Malaysian vehicle sales data in October 2019 by brand

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released vehicle sales data by brand for the month of October 2019, which saw a total of 53,870 units delivered. The figure is 9,204 units – or 20.61% – more than the 44,666 units that were recorded in September.

On a brand-to-brand basis, Perodua continued to retain its position at the top, delivering 22,808 cars in the month. This is 34.3% more than the 16,978 units it delivered in September, and the national carmaker has now breached the 200,000-unit mark with a year-to-date (YTD) sales volume of 201,562 units.

Meanwhile, Proton delivered 9,503 cars in October, which is 9.4% more than the 8,685 units recorded the month before that. The result sees the carmaker pull further away from Honda in terms of YTD sales, and it will need to average just over 10,000 units for the remaining months of November and December in order to achieve its sales target of 100,000 units for 2019.

Toyota’s 22.7% improvement in terms of sales performance to 6,481 units also saw it overtake Honda in the month of October, although the advantage is minor, as Honda delivered 6,366 units (+10.7%). Several other Japanese makes also saw an increase in sales, including Nissan (+8%), Mazda (+122.4%), Isuzu (+21.4%) and Mitsubishi (+37.1%).

As for brands that didn’t see green in October, they are Ford (-12.3%), Volkswagen (-20.9%), Subaru (-15.2%), Kia (-33.5%) and Peugeot (-33.5%). In the premium segment, sales of Mercedes-Benz cars grew by 6.6%, while BMW experienced a decline of 11.9%, with the former maintaining is YTD edge over Munich carmaker. Elsewhere, it’s Volvo dropping by 12.8%, MINI down by 4.7%, while Lexus gained 17.1%. Click on the table below for a larger version.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly focus on comparing vehicle sales and market performance among brands in Malaysia, especially Perodua, Proton, Toyota, Honda, and others. Perodua is consistently praised for its strong sales and market dominance, with some comments claiming it sells four times more than Proton. There is a lot of debate and criticism aimed at Proton, with allegations of poor quality, old stock, and financial struggles. Toyota's stable sales and global strength are recognized, though some mention its withdrawal from certain markets. Honda's sales are also highlighted, with hopes for future success pending new models. Overall, sentiments suggest Perodua is leading, Proton is struggling, and Toyota and Honda are key competitors, with a mix of praise, skepticism, and market analysis.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:07 am

Wow…didnt expect it…toyota has overtaken honda…the people have come to their senses…better late than never…if you can have the best car in the world why opt for second best…sorrry honda your time is up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • 4G63T DSM on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:30 am

Not surprising when Honda has been sitting back and resting on its past performance. Basically doing what Toyota that got them in that mess in the first place.

At least Toyota finally put 7 airbags as standard across the Vios range. Something honda has yet to do in the BRV, City, HRV, Jazz.

Whatever the case, Honda needs to get the new Accord and City launched here to claw back that lead. Also they really need to stop skimping and make honda sensing standard across the board, at the very least, on their cars costing 100k and above.

With someone as cheap as the myvi having some form of AEB, there is no excuse for Honda not having Honda sensing as standard on its much higher priced cars.

• Coollllll on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:23 pm

P2 sold 22k cars in Oct and YTD 201k. So 2 months to go. 20k a month. P2 easily go 240k this year.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:58 pm

HONDA 71K
        TOYOTA 54K

• Bravo P2 on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Well done perodua bravo.
        Perodua factory current capacity is at 250k cars annually. They should upgrade more cos their sales increasing every year up to almost 250k yearly. Customer have to wait long for their new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • azrai on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Yaris is the reason.

• Kuih lapis on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:08 pm

I hope there will be no more game over fake news about Proton sales exceed Perodua sales. It is clearly shown in the graph above that Perodua sales is 4X more than Proton. Moreover, it also shows that rakyat trust in Perodua quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:45 pm

200k vs 80k is 4X? Wow, oh yeah sure we believe you…. if our maths & logic is as poor as yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Maybe he is right, Perodua sales 4X more than Proton due to BT10 group support.

• Frozen on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:08 pm

Sorry but i don’t trust you anymore. You said Perodua sales is 4X Proton but from the figures above, clearly it is not even 3X more. You have been caught and still you want to continue lying???

• Avenger on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:19 pm

I can’t wrap my head around your calculations. 4 times more, really? Do you drink your blue koolaid daily?

• Proton passenger car sales is 2X more than Toyota. So Proton quality is better than Toyota and rakyat trust in Proton too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Read properly.

Toyota sold only 40,456 passenger cars Jan to Oct. Balance 13,633 are commercial vehicles.

Honda sold 71,489 passenger cars Jan to Oct. Honda doesn’t have commercial vehicles for sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Tahniah P1!
      P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, Volvo Trucks, Lotus > all

• If you take out the commercial vehicles (Hiace, Hilux), sales of Honda still exceed sales of Toyota

• John Wick on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:08 am

Why Civic FL 2019 still can’t sell?
    Why can’t release the price until today..?

• H for HONDAPOWER on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:17 am

The price will be pricier than the current model, especially with the introduction of Honda Sensing. Nowadays people will choose X70 over Civic, if price is their main concern. X70 also got ADAS and Turbo. For RM138K, people will go for SUV with AEB rather than sedan that might be pricier. SUVs are more popular in Malaysia now. The ONLY advantage for Civic is the ‘H’ emblem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Silthice on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:08 am

Nissan will see a boost next year with all new almera… Wonder how’s the cvt going to fare up after the Xtrail incident…

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:39 am

Honda may overtake Proton when the new City comes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Khalid on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:17 pm

Stop dreaming. It may never happened with new city. Imaging how bad RV of Honda city nowadays couple with the city cheaper quality standard. Most still preferred SUV like the HRV.

• Give it up as Proton is readying their own hidden weapon that will storm the 70-90k market segment, their X50.

• RUGAL on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:51 pm

The current generation looks better, especially the meter cluster. City 2020 meter cluster looks outdated, even RM55k Persona got big high resolution coloured TFT LCD. The 2020 City’s engine might be good though.

• Chavez on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:43 am

Foton & Proton Terlajak Laris !

• Toyota and Perodua clear old stock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Muahaha on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:20 pm

Meanwhile proton now kumpul stok yg tak boleh dijual. Until next 2 years tak boleh jual. Lelong2 mulah mulah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Too many junk p1 on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Perodua not even enough stock to full fill people n buyer demands, how to clear stock?
      Most p2 buyers have to wait months.
      Unlike p1 stock anytime anyday on the spot cos too many junk stock kept in their junk yard. Karat sana sini just do touch up and sell to customer. How pityful. Stock too old and years in p1 junk yard end up facelifted and paint new color then tell customer this is p1 latest new color, but on old years stock. Oh maiiii….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • Spin Too Much on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:47 pm

Unlike P1 stock anytime? You high on something bro? Saga has a long waiting list, X70 has a long waiting list, Persona has a long waiting list, Iriz has a long waiting list. You know what doesn’t have a long waiting list, Bezza, Alza, Aruz.
        Why? Because nobody is buying them.
        How do we know that? Because they are pushing for GearUp upgrades RM1 promo for these models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
        • No care on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:15 pm

Too many problems with proton cars. Saga now can sell well because no more campro engine. But with hyundai gearbox. But have been few complaint from owner about bad fc. Gearbox problem is usual proton car problems now a day. Poor SC. Pity those proton buyer wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • SK Lim on Dec 04, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Gearbox problem? Sorry lar, I have never heard of Protons having gearbox problems. Save your pity for your fake stories.

• SK Lim Caveman on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Owh u stay in the cave all this while is it? And then came out from cave then simply talk s**t. That is why becos u are 1 word to describe. A big liar and a huge fake story maker. U are living in ur denial world. Go ask many2 workshop and proton user caveman dude.

• yawnz on Dec 05, 2019 at 4:55 pm

yawn… more fake stories from our cave troll using multiple names. Everyone here knows who you are dude….

• No wonder Perodua gear up gear there for old stocks so any times. Understood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Tryinz on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:20 pm

Owhhhh yeahh u very jealous p2 offer nice and sporty bodykits gear up ahh? Well pity u p1 dont offer cos they not afford to. U see lar have to lelong to geely china to survive. So pity p1 fan u are. Too many junk stock p1 keep until geely arrive have to facelifted and have to use hyundai gearbox cos proton gearbox is problematic n useless. U too jealous of p2 so y not come join p2 fan club lols. U r welcome to join rather then cause urself sick cover up lies by p1 and come on get out from ur denial world.

• SK Lim on Dec 04, 2019 at 10:02 pm

Dear readers, you can clearly see how Perodua is evidently isn’t doing well enough when their bored salesman comes here to throw lies and fake stories. It is clearly obvious that comments by Tryinz & Mcdonaldz & Axxx otak udang & Kataxxx are really from the same bored & desperate salesman.

• P.Alyanna on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:42 pm

@SK Lim. Yup yup. Our troller Kunta is no longer believable so he brought his kolik to help. Mana tau, his kolik is just as dumb and he is and tried the same stupid tricks which is easily found out. Bad move Kunta!

• U tok kok ar? Who jealous now? I mentioned Toyota and Perodua clear old stocks is good sign what…

• PityP1 on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Sk lim, usually in life, those who like to accused and see only people fault is actually they themselve are like that, example urself. U are thrasher urself and used many nickname to create fake story but then blame others. U cant accept ur opinion is by far useless and doesnt make sense with no logic. By end of year u cry baby to see perodua sales improve every year and too kacang too easy beat ur proton. Accept the true fact bro, but not ur true fake news. Accept ur defeat bro. Ur proton will never beat perodua sorry to say.

• Kuih muih on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:32 pm

U too angry cos u cannot sell well whole year hahh? Wat a pity proton salesman u r ya sk lim and p.alyanna. Trolls at ur own risk. Which is trolling wif anger in ur heart. Jgn rembat customer kolik okeh kawan. Jgn marah2, tak boleh jual kereta pigi jual kuih tepi jalan. Haha.

• Troll Hunter on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:33 am

Hahaha! Our Perodua troller got triggered when his tembeleng got found out. Excellent!

• Mcdonaldz on Dec 04, 2019 at 6:24 pm

P2 produce almost 250k cars yearly and easily sell 230-240k yearly too.
      While p1 produce 150k car yearly but only can sell 60k-70k yearly. Then rest 80k balance cars become old stock junk for sell the next 1 or 2 or myb 3 years to comes. U can even find sarang tikus inside p1 old stock cars ar their junk yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • vivizurianti on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:03 am

Evidently, economy in Malaysia robust and doing very well. Semua OK.

Keep buying new cars and enjoy motoring, ya?

• RYAN22 on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:14 am

Where is Audi ?

• Martin Loo on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:03 pm

AUDI is already RIP and no longer a relevant brand in Malaysia.

• CX5 owner on Dec 04, 2019 at 8:41 pm

The people who ruined Audi all left already. They trying to make a comeback

• Real LLort on Dec 04, 2019 at 11:53 am

Ahh I knew it!

• alldisc on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Dig deeper and we can find that the bulk of proton sales come from saga and persona (sorry those who bought the pre facelift models. Its you fault but at least you got handsome discounts).

X70 may contributed to 30k sales out of the total figure while old stocks Preve and exora and well as Iriz make up the rest of the numbers.

It is quite surprising Nissan sold more cars than Mazda since Almera is too old and replacement is just around the corner. Serena, Teana, Sylphy and Xtrail are not new model. Navara sales did help push Nissan in a comfortable position as well as the cute NV200. Best of the rest.

Mazda may hit back with the all new 3 sedan and hatchback though. Wait and see.

On the other hand, Toyota Hilux is back as king of the pick up trucks.. Leaving dmax, ford ranger and triton long in its dust. Try harder guys.

The all new Yaris, corolla Altis, vios and Camry do contribute to its beating Honda by a thin margin. In 6-8 months all the goreng pisang panas will get cold while Honda will have launched the 1.0 turbo City, 1.5 turbo Accord and facelifted Civic Ketam.

Or Udang. Whichever you prefer. The similarities are uncanny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:52 pm

” The all new Yaris, corolla Altis, vios and Camry do contribute to its beating Honda by a thin margin ”

Care to clarify your above statement?

Toyota sold only 40,456 passenger cars Jan to Oct. Balance 13,633 are commercial vehicles.
      Honda sold 71,489 passenger cars Jan to Oct. Honda doesn’t sell commercial vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • alldisc on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:01 pm

You dont sound very smart. Do you understand the word contribute? And what is the meaning?

• So what on Dec 04, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Does it matter? If Volvo sold trucks in Malaysia, that number would have been added too. It’s ok if you want to be in denial.

• Last year Proton Jan to Oct 54326 units already marked as close shop soon status.
    This year Toyota Jan to Oct 54089 units, so Toyota close shop soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
    • Bikin malu on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:22 pm

U should thanks to mr. Li chunrong for revive proton. Without china, proton has already close shop last 2-3 years. So thank you to foreigner mr. Li chunrong for helping lazy mesia ceo to revive proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • So who revive Toyota?

• Geely! lol!
          https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/toyota-in-talks-with-geely-on-hybrid-tech-cooperation/

• Axxx otak udang on Dec 04, 2019 at 7:20 pm

Toyota is big and worldwide company dude, world’s best and top selling car company. Their best selling not in mesia but in alot other countries. While ur favourite p1 only 1 in mesia, jaguh kampung sementara n culture shocked like u dude, baru nak angkat turun balik. 34 yrs almost bankrap have to gadai to china geely to survive. But back to rebadge again. Very shameful. Wanna come against toyota pulak, ada hati…no brainer dude. Ur otak kat kepala lutut bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • SH, jgn pantai sgt assumed sy suka P1. Toyota sales in Malaysia no good is a truth, if a multinational company cannot make money in a country, it will definitely withdraw from the local market. Only no brain like u hold on to the two rotting balls.

• Kataxxx on Dec 04, 2019 at 7:29 pm

Axxx, are u an idiot or stupid? Bodoh or bahlol? Compare p1 to toyota is like compare the sun and ur 2 balls. Even if toyota close shop in msia they dont even giv a s**t. They survive from all other countries of sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Then Toyota will leave the Malaysian market right? Because above people have mentioned that 55k vehicles sales are insignificant to Toyota. SH

• Taxi 4 on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Nope. Look at the bigger picture.

Toyota selling millions of cars worldwide in a year. 55k is nothing for them. Indonesia alone contributes to about 500,000 units annually.

The worry for proton is… They sell 54k in malaysia, its not much more overall. How to survive like that.

• Selling 55k units become nothing, does it mean Toyota close shop soon in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Toyota close shop for what? because they sell only 55k unit? come on, Toyota sold approximately 10mil annually worldwide, They are well stable company not like p1 only depends on geely. geely chow, proton die.. wake up rat catcher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Optimus on Dec 05, 2019 at 1:55 pm

Chevy also sold many cars globally yet they kolos shop here. So you jeles when people tell your Toyota kolos shop? Kah kah kah kah.

• Sold 10mil worldwide so what??? Why Toyota withdraw Australian market?

• Apuiiii on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:38 pm

@Hxz, yes bro u are totally right. Axxx is a totally moron and idiot if u dont know. He always like to compare cucur pisang with spaggeti. Toyota are world best car company. Proton car in other countries are mostly rejected junk.

• When our dupe troll ran out of names to use, he just throws in random alphabets. Such laziness reflects on his Jap paymasters.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Proton doesn’t have commercial vehicles for sale.

• applegreen on Dec 04, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Subaru salesman sweating this year after sales dropped almost 40%. Even next year if they introduce forester GT edition also cannot increase sales. MI must drop prices for their cars or bring in manual XV instead of auto 7 gears.