All new EVs in Europe must now add fake engine noise

A new regulation has been introduced for all new electric vehicles (EV) sold in Europe, one that is aimed at making it safer for road users, notably pedestrians. As of July 1, all new four-wheeled EVs on the Continent are required to have a noise-emitting device during low-speed operation, the idea being to prevent those walking and cycling on public roads from being caught unaware by silent-running vehicles.

The noisemaker comes in the form of an Acoustic Vehicle Alert System (AVAS), which utilises sound generators to produce a specified level of noise when an EV is reversing or running below 20 km/h. The sound generated will be similar to that made by a conventional engine, and can be temporarily deactivated by the driver if judged necessary.

There is no fixed sonic signature to AVAS rules, so automakers will be able to decide how their system will sound like. The move to introduce AVAS will particularly aid the visually-impaired by audibly signalling to them the presence of an approaching electric vehicle, although some parties have called for the ruling to make EVs audible at all speeds to ensure even higher levels of road safety.

The new regulation to make acoustic systems within electric vehicles compulsory was passed by the European parliament in 2014, and the end of the five-year transition period means that all automakers selling all-electric vehicle models will have to start incorporating the device.

The regulation applies to all new models of electric and hybrid vehicles introduced from July 1 this year, and all existing EV and hybrid models currently on sale by July 2021. News reports indicate that EVs and quiet hybrids already on the streets may have to get an AVAS system retrofitted in the future.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• panjang on Jul 02, 2019 at 11:52 am

I want my sound to be of a 2 stroke motorbike.
    That will guarantee others alertness except those gadget worshipper.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Preng preng preng 125 sound….hahahah. Or better, use those kelantan lorry sound.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Definitely Turbo blow off sound or Akrapovic ekzos crackled noise for me… hahahah.

• EDITO Rj on Jul 02, 2019 at 1:28 pm

Meanwhile our game changing Iriz EV haven’t even been launch (Probably game over) while Europe will soon enforce the fake engine noise for EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • I am still waiting for someone say game changing Myvi EV but until now habuk pun tarak.

• Pakulupapito on Jul 02, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Bla bla bla game over this game over that. X70 game over. Fl persona gane over. Fl iriz game over. All i hear is game over but proton sales record have proven otherwise….

• redpilled on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:37 pm

i like your thinking.

• BOYRACER on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:21 pm

I want the Aventador V12 sound..hahahah

• Azam Ali on Jul 02, 2019 at 12:45 pm

going from ICE to EV is progressive, but now having to add fake sound is just backwards.

• Berazamlah dgn kuat on Jul 02, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Going from driving to self driving is progressive, but allowing the driver to override control is just backwards.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Jul 02, 2019 at 5:06 pm

giving comments after reading only the title is also backwards. read article why they need fake sound in the first place. it is to aid blind people

• my compass points to Petra, Jordan. on Jul 02, 2019 at 1:54 pm

Can we have the sound of Harley Davidson 2 strokes, bubbling sound is cool.

• Jamie on Jul 02, 2019 at 4:45 pm

I hope this can be customized to the owners liking. Imagine the possibilities! A Ford Racing V8, Zonda’s V12, an F1 V10 engine! Haha! Can’t wait for you tube uploads for this thing.

• delang on Jul 05, 2019 at 10:01 am

today i want vtec sound,
    tomorrow i want boxer engine sound.
    maybe 125 or superbike like