VIDEO: Mitsubishi Triton with #KemonCrew – maintenance costs compared to other pick-up trucks

It’s no secret that maintenance costs is a key determining factor when Malaysians shop for a pick-up truck. As these vehicles are workhorses at heart, with their owners’ livelihoods at stake, it would make sense to get one that costs less to run, making for potentially hefty savings in the long run – especially as pick-ups are increasingly performing a dual role of being everyday family cars as well.

That’s the focus of today’s video, where the #KemonCrew compare the Mitsubishi Triton‘s maintenance costs against two of its main competitors – the Toyota Hilux and Ford Ranger. Well, at least our man Hafriz Shah does, as Joe and Kamal are too busy trying to “review” the Triton, to hilarious effect.

VIDEO: Mitsubishi Triton with #KemonCrew – maintenance costs compared to other pick-up trucks

As you can see, the Mitsubishi with the 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel is the cheapest to maintain over five years or 100,000 km, at RM5,903 versus RM6,427 for the Hilux 2.8 and RM7,348 for the Ranger 2.0 Bi-Turbo 4×4. What’s more, the Triton also has the longest warranty, at five years or 200,000 km.

So watch the video above and let us know what you think in the comments section after the jump. For a more detailed breakdown, check out our comparison between the three pick-ups here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Unca Sammy on Nov 23, 2019 at 1:05 pm

You shd compare nissan navara VL maintenance cost at less than 1k for 10k km per interval. Such berat sebelah comparison. Got bills to show..

• I don’t understand why mitsubishi pajero sport does not have the same from end as triton.

• Mimn2g on Nov 23, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Fuhh nasib baik pakai DMax je tapi kos apa sampai 1k lebih ni, xfaham lah

• Silthice on Nov 25, 2019 at 3:46 am

Exora as the crew vehicle? I realized that most car reviewers use Proton as their ride but in review they always end up recommending other brands. I under why? Keeping the fun in driving for yourself?

• Hafiz, how do you take video with the camera lens cover on? LOL