MySejahtera scan to pump fuel – MKN confirms that no scanning is needed for refuelling if paying at the pump

There’s some confusion at the moment regarding MySejahtera scanning at the fuel pump and if it is a requirement before you carry out refuelling. Well, the answer is that it is compulsory, according to authorities we have spoken to.

Yesterday, news reports emerged quoting Bukit Aman CID deputy director DCP Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid as saying that that registering using the contact tracing service is mandatory even if you do not enter the station’s convenience store, where the QR code is usually placed.

“If the people do not register or scan, how will the police trace them if there are Covid-19 cases in the area?” he said. He explained that because petrol stations were public spaces with heavy human traffic, visitors were as such required to wear face masks, register for contact tracing, have their temperature scanned and use hand sanitisers.

UPDATE (1.55pm): The confusion over whether it is mandatory to scan the MySejahtera app when refuelling remains. While the police say there is a need, the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) says there is no need to scan, as The Star reports. Both the MKN and CPRC cannot seem to confirm if a scan is mandatory – in the morning, it was yes, but both now cannot confirm if the move is compulsory. Looks like we have to wait to see if senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob says if it is necessary.

UPDATE: (4.55pm) At his non-health press briefing earlier, senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob finally cleared the air over the confusion. He said that there is no need to register or check-in when refueling if you are paying at the pump via credit card, and outlined what actions that needed registering for, and those that didn’t.

There is no need to scan the MySejahtera QR code or sign-in manually if you:

• Pay for fuel with credit/debit card or an app such as Setel
  • Pay for fuel from outside the station’s convenience store (through the pigeonhole pay window)
  • Pump air in your vehicle’s tyres
  • Wash your car at an auto car wash (with payment made through car window)

However, you will need to scan the MySejahtera app or register manually if you:

• Enter the shop to pay for fuel, purchase items or use the ATM
  • Use the toilet or surau
  • Send the car for service at the station
  • Wash your car at a manual car wash

This latest update supersedes all previous statements made by authorities, including the police. The headline of this story has also been edited to reflect the update.

Calls to both the National Security Council (MKN) and the Crisis Preparedness and Response Centre (CPRC) regarding the matter earlier this morning reiterated that mandatory MySejahtera scanning is needed at the petrol station, even for pumping fuel.

The point is, once you enter any premises, it is a requirement to do a MySejahtera check-in. This means scanning if you’re going to be physically handling anything there, even if you’re just using the toilet or filling up air in your tyres.

This supersedes the response from an e-mail dated last month regarding a public enquiry on the need to scan before pumping fuel, in which the reply from the CPRC then was that there was no need to do so. It would seem that this is now outdated.

Meanwhile, the MKN said that even though it is not listed in the standard operating procedure (SOP), it is compulsory to perform a MySejahtera scan when entering any premises. If you are in the midst of refueling, and the cops show up to carry out a spot check, you could be fined RM1,000 for not having checked in, they said.

So, just scan in when you get to the petrol station – it’s the proper thing to do, given that the fight against Covid-19 is far from over.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Michael Lee on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:10 am

You mentioned that CPRC and MKN clarified is a must to scan MySejahtera app.

While over at FMT https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2020/11/10/no-need-to-scan-mysejahtera-while-filling-petrol/ , they also called to clarify and CPRC says no need.

Both your comments are dated today.

Please clarify.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:01 pm

FMT report is based on an old email reply dated October. While we called MKN and CPRC this morning itself.

Anyway, conflicting reports everywhere. We are clarifying with the proper authorities again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • panjang on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Yup..MKN and CPRC said no need to scan as its brief encounter.
        Only need if we enter inside the building.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:44 pm

We are doing a follow up story now. Basically neither the MKN or the CPRC can confirm either way now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • To make it more complicated, Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) said no need. Hahaaha…. dunno who to listen now…

• They are jokes

• Jay Chew on Nov 10, 2020 at 2:14 pm

Would be good if can mentioned as of when this article got it details from. Writing a contradicting article at this time will only confuse the public further.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:43 pm

Please get your info from credible source. FMT is hardly credible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • FMT did write that they clarified with MKN. I don’t think FMT is unreliable. I think MKN is unreliable.

• Avenger on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:11 am

Again, the government is very clear on the procedures & requirements. However petrol stations themselves are not adhering to these requirements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • *Clap clap backdoor gahmen… kipidapp.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:59 pm

Dei, if the government had been clear, there would not have been any confusion in the first place! Instead of holding the government accountable, you blame others instead. I won’t be surprised if you work for the government la. If you don’t, please apply for a government position, you will fit right in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Maybe ministry clear what they doing but when more ministry join in woohoooo different direction coming… Ismail sabri vs azmin ali… 2 menteri kanan lawan utk jadi tpm wakakakaka

• Dr Strange on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:15 am

Keje takde, income takde…makan takde..minyak takdak….
    Bateri abes, pon kredit abes… camne nk scan MySejahtera app.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Avenger on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:17 am

Incoming people who don’t care that our infection case are now triple/quad digits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:21 am

So I drive to a petrol station with the intention of repressurised my tyres, park my car at the air pump, walk to the station entrance, probably long queue and waiting to scan MySejahtera, walk back to the air pump then only can complete my tasks. In the brief few minutes I hogged the air pump doing nothing when I can just complete the task within that time frame without much hassle of scanning at the station entrance. Kementerian Telor Penyu just can’t even streamline a proper SOP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:46 pm

Ask yourself, in that moment there did you touch the air pump? If yes, there is contact and hence need for contact tracing. Simple common sense that Kementerian Telor Penyu has but you seemed to lack. Sick & tired of COVID19 cases rising up because people don’t care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • If everyone needs to go to the counter it’ll only create unnecessary crowd and increase the risk of infection

• masuda on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Best example

• Solution to that is to place the MySejahtera QR code on every pump and air station, toilet door, etc. ‍♂️

• Tay Kai beng on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:28 am

Need any scanning to use ATM (which normally has a separate room adjoining the bank) ? As far I know, there are no mentions from the banks.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:39 pm

This one is within the premise. Of coz have to scan lar… They’ve already propped up the codes at their glass doors…

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:49 pm

The same here. No mention from banks but they put up the QR code to scan right? So please scan before entering.

• PlainBS on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:47 am

Lol, now have to re-update again the scanning isn’t needed if only pumping fuel.

• azrai on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:48 am

We should wait for Bapa Dafi’s at 4.30pm to clarify.

• Credit Card on Nov 10, 2020 at 11:55 am

So how about credit card users? Purposely go to the crowded store just to scan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Zairee Zasry on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Waiting for someone blew up the petrol station using hp

• isi stail boss on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:18 pm

I’ve only use SETEL to pay for fuel..now need to go to the store just to scan…not like a boss la bruhh if like that

• Chris on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:25 pm

It is not only at petrol stations, even till today morning, people are still not wearing mask, spitting around,blowing nose and smoking on top of that. Mind you, they don’t even have a mask on or around their face…LOL…

• Ollie on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:27 pm

Firstly, put in place the IPCMC before the police start enforcing anything. What happened to the Mongolian women rape case? A lady in Sabah gave birth in her car at a roadblock. People are being found dead in the lockup. The coroner just gave a stern warning to the IGP that all deaths in custody must be investigated as murder cases. Police can take videos of people being raided and massage parlours bring raided and put on TV3 and we can’t record them?? How about cctv recording at places that are raided by police or when an arrest happens? Delete the cctv recording? Nonsense. ACAB.

• Sick & Tired on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Eh what??? How is this got to do with enforcement at petrol stations to prevent COVID19 spreading? How is this even automotive related?

• Lolwhut? on Nov 10, 2020 at 12:57 pm

IPCMC got to do power abuse & double standards…Minister balik turki rilek aje, rakyat nak balik kampung kat pahang xboleh plak….

• Not crowded at the petrol pumps….now must all crowd near the shop to scan, even goto toilet as emergency.
    Real incompetents

• Benjamin on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:06 pm

Atm entrance don’t have qr code. Only main entrance door to bank have. A few banks I go don’t have.

• If they require you to scan the qr code, then petrol stations should have the qr code positioned at all the pumps for convenience and also to reduce the risk of close contact at the office/convenience store doors

• Amriji on Nov 10, 2020 at 5:03 pm

Just remember that U cannot use your mobile phone at the pump. It is a fire risk. U can try to scan it from within your vehicle…but goof luck on that. Due to distance and glare…some customers will bound to go outside the car and scan their code. Then…Kaboom!!!

• genek on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:26 pm

Not scanning MySejahtera fine Rm1000.
    Using handphone at petrol station fine Rm5000.
    So finally instead of “contactless”, now go to touch the pen and book that “everyone” touching to record yr presence and caught Covid19. How ?

• Cooperation required from all parties. Have ample notice of procedures. Avail QR codes at each pump for check in before filling. Customers to follow as notified.

• Fabian on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:46 pm

By right patrol stations no need to scan as hardly anyone close to the others more than 3-4 meters apart unless in the convenience store … more close proximities at road side stalls, ATMs, take away counters, open air car wash etc. … all these without scanners tapi rajin sangat kat petrol station.

• Fabian on Nov 10, 2020 at 1:47 pm

By right patrol stations no need to scan as hardly anyone close to the others more than 3-4 meters apart unless in the convenience store … more close proximities at road side stalls, ATMs, take away counters, open air car wash etc. … all without scanners.

• Ben yap on Nov 10, 2020 at 2:49 pm

Trump would have sued our government for the ambiguous SOP if he is the one that got the summon.

• CHEOK on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:00 pm

Rules during refueling.
    1. off the engine.
    2. off the phone.
    Which part is difficult to understand? COVID will kill. Fuel burn will kill more terribly.

• lee cheng san on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:02 pm

on/off/on/off who actually is the authority on the matter? Obviously sitting on his arse

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Latest video circulating, wife sitting next to husband (driver) got saman RM1K for talking on hp without wearing mask (inside own car).

• Hadi75 on Nov 10, 2020 at 4:05 pm

I thought inside own car don’t need to use face mask.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 10, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Which goes to show the rules are interpreted as how the enforcement officer wishes it to be.

• Adrian K. on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:17 pm

Not to say we don’t follow sop we also care for our health but it doesn’t make sense since petrol pump are more than a metre apart. If everyone go to the counter to scan would that make things more crowded as everyone is grouped together in one place just to scan. And is also dangerous to use phone while in the station

• Ravinder Singh on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:47 pm

In the past. there were reported cases of handphone usage in petrol stations triggering explosions. If this is true, then is there a guarantee that such incidents will not happen when scanning at petrol stations?

• Kim Lee on Nov 10, 2020 at 3:54 pm

U Turn Gomen now mah……..we r paying for the U Turn but not the politicians. No wear mask also no RM1K fine!

• And so now it’s is ok to use the mobile right smack where we are pumping…. So the no use of mobile at a petrol pump is a hoax ahh?

There is going to be some many peoples that is going to scan at any one point of time and if the findings say that using the phone regardless of the reason will trigger danger. It used to be fine if u r caught using your phone in a petrol station…. So what about today?

Contradicting to the max

• Hadi75 on Nov 10, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Once, we the rakyat succeeded in lowering covid 19 infection rate. We followed SOP….waited patiently at roadblocks and supermarket. We celebrated Raya at home…we sacrificed alot… The frontliners sacrificed alot…and schools started to open…workers get to work BUT thanks to some stupid peoples, we, the rakyat have to face it all over again

• Vinod N on Nov 10, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Aren’t we barred from using our phones at the pump?

• Waksegan Waksegan on Nov 10, 2020 at 4:27 pm

If apply same principle…we need to scan at tol plaza ans roadblock???

• Rosli MA on Nov 10, 2020 at 4:59 pm

The idea is to minimise contact as much as possible. Pump operators should put up barcode at all pumps. Many already try to eliminate unnecessary contact by using Setel.

• Teoh Guan Pheow on Nov 10, 2020 at 5:31 pm

All static electric device cannot be operated near the petrol pump,Fire Hazards. And if the government required then the scanning need to be done 10 meters away from the pump area. Every pump is more than 6 meters apart and only sanitizing is require before touch the pumps
    Oil and gas veteran

• OMG… why all comment is so hard… Just simple only… Scan.. Need QR code… So Pump station compulsory need to provide all pump with QR code… Even for air pump. If the station can’t provide QR code, we can complain to MKN to take action. The End.