Lexus UX 200 now in Malaysia – RM244k to RM300k

Lexus has officially introduced the UX 200 into the Malaysian market, entering the compact premium SUV segment currently occupied by the Mercedes-Benz GLA, BMW X1, Audi Q3 and Volvo XC40. We’ve already had full details and prices of all three variants since the car was opened for booking two weeks ago, so this announcement is little more than a formality.

As previously reported, the range starts with the Urban model at RM243,888, followed by the Luxury at RM283,888 and the top-of-the-line F Sport at RM299,888. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

No matter which variant you go for, you’ll get the same engine – an M20A-FKS 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated Dynamic Force four-cylinder. Equipped with D-4S direct injection, it produces 169 hp at 6,600 rpm and 205 Nm at 4,800 rpm, and is paired to a Direct-Shift CVT with a mechanical first gear and a 10-speed virtual ratio function. All models will get from zero to 100 km/h in 9.2 seconds before reaching a top speed of 190 km/h.

The UX is the first Lexus model to be built on the Global Architecture – Compact (GA-C) platform, which is essentially the premium version of the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA). Lexus promises exemplary comfort and agility, along with a “distinctive driving personality.” The chassis features MacPherson strut suspension at the front and double wishbones at the rear.

The UX is 4,496 mm long and has a 2,639 mm wheelbase, which makes it 144 mm shorter than the NX, although the wheelbase deficit is just 21 mm. The exterior preserves much of its bigger sibling’s muscular looks, its petite body featuring an upswept shoulder line and pronounced front and rear fender bulges.

At the front, the trademark Lexus spindle grille features block-like inserts that change the appearance of the grille depending on the angle you look at it. It is flanked by slim headlights with triple LED projectors as standard, with arrow-shaped daytime running lights sitting above them. The wheels are dark grey 17-inch items with aerodynamic ventilation on the Urban, and 18-inch two-tone rollers on the Luxury.

Moving to the rear, the sloped hatch mirrors the spindle-shaped graphic of the front, while the full-width tail lights feature upright fins at the corners to shape the air running over them, improving high-speed stability. The F Sport model gains larger air intakes, a unique criss-cross grille mesh and its own 18-inch wheel design in a grey finish (matching the front and rear bumper inserts).

Inside, the UX features a wraparound dashboard design that is driver-centric, with an upper layer that continues the contours of the bonnet. The top surface of the dash itself features a texture inspired by Japanese washi paper (only on the Luxury variant), while audio controls ahead of the centre armrest take up some of the functionality of the much-maligned Remote Touch interface for the infotainment system.

The Urban comes with a fairly long list of standard equipment, including automatic headlights, keyless entry, push-button start, seven-inch displays for both instruments and infotainment, dual-zone climate control with rear vents, eight-way power-adjustable heated front seats, Nuluxe faux leather upholstery, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, six speakers and a reverse camera.

Stump up the extra RM40,000 for the Luxury and you’ll get niceties like automatic wipers, auto-dimming mirrors, metallic interior decor, a power-adjustable steering wheel, ventilated front seats with driver’s side memory, leather upholstery with sashiko quilting, aluminium side sill plates, a 10.3-inch centre display, eight speakers, a 360-degree camera system and a handsfree powered tailgate.

As befits a sporting trim level, the F Sport model comes with a series of performance upgrades, including paddle shifters, adaptive dampers and a rear “performance damper” to control and absorb minute distortions and vibrations. It is also differentiated on the inside through sports seats, alloy pedals, a head-up display and an LFA-inspired instrument display with a moving rev counter and centre ring.

Safety systems are not exactly a given in this segment, and it’s here where the UX shines. All models get autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist and adaptive high beam to go with the eight airbags (including two front knee airbags) and stability control. Blind spot monitoring and rear cross traffic alert are exclusive to the Luxury and F Sport variants, but that’s about it.

GALLERY: Lexus UX 200 Urban

GALLERY: Lexus UX 200 Luxury

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Suddenly I feel cx9 is damn cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Therealmaserati on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:15 pm

What a joke. 2L NA engine? Not even a turbo

Overpriced garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • Jonathan Khan on Mar 05, 2020 at 9:35 am

This is Grand Seiko
      not a Quartz Watch/SmartWatch/Smartband

As simple as that. Many layman may not appreciate Grand Seiko despite it’s simple but state of the arts refinement and performance.

For Lexus UX 200:
      1. it’s uses Direct Force Engine.
      Combo Port Injection and Direct Injection to handle the sludge built up and pre-mature aging issues.

2. 10 Gear Direct-Shift CVT.
      Combo Real Gears + CVT. Sequential steps up, rev matching, smoothness and responsiveness is high. it’s more responsive than average DSG gearbox.

3. Combo Direct Shift CVT + Direct Force Engine.
      FC: 5.7L/100km WLTP

2.0DI-PI NA, 10speed responsive Gear-Virtual CVT, heavy SUV
      9.2secs to 100km/h
      5.7L/100km.

A gem worth to keep even after warranty period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Tin Kosong on Mar 06, 2020 at 6:03 am

You know this is a sales pitch from a Lexus salesman when you hear CVT can match responsiveness of DSG. Only a Lexus Grand Salesman would say 9.2 secs for 0-100 kph is fast, yeah your UX is slower than the half as expensive CRV and less roomy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • john kho on Mar 06, 2020 at 5:28 pm

many not appreciate is because the so call “state of the arts refinement and performance” is actually not an arts refinement and performance. same like everyone is using smart phone nowadays, and you keep selling the nokia 3310 and tell your customer this is state of the art quality and performance. and u wan sell your nokia 3310 at the price of iphone :)

• Fareed on Mar 05, 2020 at 12:02 pm

Totally agree . Absolutely an overpriced garbage .

• Mr Visionary on Mar 05, 2020 at 8:23 pm

You want turbo, go and get ur cheapskate ah beng civic it has the turbo you need to suit the cheapskate driving style like high beam ppl on highway, adding fake skirtings act gaya although it’s ugly af, clearly the lexus is for those who just want to enjoy the drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Lolipop on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:34 pm

Facelifted GLC200 having the same price with F sport version at price RM299,888.00, there is so many choice at this price point not to say UX with 2.0 NA engine…

• (Like) Lexus UX 200.
    (Dislike) Volvo XC40

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
  • I notice the last gen Camry also had D4S logo, is that mean the dual injections dynamic force engine used to be used for Camry in Malaysia?

• The D4-S system of dual port and direct injection has been available on Toyota engines before Dynamic Force.

• targa on Mar 05, 2020 at 11:55 am

The D4S was used in the previous 2 litre Camry which featured D4S and the VVTI-W engine… capable of running in Otto and Atkinson cycle modes.

The current Camry uses the conventional 2AR-FE engine, from the pre-facelift previous gen model.

• Mr Visionary on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:47 pm

The x50 killer is here finally! Top up just 160k you will get the game changing Japanese engine and TNGA and also having the forever reliable lexus cvt while x50 will have a forever vibrating engine because of the three cylinder engine and a unreliable DCT which the car will die at the roadside suddenly while the UX drives away like a boss!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • The idiotic comment is here finally! There, corrected it for you. You’re welcome. PS: You didn’t seem trying to be sarcastic, so your comment deserve the idiotic moniker.

• Mr Delusional fits you better on Mar 05, 2020 at 2:51 pm

The UX will be collecting dust at stockyard with that ‘boss’ price but ‘kuli’ specs. Only a Lexus salesman would say it’s worth the money. Oh, wait…

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 05, 2020 at 7:06 pm

“forever reliable lexus cvt”. Ha ha. You are adorable, man!

• John Minum Teh 8X on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:54 pm

Lexus cars globally are super cheap. Only in Malaysia, it is priced like Rolls Royce. Even RX350 also in overseas less than USD$40k. Here RM500k

There is no logic to the pricing in Malaysia. After all, it is a mere Toyota, nothing else.

Why is it expensive you ask? The answer is simple. UMW, the distributor jacks up the price so that they can untung lebih to feed their overbloated GLC staff at UMW.

Simple as that. GLC UMW is overbloated by 10X. They need all the profits from overpriced cars to sustain the company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Mar 05, 2020 at 8:26 am

I see you always complaining because you cannot afford it. If you are poor, don’t just complain and blame others. Go out and work harder like many of us. Once you saved enough, you can afford even Rolls Royce.

Stop complaining, get out and work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • applegreen on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Rm300k for 169hp car?

• John Minum Teh 8X on Mar 04, 2020 at 8:59 pm

I test drove this car during the media preview, I think even my Myvi is much bigger and has better legroom.

My Myvi is RM50k and this car is RM300k.

Amazing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
  • Haidi on Mar 04, 2020 at 9:19 pm

That face is… not so LEXUS.

• Lexus - Luxury EXport to the US on Mar 04, 2020 at 9:30 pm

“The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection.”
    All models get autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist and adaptive high beam to go with the (8) airbags (including (2) front knee airbags) and stability control.
    Lexus team did read and listened to all your requests on safety package on the UX previous article, Safety suite available across all UX trims Nlnow

• Vader on Mar 04, 2020 at 9:55 pm

Better buy same car Toyota CHR. saved RM100K

• RM244k ÷ RM80k can get 3 units X50.

• The interior looks like it came from a decade ago.

• hayenadeblue on Mar 04, 2020 at 11:05 pm

Urgghhhh, CVT…

• MeiLi on Mar 04, 2020 at 11:10 pm

Better Harrier than this SUV (almost similar pricing). Why? Bcoz of proper gearbox in Harrier vs CVT in this SUV.
    Its engine should be in the latest Camry along with the latest 7-speed gearbox as in Thailand. Then, our Camry would be excellente.

• Totally agreed, this engine should be on the Camry. The UX and the Camry are almost same weight, this one can make zero to 100 in 9.2 but the Camry takes > 10 seconds in the 2.5L engine. What a shame for Toyota Malaysia!

• Monana on Mar 04, 2020 at 11:16 pm

Even in the “Luxury” (note my air-quote) variant, there are blank buttons on the panel at the right of the steering wheel (next to the driver’s door). This would remind the driver that they are driving a low-spec variant. Lexus=premium? Come on lah, wei!!

• Forget about Lexus, please put the dynamic force engine into the current generation Corolla

• A cx-5 2.5 turbo is bigger, more powerful, better looking and cheaper

But if u insist on getting a lexus, a used NX200T Is a better option

• eVaz88 on Mar 05, 2020 at 9:31 am

I just read about the 10 speed gear. in fact D-CVT incorporate Real First gear into CVT which makes the driving feels totally different tho..

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 05, 2020 at 7:01 pm

CVT problem is not only on the acceleration from 0 km/h. Many CVTs these days have solved the problem. The main issue is the moving acceleration (e.g. from 30 km/h to 90 km/h), usually during overtaking a slow moving car on the city road. ANY CVT have this problem, but some has been minimized by using powerful engine and some tuning on the CVT. CVT is CVT dude.

In Toyota, the most expensive variant like Alphard uses proper gearbox (not CVT). The cheaper Velfire uses CVT. Same in Honda but u have to look at other market like US because somehow, in our country, everything is CVT. In US, they have 10-speed (not CVT) Accord. Malaysian doesnt even bother, thats why we get the cheap technology. U may want to ask, why Mercedes, BMW, Volvo do not use CVT? Actually they have (some of them), and then they ditched them. Even Proton used CVT in Saga but now changed to 4-AT. Why?

I cannot tolerate for Lexus that is synonimed with Luxury to used CVT.

• eVaz88 on Mar 06, 2020 at 2:08 pm

CVT with Actual gear dude. Please go and try it out before comment further. Don’t talk based on spec sheet only. Belum cuba belum tau.

• MeiLi on Mar 07, 2020 at 3:29 am

If compare CVT vs CVT+1st gear, of course the latter is better. But, we dont use the 1st gear while moving, only from standstill. After moving, the whole mechanism is pure CVT. Btw, i hope u know the Toyota/Lexus CVT+1st gear is basically using actual gear only for moving from 0 km/h i.e. 1st gear. As pointed by hayeblue, the CVT suffer from mid-speed acceleration. The CVT+1st gear is still sluggish. Yeah, i tested it dude. Lexus should never uses CVT in their cars. It is acceptable for lower price range Toyotas.

• thepolygon on Mar 05, 2020 at 9:33 am

I think majority will select the GLA over this even if this is cheaper which is not the case now.

• Hakim on Mar 05, 2020 at 9:35 am

The CX5 and Forester is a better buy. NVH and performance on the Forester is on par with the Lexus. CX5 is cheaper to maintain too

• Ben Yap on Mar 05, 2020 at 9:54 am

over RM200K SUV but performance is slower than the CRV 1.5 turbo. CRV is faster, cheaper to maintain and cheaper road tax and insurance. what else can you ask for?

• vivizurianti on Mar 05, 2020 at 10:14 am

The plastic at the wheel arches alone look so ever cheap.

This plainly a major turnoff for potential buyers

300grand Lexus, with plastic wheel arches? come on la.

• Dr Noo on Mar 05, 2020 at 11:20 am

Malaysian cars are overpriced! Period!

• The Saint on Mar 05, 2020 at 11:28 am

Ya, way overpriced. The XC40 comes across as a much better valued proposition.

It will be a rare sight on our roads.

• Sushi Sucks on Mar 05, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Mazda CX 3 is more premium than this Lexus UX200 garbage

• 7yearsfd1 on Mar 05, 2020 at 2:27 pm

seriously? a 169hp non turbo in premium segment priced 300k?

when i tot lexus cannot get anymore absurd.

• Get a Mercedes or BMW or Audi

• Victoria on Mar 13, 2020 at 4:35 am

AUDI ?? Sorry
      Big No, No then

Volvo is much preferred choice

• mat koboi on Mar 05, 2020 at 4:46 pm

Lexus kurang orang beli..mahal kaw2.Nak balik modal dan untung jual mahal

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2020 at 12:40 pm

With the local launch of the CBU H247 GLA, this Lexus suddenly is a lot better compared to the Benz. Sure it may not have a turbo engine but everyone is not gonna floor it all the time.