2020 DS 7 Crossback priced at RM259,888 in Malaysia – now with a 12-inch touchscreen infotainment system

DS Automobiles Malaysia has revised the pricing for the DS 7 Crossback, which now goes for RM259,888 on-the-road without insurance. The fully-imported premium SUV was first launched here back in June 2019 with a price tag of RM199,888, so you’re looking at an increase of RM60,000.

In terms of specifications, the DS 7 is powered by a 1.6 litre Turbo High Pressure (THP) four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 165 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,400 rpm. The mill send drive to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission with an electronic gearlever and paddle shifters.

Our local-spec DS 7 comes in Performance Line trim, which adds matte black highlights, Carmin Red badging and 19-inch “Beijing” Black Onyx turbine-style alloy wheels. You still get Active LED Vision headlamps at the front that adjust the light spread – five modes are available – depending on road conditions.

Directional indicators, LED fog lamps and LED daytime running lights are also part of the setup, the last of which is arranged in a vertical dot-and-dashes pattern to look like beaded stitches. As for the rear, the slim LED taillights are inspired by the E-Tense concept, sporting laser-etched, three-dimensional scales.

The stylish exterior is matched by an equally attractive interior, with Basalt Black Alcantara covering most surfaces of the cabin, including the seats and even the dashboard and door panels. Other highlights include “Clous de Paris” guilloche engravings on the centre console toggle switches as well as a BRM R180 analogue clock that tilts up from the dashboard upon startup.

A new addition is a 12-inch touchscreen infotainment system that replaces the previous eight-inch unit, and this handles multimedia, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, MirrorLink connectivity, DS Connect, climate control, navigation and Wi-Fi hotspot functions. The system is paired with a 14-speaker, 515-watt Focal Electra Hi-Fi sound system, while a 12.3-inch display in front of the driver serves as a digital instrument cluster.

Other bits of standard kit include keyless entry and start, power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory, power-reclining rear seats with a one-touch folding function, cruise control, triple-zone auto climate control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a Qi wireless smartphone charger, a reverse camera, acoustic glass windscreen and a handsfree powered tailgate.

Safety-wise, the DS 7 comes as standard with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and Driver Attention Warning, along with ISOFIX child seat anchors on the rear and front passenger seat. Autonomous emergency braking remains missing from the kit list.

There are now just two colours to choose from – Nera Black and Pearl White – with Absolute Red and Platinum Grey dropped. Included in the list price is a five-year/120,000 km warranty, five years of 24-hour roadside assistance, access to the SkyLounge at Subang Skypark, and the DS Only You service. Find full specifications of the 2020 DS 7 Crossback on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 DS 7 Crossback 1.6 THP Performance Line

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sick & Tired on Apr 23, 2020 at 10:40 am

Rm60k increase due to PH-made NAP2020. Thank you PH for making us consumers poorer. Thank goodness your gone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
    • true tales on Apr 25, 2020 at 11:05 pm

I think you are mistaken. Citroen were allowed to sell their first batch ds7 for introductory price at rm 199,888 in june last year. There is nothing related to NAP. Im not supporting politically but im just putting facts. Besides, the price now at 260k is PN approval which is our current gomen. So you should blame them for having this price and i believe all cars will be expensive from this gomen.

• Bro. June last year didn’t have NAP2020. That came in Feb 2020 and thus car prices approved post Feb is reflected on NAP2020 policy. This is all blamed on PH as PN got nothing to do with NAP2020. Not political here but just stating the facts chronologically.

• “im not supporting politically but im just putting facts” then proceed to make a biased comment. lol bro. dont do if,but and maybe . do absolute.

• Suren on Apr 23, 2020 at 10:46 am

How long are you planning to use the same engine? Please change ‍♂️

• M & B on Apr 23, 2020 at 10:59 am

Price increase due to more features.

• fishy business on Apr 23, 2020 at 11:08 am

If complain about this price, buy Santa Fe/Camry/Ranger Raptor/320/Harrier/CX-8/Mazda 6 with high quality! That’s all.

• Autobahn on Apr 23, 2020 at 11:52 am

160ps for 260k. Must be drunk

• The pricing is very funny

• razor on Apr 23, 2020 at 3:25 pm

D.O.A = dead on arrival

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 23, 2020 at 4:58 pm

backside government backside car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
    • Calvin on Apr 24, 2020 at 10:12 am

The prices was fixed by useless previous government. The current good government have to suffer the failures of the useless previous government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • true tales on Apr 25, 2020 at 11:06 pm

been order to release the 2nd batch, company must submit price application to miti for approval, so yeah.. current govt allow this and not previous gomen.. previous gomen approve 200k

• vivizurianti on Apr 23, 2020 at 6:39 pm

Better buy X70 fully loaded….with spare change to cuti-cuti malaysia with family and friends….

• R HARINDRANATH on Apr 23, 2020 at 7:09 pm

The RM60k price increase and lack of the latest safety kit at that RM259K procetag will kill this already dying brand. A Volvo XC40 and even an Entry level GLC200 will look like a much better buy at this point in time. The Toyota Harrier is older but still a relevant competitor with better spec but maybe looks a little more sedate inside and out. Are Malaysian customers willing to pay to just stand out in the crowd at this price point?

• Theven on Apr 25, 2020 at 10:57 pm

For that price no AEB. Useless car. Oh well we have other options. Buyers beware.

• This SUV was in my dream list for its’ launching price below RM200k. Now, the price will even make it as cold model. For RM260k,I will just add RM40k to buy Volvo S60 T8.