Proton Iriz R5 receives homologation for FIA events

Following its string of rally victories, the Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM)-prepared Proton Iriz has received FIA R5 homologation which enables it to compete in the full gamut of FIA-sanctioned rally events, including those on the World Rally Championship (WRC) calendar.

The Iriz R5 made its debut at the 2017 Goodwood Festival of Speed, and its string of successes include the more recent victory at the Cambrian Rally. Its first win at the Grizedale Rally in December 2017 following its initial Goodwood outing in July 2017 and a podium finish at the Malton Rally in November that year.

To recap, MEM started work on the rally-going Proton Iriz in 2016. Its beating heart is an adaptation of the 4B11T turbocharged inline-four from the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, albeit with its cylinders sleeved down for a total displacement of 1.6 litres in order to comply with R5 and WRC2 regulations. Transmission and all-wheel-drive is by Xtrac, suspension from Reiger, brakes by Brembo and electronics by Cosworth.

All test and competitive outings by the Iriz R5 were done with driver Oliver Mellors, son of MEM team principal Chris Mellors. The Iriz R5 was also tested by two-time WRC champion Marcus Grönholm, who came away from the private test session with positive feedback for the car and the team.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz R5 at the Cambrian Rally, 2018

GALLERY: Proton Iriz R5

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Awesome news. Here’s hoping they’ll be competitive in WRC2.

• Kereta Roti john on Mar 09, 2019 at 11:49 am

What awesome? Just see the title already we know this is a game over news. Habisla Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 51
      • Lokman John Adam on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:34 pm

I like your name lol!!

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 09, 2019 at 12:46 pm

I am just kidding. This article is very awesome. Just see the title already we know that this is not game over yet but except for Perodua. So Habisla Perodua

• Clearly, some troll doesn’t know the meaning the word homologation. Habislah troll standard masuk longkang!

• donno on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Great news! Hope to see the Iriz in APRC this year. Please also quickly do some VO or ET to the Homologation papers to add the latest facelift body parts to the R5 rally car.

• Will be a stiff fight since Polo R5 is in the game now. But a challenge is there to surpass! Go for it P1 & MEM!

P1, MEM, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCars, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

• Salam sejahtera on Mar 12, 2019 at 2:26 am

Lol, volvo truck pun masuk nasib baik bukan perodua

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 08, 2019 at 5:55 pm

I think most of us are not bothered about the Iriz R5. What we want to see is the Iriz EV, which is more applicable to us.

Proton showcased this car 6 years ago and we have been waiting so long for this car. I want to buy an EV car and support my local national car maker.

Where is the Iriz EV Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • EDITOR on Mar 09, 2019 at 1:01 pm

I say again. It’s right in Proton waiting for mass production. And?

• Copy Paste on Mar 09, 2019 at 4:23 pm

Copy paste: “The big issue here, hybrid and EV sellers must inform the buyer of all these costs at point of purchase.

Our salesman all talk sweet. Especially BMW and Mercedes salesman. But they never tell you that their batteries all cost RM130k and above. That is just battery. The service labour and also the electrical parts is another big bomb. Each time…..nothing less than 10k.

Don’t believe? Ask all the Toyota Prius owners in Malaysia. They will tell you how costly their electrical parts costs.”

• Mario and Bros on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:17 pm

I hope we will never see YB Kunta Kinte comments, Roti john comments and his over 60 dupes comments again. As he always spreading fake news everytime in every articles. Don’t forget YB Kunta Kinte is coming from Nissan Salesman and P2 Salesman who always like to say Habisla Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Bowser and Fawful on Mar 09, 2019 at 11:55 am

We hope we will never see john comments, Mario and Bros comments and his over 100 dupes comments again. As he always spreading fake news everytime in every articles. Don’t forget john is coming from Proton Salesman and Geely Salesman who always like to say Habisla Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • Mario and Bros on Mar 09, 2019 at 2:21 pm

YB Kunta Kinte becomes Bowser and Fawful

• Nobpdy said that except Perodua salepipu. Please go and improve on ur English language reading skills.

• Malu Malu on Mar 10, 2019 at 1:53 pm

Pipu ady know it is kunta kinte and dupes spreading fake news in every articles

• FudgeMeSideways on Mar 08, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Proton was once so active in motorsport, BTCC, WRC…now left with only the Iriz R5…Go MEM

• As good as satria neo 2000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • According to MEM, this chassis is even better. Having much higher torsional rigidity due to HPF cell, shorter wheelbase, and the sound design of the chassis which able to take in all those mods.

• Proton factory should produce wide fender for iriz since it appear in Wrc.

• JasonX on Mar 08, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Lol… There is nothing proton on that car besides the shell…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • EDITOR on Mar 09, 2019 at 1:02 pm

The bodyshell is half the equation for a successful race car.

• To get R5 homologation, the car must retain most parts from production cars.

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:42 am

you need to learn a bit more about what an R5 car is all about before making a silly comment like that.

• Abu Bakar on Mar 08, 2019 at 10:07 pm

No one dare to comment if it comes to proton advantages… hahaha

• Amran on Mar 08, 2019 at 10:32 pm

Hope they use 1.6 cfe..

• I really wish proton will made something like tuning or performance edition on their line up. Satria neo, iriz is amongst my personally best proton design ever!

• zztop on Mar 08, 2019 at 11:44 pm

So.. where to buy this homologated Iriz?

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2019 at 11:06 am

Proton ke arah kuasa besar WRC!

• DS Heidi R Vanke on Mar 11, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Mitsubishi 4B11T ? Should have collaborated with Mercedes -Benz M133 engine !