Electric vehicles not for us, hybrids first – Perodua

During the presentation of its sales performance for the first half of 2019, Perodua let slip a little more about its future plans than usual. Asked about the national carmaker’s plans for electrification, president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad ruled out any form of fully electric vehicles in the near future.

According to Zainal, the company doesn’t see EVs as a good fit for the local market. He said that Malaysia obtains more of its electricity from gas and coal than from renewable sources like hydropower, compared to more developed countries that are better suited to electric transportation.

One route that Perodua is more likely to go down, he said, is hybrids. It has already shown a concept at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS) last year – derived from Daihatsu, it is projected to work just like any other parallel hybrid, using either an internal combustion engine, an electric motor or both to propel the vehicle. It derives electricity, stored in a battery, from kinetic energy recuperated under deceleration.

Perodua still has some ways to go to match the Daihatsu Mira e:S’ 34.2 km per litre

Zainal declined to provide a timeline for the introduction of a hybrid model, but its presence at KLIMS suggests that it will be sooner rather than later. Whatever it is, the main focus is currently on delivering reduced fuel consumption and emissions, be it from hybrids or solely from fossil fuels.

He said that the company is already achieving fuel efficiency figures as high as 22 km per litre, and its parent company Daihatsu sells a model in Japan (the Mira e:S) that is capable of upwards of 30 km per litre, so there’s definitely still scope for improvement, even with an ICE.

GALLERY: Perodua hybrid concept at KLIMS 2018

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• EDITO R j on Jul 17, 2019 at 1:24 pm

I am a Patriotic Malaysia and I extremely support Malaysia by buying Barang Buatan Malaysia. Few years ago, I’m very interested after seeing the game changing Iriz EV, I even save my money so one day I can buy it. 6 years have passed, where is Proton Iriz EV? Now I’ve lose my patient and waiting for game changing Perodua hybrid instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • Your employers even said we are not ready for EVs yet. Do you know how to read?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Jeremy on Jul 17, 2019 at 5:42 pm

So when is Perodua hybrid coming? I have been waiting for 10 years since Toyota had given this technology to Daihatsu but why is your Japanese overlords so stingy to give Perodua?

I am a patriot too and I am interested to buy Myvi hybrid but 10 years later still no Myvi hybrid. Now I don’t trust your brand anymore. I will wait for more fuel efficient Proton 1.5T X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Foo Shen on Nov 11, 2019 at 9:52 pm

We need someone with the balls, engineering talent, and influence to go into the Malaysian government to tell them we need the infrastructure for EVs.

They are great cars, acceleration is fantastic and are much more efficient machines. We just need someone to start the revolution.

• Rahim on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:02 pm

See, Perodua is realistic. They slowly change and change. Not like PRroton, from rebadging kereta Jepun then jump straight to EV.

https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

Here MAI say Iriz EV will come in 2017. Now already 2019, where is it lah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Haiya, just say Toyota don’t want give hybrid and EV techs to Perodua lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Lol.. on Jul 18, 2019 at 3:54 am

Instead of outdated Iriz EV, P1 offer 1.5L turbo + dual clutch coming soon… GAME Changer, new B segment killer..

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 17, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Remeber the Kenari hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Well, its one way of saying our parent company does not have or do not want to share EV tech with us. We will use what they allow us to us.

Perodua Advanced Technology – Powered by Daihatsu…Hik, Hik, Hik.

Anyway, thanks for being consistent so Malaysians got employment, bonusses, and expensive reliable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • P2 pls on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Perodua chassis upgrades also important like coming proton BMA chassis X50….. Perodua cars just too soft to drive or reduce body roll really need a lot improvements. Work together with ultra racing or type one safety bars company…. Improve or add more welding joints… So that the car can be more solid feel while driving.

• ECOmodepassion on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:20 pm

This statement, “He said that Malaysia obtains more of its electricity from gas and coal than from renewable sources like hydropower, compared to more developed countries that are better suited to electric transportation.”
    IS NOT TRUE!!! A qualified engineer will DEFINITELY DISAGREE with Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad’s weak excuses.

Watch this video to explain “Are Electric Cars Worse For The Environment? Myth Busted”
    https://youtu.be/6RhtiPefVzM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • ECOmodepassion on Jul 17, 2019 at 4:30 pm

This statement, “He said that Malaysia obtains more of its electricity from gas and coal than from renewable sources like hydropower, compared to more developed countries that are better suited to electric transportation.”
    IS NOT TRUE!!! A qualified engineer will DEFINITELY DISAGREE with Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad’s weak excuses.

Watch this video to explain “Are Electric Cars Worse For The Environment? Myth Busted”
    https://youtu.be/6RhtiPefVzM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • horse jockey on Jul 18, 2019 at 11:08 am

Since Toyota prohibits P2 to access there latest hybrid and ev tech….The only route to achieve highest km per liter is to shed more weight, use more featherweight plastic and paper material rather than steel or metal, replace all glass with polycarbonate windshield windows. Secondly make sure every driver and passenger is no more than 155 cm tall and lighter than 45kg…

• ayam V on Jan 22, 2020 at 8:53 am

EV cars need infrastructure (electric charge station) build across nation wide, it need a lot of investment from car makers and government. esp. for Malaysian who always back to their hometown during weekend/holiday; it is a challenge to adopt EV at the moment. EV/hybrid is not suit for budget car in Malaysia unless battery is cheap and longer lifespan. (it is all about money & maintenance)