Petrol, diesel ban in UK to be brought forward to 2035

The United Kingdom had in 2017 announced that it was going to ban the sale of new petrol and diesel vehicles by 2040, though a plan by prime minister Boris Johnson under a climate change drive could see the ban be brought forward by five years to 2035, according to The Telegraph.

The idea was first mooted by transport secretary Grant Shapps last October, the news site reported, when he indicated 2035 as the desired target. “The government’s own advisory committee on climate change said 2035 is a date for which we should aim. We need to test these arguments and work in partnership with industry to examine how to proceed,” Shapps said.

In 2018, the previous target of 2040 was criticised by a joint committee report for ‘lacking ambition’ and urged the government to determine the earliest date that automakers can only sell alternative fuel vehicles in the UK, an earlier report noted.

Prime minister Johnson is set to outline his government’s environmental ambitions this week ahead of the 26th Conference of the Parties (COP26), the UN Climate Change Conference which the United Kingdom is hosting in November, though it remains to be seen whether or not the petrol and diesel ban will be announced as part of this framework, The Telegraph noted.

The move by the British government fortifies the regions’ stance on fossil fuel-powered vehicles particularly in cities, as Amsterdam had announced its ban on all cars and motorcycles running on fossil fuels from 2030. Meanwhile, Paris announced the ban on diesel vehicles from 2024 and petrol-powered vehicles by 2030, expanding on the country’s ban on the sale of petrol and diesel vehicles by 2040.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• 4bini on Feb 03, 2020 at 3:11 pm

Everybody is moving towards EV. Except our Proton and Perodua. Until today, got no EV car.

MARii and MITI, I don’t know what they do in office.

Proton where is your Iriz EV? In 2013, you showcased this car to the rakyat but then you asked the Malaysian Government you need a few more billion ringgit to do more research on EV.

Malaysian Government gave the money to Proton.

Until today, 7 years we have been waiting for our Nation EV car.

• Britain has their selfish reasons to do so. Nearly all the cars sold in the UK are foreign-owned brands assembling the cars in the UK. With Brexit a reality, many of these brands will be closing shop and moving back to Continental Europe, so if Brits continue to buy cars they will continue to lose forex reserves.

They done that ahead to protect their industries and sovereignty, something we should learn from them. Take for instance buying a Proton would certainly be more patriotic as it keeps our money within the country, otoh buying a Perodua just meant all our money are sent back to Japan making Japan richer while we became poorer.