2020 Moto2: Hafizh Syahrin speaks about his future

After his horrific crash two weeks ago during the race at Red Bull Ring, Austria, where he collided with Enea Bastianini’s fallen bike, Malaysian Moto2 rider Hafizh Syahrin is back in Malaysia and under quarantine. During this time of enforced rest, Hafizh spoke to Astro Arena in a video interview.

Uploaded to Youtube, which you can view below. During the interview, Hafizh was asked several questions about a rather mysterious status he previously posted, saying, “End 2020 13 years in motorsports. Bye-bye.” The segment starts in the fourth minute and from Hafizh’ reaction, the subject seems to be rather sensitive.

Asked about what he meant by the post, Hafizh seemed reluctant to answer, saying it was “nothing” and leaving sentences hanging. He also made remarks about his discomfort with politics in MotoGP.

Questioned about his future in motorcycle racing and whether he would be competing next year, Hafizh answered, “if you ask how I feel, I definitely want to race but when there is strong political interference and envy, that makes it hard for me to continue.”

Hafizh also made reference to certain parties not having confidence in Malaysian riders. “Just move on and better be myself,” said Hafizh.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• azrai on Aug 25, 2020 at 3:27 pm

1st Alex Yoong.
    Today Hafiz.
    Yes, MotoGP and F1 ruined their carrier…so how come Marquez and Hamilton can be so successful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Animus on Aug 25, 2020 at 9:37 pm

In regards to 2-wheel motorsports, its different with 4-wheel as we properly hone multiple talents. Right now there are more Malaysian riders in races other than MotoGP such as FIM CEV Repsol where Adam Norrodin was always seen fighting for the podium in Moto2 and Syariffudin Azman showing his talent by winning the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup in Losail. As for Hafizh Syahrin, its more about the politics of MotoGP as some parties in it view the Asian riders as inferior, Japanese riders included.

• Shahrul on Aug 25, 2020 at 9:40 pm

There not from Malaysia

• Fogarty916 on Aug 27, 2020 at 11:49 am

Hamilton was backed by McLaren during his karting days, Marquez is backed by Repsol for his entire career. Can’t really compare.

• Doohan on Aug 25, 2020 at 4:30 pm

Is it because many of your fans claimed KTM was seriously inferior bike when you are a fast pro racer and then this year KTM had shown very strong performances – winning 2 races. Yes, they should feel.ashamed of themselves. Ducati wasn’t even that fast when.first entered motoGP. Everything takes time.

• Last year the bike was not really good. Even Zarco quit the team halfway because he can’t ride it.

• potenza23 on Aug 26, 2020 at 1:34 pm

What to be ashamed of? Last year KTM really an inferior bike. This year KTM really make good progress. Looks like KTM & Suzuki have more balance bike than others. So, if Hafizh stay at Tech3 this year, with Oliveira even win a race (so far, at least), I do think Hafizh can be a regular in the top 10 if provided with the same bike.

• Fogarty916 on Aug 27, 2020 at 11:29 am

Not really, Ducati already got 1 win & few podiums in first year. It all went to shit after Stoner left. They’re only good after Dorna introduced spec ECU.

• Fogarty916 on Aug 27, 2020 at 11:40 am

Not really, Ducati already got 1 win & few podiums in first season. It all went to shit after Stoner left. They’re only good after Dorna introduced spec ECU.

Hafizh can’t even beat Morbidelli consistently in their rookie season despite having better bike & team.

• Fogarty916 on Aug 27, 2020 at 11:51 am

If all else fails, join ARRC, but don’t cry if Azlan Shah beats you.

• what to do, malaysians considered motorsport as a niched industry, definitely not as big as football.

when you ride motor also people lable you macam2. how to even convince government to grow more talents for future?

theres just not enough collective passion.