2019 Proton Iriz R5 featured in WRC 8 video game

Racing video games are all good and fun, especially if the list of available cars includes something you really admire. Well, if you’re a fan of the World Rally Championship video game series and the Proton Iriz R5, you’ll want to pick up the latest WRC 8 that was launched on September 5, 2019.

The game’s developer, Kylotonn, recently released a trailer showcasing some of the iconic rally cars that will be in the game, including classics like the 1972 Lancia Fulvia, 1973 Renault Alpine A110, 1974 Lancia Stratos, 1975 Ford Escort Mk II 1800, 1983 Lancia Type 037, 1991 Lancia Delta HF Integrale Evoluzione, 2016 997 Porsche 911 GT3 RS RGT, 2016 Volkswagen Polo R WRC and of course, the 2019 Proton Iriz R5.

For a bit of history, Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM) began work on the rally-going Iriz in 2016 to compete in the WRC2 category as well as the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC).

Under the bonnet is a 4B11T turbocharged inline-four from the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, but with a smaller engine displacement of 1.6 litres from 2.0 litres to meet R5 class regulations. Other aspects include a transmission and all-wheel-drive system from Xtrac, Reiger suspension, Brembo brakes and Cosworth electronics.

The car first made its debut at the 2017 Goodwood Festival of Speed, and has since gone on to win several national rallies in Britain, including the Forest Rally Stage Goodwood FOS (2017 to 2019), the season opener Cambrian Rally of the 2018 BTRDA Rally Series, and more recently, the Woodpecker Stage Rally 2019.

The last win comes after the Iriz R5 received FIA R5 homologation, which enables it to compete in FIA-sanctioned rally events, including those on the World Rally Championship (WRC) calendar.

Of course, this isn’t the first time a Proton was featured in a rally video game, as there was the Proton Wira 4WD (Proton PERT Evo II) in International Rally Championship (1997), Proton PERT Evo VII in WRC 4 (2004), and Proton Satria Neo S2000 in FIA World Rally Championship (2012).

If you want to try out other vehicles, WRC 8 has cars in the WRC, WRC 2 and Junior WRC categories available, along with over 100 special stages of the 2019 championship’s 14 rallies.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Brian on Sep 06, 2019 at 12:12 pm

WOOT! Great going Proton! Being recognised internationally! Now the big question; where is Myvi rally car? Ady game over? Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Ikhwan Ramli on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:36 pm

Only good for game but sales still so bad. Hyundai, just started in 1974, 10 years before Proton started but sales are 8 million per annum

8 million per annum vs 55,000 per annum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 70
      • Preve still outsold all of Hyundai cars here. So your saying Preve is better than Hyundai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Even with Iriz featured in a video game, it’s still a game over car. I hope Proton can learn from others and improve their Iriz to compete with Myvi instead of bashing Hyundai to the max. Later Hyundai will get angry and stop supplying their gearboxes to Saga FL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 49
          • You have no sense at all as always, when you post comments about Proton. But, you only like to post about Perodua, Toyota and Hyundai. Proton is now already improved their management and sales and after sales services. That’s why WRC8 Rally game has chosen for Proton. But look at Perodua, Toyota and Hyundai in Malaysia, sales are already so kaput by giving dumping features for newer models from Hyundai, Perodua and Toyota and even after sales services is very terrible

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 53
          • redpilled on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:34 pm

Let’s face it, if P1 is just as big and sell just as much as Hyundai in the world, you still won’t be satisfied, you’d still find fault, you’d still complain and condemn.
            You’re nothing but a humbug.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • 4bini on Sep 06, 2019 at 10:09 pm

RM20 billion down the drain and all they talk about is video games. This is the abang abang way of doing business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
          • Calvin on Sep 07, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Basher only plays vidya games but dunno how big is the vidya game industry. Thanks to the abang2 way now Proton is on the main stage in the vidya game.

• Gagal Di Luar Negara on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Malaysia is Malaysia. In other first world countries, Proton doesn’t even exist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
          • Safety First on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Correct! Malaysia is Malaysia. Only in Malaysia still got people continue to worship Japanese cars even tho in front is a live grenade ready to explode. SMH

• Ais cair lagi on Sep 06, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Do we have Buick here? It’s carmaker from first world country USA, but no one in Malaysia know Buick. See how pointless is your comment?

• Here we go again. Whenever the troll can’t win an argument, he used sales figures he pulled from his behind. Dah lapuk lah, tikus!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Asam laksa on Sep 06, 2019 at 3:07 pm

This is why Proton cannot improve as their game over salesmans are spending time in here discrediting an international carmaker like Hyundai. Instead of bashing others, learn from others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 39
        • So, you admitting you are a Hyundai salesman now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • LOL Non Ori on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:10 pm

I tot he is a ToyotaP2 salesman?? make up ur mind la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
          • LOL Non Ori Super Salah on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:57 pm

Make up ur mind lah, bro. He is ToyotaP2Hyundai Salesman. Lolz!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 41
          • Einstein on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:14 pm

He is just an anti-proton. In physics, we call it negative, and that clearly reflected in his comment & his attitude. A negative person will only drag everything down to his gutter level. These people are the scums in their gutter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Asam laksa on Sep 06, 2019 at 9:26 pm

How can 1 person becomes a salesman for multiple carmakers? Please use your common sense brother Mario…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
          • Because you lost your main income when Nissan fired you. So you went to Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
      • redpilled on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:04 pm

The PHD is strong with this one.

• Tun F on Sep 06, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Finaally! Proton in the big league!! Syabass

• WRC 8 dun want the Myvi tikus in their game.

• No one play wrc 8 since wrc 1…pipu play dirt rally..

• Aura89 on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Only MOBA ppl plays Dirt Rally. Sims go for realistic WRC.

• Dirt Rally is more sim then wrc games, thats why DR always feature on sims blog like racedepartment.com, plz do yur home work first

• Aura89 on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:36 pm

Oh please. You sound like a console noob thinking your inferior game is the same level as PC masterrace WRC8. Dont make me laugh.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 06, 2019 at 12:51 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong. There’s only one Iriz r5 and it was sliver and now is orange?

• Jerry on Sep 06, 2019 at 1:03 pm

It’s been so long since the last time we get to use a Proton in a rally video game. Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 10, 2019 at 8:23 am

if i remember correctly, the last time was WRC 4, with the satria neo s2000 rally car

• Indian sponsored (Jaipur) , Chinese owned (Geely) , Malay brand company(Proton) …. If we unite can bring all glory back wor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:34 pm

“Of course, this isn’t the first time a Proton was featured in a rally video game, as there was the Proton Wira 4WD (Proton PERT Evo II) in International Rally Championship (1997), Proton PERT Evo VII in WRC 4 (2004), and Proton Satria Neo S2000 in FIA World Rally Championship (2012).”

So? Company terjual jugak. Yang memalukan is terjual kat China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • dumbyou on Sep 06, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Better than no one wants like you. Still working as bargain basement keyboard warrior?

• Myvifan on Sep 07, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Myvi is not legible to be listed because in game also it will go into longkang everytime

• Brian on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:42 pm

The way to enjoy Proton car racing is to drive it in sims like WRC8.
    The only way to enjoy Toyota car racing is to watch amateurs shiok sendiri going around a parking lot in Vioses with Gazoo stickers.

• Most of Vios owner drive into the drain, this morning i just saw at seremban highway.

• Observer on Sep 06, 2019 at 11:11 pm

Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

• Donno on Sep 09, 2019 at 12:14 am

There is also the original Satria in the rally championship 2000 game.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 10, 2019 at 8:25 am

there is one mistake though in the story.

“Under the bonnet is a 4B11T turbocharged inline-four from the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X,”

the iriz R5 cannot use the 4b11t.. as it is a mitsubishi engine. R5 rules state that only engines from the “manufacturer family of engines can be used”.. in this case, the 4b11 from the iriz 2.0 litre is used, as that is homologated as a proton car. the engine is sleeved down to 1.6 litres and turbocharged.

• There is no Iriz 2.0L engine. The Iriz only comes with 1.3L and 1.6L Campro engines.