Geely donates medical supplies to Europe, Malaysia for coronavirus fight; we get face masks, testing kits

Carmaker Geely and the Li Shufu Charity Foundation have begun shipping urgently needed medical supplies to Europe and Malaysia to aid the fight against the coronavirus.

The first batch of donated medical supplies including personal protective equipment (PPE), vital for healthcare workers when dealing with Covid-19 cases, was flown late last week to Sweden and Germany for distribution to hospitals.

In Malaysia, where Geely is a partner to national carmaker Proton, the Hangzhou-based carmaker will donate testing kits and masks to hospitals.

In January, Geely and the charity foundation of its founder Li Shufu established a special 200 million RMB (RM125 million) fund to support the prevention and control of the coronavirus outbreak, which has since gone on to be a global pandemic. The Li Shufu Charity Foundation will purchase and distribute urgently needed medical supplies including PPEs, test kits, masks, disinfectants and ventilators according to the needs of the affected areas.

“As the coronavirus epidemic grows around the world, Geely and its global family stands united and will make full use of the group’s synergetic strength in the fight against the virus. Geely and its subsidiaries around the world are strictly following national guidelines where they operate to protect employees and prevent the spread of the virus,” the company said in a statement.

On top of the assistance from China, Geely subsidiary companies around the world are doing their own bit for local communities.

For instance, Volvo Cars in Sweden and Geely Sweden have donated over 12,000 medical masks to local hospitals, Benelli Motorbikes has started shipping masks from China to affected areas in Italy, and Geely Auto Technical (Deutschland) near Frankfurt has been working with local authorities to distribute medical masks and gloves,

In the UK, Geely-owned London Electric Vehicle Company has started an initiative to provide black cab drivers with a three-month finance payment holiday.

“As the situation continues to normalise in China, Geely has not forgotten the help it received from friends and family around the world. The fight against the coronavirus is not one that can be won alone. Together we are strong and together we will be victorious,” the company added in the statement.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maryland Virus on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:50 am

Sadly, PRC haters will find ways to smear every charities and humanity works done by PRC linked organizations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Commie on Mar 23, 2020 at 11:56 am

Hail China! Longlive all China pipu!! Xiexie!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Anti Kunta Trooper on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:48 pm

Ladies & gentlemen, you must understand that why you should ignore Kunta and his dupes.

I know you guys hoping that there will be no more anti proton supporter does not come here to talk busuk that Proton not good & China not good whatsoever, especially claiming that fuel price is so cheap that was the time during PH administration. As most of the time, Kunta always telling lies for the past 22 months as what “Cloth” also said about Kunta. And we also suspect that Kunta always spending his time for disliking his comment about proton, toyota while liking his comments. Found from evidence in (https://paultan.org/2020/03/05/umw-toyota-motor-announces-recall-for-13500-units-of-toyota-lexus-models-potentially-faulty-fuel-pump/). All these is because when kunta always very jealous that proton/toyota sales had taken their sales from honda, he started to talk busuk about proton/toyota. Can tell that his mind always going beserks and panics all of sudden. HIs bloods and thoughts pump-up and tempers set into overdrive which only one troll spend whole 24 hours for nearly 2000 likes/dislikes without doing his works, sleep or eat. Even, Kunta also uses his own dupes like “Insane Determination 100”, “Kerajaan Pintu Belakang”, “newme”, “ASB”, “tikus”, “Denso Japan” and etc. And he always claim that “Oh, his dupes are not related to Kunta”. But in the truth, no one ever believes Kunta, which we know his dupes statements are more similar to Kunta. He always coming from honda supporter/P2 supporter. And he always ignoring other people’s comments for their good statements until now when they always advising Kunta. And that he always never admits that Kunta is the one who put liking/disliking comments, using his own dupes, always claiming that like Angry Voters from john & Cloth from Mario. His attitude always never change.

Just like what he has been doing recently when posting about updated fuel price recently in (https://paultan.org/2020/03/20/march-2020-week-4-fuel-price-ron-95-under-rm1-50-but-please-dont-rush-out-to-pump-fuel-unnecessarily/). Just after PN government replaced PH government for few weeks ago, he still never learn from their lessons. He dislikes about PN government and likes about PH government by using his own dupes like “Almighty Snack Bar” & “OTAK in Comment Section”, especially for last week fuel price in (https://paultan.org/2020/03/13/march-2020-week-three-fuel-price-petrol-diesel-down/) also uses Kunta dupes like “Songlap Songlap Malaysia”, “Sidek Kamiso”, “Curt Curi Malaysia”, “Haniff Bustaman“, “Razlan Harri“ and etc. At the same time, kunta simply claims that Cloth from Mario. Mario didn’t do anything at all. He didn’t reply for the long time. He always tells the truth most of the time during last year paultan articles especially for john, Angry Voters, Rakyat Malaysia and etc. Unlike Kunta & his dupes including newme, he has been lying for the past 22 months until now.

So hope you need to understand to all of you.

• YB Albert on Mar 23, 2020 at 1:00 pm

I thot we have 10-20 richest man in Malaysia?
      One virus is enough to kill or maim.Why they keep so much in the banks or other assets?
      Its a shame,GEELY is stepping up to help us.What rakyat need is facemasks and sanitisers.Cant our vvip tycoons donate some? Just shambolic,rakyat support their businesses in good times.

• Andrew Wong on Mar 24, 2020 at 2:21 am

Their money can’t see day light. Vampire money. Blood money.

• Geely now saving the world bit by bit. Tahniah!
      Geely, P1, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus, LnC > all

• Lanhb on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:53 am

Who is ‘we’?

• Ajibkor on Mar 23, 2020 at 1:00 pm

Like we alwiz sez, Cash is king !!
      And i got lotsa of them kat rumah, Hahahahah!

• I wonder if these VVIP taikors can turn their dollars into face masks since they love the smell of money.

• Frozen on Mar 23, 2020 at 1:11 pm

The medical and security frontliners. Duuh!!!!

• newme on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:55 am

Who needs enemies when you have “true friend” that spread virus to the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 23, 2020 at 12:06 pm

You have to remember that the US misdiagnosed some of their citizen deaths as influenza instead of covid19 – well before China discovered the virus. Go watch the video of the CDC Director making that statement if you don’t believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • newme on Mar 23, 2020 at 2:00 pm

People don’t call it Wuhan virus for no reason. What are the death rate between both countries? Why is it Wuhan virus and not Baltimore or Indianapolis virus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
        • Still dumbyou on Mar 23, 2020 at 4:05 pm

Dumb ass. The Spanish Flu was called so not because it appeared in Spain first. Can you guarantee that the US didn’t try to cover up the pandemic like most other things? Donald Trump isn’t the most ‘transparent’ US president, is he? Yeah, of course a China-hater like you would always blame China first for everything.

• newme on Mar 23, 2020 at 5:12 pm

No one can exactly pinpoint the origin of Spanish flu but Spain is one of the suspect.

So China Xi is transparent? hahaha funny. Then NK Kim is too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • Aura89 on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:46 pm

I can assure you this. China don’t preach you transparency, justice, and equality while stabbing you in the back.

• Jeremy on Mar 24, 2020 at 11:36 pm

Exactly. why we picked Geely China for p1.

• YB Albert on Mar 23, 2020 at 5:20 pm

Lets not be racist like Trump.30,000 infections and he still call it Chinese virus.IN 2 weeks,100,000 infections..he will call it Xi Xin Ping virus.Does it help to cure his own people?If it started in Down Under,he will call it Kangaroo virus..what if it started here? Bolehland virus? Stop racist tones.Get a cure ,then talk.

• Jaguh on Mar 23, 2020 at 12:21 pm

It doesn’t help to pointing finger here and there. At this point of time it is crucial for everyone to work together and overcome the crisis instead

• newme on Mar 23, 2020 at 1:02 pm

Yes. It doesn’t help to point finger but an apology on the label instead of absurd and ludicrous quote would be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
        • Dr Strange on Mar 23, 2020 at 3:32 pm

You’re implying as if China want the virus to happen. The same accusation that Africa wants Ebola to happen and USA wants AIDS. Are you that insensitive?

• newme on Mar 23, 2020 at 5:06 pm

There is a saying when you are in deep dung, keep quiet and not acting like you are savior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • That's Me on Mar 23, 2020 at 5:18 pm

XJP and the local Wuhan government were fighting when the doctor first tried to warn about the virus. Obviously it wouldn’t prevent the spread of it, but surely it would’ve been better if the world could prepare in advance.

Having that said, I’m glad China is trying to help now.

• English Teacher on Mar 23, 2020 at 7:02 pm

There’s also a saying, if you have nothing better to say, then say nothing.

• Aura89 on Mar 23, 2020 at 10:51 pm

How is their note could even give you that impression? I’m curious, as I see it China is sending a message of solidarity with those still coming to grips with the virus. As ground zero, China had overcome the worst of it and they are trying to give the world community hope.

• Still dumbyou on Mar 23, 2020 at 3:58 pm

Your parents owe the world an apology for bringing you into the world. How about that for an apology, douche?

• Their actions in assisting speaks louder…

• umngok_make_bolehland_great_again on Mar 23, 2020 at 11:33 am

for those who don’t want chinese supply, please pressure the government to reject it, as we are democratic country not autocratic, please do your part.
    so that china can give their supply to those who really need it, it you don’t want it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Many thanks! And I hope more of our friends will extend their help too during this time