Honda Malaysia says no impact on warranty if routine maintenance service is not performed during MCO

All car showrooms and service centres in the country have been closed since March 18 since the movement control order (MCO) was announced, and will remain closed until April 14. With owners not being able to send their cars for servicing, many are no doubt wondering if the delay in the routine maintenance schedule will have an impact on warranty claims down the line, should these crop up.

To ease the minds of customers, car companies have begun announcing updates on warranty and servicing-related topics, and Honda Malaysia is the next to do so. The company, which halted all its business operations on March 18 in line with the MCO, says all vehicle warranties will be honoured throughout the MCO period as per the terms and conditions stated in the warranty and service booklet.

It said that warranties expiring during the MCO period will be extended by an additional 30 days from the last day of the MCO. The company added that all existing warranties will remain valid even if preventive maintenance service cannot be performed during the MCO, but has asked customers to service their vehicle within 60 days of the end of the MCO period to keep the warranty active.

The company has also advised customers with an upcoming scheduled service to contact their dealer within 15 days once business operations resume to book a future appointment.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nothing to be proud of…always never service the car properly at honda service. Felt that the parts always expired…..sometimes can be FEW MONTHS, ONE YEAR OR TWO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Sunset on Mar 27, 2020 at 10:30 am

Tukar warranty also no use. Servis dan kualiti tak bagus! Must elsewhere don’t drive honda la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • vivizurianti on Mar 27, 2020 at 10:50 am

When the MCO over (may even extend longer till April end), honda service centres will be very overwhelmed, delayed of many maintenance works, understaffed, lack of parts, etc. 60 days may not be enough due to long list of maintenance works.

Honda then may claims “Due to extended delay of your car’s maintenance, we shall void all warranty”.

• featherfly on Mar 27, 2020 at 11:20 am

In the past used to be reliable honda. But today, this is really unsafe brand. Not just takata airbags, earth dream cvt issues, there are also so problems on many quality parts that warranty always can’t last longer and servicing also problems too

• taknakhonda on Mar 27, 2020 at 11:47 am

Enjoy honda cvt gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using cvt gearbox, feels jerking. And ask you to pay more costlier

• Quartz on Mar 27, 2020 at 11:52 am

FOUR Words: Unworthy, Unenjoyable, Uncomfortable & Worst,

• Honda Regret Owner on Mar 27, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Same thing, isn’t it? Civic always having problem. Warranty last very fast! Why have to go to service center again? Too tired and headache. This shows that Honda Customer Care is very terrible as well and we, malaysians always cheated by Honda Malaysia.

• Copy Paste II on Mar 27, 2020 at 2:42 pm

Copy Paste: “For those buying honda. Really have to kesian 150k+ honda owners too in Malaysia. Servis dan kualiti tak bagus la, even paid so much for new parts” said Sunset.

• Last time for me to service my car in a Honda service center. Unworthy, not trustable and bad service. Have been going there for 2 and a half year because of my concern for the 5 years warranty. But now it seems to me it’s just a tactic to bind their customer to their service. What’s more, they never told me about that the free service charge has a deadline, not based on which service. Customer has to fit themselves to Honda service timeline, this is ridiculous. What’s more changing of engine oil and filter can takes up to 4 hours. Goodbye Honda service center.

• Chowhj on Jan 11, 2022 at 12:09 pm

In-correct info. I was threaten car warranty void if not service my new car per schedule (10k should be in June, because of lock down serviced in Nov). Trying to catch up, I was advised to perform 20k in Jan 2022, change the full syn engine oil and oil filter which was only less than 2 months old. I was again informed my car warranty void if not rigidly perform as stipulated. I am lost on what is the right thing to do!! . the advice seemed not longer coming from the use to be trusted Honda service center.