New Toyota Corolla Altis set for Thailand debut in Aug

The next-generation Toyota Corolla Altis is set to be launched in Thailand in August this year, according to Headlightmag. The local motoring site says that Thailand – a big market for the Corolla Altis, which is the default taxi model there – will get the same version of the Altis as Taiwan.

Upon checking, the Taiwan market Corolla Altis has the same look as the European Corolla Sedan, which was first seen in late 2018. As has been the case for some time now, the US-market Corolla Sedan has different styling plus a more aggressive fascia. The US face might be too much for the rest of the world, which gets a more subdued version.

Besides the Altis you see here, China also gets a more sporty version of the booted car called the Levin, which wears the fascia of the five-door Corolla Hatchback and wagon-bodied Corolla Touring Sports. Many names, different faces.

This 12th-generation Corolla is an all-new one with underpinned by the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-C platform, as used for the Prius and C-HR. It measures in at 4,640 mm long, 1,780 mm wide and 1,435 mm tall, making it 10 mm longer, five mm wider and 45 mm lower than the outgoing sedan.

The height reduction is significant and should bless the new Altis with a more dynamic appearance. Wheelbase remains at 2,700 mm and the boot is capable of 470 litres. Compared to the Honda Civic, the new Altis is 10 mm longer, one mm wider and 19 mm taller, with the same wheelbase length.

The report speculates that the Thai Altis might launch with two naturally aspirated petrol engine options – 1.6L and 1.8L – with a 1.8 litre hybrid variant to follow later.

If so, the base engine could be the 1ZR-FAE Dual VVT-i unit with 132 hp and 159 Nm, which can be paired to a six-speed manual or CVT. The 1.8L could well be the 2ZR-FE, with Dual VVT-i, 140 hp, 173 Nm and a Super CVT-i automatic with seven virtual ratios. The 1.8L hybrid powertrain combines a 2ZR-FXE Atkinson-cycle engine with 122 PS/142 Nm, with an electric motor pushing out 72 PS/163 Nm. The hybrid’s transmission is of course a CVT.

The US market gets a 2.0 litre Dynamic Force engine with 169 hp and 205 Nm. In the Japanese C-segment arena, only Honda has gone the downsized turbo route with the Civic 1.5T. Toyota – and Mazda with its new 3 that will be launching here next month – are sticking to NA power.

What do you think of the new Toyota Corolla Altis in terms of design, and when compared to the Civic FC and Mazda 3?

GALLERY: Toyota Corolla Sedan 1.8L Hybrid, European spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Real boring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • Sotong goreng on Jun 20, 2019 at 9:00 pm

In my opinion, the 11th generation Corolla design is very stunning and this 12th generation Corolla design is even more stunning and mind-blowing. The game changing designers must be an expert and that’s why Corolla design is always getting better, also a lesson for Proton to learn how to design something mind-blowing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 44
      • Karimjr on Jun 20, 2019 at 11:23 pm

Godcar Corolla, King of RV is back!

• Everything is stunning because your standards are so low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • Hahaha! He curses X70 becoz it shines too brightly compared to his pisspoor Toyotas.

• Those Bodoh Will Pay on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:49 am

Oh great! Toyota is presenting new shell for antique engine! T fanboys can’t wait to overpay excessive amount for overpriced junk! I rather pay to much deserve overpriced New Mazda 3

• Learn From Singaporeans on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:54 am

In singapore, a first world country, Geely cannot even sell cars there. But you can see, Toyota cars are EVERYWHERE

Singaporeans are smart to choose a reliable japanese car. We Malaysians should follow them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 12:40 pm

Fist bump bro. Even he also abuses China Cars, European Cars, American Cars compare to Hyundai, Nissan, Perodua and especially Toyota as what john had mentioned

• Fist bump bro Mario. Hahahahaha!

• Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Thumbs up to you bro john. Let’s make Proton Sales to be better including EU Cars, American Cars and China Cars in Malaysia

• Julien on Aug 20, 2019 at 1:12 pm

In singapore, a first world country, Geely cannot even sell cars there? Hahhahahaha…..… You are just too smart bro.

• redpilled on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:00 am

I was about to praise Toyota for this Corolla (and their design team still deserve it, in my opinion at least), the first time I actually like a Corolla design. But you made a douchebag move of making this about about P1, so up yours douchebag.

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Altis so expensive also still can sell in Malaysia. Not bad, everybody knows about quality

Buy other cars, in the long run you pay more in maintenance. My Waja I bought RM57k, in 10 years I already spent RM50k in repairs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Last time, My mom drive Wira before from 2001 – 2013. Of course there are so many problems but repair cost less than RM10K. But again the way you said that, you always give fake answer like RM130K battery replacement and overpriced parts to pay for Proton Wira as well as giving your answer bad Proton Service Quality. Anyway, if you don’t check about Proton Service Cost Website and Proton Service Improvement in paultan article which mentioned last year, pls don’t reply us again.

• Rizal on Jun 24, 2019 at 12:41 am

Taking too many Kentamin pills Eh bro? Did you make simple Math Calculation ? If the maintenance cost already sky rocket, it’s time to ditch that Car. Btw my dad 2006 Waja Campro still in running condition. Changed clutch plate Once in 2013. Still can go at 180 KM/h. Only done regular Service and replace wear n tear.

• Toyota Is So Yesterday on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:44 am

8 facts about the failure of Toyota in Malaysian hearts.
        1. Pricey – We all knew this brand is the most expensive brand compared with other foreign competitors.In Malaysia,we are known to be looking the best values for our money,not the brand itself.We doesn’t buy logo to suit our daily needs.
        2. Unattractive and weird design – No need to introduce the big loser of all time.. The Sienta.Take into consideration,other models such as Innova,Avanza,Camry,Fortuner aren’t appealing for us,anymore.Irrelevant is a good word to picture it.We can get better design with that amount of cash.And Toyota’s latest ugly streak continues with the all new Vios.Horrible! Suicidal thoughts must’ve happened inside the drawing room.
        3. Follower aka the last to introduce – Whenever the new invention of technology introduced by automotive business,Mazda and Honda comes straight to our mind.And Toyota comes up the same technologies with different names.. few years later.While Volvo,Honda etc has sets a new trend of small cubic centimetres of powerful turbocharged engine,Toyota is nowhere near to beat up to the level.Boring same typically old conventional naturally aspirated.Talking about Moving Forward moto they had a decade ago,the current one All About The Drive telling us how uninspired they are,for now.They’re telling us just drive on what we are selling to you.Right,Toyota?
        4. Ancient and recycled technologies – What can we say much about the so called Dual VVT-i? i-VTEC and SkyActive is far more fun,responsive and powerful.
        5. Stingy Automaker – You pay premium for less.You don’t have this and that compare to other competitors.For example,I’m appalled the new Vios headlamps are still yellowish dull and cheap while the current City is bright out white and smart.
        6. Out of date – The Uncle Design is still strong with this one.
        7. Disunity and relatively mismatch – Line up all their models in one line and you can’t see nothing similarities from these siblings.Perhaps Toyota designers doesn’t have WhatsApp group or final product reviews.I knew they’d boring meeting after meeting almost every day but hey,they’re look like disagreeing among each other.It’s like a father having babies outside marriage from multiple ethnic mothers.
        8. Lost the desire to fight – When I saw their salesperson at many outlets,there’s no spirit or anything else to fight for.Like they knew they’’be lost the battle.Coz they already knew Toyota isn’t the best game to play with anymore.They’ve lost at the very first level.Numbers don’t lie,as Honda is dominating Toyota 3:1 in term of passenger cars segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Celup King on Jun 21, 2019 at 4:21 pm

You left out;
          9. They still think safety features is a secondary item and including more safety features is just a cost for them without considering the lives of their customers & loved ones.
          10. Underhanded & dirty sales tactic. When they can’t sell, they unleash their bored & so obviously clueless sales team to troll on the internet and whack other brands while heaping undeserved praises onto their crap cars.

So above are the top 10 failures of Toyota in SEA.

• Steven Matthias on Jun 21, 2019 at 12:12 pm

I only wish Toyota will JV with Proton to produce the Altis or Camry in Malaysia.

Pity.

• Popia basah on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:21 pm

I hope UMW will bring this game changer ASAP. Corolla is a legendary iconic sedan. Introduced in 1966, this car becomes the best selling sedan in the world and continue to sell until today which is the recently launched 12th generation. Every Corolla generations looks stunning, no wonder it is the best selling sedan in the world. If it comes here, I don’t know what will happen to Proton Perdana. Already sales very poor, this Corolla comes here and the Perdana will easily game over. I hope Proton wake up and develop a new game changing sedan to replace their game over Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
    • Shirley on Jun 21, 2019 at 2:44 am

Who would want to buy a non functional sedan car when the buying trend is more inclined towards CUV and SUV ??

Sedan design like Corolla is a YESTERDAY DESIGN AND MASTERPIECE and is NOT much sought after by buyers presently.

Only boring people buy Toyota Corolla…

• Akira on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:24 pm

I almost died laughing when spotted the side view of the infotainment screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Very stylish and not overdone like civic…no wonder corolla is the best selling car in the entire world…like forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
  • Hyrul on Jun 20, 2019 at 5:37 pm

(Like) 2019 Mazda3 1.5
    (Dislike) 2019 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
  • 1.8 NA with CVT ……….

Vs 1.5 turbo + cvt , Vs 2.0 NA with 6 shooter……

pricing will make the difference, seeing how expensive the thai CBU CHR is , it makes no sense for UMW toyota to bring it in at all unless it is CKD in Malaysia

• redpilled on Jun 21, 2019 at 10:03 am

Correction- 2.0 NA with slushbox

• Karam singh on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:03 am

Let’s wait when all the turbo civics have problems with their turbo units.. due to wear and tear. Internal shaft and blades. It won’t happen now.. but wait until the 4th year and above. Already happening to many exora bold and preve CFE. Civic resale value will plument down to earth.

Why you think world rally champions like Toyota (also le mans champion) don’t simply go the turbo route? No, Toyota does make cars with turbo. In fact 30 years earlier than Honda already turbo. But why they chose to go NA for the mass market Corolla?
      (Caldina, Celica and Supra are not mass market models)

Why Mazda did the same way as Toyota? Smart people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Mario and Bros on Jun 21, 2019 at 12:03 pm

You are wrong. For Civic Turbo as what I had mentioned last year because they don’t service their Civic Owners properly or didn’t even assemble their Civic or even any Honda models properly. But in the world for Honda, they check every parts of Honda properly before delivered to the customers which I don’t see any problems for the Honda owners in other countries. And again, are you giving me such fake news and said that got turbo problem for Mazda, BMW, Volvo, Mercedes, Honda, Ford, Proton and others. No such thing! At least all car manufacturers are making lesser issues than Hyundai, Toyota Nissan and Perodua

And moreover, Mazda is doing different direction of making Turbo Engine instead of follow Toyota. Furthermore, by using turbo engine with 6 speed auto for example, it will give lesser pollution than NA engine with 6 speed auto. Lastly, again before you reply me, please go and check website about car facts before you give me related words from what car website had mentioned

• Just replace the turbo bro… If only the turbo is broken..

• Im waiting for Civic’s Turbo & CVT to break down.. Surely it wil smday, but how soon or later isit gonna be?? Not a Civic hater, but turbo & CVT hater..

• Tanah Merah on Jun 20, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Roughly , how long after Thai debut will it be launch here ?

• suomynona on Jun 20, 2019 at 6:43 pm

You know what grinds my gears?

Paultan still hasn’t posted about the Pug 2008

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 20, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Huh? Not dropping Altis name?

• camtakpro on Jun 21, 2019 at 11:29 pm

What’s wrong with the name? Altis is just to remind you that it is the stripped off version of Corolla.

• Corolla on Jun 20, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Waiting for hatchback

• Dong gor on Jun 20, 2019 at 7:42 pm

Not bad. As usual the asking price will determine the sales

• Haidi on Jun 20, 2019 at 8:08 pm

Wow! Earlier than expectation. But the face looks so sorry. For Malaysia Altis, the face will follow… let me guess… exactly the same as the Thai model.
    Cause Civic looks sporty, the upcoming Mazda3 also looks sporty, Malaysia’s uncles have no C-segment to buy… “Let us introduce an uncle face Corolla Altis to sapu all the uncle market in Malaysia!!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • edica on Jun 20, 2019 at 8:44 pm

look at the interior, OMG!!!, laugh die Me. toyota, r u serious putting that masterpiece of infotainment panel.?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • the exterior is okay, but the interior, hmm leaves a lot to be desired

• skodamalaysia on Jun 21, 2019 at 12:43 am

Please UMW we need Toyota RV4 in Malaysia.

• Ben Yap on Jun 21, 2019 at 8:22 am

Civic FC still beats everyone with it’s radial design, sportiness and the mighty turbo engine.

it’s at least 10 years ahead of its competitors.

• [email protected] NA engine for C segment car is like moving back to previous decade. futhermore, i believe the starting price for base model still expensive and not worth for the spec.

• qaogao on Jun 21, 2019 at 9:22 am

And as usual, UMW Toyota will make a killing…

• UMW can only make a killing on brand loyalists. The real test is whether fencesitters will find the Corolla interesting enough over the Civic and Mazda3. The Camry proves that having a T badge alone is not enough to ensure sales success anymore.

• Avenger on Jun 21, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Just be patient. These brand loyalist are a rapidly dwindling numbers, from the effort shown by their resident salesman here hard selling his already outdated junks. The more I see his copy paste comments, the more I see his acts desperation. Smarter consumers will be his Endgame.

• The KING of C segment is finally here! As usual, this will be the best selling car in the world again!

• Dynamic appearance? Dynamic handling i know lah…

• Julien on Aug 20, 2019 at 1:15 pm

I think hybrid version wouldn’t come to Malaysia for sure