First Mitsubishi Xpander rolls off Pekan assembly line – mass production officially starts, launch next month

The first Mitsubishi Xpander has officially rolled off its assembly line in Pekan, Pahang and this marks the start of mass production at the Hicom Automotive Manufacturers factory. The line is designed to produce 6,000 units of the Xpander per year. Malaysia is the third country to assemble the Xpander after Indonesia and Vietnam.

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) invested in setting up a new body shop, painting jigs and a tester line at the Pekan plant. The Xpander goes through a pre-treatment and electro deposition process, where it performs 360-degree somersaults in an ED-coat tank (literally, see the video above, from 5:00) at what MMM calls one of the most advanced paint shops in ASEAN.

A layer of primer is then painted by a robotic system and then dry heated in an oven bay. Thereafter, the seven-seater’s body is painted again with multiple coats to a fine finish. MMC certified auditors from Japan are stationed at the plant to ensure high standards and consistent quality.

First Mitsubishi Xpander rolls off Pekan assembly line – mass production officially starts, launch next month

“The Xpander is a significant model for MMM and we are confident that it will be a favourite among many Malaysians. The move to localise the Xpander is to meet the demands of our Malaysian customers. We want to offer a more price competitive model with better specifications providing customers more convenience and comfort,” said MMM CEO Tomoyuki Shinnishi.

“We ensure all our customers that each unit of the Xpander undergoes extensive quality control tests, before it is shipped out. Every inch is checked by human eyes and cutting-edge technology,” he added. We recently had a chat with Shinnishi and senior VP Hoffen Teh – check out the video interview here.

The Xpander has been a successful product for MMC. Since its debut in Indonesia in August 2017, the people carrier with SUV-flavoured design has achieved sales of around 270,000 units across the region (including the Xpander Cross) as of September 2020. Malaysia will very soon add to the tally, as the Xpander will be launched here next month. Order books opened last week.

A single variant will be offered here, to be priced below RM100k and competitively against the Honda BR-V and Toyota Rush. Behind that bold Dynamic Shield face is a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated engine with 105 PS and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 4A91 MIVEC unit sends drive to the front axle via a four-speed automatic gearbox.

As for equipment, the facelifted Xpander comes with bi-LED reflector headlamps and LED daytime running lights. The LED eyes mark this out as the facelift (the original car had halogen lamps), along with U-shaped louvres that replace the triple slats on the grille. Also fitted are LED tail lights and 16-inch two-tone alloys.

Inside, a black interior with quilted leather seats, a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, a 360-degree camera system and dashcam are unique-to-Malaysia features. Elsewhere, the Xpander also comes with keyless entry with push start, a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, six speakers and four roof-mounted rear air vents. Safety-wise, there’s two airbags, ABS/EBD, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors. Full details from our media preview report here.

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander colour options

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Proton Cina on Oct 28, 2020 at 10:53 am

“A single variant will be offered here, to be priced below RM100k”

X50 is so overpriced for a China car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Celup King on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:45 am

Launch next month but it died this month. Xpander stillborn death. RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Better rebadged this Nissan Grand Livina rm65k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • I will repeat:
          They basically saying other markets don’t care about safety, so they’d design ngam-ngam for with 2 airbags and now they are pushing this car to us as a joke in hopes they can have some market presence here. Only fools will buy into such insincerity as there’s not even an option for them to up the airbag count!!!! This car shouldn’t exist on our roads and I hope it stays that way to send them a message; your freaking large audio screen with that horrible cover is worthless feature when you only give 2 airbags!!!!

They can take their ASEAN only (minus M’sia and S’pore) car and shove it up their Jap arses!

• Safety First on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:48 pm

I will repeat: P2 Aruz 6 airbags, RM68k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Safety First on Oct 28, 2020 at 3:36 pm

I will also add, Aruz crash test results are suspected because they are faked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:19 pm

No they weren’t.

• Korean Fan on Oct 28, 2020 at 8:44 pm

Respect bro Hafriz for setting Aruz record straight. Double fistbump!!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 30, 2020 at 11:04 am

Thanks. Now I know Korean Fan is also a Kunta dupe. Well done.

• Indonesia rm65k for xpander
      China binyuex50 rm50k only

• Celup King on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:41 pm

If MMM not selling Spender at Rm65k same as Indon, that means they are cheating us. The Jepunis are blatantly cheating us.

• Another poor attempt to badmouth the X50 by the resident troll…

• Very cool looking crossover. Packed with features as well. Competition is always good for the potential buyers. SUV and 7 seater is most Malaysians choice of vehicle. Even for going to the office its looks exclusive. Well Done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • John Doe on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Packed with “features” ?? Are you spastic or retarded ? You calling 2 airbags ‘packed with features’ ??? Lol even the cheapest x50 is a better car this is a death trap of a car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Try to comment without name calling. You don’t see me calling people names over the lack of Apple Car Play or Android Auto in the X50. Be civilized when commenting. We all deserve respect. Only 2 airbag is surely a lack, same as BR-V, but overall still very well equipped. Respect other peoples point of view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:38 pm

Yes guys, please be civilised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Safety First on Oct 28, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Apple Car Play or Android Auto is more important than the 2 extra airbags in X50 Standard? Interesting….

• John Doe on Oct 29, 2020 at 1:14 am

My bad my sincere apologies. Thought I was speaking to a Mitsubishi salesman lol hence the sharpness

• cruiser on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:29 am

Overall package is just nice..

• adamar on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:40 am

Shame, very under power and dinosaur gear box. Now 21st century, no more lame mpv and very over price.

• Pro just listen to me on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:40 am

doesnt change the fact that this is an indon car. low quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 28, 2020 at 11:47 am

2 airbag… katak bawah tempurung.

• matt farrell on Oct 28, 2020 at 12:20 pm

I just hope the Malaysian built Xpander does not have quality issues like the Indonesian ones, some
    of our Xpanders left the factory with mismatched bumpers, idle up issue and fuel pump problems

• vivizurianti on Oct 28, 2020 at 2:39 pm

Build as many as you want at the factory. But I am guessing the reception of Xpander will be lukewarm.

Maybe Mitsu can give free umbrellas and rubber mat, to attract buyers? hehehe

• I have been waiting for this vehicle for a very long time, but in the I’ve got myself a Honda, can’t wait no more.