New Toyota Corolla Altis teased for Thailand – Sept 13

Toyota Motor Thailand has released a teaser video for the all-new Corolla Altis, which will be launched in the Kingdom on September 13 this year. The 12th-generation model was first unveiled globally in November 2018, and is built on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-C platform, with revised dimensions.

It now measures 4,640 mm long, 1,780 mm wide and 1,435 mm tall, which makes it 10 mm longer, five mm wider and 45 mm lower than the outgoing sedan; the wheelbase remains unchanged at 2,700 mm.

For Thailand, the Corolla Altis will have the same look as the European Corolla Sedan, which is one of several available designs, with others being for the US and Chinese markets – the latter is referred to as the Levin.

Detailed information about the Thai-spec Corolla Altis aren’t out yet, but Headlightmag reports that there will be six variants and three petrol engine options available.

The base engine on the 1.6 J and 1.6 G is a 1ZR-FAE 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder Dual VVT-i unit with 132 hp and 159 Nm of torque, paired with either a six-speed manual or CVT. Moving up, there’s the 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre NA four-pot Dual VVT-i powerplant in the 1.8 GR Sport with 140 hp and 173 Nm, which only comes with a CVT.

Meanwhile, the three remaining variants – 1.8 HV Entry, 1.8 HV Mid and 1.8 HV High – get a hybrid powertrain that consists of a e-CVT and 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson cycle four-cylinder with an electric motor for a total system output of 122 hp and 142 Nm.

New Toyota Corolla Altis teased for Thailand – Sept 13

In terms of equipment, the teaser points out several items such as adaptive cruise control, rear cross traffic alert, pre-collision system, a head-up display, Toyota Safety Sense suite, lane tracing assist, blind spot monitor, telematics, lane departure alert with steering assist, and many more.

There’s no word on official pricing just yet, but the report claims the Corolla Altis will start from 700,000 baht (RM96,645) and goes beyond one million baht (RM138,105) for the range-topping 1.8 HV High. We’ll only know more about the model when it makes its launch debut in Thailand in a few days’ time. Will you be looking forward to the arrival of the Corolla Altis in Malaysia? Do you prefer it to other C-segment models like the Honda Civic FC and Mazda 3?

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Sedan 1.8L Hybrid, European spec

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Celup King on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:18 pm

This car is game over before even reach here, just like the rarer-than-Ferrari new Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • Ais kacang on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:49 pm

This car will definitely change the game of Malaysian sedan market. By the time UMW launch the all new Corolla, it will easily become a best seller, gaming Perdana over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
      • Avenger on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Is that why Toyota continue to stuck at 4th spot?
        https://paultan.org/2019/08/29/malaysia-vehicle-sales-data-for-july-2019-by-brand/

• Fazrul on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:01 pm

Only in Malaysia Toyota is 4th place. You go to Singapore or USA, both FIRST world countries, Toyota is number 1 in sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Singapore No1 is Hyundai.
            USA No1 is FORD.

Try to lie better next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 29, 2019 at 8:28 pm

Wow new dual VVTI … that so hai-tech!

• Blue Honda on Aug 31, 2019 at 4:12 am

Yup, and your Civic, you must like cheap luxury.

• DDN 1147 on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Btw altis and mazda3, only civiketam is tebo..

• Abu Bakar Awang on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:36 pm

This car will be a good seller. This is because when you buy this car, you can park right infront of the front gate of the kenduri house.

If you buy a Proton, you have to park far away and walk because you are scared people see you coming in a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 44
        • potato on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:49 pm

nah. Better topup abit and buy A-class sedan.

• JOACHIM on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:12 pm

You must be feeling very scared when BMW owner had parked the spot you were aiming for, until you decided not to go that kenduri because you feel ashamed. I have nothing but pity for you.

• Afifi Nasir on Aug 31, 2019 at 2:04 pm

HAHA. that BMW owner should learn to be more humble and low-key. with all the hatred from Toyota owners, that BMW car will be leaving the kenduri with key scratches all over the body, perhaps even a dent or two. yes, driving luxury has its drawbacks.

• Sam KuntaKinte Loo on Aug 29, 2019 at 9:01 pm

This car will be a good seller. This is because when you buy this car, you can park right infront of the front gate of the kenduri house.

If you buy a celup Toyotaik @ Poodua, you have to park far away and walk because you are scared people see you coming in a Poodua and laugh you being the dumbest person in the earth buying a no temperature gauge pariah spec unsafe junk car.

• Mee goreng mamak on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:24 am

john, learn to respect others in here and make polite comments. We don’t need any game over fights in here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • vVivi Zurianti on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:22 pm

Whatever the content in the car, once it has reaches our beloved Malaysia BolehLand…….I can 100% guarantee you one thing.

Price Increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Asam laksa on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:29 pm

I hope UMW can launch this game changing sedan soon. Toyota Corolla is an international car and has sold millions worldwide. This is why Proton needs to learn from Toyota after their game over Perdana failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • carazy on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:38 pm

RM160k Toyota Corolla Altis expected price in tomyamland. buy cheaper in mesia Rm120k onli…

• Mason on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:53 pm

Whenever i look into this 12th gen Altis, i will have to say: Can toyota design a much more C segment interior. This interior look ugly to me, b segment grade. Specially when you side view the infotainment system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Proton oh Proton on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Still looks like uncle car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Hayenadeblue on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Once reach Malaysia, there will be no Toyota Safety Sense. Yeahhoo! Congrats Malaysian, your life’s value is significantly less than the people of Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Celup King on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:20 pm

OF the prominent technologies in the above video, only TNGA will make an appearance here and that’s because they haven’t yet figured how to remove it from the car.

• Safety First on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:52 pm

From our Gomen’s PoV, Malaysian lives has been reduced down to a Gojek ride.

• JOACHIM on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:12 pm

It’s like a car where the airbags would only work 80% of the time but were 30% cheaper for the manufacturer. No big deal, let’s just keep using them until the media makes a big deal out of it. In fact I seem to vaguely recall some Japanese brand suffering an incident like that…

• Monana on Aug 29, 2019 at 8:48 pm

Agree with you! Not only for safety, but for engine too. Look at Camry, Malaysia vs. Thailand specs.

Not only Toyota. Look at Mazda, they build the CX-5 for Thailand market here in Malaysia, with radar cruise control. But, for Malaysian market, they simply take it out.

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:52 pm

Altis 1.8 Hybrid + electric motor for a total system output of 122 hp and 142 Nm??? This must b a joke. Typo? Is just equivalent to a City 1.5 N/A engine output…

• The new vios specs betters the city , apart from rear aircond vents

The corolla have to bring its A game and competitive pricing to tempt away from prospective the all-mighty civic buyers

civic has a turbo powertrain, more power , lesser road tax

• The present Altis use torsion beam rear suspension, while perdana use multi link independent. Is the new altis still using torsion beam?

• 25or6to4 on Aug 29, 2019 at 7:43 pm

No 2 liter dynamic force?? Well, this is another car i’m not going to consider.

• Haidi on Aug 29, 2019 at 10:15 pm

That eye is sexy though.

• Afifi Nasir on Aug 29, 2019 at 10:31 pm

dead on arrival. rip.

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2019 at 9:55 am

the power for the 1.6 is respectable but for the 1.8, it’s a disappointment. the 1.8 should develop 150 hp at the very least. the hyundai elantra 1.8 produces 150hp and it’s an older generation car.

• msia driver on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:02 am

i wonder how toyota put the price range compete with current civic

if they put staring price from from rm140-160 same like CBU mazda3 them bye bye toyota

• Bangkok mali on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:05 am

New taxi for the Land of Smiles. \o/

• Sammy Loo on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:13 pm

The king has arrived! This is the world best selling car!

Low running cost, fuel efficient, strong brand value, reliable are the strong points of the Toyota Corolla. Don’t forget this car has got very good RV too!

This Corolla will be selling like hotcakes when launch.

• National 3rd car salesman on Aug 31, 2019 at 3:41 am

People who cannot afford a Toyota and driving Axia bashing in 3….2…1….

• Afifi Nasir on Aug 31, 2019 at 1:51 pm

there are alot of people who are richer than those driving bland Toyotas but decided on Axia. whats wrong with Axia? the safety specs are as good as base spec model from premium brands, road tax and maintenance is dirt cheap, and would be the default choice if you’re doing urban commute only. maybe its you who can’t afford a Toyota? shame.

• Sammy Loo on Sep 02, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Don’t forget on an impact, the first thing to save you is the chassis, not whatever airbag it is. Axia indeed can have ASA2.0, VSA, 2 airbags or whatever, once a Hilux hit the Axia on the side, it’s time to claim the life insurance.