GALLERY: 2019 Toyota Corolla Altis GR Sport on show at Thailand Motor Expo – 140 PS 1.8L; from RM138k

We now bring you a live gallery of the Toyota Corolla Altis GR Sport from the ongoing Thailand Motor Expo, which is one of six available variants offered in the country, priced from 999,000 baht (RM138,076).

The GR Sport features a 2ZR-FBE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated petrol engine with 140 PS at 6,000 rpm and 177 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, with drive going to the front wheels via a Super CVT-i automatic with seven virtual speeds. Among the non-hybrid variants – others being the base Limo and 1.6G – the GR Sport is the only one that gets the 1.8 litre mill.

The Corolla Altis is also available with a hybrid powertrain in Thailand, with the Entry, Mid and High variants all utilising an Atkinson-cycle 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre four-pot (98 PS and 142 Nm), an electric motor (72 PS and 122 Nm) and an e-CVT – overall system output is 122 PS.

As the sportiest version of the Thailand-spec Corolla Altis, the GR Sport gets a number of unique styling cues to make it stand out in the line-up. Up front, there’s a black grille garnish with a thick silver strip, along with similarly-coloured inserts in the lower apron.

Additional black accents can be found on the bottom corners of the front bumper, side mirror caps, side skirts, a trunk spoiler and the lower portion of the rear bumper. The 17-inch, fan-style, two-tone alloy wheels are also specific to the GR Sport, and are not used on any other Corolla Altis variant in Thailand.

Inside, you’ll find red accents on the seats and door handles in an otherwise black cabin. As the highest-spec, non-hybrid variant, the GR Sport also gets quite a number of goodies. Standard equipment includes automatic LED headlamps, leather upholstery, an eight-inch touchscreen head unit, a 4.2-inch multi-info display, automatic brake hold and paddle shifters.

The GR Sport’s safety kit is pretty much identical to the 1.6G, with seven airbags, VSC, ABS, traction control, EBD, BA and hill start assist, but with the addition of reverse sensors, a blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic alert.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• This is how an in car head unit should be! UMW Toyota, please take note.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 02, 2019 at 3:58 pm

What do you mean this is how it should be? The HU sticks out like a sore thumb on most Toyota models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Front view may look the same but the side profile is different, the one for our market is more like a CRT.

• Vomitt on Dec 02, 2019 at 7:22 pm

Front wing copied iriz facelift. Aiya

• Zoom Zoom on Dec 03, 2019 at 9:54 am

Is better than Msia Corolla but still ugly. Look like after market HU. Toyota pls go and see how BMW, Mazda etc design their HU.

• I also complaint the HU to the SA, she asked me to wait for new facelift…lol

• azrai on Dec 03, 2019 at 8:34 am

SAGA VVT got better floating infotainment.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 02, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Australian toyota Corolla 2.0 spec are better than thailand corolla altis

• Goreng pisang on Dec 02, 2019 at 3:58 pm

With this GR version, the Corolla is indeed very sporty! No wonder this game changing sedan is the best selling sedan in the whole world, unlike the so-called best sedan Persona which is just a game over car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • Rockaboy on Dec 02, 2019 at 4:03 pm

Are you trying to act like dumb or are you a real dumb, You are comparing C Segment Altis with B Segment Persona and I believe for B segment Persona price is just nice.

• Troll Hunter on Dec 02, 2019 at 4:48 pm

If you see his past postings you’ll notice he is just a dumb troll.

• Netmask8 on Dec 02, 2019 at 7:54 pm

Proton Preeve, Suprima.. C Segment car category..

• Corolla is C segment, SH

• You play too much games boy. Go and do your research to find out Persona and Corolla are in 2 entirely different segments. Lay off the games or your rapidly rotting brain will game over too soon.

• Veyron Owner on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:27 am

Pls lah! When your cheap Corolla compares to my Veyron, there is nothing sporty or game changing, Go 0 to 50mtr and it already game over by my Veyron. You wanna compare, make some sense in the comparison lah! Not this bodoh game over comparison!

• Yoyoy on Dec 02, 2019 at 4:19 pm

140k for GR and with this HU is acceptable

• Malaysian vehicle sales data in Oct 2019 by brand:-
    1. Perodua 22800 units
    2. Proton 9500 units
    3. Toyota 6300 units
    4. Honda 6300 units
    5. Nissan 2400 units

• albag on Dec 02, 2019 at 4:27 pm

that center head unit screen is really an eyesore

• msia driver on Dec 02, 2019 at 4:51 pm

UMW wouldn’t bring this HU screen, stupid UMW
    nowadays all customer priority how the dash look.

• haha…

but the inside huge fugly screen seriously scare the hek of me……

• Zoom Zoom on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:36 am

Capable TNGA Chassis with weak engine. By today std 1365kg with only 137hp is consider quite under power. The Civic 1.8 has a better weight/power ratio (1251kg/139hp).

• Pity Thai and Msian’s UMW decided that we are weak people and deserve a weakass engine, while the other countries get the full blown 2.0 Dynamic Force 168hp