reduce and risk of disease which occur our health will reduce as well. But Malaysia G seems does not care. Why?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:19 am

tax the rich. finally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Reggie on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Never change this JPJ top management attitude

Always need TONGKAT and take a much from suffering vehicles owners knowing that there is no with no proper good Public Transport

Always GREEDY & think want they do and implement is always right

Never work HARD to really study the real picture even they make mistake will never admit but force it on car owners

Change to new Pakatan Government will be useless if this JPJ top heads are not rolled . They keep repeating the same old stories hence retarding the development of Green vehicle ownership due to their incapabilities , lack of idea and understanding and greediness

This is JPJ style.

Top heads of JPJ must rolled otherwise we see no improvement at all.

Taxing the Rich is not a question but majority of middle class car ownership will suffer and pay high road tax due to greed and laziness of JPJ heads.

In other word JPJ got no competent Heads able to fine tune and learn from other countries thoroughly how to collect their road tax without burdening any motorists.
        … lack of good ideas except got greedy ideas

Period to JPJ Top Gun running the show . should sack them for giving bad advise that will make the public suffer later on.

• EV Lover on Mar 12, 2019 at 9:46 am

This will kill the developing of Electric Vehicle, so high than ICE engine, ICE emitted a lot of air pollution than EV, why charge Road Tax so high, government want people die because of air pollution related diseased, if this continued, no one to used EV, many more will get sick and die. It is very sad for Future Generation, to breath polluted air and get many air pollution related disease, get sick and die

• Mr Hakim on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:28 am

Good decision. Everything consumed must have its tax, else you free to get off this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Semua pun pendatang kecuali org asli on Mar 12, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Really? What makes you think that this country belongs only to you or your own kind that you can suka suka ask people to get out as you like.

• tesla on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:33 am

no incentive for EV, more Tax for EV.
      Malaysia’s oil reserves are the fifth largest in Asia-Pacific

• guan yin ma on Mar 12, 2019 at 10:43 am

Honestly. You should tax those heavy smoke emmision old buses and lorries. Not those clean EV. I have no idea this cute Anthony Loke is doing, continue to let these old dirty diesel engine pollute our country. Never think for the future generation.

• hahahahahah pay more for saving the environment (provided electricity charging source is hydro or solar). One step forward, 100 step backwards.

• sarawak sarawak on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:07 pm

but poor people consume and dont pay tax. And throw rubbish everywhere…

• Kuala lumpur, bandaraye rendah karbon.. Hihihi, hidup petrol n diesel

• The Proton Geely cars will be cheap when they start producing it. we will use that and risk getting electrocuted? lol

btw, how do you tax a flying car? by Knots-“Indicated Air Speed” ? lol

• Mr. Octopus on Mar 12, 2019 at 3:57 pm

Road tax should simply be based on which segment the car is in. The bigger the car the higher the road tax.

In future, one can simply upgrade the motor of an EV to produce double or triple the power without looking any different outside or inside by simply swapping to a higher output but same size motor.

Don’t tell me JPJ did not consult with the EV engineers before deciding this?

• YoutubeAFMGT on Mar 12, 2019 at 4:14 pm

kesian bro Paul, selama ni enjoy RM10 setahun pakai Tesla dia..hehe

• YoutubeAFMGT on Mar 13, 2019 at 10:54 am

Norway is enjoying best EV incentives by their government. Special lane, toll free, free tickets using ferries, tax free and stuff. That is why they have the best EV sales in Europe. Our nation is way behind. With this move, I think it will put more years before we get to see EVs on our roads.

• Joseph on Mar 12, 2019 at 4:18 pm

This is stupid. The Road tax for fossil cars should be higher than EVs, not the other way round. We should be encouraging people to go the environment friendly route not go back to fossil fuel. JPJ should really consider which direction it is taking going Green or Black.

• Leonardo on Mar 13, 2019 at 8:44 am

Agree…what’s the objective and policy of the proposed road tax structure for EVs? Is it to make more money for the Government, or to have a cleaner environment?
        If there is no clear advantage for EVs, than most people will just stick to fossil fuel. And our air pollution will get worse.

• Tun Pirate King on Mar 13, 2019 at 9:30 am

Well, wasn’t this government that kept telling us; Cash is King? So you can figure out which is the more important agenda for this government.

• Carfans on Mar 13, 2019 at 9:51 am

Wait till bateri rosak…cost the same price as car. Petrol still cheap what…who buy electric to show off?

• Drevar on Mar 15, 2019 at 7:30 am

Thailand is reducing tax and LGE is increasing tax. Stupid move to reduce pollution. Might as well cut down trees to plant more oily palm!

• Nasi Campur on Mar 15, 2019 at 5:08 pm

We are in reverse gear instead of forward gear.

• ferox on Mar 18, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Support for emissions-based road tax and safety-based insurance rates!

• With this EV road tax structure, we can see very clearly that Malaysian government is TOTALLY NOT aligned to embrace clean and sustainable development of EV in the country. Probably due to the fact that petroleum has, and had been one of the major income generators (to fill the pockets of certain individuals in the system).
      Such short-sightedness will definitely drag the country’s feet in the global race towards future clean energy and risk being sidelined by MNCs to set up a foothold in the country with abundant resources. It’s such a misery.

• CK Chong on Apr 04, 2021 at 4:47 pm

Malaysian government is obviously a kind of body whom has been driving with reverse gear an all the time.
      Hybrid vehicles road tax are calculated based on cc while pure EV road tax gets astronomically more expensive despite with zero emission> These bunch of fossil politicians with a craze fondness on fossil fuel had to go! They must go!

• Isaac on Jan 28, 2023 at 7:10 pm

it is because of EV tax rate like this, that is why Malaysia is so backward compared to other countries.

Who the heck even comes up with this kind of tax rate system anyway? based on W instead of KW, and some more bracket difference is 50W….. so stupid.