Starting race 2 marred by the untimely death of Afridza Munandar, Malaysian racer Syarifuddin Azman (#13) won the second race of the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup at the 2019 Shell Malaysia MotoGP at Sepang International Circuit. Syarifuddin battled Sho Nishimura (#3) of Japan for front position during the race, with the pair exchanging places several times.

Starting the race from pole position, Syarifuddin established a blistering pace from the start, with him and Nakamura rapidly distancing themselves from the rest of the pack. Fastest lap of the race was set by Australian Harrison Voight with a time of 2’18.313 while coming up third was Adenanta Putra of Indonesia in third place.

In overall standings, Nishimura clinched the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup championship title with a total of 177 points with compatriot Takuma Matsuyama in second with 169 points. Afridza was posthumously awarded third in the Asia Talent Cup with 142 points while Syarifuddin finished the year with 112 points from 12 races.

The first race of the final round in Malaysia was cancelled after Afridza’s fatal incident. For the second race, riders voted unanimously to assemble on the grid with a black sticker on the front cowling and a minute’s silence on the grid as a sign of mourning.