PLUS defers April 1 RFID implementation on highways

The initial implementation of RFID payment facilities at all PLUS highways has been postponed until the Malaysian government has lifted the movement control order (MCO), which was put in place from March 18, highway operator PLUS has announced. Upon completion, all 83 PLUS and 10 East Coast closed-system toll plazas will be equipped with RFID facilities.

The RFID toll payment setup was initially due to be offered from April 1, however the implementation has been postponed due to ongoing Covid-19 coronavirus pandemic, with all testing and installation work halted until the MCO is lifted in order to safeguard the health and wellbeing of its employees and highway customers, PLUS said in a statement.

The highway operator has begun RFID toll collection at 10 of its open-toll highways from January 1 this year, and for all of its highways from the aforementioned initial April 1 date. Toll payment via RFID is done via the RFID tags installed on users’ vehicles, which itself is linked to the Touch ‘n Go eWallet mobile app. The RFID pilot programme began in September 2018, and concluded in February.

“At PLUS, we believe the MCO as an important move to protect the health, safety and well-being of not just our employee but all Malaysians from the threat of Covid-19. Based on this principle, we have decided to defer the launch of the RFID payment system on PLUS and LPT2 highways to a new date upon the lifting of the MCO,” said PLUS managing director Datuk Azman Ismail.

The highway operator also urges the public to adhere to the movement control order and to remain at home, in order to help curb the spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• azrai on Mar 24, 2020 at 4:57 pm

All the PLUS toll booth are using the same lane for SMARTag and RFID. My question is, if users’ car has the RFID sticker but decided to use the SMARTag, how?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2020 at 7:31 pm

But why would you…? Your linked TnG card to the app would deduct the amount from your eWallet instead of the card which boils down to the same thing.

• If you have RFID, why still using Smart Tag?

• One advantage of rfid over smartag is u no longer have to replace the bloody 12v battery so my advice is throw it away

• Optimus on Mar 24, 2020 at 5:01 pm

1week into MCO…. org kampong dh nk balik Kl.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2020 at 7:30 pm

Aiyah don’t need such an excuse lah. If u guys were really ready you would have said the implementation will be delayed by 2 weeks instead.