FIRST LOOK: 2020 Volvo S60 T8 CKD in M’sia, RM296k

Volvo has finally introduced the locally-assembled S60 sedan, available here in the sole T8 Twin Engine R-Design variant and priced at RM295,888. The sleek sedan was previously imported from the United States of America, but the CKD version is nearly identical in terms of build quality and specifications.

Several items have been omitted from the kit CBU kit list, those being the Birch Light exterior paint, folding rear bench, as well as cargo netting and 12-volt socket in the boot. The first batch of cars still won’t come with the 180 km/h limit, but moving forward, the second batch will have the cap.

While the S60 CKD loses out on some practical features, it does gain a new one – Park Assist Pilot. This system offers support for parallel and perpendicular parking by making use of the parking sensors (all eight of them), and it also comes with a 360-degree camera system for an added peace of mind.

In terms of powertrain, the same 2.0 litre twin-charged Drive-E petrol engine acts as the primary propulsion system, offering 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque. This is married with a rear-mounted electric motor delivering 87 hp and 240 Nm of torque, and together they produce 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque.

An eight-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles) is standard, allowing the car to do the 0-100 km/h sprint in 4.4 seconds before maxing out at 250 km/h. The 11.6 kWh lithium-ion battery offers a pure electric range of up to 49 km, and a full charge takes between three to five hours, depending on the outlet it’s plugged into. So, what do you think of the S60 T8 CKD? Let us know, below.

GALLERY: 2020 Volvo S60 T8 Twin Engine R-Design CKD

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• digidigi on May 19, 2020 at 10:30 am

good package but most people still choose 3er and c class at this pricing

• Frozen on May 19, 2020 at 11:31 am

This car is lower level than german but price like german. Price to fail again here like all previous models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • This price? At this economic downturn with so suffering? Do you know the rich is badly affected? The rich in Malaysia susah now because their business all gone downhill. You will be lucky to even sell 10 units this year. Even 100k car also gonna be hard to sell this year 2020.

Don’t think 400 hp is so great you know. People now thinking what food to put on the table. The rich are asking how to I get back my business back again and get m company running again.

• is this S60 come with the same improved brake-by-wire system with advanced battery charging like the face-lifted XC90?

• Ranger J on May 19, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Just because you can’t afford a RM100k car, let alone the new S60 CKD, don’t be a sourgrape. Cheer up mate. I’m hoping you can afford at least the MyVi? Oh wait, you’re having financial difficulties? I feel you man. You can stick to your current car (if you have one….)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • vivizurianti on May 19, 2020 at 11:46 am

Buy this car, drive this car for balik kampung and raya, Sure glam and handsome 100%! Abang abang polis surely will tabik this car all the way.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 19, 2020 at 4:16 pm

those who bought the cbu versions. congrats. u guys got a good deal.

• Ranger J on May 19, 2020 at 9:17 pm

Just because you can’t afford a RM100k car, let alone the new S60 CKD, don’t be a sourgrape. Cheer up mate. I’m hoping you can afford at least the MyVi? Oh wait, you’re having financial difficulties? I feel you man. You can stick to your current car (if you have one….)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11