Child seat usage: enforcement postponed to end-2020

The government has announced that the enforcement of child car seat usage has been postponed until the end of the year, Bernama reports. This follows on the announcement made in July, when it said that enforcement was being deferred until a later date.

Usage of child car seats in Malaysia became mandatory in January this year. However, then-transport minister Anthony Loke said that drivers would not be penalised for not complying with the rules for the first six months of the year, with July 1 the date when enforcement was set to begin.

According to transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong, the grace period will allow the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) to review the suitability of enforcing the use of child restraint system (CRS) devices, with a comprehensive action plan on it being announced later. He added that no summons will be issued until the end of the year to vehicle owners who do not have a CRS installed.

“The ministry is looking at feedback from the public, on the standards of weight, height and age of children that have to use CRS so that it remains on par and relevant to international safety standards. I have also instructed MIROS to discuss with the associations of vehicle manufacturers and dealers, as well as the manufacturers and importers of CRS to reduce the cost of CRS,” he explained.

“Give us until end of the year, until we have enough narrative and advocacy to implement the ruling,” he said in response to a question by Datuk Zakaria Mohd Edris @ Tubau (Bersatu-Libaran) at the Dewan Rakyat, who asked for an update on the status of the mandatory CRS policy and whether there were plans to extend the implementation of its usage to the public transport sector.

To the latter question, Wee said that at present, the use of CRS was only compulsory for private vehicles, as there were constraints to expand its implementation to public vehicles due to practicality factors. However, he said, public vehicles such as taxis and e-hailing are encouraged to provide universal CRS for customers.

He reiterated that which was previously said, that making the use of CRS compulsory was for child safety, and not to cause inconvenience to the public. “It is to change the public’s mindset and attitude on the importance of using CRS to ensure the safety of their children,” he stated.

Despite the delay in enforcing this vital ruling, the advice remains – the benefits of using a child seat are obvious, and you shouldn’t need a law to force you to do what is best for the well-being and safety of your children.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Albert on Aug 12, 2020 at 5:40 pm

WHEN authorities want to enforce certain regulations regards road safety and keep postponing..who will bother?
    Now,car safety belts enforcement…have you seen any enforcement besar besaran lately?

• Chow Mah Wah on Aug 12, 2020 at 6:25 pm

It’s a global joke when a group of ppl let comedian becomes rulers emphasized more on their piggy bank well being rather than the livelihood and safety of the citizens. It’s a norm to witness overloaded cars and mpv with more than 10 adults and kids inside it zooming around the roads and highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 12, 2020 at 10:34 pm

Lucky we threw out these bunch of comedians after merely 22months of stupidity. We couldn’t stand it anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Safety First on Aug 12, 2020 at 5:56 pm

No worries. Many will come here complain why Gahmen still don’t force them to use childseats as if they need to pushed before enforcement date.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • vivizurianti on Aug 12, 2020 at 6:11 pm

Last time, style U-turn.
    Now, style postponed.

Life-death matters can wait until year end, right?

• YB Albert on Aug 12, 2020 at 7:48 pm

Uturn..postpone…In future,dont announce anything until u r 200 percent sure.All the tinting,car safety belt ruling regulations..how often is the enforcement? Any concrete figures?

• Hussein on Aug 12, 2020 at 7:55 pm

It is the responsibility of parents to install the child seat for their children’s safety. It does not have to wait for the government to enforce the law for the parents to start doing it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
      • Norlia on Aug 12, 2020 at 10:47 pm

Sigh… modern day parents are like politicians. It is never their fault, it is always someone else’s responsibility.

• Logical Deduction on Aug 12, 2020 at 10:37 pm

Sure can. You are doing it. Who asked you to wait until year end?

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 12, 2020 at 8:01 pm

My kids have been in car seats for the past 11 years. My 11 year old still has to sit in the car seat on long journeys. The government isn’t responsible for your children’s safety, you are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
  • Ruslan Bahari on Aug 12, 2020 at 8:51 pm

Can we postpone the entire year, please?

• Make safer car more affordable, lower the tax.

• pomen on Aug 13, 2020 at 10:28 am

dark tinted, non-spec number plate = immediate implement
    child seat = postponed

lol

• You don’t need the dumb and dumber to tell you about your child safety. You’re are smarter than them.

• Aniki Tan on Aug 13, 2020 at 12:47 pm

people still care u got buckle up ur seatbelt seating behind or not?