PLUS announces it will begin offering toll collection via RFID on all its highways beginning April 1, 2020

Good news for Touch ‘n Go RFID users, as PLUS Malaysia has announced that it will offer RFID payment facilities on all its 83 closed toll systems from April 1, 2020. This update includes the entire North-South Expressway (NSE) as well as the East Coast Expressway (LPT2), where a total of 173 RFID lanes (including 131 dedicated RFID lanes) will be opened from the aforementioned date.

The move is in line with the government’s vision for a multi-lane free flow (MLFF) system, and marks the completion of a fully-RFID highway ecosystem in the country. Over the past 36 months, the toll concessionaire has focused on harmonising the RFID system with Touch ‘n Go, which lead to the e-wallet-based toll payment method being accepted at all its 10 open-toll highways from January 1, and by April this year, the entire PLUS highway network.

“We anticipate an increase in demand of the RFID, especially among our daily highway customers, which is approximately around 1.7 million drivers,” said Datuk Azman Ismail, managing director of PLUS Malaysia.

“With PLUS now offering RFID, the customer’s journey, which used to be from Juru to the Damansara toll, has now been extended into the city, KLCC for example, and even to urban and sub-urban areas like Wangsa Maju or even Kajang. The journey will be seamless as there is interconnectivity between the intra and intercity highways,” he added.

“Through RFID, highway customers will no longer have to struggle with their Touch ‘n Go card reload as it can be easily done online through their mobile phones and the Touch ‘n Go eWallet app which is directly linked to RFID tags embedded on vehicles,” Datuk Azman explained, adding that toll payments using Touch ‘n Go card and SmartTAG will still be accepted.

For those who have yet to have an RFID tag installed on their vehicles, there are 17 locations along PLUS highways where you can do so. As the pilot programme has concluded as of February 15, RFID tags will no longer be free of charge, but will cost RM35.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• what we really want PLUS to comment on is the reliability of these RFID lanes and what they are doing with regards to the multiple failures of reading the RFID stickers.

Don’t go shiok sendiri announce RFID expansion if you cannot get the product right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Veyron Owner on Mar 11, 2020 at 7:35 pm

Reliability of these RFID lanes , similar like our backdoor ministers. Very reliable!

• Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 11, 2020 at 1:20 pm

Tolls will go higher and higher from now on. Thanks to the Back Door Gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Kean Heng Low on Mar 11, 2020 at 2:00 pm

Hello, I hear Modenas Kriss 110 MR3, 2019 have stop production at Gurun Kedah.
    Is because of no parts or end of life?

• CommonSenses on Mar 11, 2020 at 2:00 pm

Good news and thank you for that

• “..and marks the completion of a fully-RFID highway ecosystem in the country.”

No, new WCE has yet to implement RFID although toll collection has started. RFID lane is exist, but it’s closed.

• It also means Touch n Go & Smart Tag lane are able to use PayDirect features right?

• Silk Road Commuter. on Mar 11, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Finally, a worry free journey awaits me whenever im behind the steering wheel. Walla.

• BenStealer on Mar 11, 2020 at 7:44 pm

Why do we have to contend with RFID monopoly by Touch n Go?

Why can’t we have pay-per-usage system?

What happened to PLUS own e-wallet RFID program?

• haha…

what a joke… you have to almost completely stop or going 5km/h just to get it scanned… stupid…

• thefact on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:07 am

Yeah man. they should implement the system like in singapore.. the IU unit to install in cars only 450 ringgit bro…so cheapp… faster start a system like this :)

• Real-Ef-I-Did on Mar 12, 2020 at 8:39 am

Smart Tag better in case gadget faulty or not working, can still tag the card at the side of the toll gantry

• John Sayeesh Hopkins not a scammer on Mar 13, 2020 at 4:41 am

PLUS CEO:
    [calls RFID Indian software developer]
    “Hello there is the issues been fixed?

Indian software developer:
    “Hi sir my name is John Hopkins unfortunately we have detected viruses on your computer and you need to pay a one-time subscription to remove the virus.”

PLUS CEO:
    “Wait this is the Microsoft hotline?”

Indian software developer:
    “No sir this is not Microsoft we’re from Windows. Please pay 60 US dollars per unit so we can help you remove your virus.”

PLUS CEO:
    proceeds to pays 100 US dollars…. [40 dollars audit in account as bonus for Top line managers]

Rakyat:
    [Cries in Malaysian Ringgit]

Singapore ERP companies
    [Laughs in Sing Dollars]

• TAN LAI HANG on Mar 16, 2020 at 10:48 pm

How apply for RFID