2021 Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8V – RM129,266 with SST exemption, tax savings of RM4,734 for top variant

When the Toyota Corolla Cross was launched in March, the released prices were RM124,000 for the 1.8G and RM134,000 for the range-topping 1.8V. The RM124k for the base variant was with SST exemption, but the RM134k price tag for the 1.8V had sales tax included.

This is because the Corolla Cross 1.8V was only expected to be delivered in the second half of 2021, and SST exemption was supposed to end on June 30. Earlier this week, the government announced an extension for the SST waiver, which will now end on December 31, 2021. This means that the Corolla Cross 1.8V needed a new price, one without SST – it’s now revealed to be RM129,266, or RM4,734 cheaper. The 1.8G stays at RM124k.

By the way, the Corolla Cross receives 50% SST waiver as it’s a CBU import from Thailand. CKD locally assembled models get the full 100% exemption. UMW Toyota Motor has already revealed plans to CKD the Corolla Cross at its Bukit Raja plant, making it the first TNGA-based model to be assembled in Malaysia. That will happen later this year.

Click to enlarge pricelist

The Honda HR-V rival is powered by a 1.8 litre naturally aspirated engine with Dual VVT-i. The 2ZR-FE develops 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, with drive sent to the front wheels via a CVT. The auto ‘box has seven virtual speeds in Sequential Shiftmatic mode.

For many buyers, the 1.8V is where it’ll start. The 1.8G looks rather underwhelming with halogen projector headlights and 17-inch wheels. At least there’s blind spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alert, a tyre pressure warning system, seven airbags, plus front and rear parking sensors. A 360-degree surround view camera, dashcam and powered tailgate with kick sensor are standard across the board, too.

Moving up to the 1.8V gets you bi-LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, 18-inch two-tone alloys with Michelin Primacy 4 tyres, LED tail lights and an acoustic windshield. The top variant also adds on Toyota Safety Sense, which comes with autonomous emergency braking, lane departure alert with steering assist, lane tracing assist, adaptive cruise control (30 km/h onwards) and auto high beam.

GALLERY: 2021 Toyota Corolla Cross 1.8V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW Toyota padu mantap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 04, 2021 at 8:05 am

Very old engine gearbox, Altis dashboard, ugly-rear, brittle door hinges, narrow openings. Better just wait for the all-new bigger HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
      • Ramesh on Jun 04, 2021 at 8:14 am

New Hr-v tonggek.

• I agree that there is Altis dashboard looking, the only thing is that dashboard lining looks different. But I suggest you need to look at Corolla Cross again before you comment as I disagree on some points on rear look, door hinges and opening is not narrow. Even I test drive Corolla Cross on 1.8 dual vvti engine, the power is not that bad.

• Look ugly inside out!

• What’s wrong? on Jun 07, 2021 at 12:42 am

What’s wrong with altis dashboard???

• Fanboys & salesmen will be in denial of the hard plastics around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Every japanese brands in Malaysia that get from Asean countries, to assemble here or imported to sell here, using hard plastic materials but Mazda doesn’t use many parts of hard plastic dashboards and was clearly that it is premium car

• Roger on Jun 03, 2021 at 7:46 pm

Wow cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Corolla cross 1.8V is better than 1.8G.
    Got AEB, got ACC at RM 129k tax free CBU.

Like Proton X50 RM 103k tax free ckd spec got AEB ACC – it’s a no brainer buy.
    1st batch Corolla Cross all sold out, ada stock lagi ke?

• YB Albert on Jun 03, 2021 at 8:02 pm

I think the most relevant thing now is “How many months will rakyat have to duduk rumah”.
    DG said it takes 3-4 months to flatten the curve.
    In 3-4 month,thousands of jobs would have been “flattened”.
    Who on earth would be thinking of a 84-96 instalment hp plan? Maybe,only the rich and still loaded will buy this new Toyota.
    Make no mistake,if the cases are still as high as now by Sept,car repossesors will be very active in tarik keta.
    Dont assume all banks apply a blanket moratorium on loans.Time to be sober,and stop impulsive buying of cars.

• sam123 on Jun 04, 2021 at 2:02 pm

I paham your sad and frustration bro.. if you work for private sektor or self-employed.
      Well luckily for us Govt office servants, no such issues so far. No pay cut at all, and monthly salaries still come on time. Since we working from home now, but actually Duduk rumah or balik kampong jaga anak2 or orang2 tua. Saved modal.
      So upgrading a new toyota car is okay for us, but 84-96 instalment hp plan must go thru skim penjawat awam. Take care bro

• SalesMan on Jun 04, 2021 at 4:14 pm

100% Agree
        All my clients this year from government sectors and GLC staff, mostly upgraders from national car

• Kim Jong Din on Jun 04, 2021 at 8:29 pm

Gomen going to downsize leeches like you,sam 123.

• stasta on Jun 08, 2021 at 8:53 pm

this is the defintion of parasites , idle lazy, not doing work, yet getting paid. 1.6 million parasites in federal plus hundreds thousands more in state government and GLCs.

• Maroon on Jun 03, 2021 at 8:10 pm

Can’t wait…

• Truth on Jun 03, 2021 at 8:43 pm

value buy

• Nazri on Jun 03, 2021 at 9:15 pm

Better buy now before new HRV comes because u might change your mine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Onanodus on Jun 03, 2021 at 9:33 pm

I don’t think the Corolla Cross rivals the HR-V, as the Corolla Cross is C-segment while the HR-V is B-segment. Corolla Cross is more like a rival for C-segment crossovers on the smaller side; i.e. Kia Sportage and Peugeot 3008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Compact C-SUV parking side by side is comparable, of the similar price range:

1. Peugeot 3008
      2. Mazda CX-30
      3. VW Tiguan

HR-V parking at car park only can compare to Mazda CX-3 2.0NA, Proton X50.

all are good cars.

• Shaddai Ehyeh on Jun 03, 2021 at 9:56 pm

hallelujah corolla Cross

• Take my money!

• jemin on Jun 04, 2021 at 12:30 am

sad.. no electronic brake as corolla, much usefull

• for the price, feature and the price of the car you cant complain much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Very ugly car inside out! How many that said this car is beautiful is due to its “well known” reliability (not more now), “fuel saving” (dual VVTi also no more now), “low maintenance” (no more now) and best selling brand?

You can choose Toyota for your own reason due to factors above but not to force yourself to say an ugly car to be nice looking. If you put this car in a row with other SUVs, I really doubt that you can say it is nice looking even though it is very subjective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • how do you know the people say the car is beautiful are for its ‘well known reliability and fuel saving’? can you also give me toto number?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • How do you know that Dual VVTi is no longer fuel saving? And how do you know that low maintenance and well-known reliability are also not more now? Have you drive any Toyota or Perodua cars?

This car is also for safety and comfort, aside also for reliability and fuel saving. And this car doesn’t look quite bad, even this is better looking than CHR.

• Typo spotted
    “The Honda HR-V rival is powered by a 1.8 litre naturally aspirated engine with Dual VVT-i”

• Ibnu bakrin on Jun 04, 2021 at 6:55 pm

With this expensive price, I will buy if;
    1. The infotainment equip with 6GB RAM, 128GB ROM, EQ setting, support 4G & 5G, split 3 screen, have a TPMS function & support OBD II (Danny said it cost of RM 3K).
    2. The dash cam is better than 70mai A800s and equip with 64GB or 128GB memory card.
    3. the 360 degree camera is better than Sony brand or equivalent.
    4. The speaker with better watts which can rock you down.

Same goes to Mazda CX30 & new HR-V, if not, why should I waste my money.

• turborider on Jun 05, 2021 at 10:06 am

AEB should be standard for car above RM100K regardless variant, for range topping V-Spec, it will be perfect if they offer with 2.0 DF engine.

• I test drove Corolla Cross on 1.8 dual vvti engine, but the power is also not that bad.

• Kenny on Jun 05, 2021 at 1:32 pm

US annual household income for 2019 is USD$69k. 20k can buy them a decent-sized SUV. Malaysia annual income how much?? 20k in Malaysia can buy what car?? And it’s not about currency rates, it’s about the amount of cash we need to spend. Malaysia is one of the few countries in the world where car prices frequently exceed annual household income. There is no justification here no matter how you look at it.

• hazri on Jun 06, 2021 at 9:02 pm

with this kind of price and specs, i rather buy crv.

• Steven on Jun 08, 2021 at 12:46 am

new car or upgrading to better car is common but in malaysia we need to know after sales services. Most of car in market the spare part low lasting freq breakdown and need change many times, but with toyota model even looks is no nice but after sales service or parts are good. i am subaru owner went through worst experience.