Proton X70 SUV – development of CKD model largely led by Malaysian team, to get “unique differences”

Earlier last month at the Malaysia Autoshow 2019, we spoke with Proton chief designer Azlan Othman on the facelifted Persona and Iriz, and we also scratched the surface on the imminent arrival of the locally-assembled Proton X70.

From the interview, Azlan revealed that the CKD X70 will feature several uniqueness that is not present on the CBU version, and added that “there will be some surprises.” Azlan also said much of what we see today – in terms of kit – will continue to be available. The CKD X70 is expected to be launched towards the end of this year.

“In developing the CKD version, the vast majority of it is actually done here in Malaysia, because we’ve already worked long and hard on the CBU version. With the knowledge and the connection that we have with the team in Shanghai, it’s very easy for us to move on the CKD version – so we’re taking the lead,” he explained.

On the matter of the amount of local content that will be used for the CKD X70, DRB-Hicom managing director Datuk Syed Faisal Akbar said no percentages have been revealed for now. “However, features such as the GKUI infotainment system will be updated and revised for local users,” he added.

In terms of the X70’s design, Azlan said “Geely has been a very, very good partner. They’ve taken us into the family and being much, much more open compared to our past experiences. We’ve been accepted into the (Geely) family, hence communication is much easier from a design standpoint.” This makes design development easier between Proton and Geely.

In fact, the Proton Design team has even been invited to work on some of Geely’s own products. “I think that shows you the acceptance and openness of the Geely group,” said Othman, although he wasn’t at liberty to specify the said projects. Interestingly, the vehicles in question could even be used for Proton and Geely in their respective markets.

More importantly, Azlan said Proton is actively in talks with Geely over future plans and products. “There are many things that we’re going to bring out in the future,” he said, adding that now is the “best time” for Proton.

Despite having inputs from other Geely design studios (the group has a total of five scattered around the world), Othman said Proton will continue to retain its own unique identity. “We’re currently in a situation where you have the Geely-based products and the legacy Proton products. They’re reaching a crossroad, and the X70 is the first of the Geely-based products.”

“But we want to maintain a collaborative development, so there’s no such thing as one following the other in that sense. Peter Horbury said he wants Proton to retain its own unique identity, and we will stay true to that. We will work in tandem to ensure that there is no overlap in terms of design,” he added.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on May 07, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Locally developed? CKD? Why Proton failed again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 70
    • Nadeswaran on May 07, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Why didn’t this team design their own award winning car with unique differences? We could have saved Proton as a National car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • p2macai on May 07, 2019 at 10:11 pm

So it means P2 failed miserably, rebadging since day 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • Kereta Murah on May 08, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Universiti ajar panggil drone sebagai flying car. Tu lah sebabnya kita ada mentri dengan sijil tipu.

• Same L0rr on May 07, 2019 at 7:04 pm

Everybody know Korea kimchi, french croissant and nasi lemak got no RV. Only jepun sushi got RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
      • Stay in the past on May 07, 2019 at 10:34 pm

Same L0rr, this isn’t 2014. You are no longer relevant 5 years later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • X70 Buyer on May 07, 2019 at 10:42 pm

What’s the importance of RV? What people like you don’t understand is that I don’t want to buy a car for some theoretical future that may or may not come in 5 or 10 years. I buy a car that is value for money and for things that I do with a car right now, and from what I see the X70 fits my bill like a glove. I saved RM 40,000 by going for the X70, now that is a certain future compared to whatever RV I would get later on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 08, 2019 at 12:57 pm

I love it because its cheap to own for long term as the roadtax is based on value of car. Sushi not worth keeping.

• dumbyou on May 07, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Someone failed to comprehend what is the article about…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • You mean failed like this? https://paultan.org/2019/05/06/toyota-glanza-is-a-rebadged-suzuki-baleno-in-india/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Eugene Tan on May 07, 2019 at 10:40 pm

Once X70 with CKD quality is sold, habisla!!!

We Malaysians know the difference between CBU and CKD quality.

I do not trust locals to assemble cars. Later surely got problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Agreed. Which is why I don’t trust Perodua. Later surely got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • That is because Proton rebadged a China car. With more than 30 years of automotive, they should have been able to create a game changer. What we see today is the opposite. Instead of creating game changing cars, Proton rebadged a China car. This is so shameful for Proton and for us Malaysians. I hope Proton realize this and do a game changing action to fix their mess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
      • proveme on May 07, 2019 at 10:12 pm

When we can see homegown car by P2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Proven on May 07, 2019 at 10:48 pm

Perodua Bezza, 3rd gen myvi?

• No. Bezza is just a rebadge of Indian Domestic Market Toyota Etios.

• Celup King on May 08, 2019 at 3:31 pm

Explain how Bezza is a homegrown car when the chassis, engine and transmission plus many of the critical components are sourced from Toyota?

• Isn’t Bezza a homegrown P2?

• Bezza is just a rebadge of Indian Domestic Market Toyota Etios.

• Toyoto rebadged an indian Suzuki. As the worlds second biggest car manufacturer Toyota should be able to design it’s own cars? ;)

• Celup King on May 07, 2019 at 10:38 pm

Yes, many are happy with Japanese CBU quality. If they can choose, they will never ever buy a crappy Perodua with lousy CKD quality.

• Macha kasi chance la

• anonymous on May 07, 2019 at 5:54 pm

Again, a Chinese look like Malay; a Malay look like Chinese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • Your point being?

• raptor1307 on May 07, 2019 at 7:44 pm

Azlan othman, a Malay that looks like Chinese and Matthew, a Chinese that looks like Malay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Sorry, I don’t understand your statement

• hoohaha26 on May 09, 2019 at 10:45 am

And….? What’s that got to do with X70 or CKD or CBU or cars in general? Or specifically speaking, this article?

• Darren on May 07, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Syabas Proton Baru! Hidup PHroton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Expat Importer on May 07, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Anyone can defines what is Malaysian Unique Differences?

• Everything Malaysian wants is already in what prc wants in their car list…I doubt there are much Proton can do besides slapping on ride&handling badge and Proton badge

• Infinity War… I mean Infinity Weave.

• SkullJuJu on May 07, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Hopefully NOT meaning dumbing down qualities. Cos that’s what happens when certain stuffs go through, *ahem our hands.

• Matchy on May 07, 2019 at 10:55 pm

Teh tarik hook.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 08, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Teh tarik hooks. Uniquely Malaysian.

• stastasta on May 09, 2019 at 8:58 am

as if no other country people needs a hook to attach their plastic bags to.

• Surprise. its new face-lift

• So basically, just like Perodua. Haha

• Proton design?don’t la…the facelifted boyue looks very good already
    Proton never good at designing cars
    Just slap the Proton badge will do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • RealAnonymous on May 07, 2019 at 8:00 pm

This is typical… announcing this and that. Final product comes out and it is just… meh.
    Proton should change its culture learn to just ‘SHOW’ and not just ‘TELL’ it…. and like McGraw-Hill proponents would say… ‘Always under promise and over deliver’…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Fully agree. Last time announce Accordana, got teaser this teaser that every week, so much promo and talk. Ended up a bloated, outdated last generation FAIL WHALE.

Before that, announce Inspira, also beating chest so loud. End up another mediocre rebadge that despite low price also don’t see much on road nowadays.

Proton like to talk and SYIOK SENDIRI only. While sucking rakyat’s blood through taxes on other cars. And PM wants Proton 3.0??? GILA

• Celup King on May 08, 2019 at 7:27 pm

Why not? Accordana still outsold the JDM failure called Nautica. You can see more and more newly registered Accordanas even.

• unique differences?
    omg…hope the quality dont get screwed up…got a bad feeling they gona do it…

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 07, 2019 at 9:14 pm

i just hope not malaysian levels of quality….

• Wilson on May 07, 2019 at 9:18 pm

Pls la Azlan Othman, the X70 already nice. Dont overdone.
    The most important thing is CKD quality…which, is very bad…
    Worse than Made in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • daniel on May 07, 2019 at 9:22 pm

Malaysian team? please dont screw anythin up guys..proton is only starting to see some lights after a long term darkness..sometimes and at all times sonething its better to be left untouch and if its not broken dont fix it

• haha… nowadays i trust prc made quality more than malaysia. i am surely not the only one having doubts about CKD when it comes to quality and “design” of our local teams

• Most Geely automobils surely have Volvo DNA?

• Matchy on May 07, 2019 at 10:57 pm

Hope they wont botched the design like the Perdana. Epic fail.

100% more smoked lamp. 100% more bodykit. And 100% more LEDs!

• What are changes do Geely allow in their product? famous Lotus Handling ….lets be positive I am sure Geely are aware of quality problem Proton had in the past. Proton problem is they are a small car manufacturer & do not have the economic of scale and technology. Geely is a global car manufacture and they owned several brand names VOLVO, London Taxi to name a few. We can be assured that Proton will gain from some of the technology.

• Siam kap on May 08, 2019 at 2:46 pm

Wait and see. Don’t presume. Geely is a much more open partner compared to Mitsubishi, Honda or Suzuki.

• Daddykassi on May 08, 2019 at 8:50 am

Good move

• thepolygon on May 08, 2019 at 8:55 am

Wouldn’t it be nice if they have Malaysian taste like silk like batik car set cover, Malaysia flag pattern on the side mirrors like how the mini did theirs and real nyato wood trim, along with carvings like those in the old wood houses.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 08, 2019 at 4:14 pm

Yah, new car smell of sambal belacan, remove signal stalk as Malaysians mostly never bother to use it and make it a seven seater so the entire extended family can squeeze into the SUV.

• Akira on May 08, 2019 at 9:18 am

I have a bad feeling about this.

• Please bring in the xingyue, really want it badly

• Hopefully no more ethereal bow and infinite weave design. Sick of reading this two features repeated in each article.