Honda reiterates warranty extension, closure of dealerships and factory in light of MCO extension

Honda Malaysia (HM) uploaded a statement to its Facebook page yesterday regarding its business operations and warranty information in light of the government’s decision to extend the movement control order (MCO) till April 28. The phase two of the MCO was to end tomorrow, April 14.

It’s essentially an extension to the announcements given early in the MCO, where all Honda dealerships, Honda’s factory in Pegoh, Melaka, and its headquarters (sales office) in Petaling Jaya will be closed throughout the period. HM says that “we understand that this extension gives more space to health workers and frontliners in containing the spread of this unseen enemy,” referring to the coronavirus that causes Covid-19.

“In this trying time, where the act of minimising human contact is evidence in saving lives, our dedicated workforce is focused in meeting the needs of our valued customers in the safest way possible,” it added.

The company also reiterated its warranty commitments in these unprecedented times. HM says all vehicle warranties expiring during the MCO period will be extended for an additional 30 days from the end date of the MCO, which at present is April 28 unless there’s another extension.

Warranties will also remain active although due preventive maintenance service cannot be performed in the MCO period. However, HM says that owners should service their vehicles within 60 days of the end of the MCO to keep warranties intact. “If you currently have an upcoming scheduled service, kindly contact your dealer within 15 days of business resuming to book a future appointment,” HM says.

“Thank you for your patience and understanding during this difficult time. Stay home, stay safe and let’s push forward in overcoming this together,” the notice ended.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DRB Honda Mampus on Apr 13, 2020 at 10:37 am

Whatever it is, no one cares about honda. When quality is getting bad to worst

• Sortie on Apr 13, 2020 at 11:36 am

Almost planning to buy new accord. But then seems that, i will buy 320i/c200 as another two final choice decision that which similar spec, includes safety too as new accord

• Every time I go n service always find excuses to cancel warranty even though on time. Never had any issues with Toyota.

• vivizurianti on Apr 13, 2020 at 12:33 pm

With the mounting numbers of problematic Honda g/boxes…..I worry that extended closure of dealerships and delayed services/repair will cause more damage to the g/boxes. Minor issue may become major, while major issues will be big problem later.

I really pity Honda owners, paying so much money yet getting such poor quality cars.