OFFICIAL: 2021 Perodua D55L SUV open for booking – 1.0T CVT, Level 2 autonomous, AEB std, from RM62.5k

Perodua D55L render

It’s official. Perodua has announced that its much-anticipated ‘D55L’ SUV is now open for booking, at the same time releasing first details on the Daihatsu Rocky-based model. Known by its internal codename so far, the SUV’s real name is still under wraps (some are saying it’s Perodua Ativa), but we now know that the D55L will be available in three variants – X, H, AV – at prices estimated between RM62,500 and RM73,400, on-the-road without insurance, with sales tax exemption.

UPDATE 1: The D55L’s name is out as the Perodua Ativa, along with more details and specs here

UPDATE 2: We’ve driven the new Perodua Ativa! Read our first impressions review here.

As expected, the D55L is priced higher than the Myvi, which tops out at RM52,697. Prices overlap that of the Aruz (RM68,526 to RM73,226), which is much larger, but also a lot less sophisticated. The Aruz is a budget seven-seater ladder frame MPV with SUV styling, while the D55L is a compact B-segment SUV underpinned by the latest Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform. They’re not using the term, but the D55L is clearly Perodua’s flagship, showcasing the best of what the market leader has to offer.

If you’re surprised by the price, wait till you hear about the features offered. Over the past few years, Perodua has been pushing the safety envelope, breaking new ground with the Myvi’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) in 2017. The Aruz of 2019 had ASA 2.0, which widened the operation range of pre-collision features and later found its way into the Axia and Bezza, P2’s entry models.

Perodua D55L render

Now, say hello to “ASA 3.0”, which includes features you probably would not have expected from a Perodua. The latest ASA is standard across the D55L range (previous models had it only in the top variants), which means that Pre-collision Warning (PCW), Pre-collision Braking (PCB or AEB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC) are for all variants. P2 says that the AEB operates at higher speeds than the current 2.0 version and is now capable of detecting two-wheeled vehicles (pedestrians were added in 2.0).

New for ASA 3.0 (not yet an official name, but we’re calling it this for simplicity) is Lane Departure Warning and Prevention, which is standard for all variants. The top AV spec’s ASA adds on Lane Keep Control, Blind Spot Monitor, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Adaptive Cruise Control! All these Level 2 autonomous driving kit are unprecedented at this price point, and we’re expecting no less than five ASEAN NCAP stars.

“True to our aim to continually bring more and more advanced technology to the masses, the Perodua D55L AV is Malaysia’s most affordable Level 2 Autonomous vehicle, bringing state-of-the-art safety and convenience to a wider audience. SUVs remain very much in demand, and the D55L is our trendiest offering in this regard. Its compactness, contemporary style and modern features make it the perfect companion for day-to-day urban lifestyles,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

ASA 3.0 isn’t the only thing that’s new to the brand. The D55L is also Perodua’s first vehicle with a turbocharged engine, and the first P2 model to adopt a CVT in place of the default four-speed torque converter automatic. Perodua says that the Turbo-CVT combo yields class-leading rated fuel efficiency of 18.9 km/l.

No further elaboration on the powertrain other than “downsized forced-induction” and CVT, but in Japan, the Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize twins are powered by a 1KR-VET 1.0 litre (996 cc) turbocharged three-cylinder engine with 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm. If the engine code sounds familiar, it is essentially the turbocharged version of the 1KR-VE used in the Axia and Bezza. The DOHC VVT unit has auto start-stop, which P2 calls Eco Idle.

The third-generation Myvi raised the equipment bar for Perodua – and affordable cars in Malaysia – by many metres in 2017 (still unmatched by Proton today), and the D55L is doing the same in 2021.

There are plenty of new-to-brand (and price segment) toys here – the D55L will have LED headlamps as standard across the range, while H and AV variants add on Adaptive Driving Beam (‘cuts out’ oncoming vehicles when high beam is on instead of dipping HB completely), a seven-inch multi-info display (digital instrument panel) and a nine-inch touchscreen infotainment system with voice recognition.

That’s all that Perodua is officially sharing for now, the key features of the D55L SUV. As for the rest of the kit list, the SUV – being the first model under the Perodua Smart Build blueprint and a “breakthrough model” for Perodua in the areas of style, safety, technology, equipment and value – should build on the Myvi’s equipment – things like keyless entry/push start and six airbags are expected.

As for colours, the X and H variants can be had in Glittering Silver, Granite Grey and Cobalt Blue, with the mid-spec H also available in Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red. AV buyers have the choice of Glittering Silver, Granite Grey, Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red, plus two-tone (black roof and A pillars) options for the two pearl colours (red and white). The two pearl hues and Cobalt Blue are new-to-P2 colours. Expect a small premium for the pearl colours, and another one for the black roof. A five-year/150,000 km warranty is part of the package.

Perodua is sure to have GearUp accessories for the D55L at launch or down the line, but you can check out what Daihatsu and Modellista (their first non-Toyota/Lexus project) have in the bodykit game – pics are below.

There has been much chatter on how the D55L compares against the recently-launched Proton X50, although it’s not really an apple-to-apple contest. The Perodua is a smaller SUV (335 mm shorter, 105 mm narrower, 75 mm shorter wheelbase, see the size comparison table above), it has a smaller engine (1.0L vs 1.5L, both are turbo triples) and is more affordable than the X50, which is priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300.

At around RM6k more, the entry-level X50 Standard has engine capacity and body size on its side, but is otherwise trounced by the D55L AV in safety and equipment.

Perodua’s SUV is expected to be launched early next month, and its name will be officially announced then. What do you think of the D55L’s package so far?

2021 Perodua D55L X – est RM62,500
Standard kit

• Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) “3.0”
  • Pre-collision Warning (PCW, now with two-wheeled vehicle detection)
  • Pre-collision Braking (PCB or AEB, now with two-wheeled vehicle detection)
  • Front Departure Alert (FDA)
  • Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC)
  • Lane Departure Warning and Prevention
  • LED headlamps
  • Glittering Silver, Granite Grey and Cobalt Blue colour options

2021 Perodua D55L H – est between RM62,500 and RM73,400
Adds on

• Adaptive Driving Beam (auto high beam that ‘cuts out’ oncoming vehicles)
  • 7.0-inch multi-info display (digital meter panel)
  • 9.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system with voice recognition
  • Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red colour options

2021 Perodua D55L AV – est RM73,400
Adds on

• Lane Keep Control
  • Blind Spot Monitor
  • Rear Cross Traffic Alert
  • Adaptive Cruise Control
  • Two-tone (black roof) option for Pearl Diamond White and Pearl Delima Red

GALLERY: JDM Daihatsu Rocky

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style at TAS 2020

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky Modellista kit

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:08 am

The king of sales is back to secure it’s position at the top. Well done Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 28
    • rider on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:58 am

welldone Perodua or welldone Daihatsu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • PEJUANG on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:56 pm

Both. both played a part in making the car. just like how P1 deserves praise for the x70 and x50 even if the car is mostly done by geely. tahniah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
        • Kancil Hybrid on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:02 pm

Mesians still preferred the CDM proton x50 then this jdm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
      • John Gagal on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:04 pm

Condolences to Proton X50 R.I.P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
        • ayamzzz on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:24 pm

Exactly, if they sleepwalking to bring the country down together with them. apanakdikata R.I.P gomen MY terbest!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Celup King on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:22 pm

Nothing to be proud since this is a Daihatsu car and Perodua only did a simple rebadging. This is not the same as Proton did with their massive reengineering effort to convert X50 & X70 from left hand to right hand drive properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 34
      • This is interesting duel btw Big brother Proton Iriz Active crossover Vs this Perodua new kid …can Perodua repeat their giantkilling upset again. Malaysians ready to be great again..

• Celup king kong on Feb 19, 2021 at 6:48 pm

X50 and X70 still china geely car u bodo dude. Proton rebadged it oso la. Convert right to left doesnt mean u design the whole car is yours. CKD from china reassemble in msia only. U should be proud perodua fully design gen 3 myvi, even export it as daihatsu boon to Indonesia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • PaCita on Feb 19, 2021 at 7:09 pm

Bhaiii…malaysia’s assemble daihatsu boon not doing well in Indonesia lah..

• Daihatsu boon aka myvi g3 is forgotten car in Indonesia market. Hurt izzit to swallow own saliva back when spit.

• dude really perodua design the myvi gen3?? i guess you dont know much about car, go search daihatsu sirion and comeback here and tell perodua design the myvi gen3 lol.

• Spin Too Much on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:50 pm

Wow. Bored Perodua salesmen so active today somemore spamming the like buttons. Well done Perodua. Meanwhile Proton sales continue to Raize (kahkahkahkah!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • M & B on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:09 am

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
    • Avenger on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:31 am

Nice JDM. gotta see Toyota Raize Modellista and Daihatsu Rocky Sporty Style bodikits … Merecikk abes wei hnnngggghh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • 1.0L 3 cylinder engine nice vibration~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • newme on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:12 am

The design is so 2000’s. What’s in the designer head?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 58
    • Betui brah, macm sy racun member2 smue beli Proton x50… tapi sendri ambik Perodua rocky.. hipokrit pon hipokrit la, janji heppi. ahakss Gomen terbest!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Designer on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:57 am

So damn smart design one la.

• Norlia on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:11 pm

this tiny P2 crossover konfem will be steamrolled by Proton the Fantastic Four special edition models just launched ytd..

The triumvirate of Persona, Iriz, Saga R3 LE + Exora Black Editions; P2 ativa dont stand a chance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • PT reader on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:56 am

Malaysia people normal salary also is so 2000s

• Kannn Japs Koreans now no more ideas they are being left miles behind China and European makes. Interior also so 90’s. Come on laa we are in 2021 now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Ghani on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:33 pm

My abang sedare bought the equivalent Toyota Raize turbo baru in S’pura for SG$85,000 = RM260,000

• Singaporean Malay on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:34 pm

top up a bit more and he couldve bought a bigger and more comfortable Avante………

• You can’t compare between Avante (Elantra) and Ativa (D55L)

• newme on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:38 pm

China is at lower league. We are talking about different league.

• kairud on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:12 am

1st to make booking…today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • VoidDance on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:30 am

Bro, You made the right choice! inikalilah!! but why not x50,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • kairud on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:17 pm

bcoz…i already have X70….this P2 is very small compare t0 X50

• Green Dog on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:13 am

That’s looking cool and more powerful engine using three cylinder turbo just like our X50 here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Xpayah fikir, xpayah pening. Xde hoo ha, beli aje..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:14 am

If the price is within the 50k to 60k bracket then it will be a winner…at this price Aruz or x50 is a better buy…big mistake perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 49
    • Ativa aka D55L sells RM62.5k to RM73k based on SST but it will be lower price when comes with SST tax exempted, it should be around RM56k-RM58k based on starting price and up to RM66k to RM68k maybe.

• hazri on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:07 pm

P2 Ativa sells RM62.5k to RM73k is A segmen… Proton X50 sells rm80k to rm100k is B segmen. Totally different segmen, how to compare.

All local car youtubers amazed by the X50 premium material and top build quality.. matching the best cars from koreans and jermans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Both X50 and Ativa are looking good at least. But all boils down on consumers right now.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:55 pm

correct bro Kiub… at least Rakyat marhaen tak kena U-Turn dan saman dgn X50 and Ativa.

• x50 is a better buy…its no brainer. x50 segment is bmw x1, merc gla & volvo xc40…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
    • Rakyat M'sia on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:54 am

Not really… Because adv spec is 73k you get all the safety features meanwhile X50 with price tag 103k you can get ADAS system bellow than that don’t get ADAS.. for Aruz is for bigger suv but interm of technology and handling confirm D55L is the winner. I’m 27, work as executive and i want SUV. Do you think i will buy Aruz? Confirm i will choose D55L. I have budget 80k you think i will buy the basic space X50? Better i buy D55L adv spec that have all the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • 25yrsOld on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:20 pm

Not really brudder, with budget 80k. You can buy imported brands like Toyota Yaris 1.5E or Honda Jazz FL… or since you’re 27 only, can pick Subaru BRZ coupe for 80k je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • readyoubrat on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:55 pm

Guy says ‘I want SUV’ and you go suggest him hatchbacks and coupe? Jauh panggang dari api! I respect your choice for going with D55L adv. For me, I want x50 but my family size is Aruz compatible. So, some dilemma there.

• Bruh... on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:21 am

If you complain about its price, then you couldn’t even afford Aruz or X50. Stick to your Myvi

• hmmm….. doesnt make much sense. the aruz is a 7 seater sluggish car. it is meant only for big families. and the x50 is a LOT more expensive. the base model f the x50 is 8k(expected) more expensive than the highest and d55l. from the highest end to highest end is a good 30-40k difference.

• Kariayam on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:06 pm

How is the aruz a better buy? You are getting a nicer looking interior with this, a more efficient car that is easier to park. Majority of people who buy 7 seater cars don’t use the 7 seats anyway. If you want a car that costs 50-60k, buy a myvi.

• Turbotastic Tom on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:46 pm

Might as well give it to you for free right? Big mistake konon

• Datuk on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Its no.1 best selling car at Japan.
      RM76k at Japan when launched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Driver on Feb 19, 2021 at 5:27 pm

Hahaha, if the price is at 50k to 60k, i bet someone will say it is better if the price is at 40k to 50k.

These people just dont look at the specs and the technology that justify for the price.

I think the price is just right to fill in between myvi and aruz. Not everyone wants to drive the underpowered tall mpv thay pretends to be suv with old platform from advanza

• (Like) Perodua Rocky 1.0T
    (Dislike) Proton X50 Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 41
    • 25yrsOld on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:30 pm

Both are nice.

1 house 2 cars maa, where got less

• Iriz Active powered by 1.6 litre four-cylinder engine with 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm only cost RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • The Name on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:18 am

its called Perodua Ativa right? saw the leaked documents in my groups of the price and spec !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Manoq on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:19 am

Wow… Harga sangat berpatutan (murah) dengan apa yg ditawarkan… Terbaik P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:29 am

Really the best. I still remember Proton doing all the shouting and marketing for X70 and 50 while P2 just kept quiet all along and then today they dropped the bomb. In a price sensitive market like ours, whoever sells cheaper will win – even more so with a fully decked out vehicle. The Hey Google alone already wins hands down compared to the Geely system in the X50/70. The new maps software used by Proton is utter cow dunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Drinker on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:21 am

Handsome looker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Truth on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:26 am

too bad with perodua’s unethical and lousy service and image this model sales will suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • newme on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:41 pm

P2 service ok je. That’s the reason they are above Proton apart from better quality product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • jusknittin on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:57 pm

You can’t say that every single one of the service centre in whole Malaysia is “ok jer”. Heck, I doubt that you even go to more than one service centre. I have 2 P2s and despite buying it from 2 different dealers , I still opt to go to the same service centre even though the dealer of my 2nd P2 were insisting that I should go to the one closest to them. Coincidentally, I live in the middle of those two service centres (within 10-15km radius each) so if I were to go to the 2nd dealers’ suggested service centre, I shouldn’t have any issue. But that’s just it, I can support your “ok jer” remark because I’m fine with the 1st service centre. I’m not sure about the 2nd one but I’m not willing to take my chance. I’m sure the 2nd one is good too but I think most people would understand that if you’re already content with one, why bother trying others?

• Newme on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:17 pm

1st 2nd 1st 2nd what are you trying to say? I went to 1st 2nd 3rd 4th… semua ok je.

• jusknittin on Feb 22, 2021 at 2:59 pm

Clearly, you’re just now resorting to your usual childish argument. It’s hard to believe that you’re juggling between 4 official Perodua service centre to service your car. That’s absurd even for someone high-class like you.

• Newme on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:21 pm

Btw no one insist anyone go to specific service centre. Are you talking about car service centre or massage centre?

• jusknittin on Feb 22, 2021 at 3:07 pm

Yes, whatever you say. Don’t forget to buy some school supplies. Schools are opening in March right? You’ll need it for you class, kid.

• at 70k+, it’s Features & Comfort (D55L) VS Space (Aruz,X50)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • powerbank on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:28 am

P2 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Topman on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:35 am

Why now suv dont have 4×4 or awd.very sad it lost its main purpose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Maybe to skip JPJ technical requirements. 4×4 has additional rules to follow.

• Perodua a real big changer for good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Izhar on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:39 am

Wait till you see it in flesh because it is about the same size as TheKing Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • stang888 on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:40 am

Proxy carmaker war between Japan (Toyota) via Perodua D55 and China (Geely) via Proton X50 here in Malaysia via Proton vs Perodua.

• autoworld on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:43 am

a moment later, this innocent comment sector as usual will be full of reliable honest unbias neutral top-notch verified fact and prediction coming across all social background, some are the familiar one. Paultan site always been a platform for automotive community to discuss and share quality infomations. Thanks to all participants here

• Good morning news everyone

• Matchy on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:48 am

Wow, Perodua sure like to surprise us! No teasing and sh*t, just straight announce it! *cough*proton*cough*

• Hauler Etoille on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:50 am

Japanese technology is changing to better. I gonna book Ativa today.

• madmoz on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:50 am

Apple CarPlay and Android Auto?

• Dong gor on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:56 am

It’s smaller, it’s uglier.. But at this price with level 2 autonomous, I think it will survive the proton competition. Good job P2 for bringing a safer car to Malaysia at an affordable price!

• AV at RM73,400? Seriously, ARUS AV RM73,266…
    What’s wrong with Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Ais Kacang on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:47 pm

D55L safety features and technology is way more better then Aruz. So the price at this range nothing wrong.

• pomen on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:06 am

since most of the perodua cars name start with ‘A’, we name it ‘Abahko’…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • on the fence on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:06 am

Kinda follow the family resemblance design from bezza to myvi.the rear nice 80% but the front 50% (myvi lvl) mismatch %wise. to be fair other brands struggle too but overall saved by the classic early suv boxy design, marketing strategy and low asking price

• DITTO on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:11 am

Grill design zaman bila punya la, zaman 2000 boleh la pakai design kereta ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • newme on Feb 19, 2021 at 5:22 pm

Punyalah sikit pengetahuan Proton …ada banyaak benda kat kereta tu tapi grill je dia comment. Sebab pengalaman dia design grille je.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 19, 2021 at 6:44 pm

Tak pasal grill, sportrim pulak comment dia. Baru2 nih cat hitam

• GenY AEB on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:12 am

Spacious and bigger boot , bagus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Dong gor on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:15 am

Hi Danny, price difference of 6k or 16k compared to the entry level x50 :)

• yusry kru on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:18 am

X50 3 months in already in troubled waters, with slow deliveries, those bookings will be wiped out by D55

Seriously GG X50 non-flagship models

• Ahmad on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:55 pm

X50 booked, loan signed.
      Withdraw need Penalty anot?

• Smoant on Feb 22, 2021 at 4:44 pm

No idea, I just cancelled my X50 booking for this. Loan wasn’t signed yet though.

• Can’t wait for someone to do 500 horsepower turbo upgrade lol

• CHOONG KHIM FEN on Feb 19, 2021 at 11:58 am

Does this car.has 360 camera like the high spec japan version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • question of the day, 1.oL saja, can it fly like the bengcar Myvi???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • John doe on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:43 am

Myvi still more powerful than this sadly. They should have just stuck with the 1.5 engine and maybe a 6speed. 98hp is abit low imho

• But at least there are good powers because this car uses turbo engine and come with D-CVT only 7 speed auto, which is actually same level as 1.5 na engine

• Awesome value for the price. However, I’ve heard multiple times from relatives their Myvi with AEB sometimes accidentally brakes when going out from junction. I’m proud of Perodua for pioneering these in low-cost cars, but please truly make sure the tech is working this time with ASA 3.0.

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Most likely the vehicle detected a car or something in front, so it applies the AEB. Users need to realise the features and what they do.

• Only “Aunties” look at this 1.0L SUV for grocery shopping car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • CHOONG KHIM FEN on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:25 pm

Err i think the author better check again with perodua, adaptive headlamp is not the bending type, is auto highlow light when there is car on the opposite road. Pls make correction.

• dick c on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:36 pm

Rebadge….KING !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • D -VCT?

• Mohammed on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:43 pm

But why 1.0T engine? If they only offer bigger engine with higher output :(

• Belakang dia mcm sempit je. Apa2 hal pun, kena pergi tgk depan mata. Specs atas kertas nampak cantik tapi x semestinya mcm yg kita hendak. Still kena tgk sendiri depan mata.

• kereta_lembu on Feb 19, 2021 at 12:48 pm

Exterior design, I’m OK with it but nothing exceptionally great and doesn’t really have the WOW factor. But I have to say, the Interior design is one of the better looking ones. Priced correctly, this will surely be big WIN for perodua!

• Almera turbo SUV,

Fuiyoo, lagi fast, lagi safe AEB and Self Driving Cruise

• msia driver on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:14 pm

perodua target it will get 70-80k booking for the fist day of launch…

• Inspiron 13 on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:24 pm

Good specs. Including all variants come with AEB.

• Ben Yap on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Only 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm, that’s a slow car and cannot do century sprint under 10 seconds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Man kontol on Feb 19, 2021 at 3:25 pm

Our local Proton X50 can do century sprint in 7.7 secs. As tested in Sepang’ mantap.

• Johnny sins on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:46 am

This car is abit underpowered compared to the myvi. They should have put a 1.5 instead of the 1.0 which is more suited for inner city driving in Japan. This won’t keep up as well on the highways.

• Really? So what if you have experience this using 1.0 turbo, think about it bro. One of my friend who owned Almera, he has feelings about driving Almera. So this should be same power as normal cars here

• Ah beng soy sauce on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:49 am

Why all the butthurt dislikes for Ben Yap. It is true this car is a tad bit underpowered at 98hp. 1.5na ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Proton oh Proton on Feb 19, 2021 at 1:46 pm

no doubt you are the winner…

• Plus+ on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:08 pm

No smart auto parking assist?

• Ismile on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:13 pm

Will it get Direct-CVT (DCVT) , All wheel drive /4×4+2×4 ?
    Any exhaust sound imitation or sort of ?
    Will have snorkle upgrade ?
    I now drive an exora cfe cvt.

• Are-Damn on Feb 19, 2021 at 2:29 pm

Hopefully someone will redesign front lamp just like Hilux 2021….much cooler

• RIP no stock X50….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Hmmm typical Perodua. Harga kira Mahal compare dgn standard produk. Still products of Proton are more value for money. Tunggu model Proton yg lebih kecil setanding saiz Perodua ni utk dibandingkan apple dgn apple. Skrg ni apple dgn orange. Selagi proton x keluarkan produk yg sama saiz (new model with new platform, not existing platform) dgn model2 perodua, selagi tu lah Perodua akan terus pegang market keta kecil & overall national car sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Delusional leaders… kesian kami

• newme on Feb 19, 2021 at 5:25 pm

Selagi spare part susah nak dapat dan service teruk, takyah nak banding. Apple Proton tu apple busuk berulat.

• Amran on Feb 20, 2021 at 2:02 pm

Perodua recall bila lagi. Abam besaq Toyota dah recall adek kecik P2 tak mau buat? Nak tunggu org mati baru jln? Kecewa tersgt.

• Aiman Azri on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:21 pm

If it is true that this D55L comes with standard 6 airbags and even ASA(2.0 instead 3.0) in the lowest spec 1.0 X, then we found the real winner here. Like hello P1, you still offer 4 airbags in x50 standard with reason of cost. What??? At this price point, this kind of car (also city s and e, almera vl) should come with standard 6 airbags. Goodjob perodua! this perodua is not like old stingy perodua with 2 airbags and no vsc..

• Kutu Kereta on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:33 pm

Saw on FB the official name is Perodua Ativa? Ativa, hmm… seems ok. Pricing looks good too! Can’t wait!!

• Captain Obvious on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:33 pm

Why are you guys still calling it the D55L? Just call it the Ativa la. We know it’s called the Ativa, you know it’s called the Ativa. So just call it the Perodua Ativa la simple.

A D55L sounds like a washing machine model. And a bad one at that!

• badonkadonk on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:37 pm

Enough with the D55L BS laaaaa. Just call it by the real name. ATIVA! Compare the Ativa with the X50…well imma head over for the Ativa la. Much cheaper price and defo easier to drive. Ativa FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • John doe on Feb 20, 2021 at 1:47 am

Underpowered by 50hp tho. Quite a lot of fun missing. They should have stuck with the 1.5 na

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • CVT apa? on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:44 pm

Similar cvt to toyota raize D-CVT or downgrade one?
    Definitely suv bandar

• Tesla on Feb 19, 2021 at 4:48 pm

All hail the new KING!

• MENTERI PASOLA on Feb 19, 2021 at 5:20 pm

adaptive cruise control???

shut up and take my money

• Vincent.L on Feb 19, 2021 at 5:27 pm

Worth it

• Bored of all the perodua vs proton comments written here, just laid back, wait, the sales figures will tell u all the facts!

• Nickaff on Feb 19, 2021 at 10:33 pm

Should have a name before open for booking.You have to know your would be wife’s name before marrying her.If a bizarre name appear after booking it would be draw back.

• OSWALD ONGKUNG on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:24 am

BIG deposit, you will not regrets it…

• ben pahang on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:05 am

Always entertaining reading the comments section. Hilarious!

• EssJay on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:45 am

I dont really need all those electronics – ASA, AEB, PCW.
    They are nice to have, but not really necessary

• But it is still necessary needed to have ASA, AEB, PCW that will help to save lives for passengers and drivers

• omg…i just saw a youtube video says this car is rear wheel drive…woohoo….drift machine!!

• Soon Vi Gan on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:08 pm

力不从心

• Sure no apple carplay since not mention in the brochure..most likely using aftermarket perodua headunit..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 11:02 pm

much better car than the useless hyundai kona

• ZULKIFLI BIN HUSSIN on Feb 26, 2021 at 10:23 pm

Saya mahu booking

• Carrie on Mar 17, 2022 at 11:04 pm

i want booking perodua 55DL suv