Petrol subsidy scheme will ensure only those who need it will obtain it, not those with a Rolls-Royce – PM

The government’s new targeted RON 95 petrol subsidy scheme will ensure that only those who need the subsidy will obtain it, said prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. He said that it will put an end to the existing manner of subsidising petrol, which benefited even those rich enough to drive a Rolls-Royce.

“Some driving a Rolls-Royce have subsidies. We cannot support this. That is why only owners of cars below 1,600 cc will be eligible for subsidy and the subsidy is only for those in the B40 group with only one car, not more. This is to ensure that the aid reaches those who really need assistance. Not to those who own up to two or three Rolls-Royces, but still obtain government subsidy, ” he said.

He added that the decision to limit the subdidy to one car per individual was also to ensure that there would be no abuse of the system, The Star reports. According to Mahathir, a study by the government found that some individuals in the B40 group owned up to six cars.

“That is why we will only allow the subsidy for one car only. We are not giving subsidies to the rich (within the group) as well,” he said.

Under the new petrol subsidy programme (PSP), which is slated to begin in January next year, eligible recipients in the B40 group will receive RM30 a month (for car owners) and RM12 a month (for motorcycle owners).

The government will reimburse the subsidy once every four months, and so car owners will receive RM120 and motorcycle owners will receive RM48 each time, with the amount being directly credited into the recipient’s registered bank account. The first payment for the scheme is scheduled for April 2020.

The targeted subsidy scheme – which is expected to benefit 2.9 million people – will only be given to car and motorcycle owners based in peninsular Malaysia who are also recipients of the cost of living aid (BSH). The subsidy scheme will not involve East Malaysia, where the price of RON 95 in Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan will remain capped at RM2.08 per litre.

The government has also announced that the current price cap for RON 95 will be removed and the fuel floated once the PSP kicks off next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• So. Shell. List.

Idiots.

Nuff Said.

• Vader on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:43 pm

I have seen rolls royce owners only paying rm100 for their electricity bill with aircons turned on 247.

• campro on Oct 08, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Many who own two or three Rolls-Royces, had evaded paying hundreds of million taxes for years.

• Nobody on Oct 08, 2019 at 10:44 pm

Rich folks at Labuan, Sabah and Sarawak would still be enjoying the fuel subsidies no?

• azrai on Oct 09, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Because gomen don’t pay their royalties as stipulated for so long.

• Wise move PH, can save a lot of money, to let BN to spend, after next GE.

• (PKR) on Oct 09, 2019 at 12:04 am

So…WHY omly Labuan, Sabah and Sawarak have the SPECIAL BENEFIT of a Price cap ?
    Now…… Penisular Malaysia Citizens are SECOND CLASS citizens ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • lut you on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Those poor from sabah sarawak work and stay at peninsula, can get any subsidy?

• hello on Oct 09, 2019 at 12:47 am

yay! malaysia baru!

• Guest on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:47 am

Why is there a SPECIAL treatment for Sabah , Sawarak and Labuan ?

Are penisular Malaysia …. Second Class Citizens ?

• Melayu ma on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:16 am

Spell Sarawak properly la, Malaya government been pillaging state’s oil for decades, let them buy fuel at cheap plus transport infrastructure arent as developed like in Semenanjung.

• newme on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:47 am

Senanglah kau nak cakap when you have unlimited petrol allowance.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:53 am

I didn’t know the RM30 is such a BIG amount to citizen. Tun M is a wise person but saying not to benefit those who drive Rolls-Royce is pretty dumb. Who the heck driving RR will pump RON95 in Malaysia while these rich people even consider the RON100 price is cheap.

I don’t criticise on remove of RON95 subsidy but government have to reduce the new car price and reduce toll fees. It can’t be high vehicle duty, high toll fees and no subsidy of petrol. This is not logic where the government is the sole party win on every segment. Or else it will be 1 time-off government.

• Melayu ma on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:13 am

U cant have it both. Quietly the removal of subsidy is to discourage the use of private vehicles and encourage the use of public transport (availability is another debate)

U reduce car prices, people gonna buy more car, more car on the road. Traffic increase.

Reduce toll fee, more cars on the road. More traffic. Jem forever.

People must be incentivize to leave their cars at home. Having toll and no subsidy fuel is to make it cheaper to use public transport.

Sapa suruh janji manifesto macam2.. but yeah, they never see it coming anyway (election win) now have to eat humble pie everyday la.

Next election, let’s all vote for Lebai with Negara Berkebajikan manifesto, where all essentials will be cheap and petrol gonna be subsidised, all sins for melayu will be pardon off and other non melayu’s are part of nation as well.

What Najib do was right. Remove subsidies, but i didnt agree with his BR1M. Siapa suruh makan banyak and takut bini, fiscally najib good, it’s just his own doing brought him down.

• Nicholas Chua on Oct 10, 2019 at 10:00 am

The only reason people is not taking the public transport is inconvenience from poor city planning and poor public safety since our police is so efficient that every taman need their own guards now.

The government can reduce the car price without much consequences if they wanted, they just need to reduce the loan period with it.

Don’t think any reduction in toll with result in any higher traffic since toll has became a necessity instead of a luxury.

But the new government still sucks though, all talk no result, RM still low like hell and no improvement in our live quality.

• Melayu ma on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:08 pm

So are u buying items and good from overseas every week ka?

Got rid of GST, subsidized fuel, cost of necessities does not really increase nor decrease not good enough for u ka?

I guess all Malaysian like u always want RM1.00 per liter fuel, Vios/city RM 50k (check Thai price yo), no tolls, free Astro, free university, free healthcare.

Agree with u with taman security. Because all police do with break in house case, nothing.. bukak file case saja. Nothing got solved, until their own boss house got broken into, then they will tangkap few people.

Human being nature. Never have enough.

• It’s already a 1 term govt since the day they took office hahahahahahaha

• dumb M on Oct 09, 2019 at 8:56 am

Come on, just retired from your position and let others take care of the country already. You can’t even think or speak clearly as a leader any more. By the way, Rolls-Royce owners won’t be using RON95 at the first place.

• Bodxx. Kia caren 1.8 aku tu keta org kaya ke? Ford 1.3 & 1.6 ecoboost tu bkn keta mahal ke?

• Han Han on Oct 09, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Govt nak kita tuka kereta baru dah ni

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:07 am

Merc and BMW now having 1.5T and the RM1 million i8 is 1.5T too, mean they are eligible for the RM30 monthly.

• lilytan on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:19 am

We have this kind of subsidy too last time. It is called BR1M. So why waste 25 mil on the same thing?

• 1997 B14 Sentra on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:26 am

I am driving a 22 years old 1.6 Sentra, still don’t get subsidy and paying a lot of tax for the government. Some pay lesser tax but get subsidy even driving a new Civic 1.6 turbo.

• Chris on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:30 am

Thank you for Janji Kosong, Manifesto Palsu.

Cheers Tun.

• Dong gor on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:38 am

Rolls Royce what… It’s only rm 30 per month. Keep doing this and later the Rolls Royce fellas will pay their tax else where. Always remember the source of your tax money, don’t treat them like they are criminals! Pui

• Even RR won’t pump 95 la… Focus such on minority group…

• Robinhood on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:51 am

It’s not about the subsidy for the rich. It’s about the hyper inflation that follows and you will not be able to control that. Past experience has shown you have failed badly to control inflation. Please remember Malaysia is an oil producing country and don’t BLUFF the people. Cars are already super expensive via exorbitant taxes and you have already taken that from the people. You rather spent on the useless 3rd National Car Project which the people don’t need!!!!

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:32 am

In fact Malaysia didn’t have much inflation over the past 5 years and this actually harm our economy and income as well. Other than food, medical and some electronic stuffs almost everything getting cheaper now compare to 5 years ago. You can see clothes, cosmetic, hotels, airfares, vehicle price, properties, bags etc price gradually drop over the years. Safe to say at least 80% of products and services price dropped. If you don’t believe you can compare the latest receipts of same product with the receipt 5 years ago if still available.

Why we need inflation, because it can rise the products and services price in order to get better profit margin. With better margin means employer can offer high salary or bonuses. Employees with good salary and bonuses will spend extra money to buy stuffs or enjoy better services.

How bad the situation currently is? Real example, a Hxawxi latest phone cost RM3000 may gives RM300 profit of 10%. This is gross profit where it has not deduct rental, labour and utilities bill (normally 3-5% overhead cost). Worst part is every 2-3 months sometimes only few weeks the handphone price drop. If the shop overstocked and unable to disposal the RM3000 phone during the price protection period (manufacturer reimburse the different but protection is only 2 weeks time), the shop owner may suffer loss if price adjustment lower than 10%. If owner cannot sustain the loss and unable to operate they just tapao the shop and employees will lost job and income.

This is not only for handphone situation, many sectors are facing intense competitions with less purchasing power in market. This force them price down to survive by cutting down cost such as retrenchment, go online rather than renting shop etc.

A healthy and controllable inflation is necessary. This fuel price increase somehow may help to create certain amount of inflation.

• azrai on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:09 am

We still remember P2 ad. “Eligible for petrol subsidies.” Below 1500cc.

• aires on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:11 am

Saya ulang.. Bukan setahun, bukan sebulan, tapi hari ini kita menang, esok harga minyak kita bagi subsidi RM1 sehari kepada pengguna kereta..

• Pakulupapito on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:55 am

Yeah….so those good citizen in the city that earn just a little more than the requirements, struggling to survive in the city and pay taxes every year will get nothing. Nice one gov… Some people who get bsh and will get the subsidy are not even poor and they dont even use petrol that much. Some have acres of orchard with more than 5k per month average income and never pay income tax because their income is in cash and not in any system that can be checked. This is a little unfair

• IGP mom on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:07 am

It is a sin to be rich in Malaysia. Why Government and Tun keep looking at the narrow lense? Rather than making the system so complicated, anyone driving Rolls Royce would have paid probably at least $100k tax money. So for them to enjoy a little from their tax contribution is basically infinitesimal. If government is being that petty and calculative, their days at office is really numbered.

• finn mcmissile on Oct 09, 2019 at 11:44 am

RM30 would let RR owners drive around 126km at most. probably could only last a day or two.

and they also pump Ron97.

in other words, RR owners never give a sh*t before, never give a sh*t now.

• RR one year road tax cost RM18K (Rolls Royce GHOST 6.6 model), high car tax , assume Gov subsidies one month RM500 for the car petrol also gov earn from car tax and road tax lah….
    Example : monthly usage of RR petrol is RM2500 (can run 5k km per month , less RR run too far monthly 5K km lah)

• Why special treatment on Sabah and Sarawak?is simple, he needs the vote.

• rm30ReallyGood? on Oct 09, 2019 at 12:40 pm

me every time filling up the tank also almost rm90. comparing to that number, rm30 is really nothing to say about, which means with or without the rm30 subsidy, everyone will experience the higher price of ron 95 by january 2020.

• Mohamed Najib Haji Abdul Rahman on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:06 pm

Why didn’t they just give subsidy to all cars below RM100K, maximum 2 per household, and leave out the rest? Isn’t this much simpler and cheaper? I believe those who can afford cars more than RM100K are considered upper middle-class or rich enough to buy fuel without subsidy.

Instead of spending RM25 million on a study and complicating the recipients list.

• tun carlos on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:08 am

we all are fooled by the Piji’s formula that will never see the good of the people

• fahmi on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:27 am

i don’t have any Rolls Royce… I’m not rich…i never received BSH… and now no more petrol subsidy for me… Thank you.