Volkswagen HQ raided again over diesel emissions scandal, for documents pertaining to EA 288 engine

The Dieselgate issue just won’t go to rest. Earlier this week, German public prosecutors raided Volkswagen’s headquarters in Wolfsburg again to confiscate documents, this time pertaining to the EA 288 diesel engine, Reuters reports.

The raid on Tuesday is the latest episode in the automaker’s long-running diesel emissions scandal saga, which began in 2015 when it admitted to using trick software a.k.a. defeat devices to cheat US emissions tests.

Following the raid, Volkswagen said it was fully cooperating with the authorities, but viewed the investigation as unfounded, saying it had disclosed the issue at the heart of the new investigation – which is targeting individual employees – to the relevant authorities, the report added.

Former VW Group CEO Martin Winterkorn (left) and former Audi CEO Rupert Stadler.

The company said that in simulations, vehicles equipped with the EA 288 engine did not indicate a failure of the diesel filter, while still complying with emissions limits. The company added that the engine did not have an illegal defeat device.

The ensuing fallout has so far cost the company about 30 billion euros ($33 billion) in fines, numerous refits to impacted vehicles and provisions, as well as a global backlash against diesel vehicles.

The scandal has already claimed former Audi CEO Rupert Stadler, who along with three others were charged with fraud, false certification and criminal advertising practices. In April this year, German prosecutors charged ex-CEO Martin Winterkorn and four others with fraud over their role in the manipulation of emissions testing, and in September, prosecutors indicted current VW Group CEO Herbert Diess for holding back crucial information over the issue.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Someone told us we should learn to be like these Germans so we can be successful, but from this scandal we learnt they can’t even be successful at cheating forever. So is that person telling us to learn from the Germans how to fail at cheating customers and authorities, or learn from the Germans we should just cheat from the start then find a scapegoat?
    I wonder which above is he asking us to follow.

• I thought we were suppose to emulate turks.

• Troll Hunter on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Nuh uh. Our resident troll didn’t tell us to emulate the turks. He told us to emulate the German which gave the world, Dieselgate and the Japanese which gave the world, Airbaggate but all we got is Peroduagate so we still have a long way to go.

• 4bini on Dec 05, 2019 at 9:16 am

We still worship the Japs and Mat Salleh. This is evidence by the hundreds of thousands of expats in Malaysia. This goes to show local abang abangs cannot do the job

• Fordist on Dec 05, 2019 at 2:07 pm

Every year plenty of Malaysians migrate to Aussie, UK, USA. You mean their local abang abangs cannot do the job?

• Logical Deduction on Dec 04, 2019 at 3:42 pm

His logic got game over’d by the many twisting and turning he tried to wiggle his comments around. Now it turns around and bite his asses.

• Wow. Imagine whst boeing executives will get for max fiasco

• Troll Hunter on Dec 04, 2019 at 4:16 pm

The rules in USA doesn’t apply the same. There, cash is king or in their context, cash is presidential.

• Ahmadjr on Dec 04, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Pindah je la hq kat malaysia. Kami tak kisah semua tu guna pun still euro 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Zahar on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:54 am

In germany government hit at ceo but in malaysia government hit at advisor wuth ceo free.

• Mohd Zaharuddin on Dec 05, 2019 at 10:56 am

In germany law hit at ceo but in malaysia law hit at advisor and ceo free not even charge…..what you call this law?