MCO violators to serve time in prison academy centres

The government will utilise the prison department’s academy buildings as detention centres to hold those who are sentenced for movement control order (MCO) offences. Offenders will serve time at one of the 13 academy premises that will be gazetted by the ministry of home affairs as detention centres, The Star reports.

The centres will house MCO offenders to avoid overcrowding in prisons, where there is an inability to carry out social distancing, senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said in his daily non-health press briefing yesterday. He added that offenders should not expect things to be cushy, despite it not being an actual prison.

“By using these premises as detention centres, we have resolved concerns of overcrowding in prisons. Bear in mind that the detention centres may not have the physical outlook of a prison, but all prison rules will still apply there,” he said.

Ismail Sabri said the move was in preparation for the expected swell in detainees, in line with the decision to remand and bring MCO violators to court instead of issuing them with a RM1,000 compound, which he said has not served as enough of a deterrence.

“Maybe people have forgotten, or have chosen to forget, so the police will no longer compromise by just issuing a compound but will send violators to court. If you are remanded, you might spend a day or two in the lock-up,” he said on Tuesday.

“It won’t be like now, where a compound notice is issued and you can go back home and pay the fine within two weeks. The current mentality is akin to getting a traffic summons that you don’t need to pay until whenever, because nothing happens. This time though, it is different,” he stated.

On Tuesday, police arrested 612 people for MCO violations. Of that total, 590 were remanded while the others released on police bail. The police conducted 799 roadblocks nationwide and inspected 545,182 vehicles.

The number of arrests dropped from Monday, when 1,374 individuals were arrested for MCO-related offences, and 931 of those were slapped with the RM1,000 fine. The number of vehicles, however, did not differ much from Monday, when 546,553 vehicles were inspected at 786 roadblocks.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mutants of COVID-20 & COVID-21 on Apr 16, 2020 at 1:57 pm

Going to jail its in actual fact a safe haven for vagrants and escapees from loan sharks during eMCO months.

• Rempah pembunuh Covid-19 on Apr 16, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Going to jail is a very good punishment to prevent any stuborn people from going out just to relax, lepak and gather. I really hope that this new Game-Changing punishment will scare off those stubborn people and stop the Game Over Coronavirus pandemic ASAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • hazri on Apr 17, 2020 at 8:24 am

maybe u one of them?

• Penangkap ikan bilis parit on Apr 17, 2020 at 3:16 pm

Kudos to Prison Academy provides food and shelter for homeless souls.

• azrai on Apr 16, 2020 at 3:05 pm

Mom: Son, where are you?
    Son: I am in the academy.
    Mom: Congratulation my son.No SPM still manage to get a place in an academy.
    Son: Syukur. We got good government.
    Mom: How about money?
    Son: Scholarship.1 day 6 time free food.

• Ben Yap on Apr 17, 2020 at 12:20 am

since it’s in the academy, it’s not so dangerous when you drop the soap.

• Backliners on Apr 20, 2020 at 9:23 am

MCO news?

Paultan.org covering car, transport industry related news. Ok.