Police to tighten roadblocks from Friday to Sunday to prevent interstate travel, outflow from Klang Valley

The police will tighten roadblocs on every Friday, Saturday and Sunday to prevent interstate travel, which is an effort to stop the spread of Covid-19.

Inspector-general of police Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador said PDRM found that from every Friday evening to Sunday, many attempt to perform interstate travel with various excuses, especially those trying to get out of Selangor and the Klang Valley.

He said that while that certain MCO levels allow interstate travel with a permit for reasons such as outstation spouse or sending children back to boarding schools, “why is it that the traffic increases every Friday? Emergencies only happen on Friday?”

“Thus, I will take the step to tighten the roadblocks because Selangor is still under the conditional MCO. We’ll loosen the roadblocks if Selangor changes status to recovery MCO,” he told Bernama, adding that roadblocks in the state were only being loosened in urban roads.

“I understand the difficulty the rakyat is facing and I am sympathetic, but they need to know that what the police is doing is for the own good. For those who are sneaking out using flimsy excuses, even if allowed by police discretion, please don’t travel. The health ministry has time and again warned about interstate clusters in Kelantan and Johor that originated from Selangor,” he added.

Bear in mind that if you are caught for standard operating procedure (SOP) breaches, the fine is no longer RM1,000, but a maximum of RM10,000, so let’s stay put, follow the SOPs and grind it out for awhile more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kelindan jpj on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:26 am

Takde surat, Saman RM10,000 bayar on the spot. Sempoi je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Girly Boy on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:28 am

This must be curi-curi balik kampung, Malaysia veresion.

…..and also medical leaves are always conveniently on Mondays and Fridays, right?

Malaysia sudah lama boleh, guys.

• faliq on Mar 17, 2021 at 4:52 pm

Fully support our hardworking abang-abang polis & Frontliners! Cantas balik kampung, jgn bagi lepas..

• YB Albert on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:32 am

We fully support enforcement by PDRM.However,we feel more needs to be done at the supermarkets n kopitiams where the crowds are as big as precovid days.There is virtually little physical distancing.You go to mamak ..people r cakap cakap bola for hours now.Remember,the virus didn’t disappear with Donald Trump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • You not represent the rest on Mar 17, 2021 at 12:03 pm

Some think good some think bad. So dont think “ We think” is correct

• Melania Rosmah on Mar 17, 2021 at 2:27 pm

You want to oppose the police,its up to you.You never know when you may need the police.Dont brand the police as bad just because of a few bad apples.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • YB Tony on Mar 17, 2021 at 4:37 pm

This guy or gal never say want to oppose polis. Apa ni?

• Dr Strange on Mar 17, 2021 at 5:36 pm

“Dont brand the police as bad”
          Exactly!!! So stop branding the enforcers and government poorly when there is only so much they could do. Stubborn rakyat will remain stubborn, and only left is threats of punishment, RM10,000 is the highest EVER in any form of severity. If recalcitrant rakyats are still buat mei wen ti bodoh-sombongs and continue to contribute the infections, god help them. Otherwise death penalty might suit them.

• YB Albert on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:38 am

Interstate travel ban is good.We support PDRM.But within the state,those still infected will infect others if SOPs are absent…like crowded kopitiams,especially mamak.People are talking louder n closer to each other.Remember,the virus didn’t disappear with Donald Trump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Dr Strange on Mar 17, 2021 at 5:40 pm

Most of the infections and clusters are not coming from registered places so no need to worry about those places you mentioned. Nearly all of these have SOPs in placed to ensure only healthy patrons can go in and once inside seating arrangements are adhered to minimise contact so talking loudly is inconsequential.

The enforcers and frontliners have higher priority areas to take care compared to kopitiams and pasar malams.

• Why suddenly so strict? Why didn’t they do it late last year to prevent the case spike?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Spin Too Much on Mar 17, 2021 at 11:36 am

Dah tau lagi mau tanya. Telan je la.

• kaizen on Mar 17, 2021 at 12:09 pm

why the people (maybe like u) always asking WHY? do this complain, do that complain. they are the enforcer, the last net to make sure everything is in order. WE are the one who should be disciplining ourself in following the SOP. no? we (I) are ‘always right’ mentality!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Keep your holier-than-thou-“we should ….. ourself” to yourself.

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 17, 2021 at 11:42 am

Read in between the lines. Duit dah tak ada. Kena ada excuse to ‘saman’ orang tapi mereka understand the plight of the rakyat. So instead of RM10k fine, let’s find a way to create a win-win situation for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Actually very easy. Don’t want to follow SOP, standby the money & pay. Follow the SOP, no need to pay. Easy right??

• Jacky on Mar 17, 2021 at 4:23 pm

Don’t they know how easy it is to simply write a letter from your company to say that you need to travel? My friend done this many times to travel everywhere. Once he went to Genting coz he just feels like it! All you need is a letter from your own “company”.

• Dr Strange on Mar 17, 2021 at 6:17 pm

Yes you can and make sure your “company” is registered with MITI too. Don’t blame PDRM for giving you RM 10,000 love letter when you cannot show this letter. Oh before you even think of doing it, do remember your selfish acts not only endanger your own lives but the lives of others.