Shell has announced that it has initiated a safety campaign in which it will be giving away 138 child car seats, each worth RM507, at selected Shell stations in Kuala Lumpur and Negeri Sembilan. The campaign – which began last month and runs until April 12 – has already seen 70 winners, but there are still child car seats up for grabs.
Only two simple steps are needed for you to be in the running to win a child seat. First, you need to spend a minimum of RM40 in a single receipt at one of the 136 participating Shell stations in KL and Negeri Sembilan, and then submit your details via a contest form at the station. Upon completion of these two steps, customers will stand a chance to win a child car seat, with 17 winners set to be announced every week.
The company says that the campaign aims to promote child safety on the road by raising awareness on the importance of using a suitable Child Restraint System (CRS). “At Shell, we always want to make life’s journey better for our customers. This is a gesture from some of our stations to promote the use of child car seats,” said Shell Malaysia Trading and Shell Timur MD Shairan Huzani Husain.
“Often, many parents do not know how important it is to have a suitable CRS in place. By rewarding customers with child car seats, we hope we can educate parents to protect their children when travelling on the road,” he said.
Most of our petrol companies, especially the rich GLCs like Sime Darby, PNB and Khazanah, instead of giving their staff 12 months bonus, should do this as CSR – Corporate Social Responsibility.
Why make this into a contest? All our GLCs should be sponsoring baby car seats to the rakyat of Malaysia.
What will single guys and gals do with baby seats? Isn’t that a wastage for GLCs to sponsor baby car seats for those who don’t need it? We aren’t a rich country with money to throw, so why should our country spend money unnecessarily? Are you a baby car seat making crony because you sounded like one.
Good foreign oil company do this. What is Petronas doing? Get so much of help but give nothing back.
Someone said Shell is a GLC so Shell is a local company just like Petronas. Our new government is giving so much back in just 2 weeks, unlike stingy PH government
Car seat is a problem is Malaysia but a bigger problem is the abang2 PDRM and JPJ officers who take duit kopi and release the offender immediately. Then no point having laws.
So many get caught everyday because never use back seat belts or never use baby seats but after getting duit kopi RM50, they are let loose
It is high time we clean up the authorities.
I hope more orang kampung win this. I see so many in bandar with so many kids sitting on the laps of ibu dan kakak in the car.
I saw one car with 5 kids all on each other laps
In Malaysia, people are irresponsible, have super big family and children but more interested in buying luxury cars instead of thinking about safety of their children
majority in Malaysia must learn family planning. This is more important than car seat. Having 6 to 12 kids without having the finances is no logic.
The is also no logic too when young and healthy people are dying due to heart attack and stroke…. Not all things can be define by logic of creation…
Syukur x1000 and Syabas Shell. Now abang abang just had small family can stand a chance to win a child seat. Traveling is now safer and more enjoyable too.
Before this, child seats are quite pricey.
But abang2 usually got 6 kids each family. So win one car seat, how to share with 6 kids?
Agreed but enjoyable only for the family but not for the little one sitting in the ‘child seat’. Those seats are too hot for our climate unless the family agrees to max out the aircon. Said this before, some clever manufacturer stands to make a lot of money when it comes out with a ‘summer Ok’ child seat.
Why only KL and Negeri Sembilan? Selective Safety Campaign!!